BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Benson Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Benson Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 24 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 17
Total Closed Complaints 24

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Benson Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1969 Business started: 01/01/1969 Business started locally: 01/01/1969 Business incorporated: 01/28/1969 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Transportation
125 East 11th Street, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 558-9368

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Phelan, General Manager Ms. Kathryn H. Scott, Treasurer Virginia Toney, Customer Relations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Phelan, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Services - Oil & Lube

Alternate Business Names
Benson Honda\Mazda Tom Benson Imports, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 9100 San Pedro Ave

    San Antonio, TX 78216 (210) 341-1356

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, I bought a 2007 Toyota highlander from Benson Honda on April 22, 2014, and while test driving it there was a clicking noise on the front right shock that Benson Honda agreed to fix and I was told it would be repaired within 2 days and my vehicle would be delivered by my salesman ******** by Thursday to our home in Manchaca, texas, February 24, I left numerous emails and phone calls to both my salesman and the used car manager **** and never received a call back, meanwhile they cashed my bank check and I received the license plates and a copy of the extended warranty by Saturday April 27,on Friday april 26 the finance manager called and left a message saying that they had to take the vehicle to a Toyota dealer to be repaired and the Toyota dealership stated that the vehicle was deemed "unsafe to drive", however the carfax report did not show that the vehicle was never in an accident and that Benson Honda was going to cancel the purchase of the vehicle, so I called my bank ******** ****** and told them of the situation, ***** at RFCB told me that Benson Honda must pay off the loan in order for me to go out and purchase another vehicle, I have left messages at Benson Honda with my salesman ********, the used car mgr ***, and the finance manager but they refuse to call me back, I am having foot surgery Tuesday May 6th and will be unable to drive for at least a month.I just got off the phone with RBFCU and they told me that it is up to Benson Honda to pay off the loan, meanwhile I am tolling uip interest fees on a vehicle that I don't own, I need help I am at my wits end, I have copies of the emails I sent to prove we did have some communications at the beginning, but coms have stopped.Thank you if you can help me resolve this issue, .Sincerely, **** ********

Desired Settlement: Pay my accrued interest and bank fees from loan inception thru disputed day/time frame.

Business Response: A cheque was paid to ******** ****** FCU for $11,563.54 on the 7th May 2014.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a complaint before with Benson Honda. I was contacted by the manager and was told that there was already a change of personnel. So I did try again by going to Benson Honda to have my car look at for some issues specially the recall and with that I also wanted to change my battery and the wiper blade. I opted to have a shuttle service but they ask me to wait because it will only be for an hour. I have waited for 4 hours and if I had not ask for an update of what is going on I would never know. Then the service advisor called me to pay for the cost of the repair. I ask for the price for the repair of rack and pinion and brake pads it was overpriced. They told me to replaced my timing belt and when I went back to where I bought the vehicle, the timing belt is new. After paying I went to my car to leave, good thing I check the vehicle first. I saw the wiper was changed to an old blade which was already ripped. I called the service advisor and he only said he will refund the payment. I was surprise because it was easy for him to immediately tell me about the refund without even asking himself why the replacement blade was ripped blade which I've already paid for. I talk to him for awhile that I was so disappointed for big company like Benson Honda would deceived a consumer. If I had not found out about it I don't know what will happen. After I told him that I was angry then he called the parts department to replace the blade with a new one. He told me that he will talk about this to his manager and they will call me. I did not received any call. When I got back to the car I opened the hood to look at the battery, they replaced it but did not put back the plastic base for the battery. I had enough of it. it was deception after deception. I don't call this negligence it is pure deception. I don't trust this company anymore. I was fooled before and I got fooled again. There was no change in the personnel and they way they do business.

Desired Settlement: I need the plastic battery base back

Business Response:  I have spoken to Mr *** and told him that the Service Department is looking into his issue and that we will get back to him promptly.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: not resolve

Regards,

****** ***

Business Response: We ordered a new battery case for Mr. *** and offered to have it installed, he refused the installation, but came into the dealership and took delivery of the new case.
We consider this matter now closed, and we wait for your update.
Many Thanks
******** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please see attached document e-mailed to Benson, and later personally delivered to them. It is too lengthy to explain here; however, the gist of the matter is that the salesman and I agreed to an OUT THE DOOR PRICE OF $27,500, and when the deal was processed, numerous fees were added in the amount of $1,801 - I am a 100% disabled veteran, and by the time I got to the finance guy I was in great pain. I was able to get him to delete one fee, but or the rest, he said "everybody pays". He further said that if I could prove him wron, to let him know. Well, as you may see from the attached, I did!

Desired Settlement: Send me a check for $1,801, give me an apology for the tactic and subsequent ignoring me, and an admonishment from you for their bait and switch.

Business Response:

Tuesday February 18, 2014
Complaint ID *******

Hello **** *********,

Following is a copy of the 'Buyer's Order' pertaining to Mr. **** ********. I hope this finalizes every thing as discussed with *** ******* and look forward to this complaint being closed.

Many thanks

******** ******

Customer Relations Manager - Benson Honda

************ **** ****

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: As I explained in my lengthy e-mail that Benson has chosen not to show you, I complained about the add ons, and was told if they were not proper, to get back to them. I also explained I'm a 100% disable veteran, and was in considerable pain, and could only think about getting out of there. Please ask Benson to provide you with a copy of my original complaint to them - it contains all the essential elements of this case. further, I WILL NOT let this go, in my opinion it was so clearly bait and switch.
Regards,

**** ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I agreed to purchase a **** ***** ***** from Benson Honda on December 30, 2014 based on the sales manager (******* *********) statement that he could have the car in two or three days. The stipulation was that I would need to put a good faith down payment, which I did of $100. Two to three days turned into weeks and no car. I asked the sales agent ******** ***** to return my down payment via check, as it was evident to me that they could not get the vehicle. After one week no check from Benson. I contacted ******** again and she stated "you will receive check this week". Still no check so I contacted ******** again. Yesterday I received a call from Benson's Finance Director ***** **** explained the situation and he says "I'll call you later today". No call returned. It's evident to me they do not want to return my down payment. Here is some of email correspondence (01/13/2014): "I have good news. Looks like we were able to locate a vehicle and we should have it here by Monday afternoon. I will give you a call on Monday so we can set up a good day and time for you to come in. Again, thank you for your patience and I look forward to working with you. ******** ******" And the next day (01/14/2014): "Good morning ******, I wanted to give you a little update on the Honda *****. It looks like the deal fell through and we have not been able to get the car yet. We are working on it and should know something here soon. Again, I apologize that it has taken a little longer and thank you for your patience. I will get with you as soon as I here back from our guy. Thank you, ******** *****"

Desired Settlement: I would like a check for my down payment money. I explained to ***** **** I no longer have the credit card I used for the down payment as it was replaced because of the ****** breach.

Business Response: A check was mailed to the customer for the full refund amount of $100. I'm not sure of the exact date that it was sent, but it was in late January or early February. He definitely should have received it by now. We left a message with the customer trying to confirm that it was received.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

It seems to me the BBB should reconsider the rating its has given this dealership. The unprofessional treatment I received by both sale staff and management team is incomprehensible. Never have I dealt with a Honda dealership such as this. From false statements on the car delivery to returning my down payment which took over five weeks. I can only imagine the frustration I would have gone through if I had purchased a vehicle and there was an issue with it. Needless to say this dealer will never get any of my business.   

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ************

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Benson Honda sent out an ad that promised a prize if you scratched off three of the same amount. It stated, "Scratch off all circles on cards. If you match 3 amounts in a row (horizontal, vertical, or diagonal) YOU WIN! There are 3 cards. 3 chances to win. Play all 3. If you are a Winner, Call Immediately!" I scratched off 3 $500 circles in a horizontal row. Therefore I should have won $500.00. When I went to redeem the Prize Amount of $500.00, they said that I didn't win $500. Instead, I won a scratch off. If I was able to scratch off 6 keys, then I would win a monetary prize. I won a Two Dollar Bill since I didn't scratch off 6 keys. This was very deceptive.

Desired Settlement: I want Benson Honda to pay me the $500 that I won.

Business Response: We are sorry that you misunderstood the directions on the mailer.  The mailer explains that if you have three "scratch-offs" match that you can come in with that match and see if the validation number we have affixed to the top of a vehicle we have on the showroom floor matches with your scratch-off.  If they match, then $500. is won; but, if they don't match, we give another "scratch-off" and if you scratch off six keys, you win a car or $25,000. -- your choice.  If you don't win either of these (validation match, or six keys) then you will receive a $2.00 bill.

This is not deceptive, we disclosed all this on the mailer.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 10/24/13 To Whom It May Concern: I would like to report a terrible experience with ***** ****** in finance. When my fiancé and I went into Benson Honda on 10/9 (Wednesday) to purchase a vehicle we had a vehicle buyers check from ******* ****** ******* ****** ***** to pay for the car out right. We found the car we wanted at the right price and had a wonderful experience with the salesman. It turned out to be a different story in the finance office. ***** insisted that we listen to how he could offer us a much better interest rate and warranty than ***** ever could. We told him that we were happy with our current interest rate that we already obtained and we had been satisfied customers with ***** for years. Another huge issue we had is that we didn’t want more hard pulls on our credit reports. With some coxing he said he could drop a point off of our already offered interest rate by putting us with ***** *****. He said we were approved through ***** so ***** ***** would definitely finance us with no problem. So, ignorantly trusting, we signed the papers to set the deal in motion. Unfortunately I failed to notice a pre-checked box with the words “assigned without recourse”. ***** never mentioned that if ***** ***** didn’t accept us, then he could legally do more hard pulls until he found someone who would finance us. And that’s exactly what happened, even after we explicitly stated we were only ok with one more pull to see if we could find a better interest rate. We take the car home under the impression that we would be financed through ***** *****, which is what ***** told us as we shook hands and left his office on 10/9 (Wednesday). A few days pass and I get repeated phone calls while I’m at work, sometimes just a single ring from a ***** ********. On 10/10 (Thursday) I receive a call/voicemail from **** our salesman, politely asking us how the car was and informing us that our mats and trunk tray were available for pick up at the dealership. We go in that afternoon and pick up our mats and nothing was mentioned about a problem with financing. After that day I received one call on 10/11 (Friday), one on 10/14 (Monday), one on 10/15 (Tuesday), one on 10/16 (Wednesday), one on one on 10/18 (Friday). I was able to answer the call on the 18th (because I happened to be off work before the finance office apparently closed for the day) and it was ***** told me my social security number was flagged and I needed a paper verifying that my name did indeed belong to my social security number. ***** ***** accepted us, but was just waiting on verification of my SSN. I was pretty upset that he didn’t bother to leave me a voicemail earlier to tell me what was going on. I was angry and wouldn’t have the chance to go down to the SS office until Wednesday morning. I asked for his email because I find it easier to correspond that way since I work two jobs and have odd hours. I emailed him stating how incredibly upset I was at the inconvenience and that due to my work schedule he’d have to wait until 10/23 (Wednesday) for the paper. I check the mail on 10/14 (Monday) and find a letter from **** stating we were denied an auto loan. Frustrated and confused I check my ****** ***** and my fiancé checks his and we find multiple pulls from ***** ***** on 10/10 (Thursday) and ***** on 10/14 (Monday). Furious, I head over to Benson Honda after work on 10/21 (Monday) to find out what’s going on. The story, according to *****, is that on 10/10 (Thursday), the day after we took the car home, *****’s boss and head of the financing department, waltzed into the office and saw we were pending approval from ***** ***** and took the liberty of running our credit again with two other financial institutions to find one that would accept us without needing proof of my identification. And he did it all without *****’s knowledge. Well, first ***** told me he wasn’t sure who was responsible for re-running our credit, and then he told me he was pretty sure it was his boss, and then the final story was his boss was ultimately responsible. I expressed my dissatisfaction with the lack of communication, but ***** didn’t seem apologetic or offer to bring his boss in for an explanation of the events. He was rude, interrupted me, and was overly aggressive when talking to me. I left Benson Honda baffled and horribly upset at how everything I was trying to avoid during the process had ended up happening after all. If I had the chance I would take the car back and call all debts even, but unfortunately the world doesn’t work like that. I will NEVER buy from Benson Honda again, nor will I refer friends or family to them. My fiancé has been getting his car serviced there for years, but will no longer be taking his civic there for oil changes or maintenance of any kind. I would like to personally speak to the General Manager and Finance Manager about this. To at least find out what really happened and not have to listen to the crap that ***** threw at me the last time I was in his office.

Desired Settlement: I want a personal apology from ***** ******, the financial manager, the general manager, and an explanation as to why I was not fully informed of the stipulations of the contract when I verbally stated what I DIDN'T want to happen by financing through Benson Honda. I want written letters expressing that the excessive credit pulls were unnecessary and were verbally refused at the beginning of the financial process. I want Benson Honda to contact either **********, *******, and/or ******** and have two hard pulls removed from my credit and two removed from my fiances credit.

Business Response: ***** ****, our Finance Director made contact with Ms ******** fiance and discussed this complaint with him (he was very aware of it and we could never catch Ms ****** on the phone). 
There was another person using Ms ******** social security number and it is unlawful  for us to ignore this and make the sale when the social security number is listed in OFAC.  We advised the customer of this and eventhough we knew the problem, the lender we were attempting to use to provide financing would not give us the approval.  We consequently requested other lending sources in an attempt to arrange satisfactory financing.  We advised the cusomer's fiance of all this; also, these other inquiries did not affect the credit score of the individual (multiple inquiries through a car dealership while a customer is shopping for a vehicle does not adversely affect the credit score.  Mr **** explained all this to the customer's fiance and advised him he would like to speak to Ms ****** and was advised he could call last Wednesday or Thursday that she would be able to talk with him then.  He called and had to leave a voice mail but it was not returned.  He called the second day and left a message again; however, the customer has not returned his call.

Since the customer's fiance understood, evidently, this was acceptable to our customer. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because of the following correspondence. 

The following is an email I sent to *** ****, ***** ****,
and **** ****** on 10/4/13 via the messaging service on ********************************************.
I have tried emailing *** **** and ***** ****** personally, but have never received
an email in response unless it is through their website messaging center. This
email was in response to their first post on the BBB claims site in an effort
to contact them directly.

To Whom It May Concern:

***** **** made an attempt to contact me on 10/25 (Friday),
but unfortunately I was at work.  He
spoke with my fiancé and briefly explained his understanding of the matter. Before
the conversation was ended, my fiancé told him it was best to speak with me
personally about the matter. He agreed to call me the week after on either
Wednesday or Thursday (10/30 or 10/31). I received a call from Benson Honda on
10/31 at 3:20pm. Unfortunately, I was not next to my phone and missed the call.
I listened to the voicemail and called the personal cell number he left
literally 10 minutes later. It went to voicemail and I too left a message for
him. I never received a call back, nor a second message as was stated in the
BBB reply. It frustrates me that Mr. *** **** would write “He called and had to
leave a voice mail but it was not returned. 
He called the second day and left a message again; however, the customer
has not returned his call. Since the customer's fiance understood, evidently,
this was acceptable to our customer.” I’m not sure what was meant by that last
sentence. Understood what? That the actions taken by Benson Honda without our
prior knowledge were acceptable? I never “understood” this and neither did my
fiancé.  We did not anticipate that what
was said in the finance office with ***** ****** was going to turn out
completely different after we left the dealership. The only thing we “understood”
was that ***** ****** did not hold up his verbal part of our financing
agreement to NOT make multiple hard pulls on our credit.  Again I am left frustrated and bewildered. I
told ***** when we were financing that I was hard to get a hold of me during
the day because I work two jobs, and that the best form of communication is
through email, which you have had on file since 10/9. I have yet to receive an
email or a request for a personal meeting from ***** **** or any of the
management staff at Benson Honda. I don’t find phone tag to be very
professional and request that all further correspondence be via email.

I have received a letter in the mail notifying me that my
plates are ready for pick up so perhaps this coming Wednesday someone will be
available to speak to me personally about the matter.

---------

The following email is from ***** **** which I received 10/6
in reply to the above email which was sent from *********************, his personal
email address I’m assuming.

 







Hello ******,



My name is ***** **** finance director of Benson Honda.  It is to my
understanding that you will be coming into the dealership today. I would be
more than happy to sit down with you and go over any matter you would like
to discuss. Please let me know what time you will be coming in. I will not
be here from 3pm to 4pm.  Thank you.
 
------------------
 
The following email was sent on
10/6/13 at 12:35pm to the email address *********************.








Mr. ****,



I am will be leaving for a doctors appointment soon and I doubt I will be able
to make it there before 3pm. Will you be available after 4pm?





 

-----------

The following is an email I received moments after sending
the response to *********************.

 

Delivery to the following recipient failed permanently:



 
   *******************



Technical
details of permanent failure:

Google
tried to deliver your message, but it was rejected by the server for the
recipient domain tombenson.com by smtp.secureserver.net. [216.69.186.201].



The
error that the other server returned was:

550
#5.1.0 Address rejected.

 

­­­----------

I wasn’t sure if the delivery failure was caused by my email
or a technical problem with Benson Honda’s email service, so I sent a test
email from my phone to my fiancé and he was able to receive it immediately. I
then resent the email but it was again undeliverable. I’m not very computer savvy,
but it is my assumption that something was not working properly with their
server. Since I was away from my computer, I then tried to access their website
messaging center through my phone, but the website messaging center was not compatible
with my phone. Next I called the main office at Benson Honda and had the desk attendant
route my call to ***** **** office. No answer so I left a voice mail telling
him I wouldn’t be able to come in before 3pm on 10/6 and asked if he would be available
after 4pm that same day.  I received no
email or phone call in reply. Because I have received no reply, I will attempt
to pick up my plates tomorrow on 10/7.
I am very displeased that none of the management team at
Benson Honda seems eager to resolve this matter. No one is ever in the office
when I call and they always call when I am at work and unable to answer. The
hard pulls have not yet come off of my credit report and I have yet to receive and
explanation and apology from Benson Honda for the inconvenience they have
caused. Furthermore, when we were signed to ***** for our auto loan, *****
****** told me the reason they financed with them was because they did not
require verification of my SS number in order to process the account. His
reasoning being that I had already had another account with them so “they knew
who I was”.  This too turned out to be
false and I received a letter in the mail from ***** asking me to come into one
of their branches and fill out some paperwork authorizing the bank to verify my
SS number with the Social Security Office. Again, I am told things that end up
being false and costing me time. The mistrust that this business has caused me
to harbor is very upsetting. This unprofessional conduct has inconvenienced me
enough; hopefully on 10/7 someone will be able to discuss the matter with me in
person when I pick up my plates at the dealership.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We went to purchase a used vehicle for my daughter. During the sale the sales person kept making references on how good of a deal it was and how another sales person wanted it for his mother. I made a joke that to Tell ***** that no we have it first. We went back into the office where we signed paper work at that time since the shop was already closed the finance lady told us let's do the paper work so no one could sale the car and the next morning she would call me when she was done with the rest of paper work and to drop off the 2,000 we were to put down and get time and date of pick up for vehicle so that it could be detailed,oil change ect..Now keep in mind this car was given a warranty bumper to bumper for 3yrs because of it's great condition. ..The next morning the sales person called and said oh, sorry he was told the it did not pass safety inspection and could not be sold. I was very upset and asked him to give me the reason it did not pass he could not. So I went down in person to speak with the GM of the dealership I was told to wait he was with someone. As I waited another manager came up to me (the supervisor of my sales person) I told him the situation and insisted that I know why or to write on my paper work that this vehicle was unsafe. He said I have to do no such thing. I told him then I want to speak with the GM he then said he won't be available till Monday. I explained to him that the receptionist just told me to wait he would be with me and now your telling me he is unavailable. His answer was what do you want me to tell you. He wont be avail. till Monday. and since you did not leave the 2,000 there was no sale. Which I don't understand the paper work without money down was good enough to stop a sale but not good enough to say it was complete sale. This so called manager was very rude started to address me by my first name rather than Mrs. ********..What do you want me to do? I told him I wanted in writing what they were telling me his reply was I have to do no such thing and again addressed me by my first name. I then told him I wanted my person information and copies of all paper work signed that night his reply was again.. I have to do no such thing using my first name again ...Do you want me to show you another car. I told him that was the last thing I was going to do with him. I told him I wanted the paper work they told me they would not release since my husband signed it not me. As, I left the lot I went to see if the vehicle had even been moved to be checked for a safety inspection it was in the same placed I parked it the night before when I test drove it and can not see how a safety inspection could have been done with out it being moved...I think it was one of two things... one promised to a sales person family member as he stated during sale or two realized it the price was way to low for the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: Fix what was making it unsafe and deliver the car.

Business Response: Upon further review of this complaint, we did have the vehicle in our inventory and it had not cleared to sell retail.  We are very careful to make sure any of our used vehicles are safe for our customers to drive.  The car looked as if it would be a good car; however, after it was given the inspection for safety it did not pass.  Since the car did not pass for safety we would not sell it to this complaintant.

We apologize for any inconvenience experienced by the complaintant.  The used car manager did say he would be more than happy to try to find her another vehicle that would be safe and would meet her needs.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I we to to Honda Bentsen yesterday to see if I could trade my car for a new car? Result was of course yes, because they look to make a money off of you. However, the problem that I have with this business institution is that sales pets on and financial person do mot match on the price of my new car. The price that I agreed to pay on was $18996 that is including Texas license and title fees and all other fees that there are out there. However, once I went to speak with the finance adviser he presented to me a ton of different products that Honda offers, not once he ever mentioned that those products are extra that I need to pay. So, after talking to me about those products for almost two hours and he handed a contact to me to sign without exhaling or going over the numbers with me as to how much I am actually financing car for? So when I had some time to sit down and look over the contract the price from $18990, went o $22988, with all extra that he put on there. Again, I was under impression that he has spoken to the sales person and was aware how much I was going on pay for the car. However, he did not!

Desired Settlement: I will finance the $18997 for the sale not a penny over it! Yes I signed the contract but I was misinformed and was not in full understanding as to what I am getting due to finance adviser inability to talk about the price not the product. I feel like I was ripped off in here and I want my money back! Thank you

Business Response: After reviewing this complaint with our F&I manager, I was informed that the finance manager carefully reviewed all the products offered and even told the customer how much each would effect his monthly payment.  The customer agreed to each product selected after the increase in payment was presented.

The customer signed all the documents and took possession of the vehicle after agreeing to all the add-ons.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from Tom Benson Honda and purchased Credit Life. About two years later I traded it in there for another vehicle. I requested a refund for credit life . ******* ****** ****** * **** sent me a letter on June 13, 2013 stating that the dealer should be refunding me $396.36 within 30 days. I have never gotten the refund. I have tried to contact the dealer on about 12 different occasions. I can never get a "live" person on the phone. Have left many messages asking them about it. I have faxed them a copy of the letter from ******* ****** and asked them when I would be getting the refund with no response. I contacted ******* ****** and asked them to contact the dealer and ask them about my refund. I have never gotten a reply or response back from the dealer. The message I left last week for Mr ***** (sp?) stated that I expected a call back or I would contact the BBB today. I have not received a call and so I am contacting you.

Desired Settlement: I want my refund check for $396.36 plus interest if possible.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Check has been received. Complaint can be closed. Thank you

***** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted dealership about several vehicles advertised on their website. I was told that a 2001 Toyota Camry advertised for $1999.00 was available to test drive on Friday 07-26-13. I drove to the dealership to drive the car. Upon arrival I was advise the car was sold. I inquired about 4 other vehicles and told that they were not sure. I spoke to **** *** at 10 am and was told they were available. ******* advised she would not be there when I arrived after work so, she told me to ask for ******. I did and was told the vehicles were sold. I inquires about an Acura 1999 model on my list. She told me a salesperson bought it. I have the following list od vehicles that I inquired about. Toyota 2001 depicted in presteen condition on the web site. An Acura 199 model also great picture. I inquired about an Infinity Q45, also sold. I inquired about a Ford Crown Victoria 1997, also sold. Finally, a Kia Rio for $999.00. That vehicle was there. vehicles were sold. This I was told by ******. I went to pick up my brother at his house to view a vehicle for himself. The next day, I sat with my mother at her house and had her call. She was told by **** ***, the Toyota Camry was there to drive at 11:00 am on Sat. 7-27-13. A man follwed up with my mom by calling her at 4:15, asking her if she was coming to see the Toyota Camry. I went to the dealership to test drive the car. I was told by **** ***, the car was out on an extended drive. A lady left a deposit and the car was not available to drive. I was once again driven around the corner to the hold lot.I went thru my list again. All cars were sold and gone. **** *** tried to switch me to another vehicle. When I declined the purchase, i once again spoke to the Sales Manager ******* *********. He assured me he would find out for sure what happened to the Toyota Camry I wanted to purchase. He assured me he would have me contacted on Monday 07-29-13 day on my cell phone. I went to the Dealership after work on Monday to follow up. I could not speak to **** ***, she was with a customer. Mr. *********, the sales manager, was off on Monday. I spoke to another Manager, I man named ***. He told me" you do not want the car." He knew where it was. I followed hime to a remote area behind the repair shops. There it was, 4 flat tires, a blue bumper, part missing inside wrecked ect. Not even driveable. I had him verify the Vin number on the vehicle as I was in shock. Sure enough, there it was. Not even running. He apologized to me all the way back to the main office building. He said, he wished I had spoke to him days earlier, as he would have been honest abbout the vehicle. I was floored. I advised him the only reason i wanted the vehicle was because I have a daughter and 2 grandsons who do not have reliable transportation. My grandsons have to ride a bus, in the heat, to receive their allergy injections at their Doctor's office each week. I was just on the Benson Honda web-site today at 7:00 pm. ALL the cars are still listed. None of them are available for sale according to the sales people on Friday. I beleive this is immorale and appaulling trade practices. It is the Classic "Bait and Switch" tactic. I must also tell you that the Camry on Thurs. night was listed at at sale price of $1999.00. When I checked the site again on Friday the price was increased to $3999.00. I beleive this was done to discourage interest. ****** said it was "a mistake, better hope you have the web print out." Then she told me it was "sold" that Friday before I arrived. I hope you look into this issue. I spent four hours of my time and 2 hours of my brother's time for nothing but deciet. I find it highly unethical. I am horrified at the fact that this is the practice at this long standing business. Your time and effort is greatly appreciated. I have all required paper documentation you need to vefify my account of what happened. Once again, Thank you! Respectfully, ***** *******

Desired Settlement: To purchase a vehicle on my list as advertised. In addition, an apology for this practice from the highest company figure head.

Business Response: We regret that Ms ******* was unhappy with Benson Honda in her search for a pre-owned vehicle.
Upon my investigation of this issue, I was informed that the sales manager advised Ms ******* of the situation that the vehicle she had inquired about was not a vehicle we could retail to a customer because we had found isssues with the vehicle that would be a problem for a purchaser.

When we receive pre-owned vehicles from trade ins, we have to list them in our inventory; however, we do a thorough inspection of the vehicle to make sure it is safe and serviceable to be sold to a consumer.  Sometimes we find that the expense to bring the vehicle up to the standard we set for retailing to a consumer is prohibitive and we then take it to auction.  Once it goes to auction we can then remove it from our inventory.

Also, with 30 sales persons selling the pre-owned vehicles, it is difficult to know if a vehicle is still available for sale until the potential purchaser is here and can test drive the vehicle to make sure it meets their needs.  Unless a deposit is placed on a vehicle for purchase, it can be sold by any of the sales persons.

I hope this answers the issue presented in this complaint.

*** ****
Benson Honda

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
The response above does not come anywhere near addressing the issue of the vehicle photos showing a presteen car and the vehicle I saw sitting on four flat tires, stripped and wrecked. Again, you fail to address the issue of me NOT being advised the vehicle was not a vehicle I would want to purchase until 3 days after my initial contact. This is a classic case of "bait and switch". It is appauling that you would advertise vehicles on the internet that are nothing like the true condition of the vehicle you MAY or MAY NOT, have for sale. All five Vehicles real or imagined, that you had advertised on your web site.  Shame on you! Your response does nothing to enlighten or satisfy me. It took you this many days for the above response? You should be persued for criminalyfor the advertising tactics you and your company foster. You really think that I do not understand that a vehicle that "REALLY" exists could not be sold by your staff and still show active in the system?  Sure, I get that, but before that can happen, you need four tires that are not flat. Your picture on the internet was a "lure" and "bait" car so, you can get traffic in and then switch the potential buyer to another vehicle. Your manager *** told me the car was not a car I would want to purchase on Monday. I had been in on the Friday and Saturday before and i was told the car was on an extended test drive on saturday! How can you test drive a car with four flats?  You are mistaken if you think the statement above is an accurate depiction of what happened. BBC this response is not addressing the false advertisment and bait and switch tactics. This is not acceptable. 
                                                                                          Respectfully,  ***** ** *******
Regards,

***** *******

Business Response:

There is nothing more we can say in response to this complaint that has not already been explained.
We are very sorry that the complaintant is not satisfied with the answer given.  The sales manager *** also told her this when she first came to talk to him.  She is welcome to call him and talk again; however, he has already given the explanation of how this happened.
Benson Honda does not mislead prospective customers and we even go to extremes to make sure we fairly represent the vehicles we sell. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
No reason was given for the use of  deceptive images of the cars on the web-site for Tom Benson
Depicting a presteen vehicle "for sale" on the site and not having the vehicle in running condition. Again, i state classic "BAIT AND SWITCH" tactics. I am encouraging the BBB to post this dialog on their website for all of the San Antonio area to see. I pray no one else gets to have the wool pulled over their eyes by Tom Benson Honda.  I am extremely disappointed in the manner in which all of this has transpired. Potential buyers "BEWARE" of the trading practises at Tom Benson Honda!  Regards,

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 22, 2013 I took a copy of the letter showing that my Honda was paid in full. I spoke with *******, in finance, who took all of the information that was needed to process refunds for my overpayments on my GAP insurance, health insurance and maintenance plans and she advised that it would be 4 - 6 weeks before the refund was processed. On Wednesday, May 1, 2013 I called Honda Finance because I have still not received my refund and wanted to check the status. I spoke with ****** in finance and he advised that he could not locate anything under my name, or my co-signers name and would need to do some research and he would call me back. That was at 9 am on Wednesday May 1, 2013. I did not hear back from him all day. The next day, May 2, 2013, I called numerous times and was forwarded to voicemail each time. Finally, I called to speak with the finance manager, ***** ****. I left him a voice mail with all of my information and have not had any return call from him either. I left a message for the buesiness office on the Benson Honda website and have had no response to that request either. Finally, today, May 3, 2013 I called to speak with the dealership manager, **** and was also transferred to his voicemail, which I did leave a very detailed message as to all of my attempts and why I was calling. The vehicle that was traded was a 2010 Honda Accord, financed under **** ******** and ******* ********. The last 8 of the VIN is ********. All I want to know is where is my refund. Maybe 3000.00 is not a lot of money to you, but, I had to come out of pocket 5500.00 to trade this vehicle in and I need my refund! Can you please get a response from this dealership in regards to my refund.

Desired Settlement: I just want my refund. I want a response to my request for the status of my refund. I have waited the allotted time for my refund and I just want my money.

Business Response:

I received an email from ******* ******** last week stating her problem in getting the refund for her coverages.  We had already been working on this and as Ms ******** stated in this complaint, we had informed her it took 6 to 8 weeks for the requests to go through and a check to be issued.  Ms ******** has now received her check and it took 7 weeks. 

When I recevied the email last week from Ms ********, I researched it and found that we had not yet received the refund and I gave the complaint to ***** ****, our F&I director.  He called twice but did not get an answer so he left a message.

I checked this morning (5/6/13) with our accounting department and talked with ******* *****.  She talked with Ms ******** last Friday (5/3) and was informed by Ms ******** that she had received her refund and was now happy; however, she was still upset about not talking with anyone at our dealership when she called as well as not receiving calls from us.  I was assured that our F&I director called her but had to leave messages.

Per the phone conversation our accounting clerk had with Ms ********, this complaint is now resolved.

Thank you for your advising me of this complaint.  Please let me know if you need anything further.

*** ****
Benson Honda
***** ********

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******
I am rejecting this response because:
I still have no response from anyone at tbe dealership, that is a lie. No one has called and left me a message at the number they were given. I STILL have no refund so that is also a lie. I AM NOT HAPPY nor did I ever at any point tell anyone I was happy. They told me 4-6 weeks for a refund, not 6-8 so that is another lie. I finally demanded to speak to someone last Friday and the receptionist transferred me to *******. ******* finally helped me and said that there was a mix up with the name and she fixed it and the refund would still take another week. So absolutely NOT do I have a refund. And no one has bothred to call me. Not ******, not ***** and not ****, the manager. I still am waiting on my money.  
Re gards,

******* ********

Business Response: I have reviewed this again today (6/25) and find that Benson Honda sent a check for refund of her Credit Life on May 10th  (Check made out to our purchaser – **** ******** and we added her name just because she requested it).

The refund for the GAP and Vehicle Service was from a third party (insurer) – Gulf States.  They sent their refund checks in May; however, they sent them to the purchaser – ****
********.  Mr ******** was the purchaser and Ms ******** was not a party
to this purchase agreement.

 

All money has been refunded in the normal time of 4 – 6 weeks.




Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I have finally received all refunds. And I was the purchaser of this vehicle. My broyher, **** ******** was my cosigner, all of the paperwork, however, he was listed as the primary. I was the person who purchased the car, put yje down payment and made all the payments. The dealerahop is justifying WHY there was a delay. when I went in to ask for the refund, I took all of my original paperwork. She knew that it was both parties on the paperwork, she could clearly see my brother listed as the primary and she asked for my information. If there was going to be a delay because of the names, the check could have been sent to my brother. I do see him. She could have just advised he would get the check. I have the moiney now. This is a non issue at this poimt, other than the way the dealership handled this entire process was unprofessional and disorganized and the fact that no one bothered returning my phone calls was not professional.  This should be a training opportunity.

Regards,

******* ********





























BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

6/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a car from them and before making payment i asked them if is possible to transport the car to Africa and they boldly said YES and after given them the money they changed. They refused to give me the required documents to ship the car

Desired Settlement: They Car needs to be shipped to Africa.

Business Response: Upon investigating this issue, our Sales Manager said he had visited with the customer and advised him that we were unable to ship a vehicle since we were not a shipping company.  It would be up the the purchaser to ship a vehicle if they wanted it shipped but we would not be involved.  Furthermore, we are not licensed as a shipping company and do not know the requirements for shipping.

I am sorry that the customer is having difficulty; however, we did not advise him that we could ship a vehicle.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/22/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/3/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/15/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1