Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bates Nissan Inc

Phone: (254) 699-7181 Fax: (254) 699-7432 5501 E Central Texas Expy, Killeen, TX 76543 http://www.batesnissan.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bates Nissan Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bates Nissan Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Bates Nissan Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 12, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1974 Business started locally: 01/01/1974 Business incorporated 10/24/1979 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bobby Bates, Owner Mr. John Johnston
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bobby Bates, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. John Johnston
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Industry Tips
Buying a New Car Navigating auto sales

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bates Nissan Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5501 E Central Texas Expy

    Killeen, TX 76543 (254) 699-7181

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in to Bates Nissan on June 20th 2015 after speaking to a sales man and filling out a lot of information as in most dealerships we found that after running my credit a new car would be the best for me I found the right cat of my choice and got all the numbers settled out and it was not where I needed the numbers to be so I left on Monday I received a call from the dealer and asking about my experience. Later that morning the sales man called me and said here is why I got gave me a price said if I come in Tuesday 8am it will be ready everything I said I will call right back because I was busy at work I called back said I can do that sounds good then he calls me back and said my manager said we can not do the deal and anymore take your business else where when I spoke to the manger he said he could not do it after the sales man told me on the phone we could. The sales man was nice but the manager had the he don't care I am to good for you attitude there motto is treat people like family and all they did is lie to me and ask "family" that's is not right

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to do what they said and take care of me as a customer or "family" and give me the deal that I agreed to on the phone with the sales man

Business Response: We have reviewed **. ******* written complaint as well as
did our internal investigation into his complaint.  I have personally reviewed all the paperwork,
credit, payments and pricing that was offered to **. *******.  On June 20, 2015 **. ******* visit our
Dealership in the hopes of driving home in a new vehicle.  **** **** was his Sales Consultant and his
primary contact person.  During this
visit **** showed **. ******* a few vehicles and both **** and **. ******* came
to the conclusion that a new vehicle would be the best option because of the
low A.P.R. Nissan was offer for June promotions.

**. ******* decided he would like to purchase a New 2015
Nissan Altima and he would be trading in his 2013 Dodge Avenger with a balance
of $13,112 remaining.  Based off the
Bates Nissan purchase worksheet **** word with Sales Manager, **** ***** with
the pricing for this said Altima.  The
worksheet reflect a selling price of $22,625 after the NMAC Rebate.  The initial payment with $5000 down and
trading his vehicle for $6000 and paying off his balance of $13,112, a monthly
payment of $429.56 was offered and with $5,500 payment of $421.30 or with
$6,000 a payment of $413.04

**. ******* did not like the above options and in his own
handwritten offered on the worksheet “That we will but today for $9500 or his
trade, zero (0) down for a payment of $300.00 a month.   Sales Manager **** ***** in turned counter
**. ******* offer by agreeing to give him what he wanted for his trade, offer
to allow him to do zero (0) down but with a payment of $370.49 a month.  **. ******* again did not that offer and
stated again that what it would take for him to buy the car.  In his last attempt to sell **. ******* a
vehicle today, **. ***** wrote down on the same worksheet (**. ******* even took
a picture of the worksheet) a payment of $355.83 “today only”. 

**** and **. ******* agreed that this wasn’t the right deal
for him and agreed to par ways as friends. 
On June 22, 2015 **** did his follow up with his sold and unsold
customers thanking them for their business as well as thanking them for
opportunity to have earned their business. 
While following up with **. *******, **. ******* informed **** that he
had the deal with Round Rock for $341 payment. 
**** asked **. ******* if we can match Round Rock deal will he buy the
Altima from him.  **. ******* said
yes.  **** went back to **. ***** and
related what **. ******* had informed him. 
**. ***** informed **** that we will honor our payment of $370.49 and if
he really got that payment from Round Rock then it would be in his best
interest to go ahead and buy that vehicle from Round Rock Nissan. 

After **** informed **. ******* of **. ***** offer **.
******* demanded to speak directly with **. *****.  During this conversation **. ***** reminded
**. ******* of the worksheet he took a picture of with all the payment and
offers clearly written on.  **. *****
explained to **. ******* that the payment he said Round Rock quoted of $341
might not be the same vehicle or they quoted the payment with more for your
trade or with Money down.  Either way we
could not match that deal so therefore **. ******* would have to go purchase
that vehicle with Round Rock.

 

Continuing with our moto “we treat you like family” we would
still like to extend our payment offer of $370.49 with a selling price of
$22,739.61 plus TT&L, Plus/Minus any trade, trade balance or down
payment.  In addition if **. ******* did
in fact get the offer and purchased from Round Rock Nissan for $341 for 0
(zero) down we would like to offer him $500 for his travel.

 

 

Sincerely

***** *****

General Sales Manager

Bates Nissan

************ ext ***

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

****** *******

after talking to **.**** on the phone he told me with tint and everything 348.72 I believe was the number (not exactly 100% but was around there way under the 370 they are claiming) and he could have it ready for me in the morning then I said let me think real fast for I am at work and I will call back in a few **.**** then called back and said he can no longer do the deal and take my business elsewhere I do not feel like I have been treated like family as they say they treat customers I have decided not to trust them or anyone at this point with my business as I told **** I do not need a new car I want and they made me a offer and they backed out I see they don't want my business period with I understand because I am not family to them. 

Business Response:



I am truly sorry **. ******* feels the way he is feeling. I understand how **. ******* is feeling because I too have felt that way in similar situations. However, more than not I found out that in most cases it was a mistake or misunderstanding that lead me to feeling that way.  Again, after reading **. ******* original complaint as well this response and interviewing all parties involved I come to the conclusion that either a mistake was made, someone misunderstood something and or got the wrong interpretation or interpreted the wrong information. Nevertheless something transpired that all parties involved could not come to terms. I am extremely sorry for **. ******* experience and really hope we can come to some type of agreement that will make **. ******* happy as he drives away in his new vehicle. 

 

However, in doing so the agreement must be a logical agreement for both the dealership and **. *******.  Before I came to the conclusion in my investigation I actually reached out to other business seeking advice as to what will they do in similar situations.  I welcome **. ******* to do the same.  I called a few Jewelry Stores, Department Store and 2 highline Automotive Dealerships.  One Jewelry store owner took a few minutes to explain one situation when an expensive stone was misquoted by thousands of dollars.  He when on to say that he explained to the customer that a mistake happen and he could not sell the stone for the quoted price.  The customers was outraged and demand that the stone be sold to him regardless of the mistake.  The owner said he apologized for the mistake but he is not willing to lose $3,500 for a simple mistake.  The department store all said they have a limit of what they can do, but normally they give out future discounts for their mistakes.  The Highline Dealership said they explain the mistake and more on. 

 

I again come to the conclusion that **. ***** intentions were clearly written on the worksheet what he was willing to do for **. *******.  We are still willing to honor the payments **. ***** agreed to on paper. I would also like to formally invite **. ******* back to the Dealership to go over the written worksheet with me so we can come to some type of agreement that will make **. ******* feel like family.  I am sure that if **. ******* take me up on my offer that we can come a reasonable agreement to do business and mend our relationship.

 

I look forward to meeting **. ******* and officially welcome him into our family of happy customers.

 

 

Respectfully,

 

***** *****

General Sales Manager

Bates Nissan

************


10/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** Nissan refuses to give me what I paid for. My purchase is 5 months old and still incomplete. ***** NISSAN **** * ******* ***** ***** ******** ** ***** ***** ******** I paid cash for a 2014 Nissan Rogue (I'm a 30 yr Nissan customer). No one has, to this day, shown me how anything in the car operates. I don't even  know what my service schedule is because no one will give me my warranty package... the thick book listing all covered parts,  bumper to bumper. Plus the 2 preprinted identification cards with my VIN # to present when I need service. This is all I'm missing after fighting tooth and nail for everything else I paid for but didn't get. I've been asking for 5 months. ***** Nissan refuses to get me my warranty package. It's their job. It took me months to even get parts I ordered for the car. I paid cash for the accessories but a month later,  I still did not have them.  That took 2 months. Mgr ***** *****, said "we will be nice and give them to you", right in front of the finance mgr, ***** **********. I paid cash for everything, including warranty and accessories. I ordered the car with a specific accessories list.  It was delivered to me on May 31, 2014,  from ******.  Finance department said, "we realize there are some parts still missing but go ahead and sign all the papers now and we'll make sure you get your parts when they come in".  It didn't happen.  The finance dept basically called me and his salespeople liars and made it MY JOB to prove them wrong (that my deal included a specific warranty and specific accessories). So I showed them a text message in my phone after my salesman and I closed the sale. ***** Nissan tried to cheat me out of the top of the line warranty (I never buy a car without the best possible warranty), but after a month of persistence, they finally corrected the papers to reflect the correct one. I walked in, paid cash, thought it would be very quick. I was there for 7 HOURS. I'm disabled, moving, have alot of medical problems and no one to help.  I felt that this could have been resolved amicably but nobody will any of my calls or emails.  I asked Nissan Corporate to help but they are treating me as despicably as ***** Nissan is.  I have never been so maltreated, offended, insulted, disrespected and made to feel like I'm invisible.  But they were very quick to take my thousands in cash. What has happened to respect and customer CARE? It took me 4 months of asking  just to get my CASH RECEIPT for this purchase.  The cashier was even instructed to "not help me" (see next paragraph). I want my purchase complete -- now. It's their job and it's been 5 months of begging and pleading with them. One of their managers, **** *****, has instructed ALL the staff to ignore me and monitor my calls. There's something wrong woth that. Nissan Corporate claims to have sent warranty pkg on August 8 but they were just trying to get me to stop calling. They never sent anything. I never received ANYTHING from NISSAN. Ever. I'd be grateful for anything you can do about this dealership.  The owners, *** ***** (Owner) and Bobby ***** (VP) just ignored my requests for assistance, and that of an attorney. This is bad business. Deceptive and unfair business practices, fraud. Inappropriate behavior by dealer management and staff. Abusiveness and being hung up on and yelled at on phone.

Desired Settlement: I WANT MY WARRANTY PACKAGE IMMEDIATELY. THE ONE THAT IS KEPT IN THE VEHICLE W ID CARDS PREPRINTED. AND A LETTER OF APOLOGY BY *** *****, ***** ***** AND **** *****. YOU CANNOT TAKE SOMEONE'S CASH AND NOT DELIVER THE PRODUCT IN FULL.

Business Response: First, on behalf of ***** Nissan, I would like to apologize to Ms ****** for the dissatisfaction she experienced during her recent purchase from us.  After investigating the facts as told to me by the employees involved, I agree that we made mistakes and that there were some misunderstandings as to what was or wasn't included in the price of the vehicle she purchased, however I do not believe that there was any fraud or intentional misrepresentations.  We did misplace her check for the upgrade on the extended service contract, but once found, corrected the warranty (service contract) issue in the computer while Ms ****** was present.  At that time she was given all that we had the ability to give her, and that was the correct application for the new service contract.  We contacted Nissan, and they verified that they sent her "warranty Package" to her on August 8th.  Since receiving this complaint, we contacted Nissan again today 10-1-2014, and had them email us a copy of her complete policy.  I have printed this out (21 pages) and have sent this to Ms ****** via certified mail to her PO Box address. (Certified Mail # ***************************)  She should receive that in a few days.  I have also gone into the Nissan system computer and printed out the contract information to verify that the policy is indeed in effect, along with the factory warranty limits on the car. (attachments ******1 & ******2). 

Consumer Response: Complaint: 10242124



I am rejecting this response because:



THIS INFORMATION IS ABSOLUTELY USELESS AND IS NOT WHAT I REQUESTED, NOR WHAT I WAS PROMISED BY ***** NISSAN.



WHOMEVER WROTE THIS VAPID RESPONSE AND DELIBERATELY FAILS TO ADDRESS THE ABUSIVENESS BY *** *****' MANAGEMENT AND EMPLOYEES.  FOR EXAMPLE, MS.
LORRAINE CHUMBLEY, "OFFICE MANAGER" YELLED AND SCREAMED AT ME ON THE PHONE PRIOR TO HANGING UP IN MY EAR, ALL BECAUSE **** ***** INSTRUCTED ALL THE
STAFF TO "IGNORE ME, DO NOT HELP ME AND MONITOR ALL MY CALLS AND REPORT THEM ALL TO **** *****". LORRAINE CHUMBLEY DID THIS ALL BECAUSE I ASKED
FOR MY "CASH RECEIPT FOR $27,250 -- THE ORIGINAL CASH AMOUNT, THAT I NEVER GOT A RECEIPT FOR". I WAS SEVERELY VERBALLY ABUSED VIA PHONE AND HUNG UP
ON.

THIS IS INEXCUSABLE.  ***** NISSAN ACTED IN BAD FAITH AND COMMITTED FRAUD BY DELIBERATELY REFUSING TO "FINISH THE JOB" -- MY CASH
PURCHASE.  YOU HAVE DISRESPECTED ME, VERBALLY AND EMOTIONALLY ABUSED ME AND MUCH MORE.

THIS IS NOT “CUSTOMER C-A-R-E”.

I AM MOVING AND HAVE NOTIFIED YOU IN ADVANCE THAT I AM MOST LIKELY CLOSING MY POST OFFICE BOX, SO YOU CANNOT SEND ANYTHING THERE.  YOU WERE TO WORK WITH
ME, AS YOU PROMISED, ***** *****... AND, AGAIN, YOU HAVE FAILED.  YOU PROMISED THAT I COULD PICK IT UP OR HAVE MY WARRANTY PACKAGE DELIVERED.


I DO NOT ACCEPT CERTIFIED MAIL, AND I SAID DO NOT MAIL ANYTHING, I AM PROBABLY CLOSING THE POST OFFICE BOX..

I WILL NOT STOP UNTIL I GET MY $28,000 PURCHASE COMPLETE AND I EXPECT TO BE TREATED NOW AND IN THE FUTURE WITH KINDNESS, CARE AND RESPECT --
ANY TIME I ASK FOR SERVICE -- AS YOUR PAYING CUSTOMER AND AS A HUMAN BEING.


***** ******

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I purchased my car in 2010 with Nissan, I bought into a plan that they were in contract with another company. The plan is called a down-payment plan and it comes into play if I was to total my car, I would have a down-payment of 2500.00 for another car. The catch was, I had to redeem it at the place that I purchased it, Bates Nissan. In the contract plan, it did not say if I had bad or good credit that this would be redeemable. So I had an accident on June 11, 2014 and they did not declare my car a total at the time. So my insurance company sent to me, by accident, 4700.00 check for my car I guess to pay for it when it come out of the shop. I put the money in my account and left it there. Then about a week later the adjuster called and said it was declared totaled because they found a lot more damage on the car. But during all this time my insurance company had me in a rental car. Well, my rental time was up on 7/11 through my insurance. So I called Nissan and informed them about my down payment plan agreement and they told me that the company was not responding and they don't know what to do. So I told them that I needed a rental car because I was without a car and I talked to ***** ** Finance and he asked me what was the cost per day and I told him 23.00 and some change and he told me let me check with whomever He needed to check with and he will get back to me; I then said ok. He called me back that day and said that he could do that. Well, they could not find the company for about a 3 or 4 days, then they thought about finding the guy that sold me the contract at that time he'd worked there. In between all this time, ***** was off because of his wife was pregnant, then several days later he took off because she'd finally had it. So he was off for some days and while he was off, I called (because I didn't know he was off until his co-worker told me) but I mentioned to her, I said "***** had promised me that my rental car was going to get paid, is there any way I can get that in writing?" She said that she would leave that message on his desk for him. There were couple times that she transferred me to his voice mail; every time we talked I would mention the rental car and how much they took out of my account that was supposed to be my insurance money, He said don't worry, they were going to pay for it and when I come to pick up my car, he would cut me out a check for the amount. I had to call the insurance company and tell them that enterprise was taking out of my account for my rental but Nissan said that they would pay me back for it, and then I will send it to pay off my car. Well, we finally got to talk again and he said that he's found the company and they had changed their name of their business, that's why they couldn't find them and Nissan no longer have contract with them. So he talked to the people (the down payment plan company) and they said put me in any car that I want. So ***** ask me to fill out application online, and find the car I wanted. So he ask me could I come there in ***** at a drop of the hat when its time; I told him yes and he said that he would get back to me but it took a few days and when we talked, he said will you fill out an application, I told him that I did but he couldn't find it because he was looking under **** instead of ****. I filled out the application twice. It took him about a week to get back to me to let me know that I was not approved by anyone except one company that wanted an additional 2800.00. He offered me my portion back that I paid for the plan but I told them that I need for them to honor the contract that they had with this company. So, when he realized that I wasn't going to get the car because of my credit, he called me and said "at least we got the down payment money for you, you can go and do whatever you want with the money; you can pay for your rental...I stop him and said NO, that is a down payment for a car, you said you were going to pay for my rental; he said, well since you didn't get approved for a car through us, then we are not going to pay for your rental car. I re-iterated to him that was my insurance money to pay off my car that was totaled. And he said “it is final, we are not paying for that rental car”. I would have taken the down payment money and him paying for my rental and went on my way but think that was an underhanded thing that ***** did and the company. I believe that they should honor the contract that I bought into. And that Nissan pay for my rental car. I now owe 1300.00 for this because I was told that it was going to be paid for and this is my insurance money and I told ***** this. I would not have kept that car that long if I had known he wasn’t going to pay for it. He also ag**** with me about the down payment plan; it didn’t say it was good or bad credit.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor the contract and pay for the rental car like I was promise.

Business Response: I am responding by submitting ***** ************ rebuttal of the facts as he recalls them, since I was not the person who had the conversation with ** ****.  His comments are as follows:

"****** **** contacted me in reference to down payment protection in early July.  At that time, I had to do some additional research to find out about the plan that she had purchased because we no longer offered it and the individual that sold the policy no longer worked here.  I was able to contact the company and get a claim form from them in which I faxed to ****** on July 8th 2014.  I told ****** at that time that we would assist in paying for her rental car if she bought a car from us.  This would allow me to use the proceeds from the sale to pay for the rental car.  This was before she submitted a loan application.  I never said to her I would pay for the rental if she didn't buy a car from us.  The down payment protection plan does not secure financing for the customer, it only gives the customer $2500 to purchase a vehicle from ANY dealership.  She is not required to purchase from Bates Nissan.  She only needed to contact us to file the claim.  I offered to send ****** the $2500 on August 18, 2014.  She asked us not to send her the check as she would be contacting her attorneys."

As of todays date, 8/25/2014, we have forwarded ** ****'s $2500 check to her via ******  I would like to apologize to ** **** for the misunderstanding concerning the rental car.  It was always understood by us that we would absorb the cost of the rental car in the event that she purchased a vehicle from us.  This was discussed with her prior to her submitting a loan application.  Unfortunately, we were unable to secure a loan for her, and we feel our obligation ends at sending the $2500 down payment to her, per the contract that she purchased.

Consumer Response: *****….."****** **** contacted me in reference to down payment protection in early July. At that time, I had to do some additional research to find out about the plan that she had purchased because we no longer offered it and the individual that sold the policy no longer worked here. I was able to contact the company and get a claim form from them in which I faxed to ****** on July 8th. I told ****** at that time that we would assist in paying for her rental car if she bought a car from us

 
MY REBUTTAL ….(THIS PART IS NOT TRUE! HE NEVER SAID ASSIST AND HE NEVER SAID IF I BOUGHT A CAR FROM HIM EITHER. MY UNDERSTANDING OF THE CONTRACT WAS THAT I HAD TO BUY FROM THEM IN ORDER TO REDEEM MY DOWN PAYMENT. I WAS ON THE LAST DAY OF MY RENTAL WITH MY INSURANCE COMPANY AND I CALLED HIM ABOUT THE PLAN. HE COULDNT FIND THE THE COMPANY, THATS WHEN I TOLD HIM THAT IM GOING TO NEED A RENTAL CAR AND I TOLD HIM THAT THE RENTAL CAR THAT I HAD WAS 23 AND SOME CHANGE. HIS EXACT WORDS "LET ME CHECK ON THAT AND I'LL GET BACK TO YOU. " SO LATER THAT DAY HE CALLED AND SAID YES THEY WOULD DO IT BECAUSE THEY COULDNT FIND THE COMPANY (THE COMPANY HAD CHANGED NAME AND NUMBER ***** TOLD ME), THEY HAD TO SEARCH FOR THE PERSON THAT SOLD THE CONTRACT TO ME AND ***** WAS OFF OF WORK BEFORE AND AFTER HIS WIFES PREGNANCY, FILL OUT APPLICATION THREE TIMES BECAUSE HE DIDN'T HAVE MY LAST NAME SPELLED CORRECTLY, ALL OF THIS AND MORE OVER A SPAND OF 1140.00+ FOR A RENTAL CAR.
 
*****……This would allow me to use the proceeds from the sale to pay for the rental car
 
MY REBUTTAL…….(AND ALL HE EVER SAID WAS "HE WAS GOING TO PAY FOR MY RENTAL" HE NEVER MENTIONED THAT "PROCEEDS STATEMENT TO ME," I PROMISED!!! ***** IS A LIAR! HE LED ME ON THINKING HE WAS GOING TO PAY FOR MY RENTAL CAR AND HE NEVER TOLD ME THAT HE WAS GOING TO USE THE DOWN PAYMENT AS A PAYMENT FOR THE RENTAL! THAT WAS A DOWN PAYMENT FOR MY NEW CAR; HE DOES THAT SOUND ME USING THE MONEY TO PAY FOR A RENTAL WHEN I NEEDED A CAR; HE’S LYING).
 
*****’S STATEMENT…..This was before she submitted a loan application. I never said to her I would pay for the rental if she didn't buy a car from us
 
MY REBUTTAL….. (YES YOU DID *****! ON SEVERAL OCASSIONS I KEPT REMINDING HIM OF HOW MUCH I OWE FOR THE RENTAL BECAUSE THE RENTAL AGENCY CALLED ME EVERY WEEK WITH THE TOTAL AND I WOULD TELL ***** AND HE ASSURED ME THAT EVERYTHING WAS OKAY. I EVEN TOLD ENTERPRISE RENTAL COMPANY EVERY WEEK THAT I WAS JUST WAITING ON NISSAN TO GIVE ME A CAR (CALL THEM AND ASK THEM). I CALLED MY INSURANCE COMPANY AS WELL AND TOLD THEM THAT I WAS GOING TO PAY OFF THE REST OF MY CAR WHEN NISSAN GIVE ME BACK THE MONEY. I WOULD HAVE NEVER GAMBLED ON NOTHING LIKE THIS WITH MY INSURANCE MONEY..THE PLAN THAT ***** AND I DISCUSSED WAS, I DRIVE THE RENTAL CAR THERE TO PICK UP MY CAR AND HE SAID THAT HE WAS GOING TO REIMBURST ME FOR THE RENTAL BUT BECAUSE I WASNT APPROVE, HE SAID THAT HE WASNT GOING TO PAY FOR MY RENTAL. THATS WHEN HE OFFERED ME THE DOWN PAYMENT CHECK AND TOLD ME TO PAY THE INSURANCE MONEY BACK WITH THAT MONEY AND GO SOMEWHERE ELSE AND GET A CAR WITH THE REST. YOU SAID YOU DIDNT CARE WHAT I DID WITH THE MONEY. I TOLD YOU I WAS CONTACTING THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU AND GETTING A LAWYER. WHY WOULD I TAKE THAT DOWN PAYMENT MONEY AND PAY FOR A RENTAL AND I AM IN NEED OF TRANSPORTATION? ...
 
*****…..The down payment protection plan does not secure financing for the customer, it only gives the customer $2500 to purchase a vehicle from ANY dealership. She is not required to purchase from Bates Nissan. She only needed to contact us to file the claim. I offered to send ****** the $2500 on August 18, 2014. She asked us not to send her the check as she would be contacting her attorneys
 
MY REBUTTAL….." WHY WOULD I COME ALL THE WAY TO ***** TO GET A CAR IF I COULD USE IT ANYWHERE ? I AM IN KANSAS! HE TOLD ME ANYTHING TO GET THE BUSINESS AND WHEN HE SEEN I WASN’T APPROVE, HE’S TRYING TO WESSEL HI**ELF OUT OF IT!
 
MY REBUTTAL….HE’S JUST NOW SAYING WHAT THE DOWN PAYMENT PLAN MEANS, NEVER SAID A WORD ABOUT IT PRIOR TO THEM TURNING ME DOWN FOR A CAR LOAN…NEVER! I WOULD HAD TURNED IN THE RENTAL MUCH SOONER AND TOOK THE DOWN PAYMENT AND HE WOULDN’T HAD TO PAY SO MUCH FOR THE RENTAL. LET ME ITERATE SOMTHING, FROM THE TIME I FIRST TALKED TO HIM I NEEDED A CAR REAL QUICK BUT THEY DIDN’T KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT THE PLAN OR THE COMPANY (OR AT LEAST ***** DIDN’T AS HE TOLD ME), IT TOOK SOME TIME FOR HIM TO FIND IT, THAT’S WHY I GOT THE RENTAL CAR; IT WAS AN INCONVENIENCE ON THEIR PART BECAUSE THEY COULDN’T FIND THE COMPANY AND PLUS ALL THE TIME HE WAS OFF FOR MATERNAL LEAVE AND WHAT NOT OR HIM NOT ANSWERING THE PHONE BECAUSE HE WAS THE ONLY ONE THERE; AS HE TOLD ME. I ALSO TALKED TO A LADY THAT WORKED IN FINANCE; DID NOT GET HER NAME BUT ON SEVERAL OCASSIONS SHE EITHER TOOK A MESSAGE OR TRANSFERRED ME TO HIS VOICEMAIL.
 
As of todays date, 8/25/2014, we have forwarded ** ****'s $2500 check to her via ***** would like to apologize to ** **** for the misunderstanding concerning the rental car (THEY’RE WERE NO MISUNDERSTANDING, HE JUST LIED). It was always understood by us that we would absorb the cost of the rental car in the event that she purchased a vehicle from us (IT WASNT CONTIGENT UPON THIS REASON. IT WAS NEVER TOLD TO ME, I WOULD HAVE TURNED IN THE RENTAL BUT I WAS GOING BY WHAT THE CONTRACT SAID) IT WASNT A MISUNDERSTANDING, ***** IS JUST LYING!. This was discussed with her prior to her submitting a loan application. Unfortunately, we were unable to secure a loan for her, and we feel our obligation ends at sending the $2500 down payment to her, per the contract that she purchased. 
 
 
NO HIS OBLIGATIONS ARE NOT OVER UNTIL HE ADMIT HE IS LYING OR JUST PAY ME MY MONEY BACK FOR THE RENTAL! THIS WAS NEVER TOLD TO ME. AND YES, I CALLED ***** BACK TO GET THAT CHECK FOR A DOWN PAYMENT ON A CAR THAT TOYOTA IS APPROVING ME FOR BUT THEY NEED MY CAR THAT WAS TOTALED PAID FOR IN FULL, NOW I CAN’T BECAUSE OF THE RENTAL. THIS IS THE VERY REASON I WOULD HAVE NOT DONE THIS WITHOUT THE CONSENT OF ***** SAYING THEY WOULD GIVE THAT BACK TO ME.Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

****** ****

Business Response: I do not believe for one minute that ***** is a liar, or that he lied to ** ****.  It is apparent, however, that ** **** believes that ***** had ag**** to take care of her rental car whether or not she purchased a vehicle from us.  Therefore, I am willing to issue her a check in the amount of $1140.00 (the amount she stated).  I am not making this offer because I feel that Bates Nissan owes her the money, but because she believes we do.  If ** **** would like to accept this offer, I will get her a check in the mail.  This will be our only offer.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I am not lying about what was told to me; he did offer to pay for my rental car, I appreciate this. I will except this offer, thank you!



Regards,

****** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Bates Nissan Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart