Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Aransas Autoplex

Phone: (361) 758-3206 Fax: (361) 758-3326 2352 W Wheeler Ave, Aransas Pass, TX 78336 http://www.aransasautoplex.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aransas Autoplex meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aransas Autoplex include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aransas Autoplex
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 08, 1996 Business started: 12/10/1989 Business started locally: 12/10/1989 Business incorporated 11/02/2001 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tommy Gardner, General Manager/President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tommy Gardner, General Manager/President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
San Patricio Automotive Group, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Car repair tips Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 2352 W Wheeler Ave

    Aransas Pass, TX 78336

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 18th my husband and I walked into Aransas Autoplex with every intention of walking out with a new vehicle. We drove up in a rental car because my ******** was in the shop. We were greeted with much enthusiasm because they were promoting a huge sale in which I had received a flyer through the mail in my name for $2,000 off a car of my choice. **** was the sales rep that took us over. I told him specifically that I needed a vehicle Bluetooth capable with hands free driving along with a tow package. I told him I would like to have a Tahoe but would be interested in the right truck. We test drove a 2013 ********* Crew Cab LS with 17,000 miles for $28,000. I fell in love with that truck. I test drove it for 30 minutes. The dealership allowed me to dive it home to get my **** ********* **** ** ** to trade along with my **** ******** ** that I had bought from Aransas Autoplex 4 years prior. When arriving back. I was informed that they were giving me a $1,000 for each truck and even with the $2,000 coupon I needed $3,000 for a down payment. Here's the bait and switch. I was then escorted to a **** **** *** with 53,000 miles for $21,000 with no down payment $1,00 for each trade in and the $2,000 coupon. The sales person "****" promised a sprayed in bed liner. I drove the truck less than a block and turned around. I am a Chevy girl. I was trading two Chevy's in for a FORD. I assumed the truck was Bluetooth because I was so insistent about it with owning my own business that when seeing the telephone emblem on the dash I assumed it was Bluetooth. The sales rep knew I didn't like the Ford and told me that in 4 months I could trade it in and walk off the lot with what ever I wanted. The payments winded up being $618 00 a month for a vehicle I was coerced into purchasing that was not Bluetooth capable. When the deal was said and done. I was under the impression that I was getting a sprayed in bed liner a new windshield and trading it back in 4 months. The next morning I look out my window and there is a dent in the lower end of the front bumper. I immediately took it up to dealership and found "****" the sales rep and showed him the bumper. He wrote on a business card that they would repair the bumper. I had one of my crew with me and she stayed there to see about getting a vehicle with her income check refund while I went to insurance company to put the truck on my policy. By the time I got back they were wanting me to put another vehicle in my name for the crew mate. IT NEVER HAPPENED!! After driving the vehicle that day I began to realize that the vehicle had not gone through the GMC certification for used vehicles. There was a dead bird lodged in the radiator grill, a dead bug in the courtesy light, the paint on the tail gate easily began to chip in long pieces. I started looking at other F150,s and noticed that the front bumpers were closer to the frames and now believed that there was an issue with this truck. I went back the next day and found "******" the sales manager and took him outside and related all my issues even the fact that I needed a bed cover for my supplies not to get wet. Told him I did not like the truck, what I was promised, what I told sales rep what I wanted, and then asked if I could buy back my ******** because I felt as if I was being really taken for and to lose my Van that I paid 4 years for would really upset me. They allowed me to purchase back the ******** with a $62 dollar filing fee. Busted told me he would work with me one on one when it comes to trading it in. Just to bring it back in July and that I could get what I wanted. On the 24th, one week after purchasing the truck I was driving to work in the rain and the blades on the windshield wipers were so bad I had to pull into the service dept to have them replaced. That is when "******" whom I left a message for to call me on my way to the service dept came out and met me and brought out the ordering mechanic and they just that day ordered my bed liner and the bumper replacement and the windshield. I reiterated to ****** again that I was not happy about this truck. That I knew now that it was a fact that this truck had not gone through the process of being certified as a GMC used vehicle and pointed out to him that the inspection sticker was even expired with a date of Feb 2014. The issues of the wiper blades, the fact that none of the parts had not even been ordered bothered me all day. So badly that I had my husband meet me at the dealership because I wanted out of this truck. When we got to the dealership we patiently waited and ****** was astute that we were waiting for him. Before I could say anything he directed us to a show model truck on the interior floor and began showing me bed toppers. I again reiterated to him the issues and a new one about the chassis seemingly sliding or popping when you accelerated or applied the brakes. He explained to me that it would be a lot of work to get out of the contract and that I wasn't getting a sprayed liner and that the sales person had no authorization to offer me that even though it was in the paper work signed. He wanted me to know that he was working on getting me a topper and that it wouldn't be a soft side but a rolled one and Id get it at cost. He asked me to be patient, to make my payments on time and that he would work with me to get a vehicle in July. On March 11th I went through a drive in car wash only to pull out immediately because the driver side window locked up and would not raise up. There was an attendant empting the trash cans that I showed that the window wouldn't raise so that I didn't lose the $10 for the car wash. I then drove straight to dealership with suds all over the truck. When arriving...of course the window worked fine. The service rep noticed the inspection sticker and had it replaced for me. Upon waiting the parts manager came out and started that the parts were in and wanted to schedule the truck for service. I was late the day it was to be serviced and was prepared to leave truck over night. When getting there and meeting with the body shop manager he was unaware of any service order. Upon filling out the service paper work I also stated thetas the entire vehicle needed to be checked for certification of a GMC used car. When I picked the car up the next day i found a cheap plastic bed liner that didn't even fit the truck bed. I t had hole in it and looked to be used. The bumper was never replaced. Instead the dented piece was perhaps replaced but wired....literally wired on. I an appalled at everything that has transpired and am now very worried that when I trade in that I will be taken for. I am horrified at the prospect that I am stuck with this truck on a 7 year note. When re-reading my contract they never even gave me the $2,000 off for the coupon. And if My credit had issues to have a 20% interest rate how could I have gotten another vehicle in my name for my crew mate??? Please, please help me with this situation.

Desired Settlement: I want the **** ***** ********* **** *** ** that I originally drove home to get my trade in for. I do not want this FORD. Have made this very clear with in 24 hours of having truck.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern, regarding Ms. ******’s complaint to the BBB # *******.

 

            Ms. ****** met with management on her concerns March 17, 2014 in person. We discussed the purchase from the beginning to the delivery of her purchase. We explained that the finance company required more equity in the vehicle she initially

wanted. At that time we showed another vehicle that would work for her situation, not the **** ********* it was a Ford**** pickup. She took delivery. 3 days later she came back to the dealership stating she wasn’t happy with the vehicle. We informed her the reason we could not sell her the ********* was the stipulations from the finance company. She stated she didn’t like the vehicle she purchased and wanted something different that what she had. She said there were some things wrong with the vehicle, which we addressed. This is a used vehicle sold “as is”, other than if the manufacture’s warranty that may be applicable.  These concerns were minor in our opinion so we addressed and repaired them.

 

            We then discussed trying another vehicle we had in inventory similar to what she wanted originally and she submitted credit information for financing requirements tried to purchase that vehicle. The best source for financing Ms. ****** would require $8,000 equity payment (down payment) for purchasing that vehicle. When we informed Ms. ******, she said there was another issue with her truck she was driving. We said we would diagnose her concern when it was convenient for her.

 

            There is not a resolution for her original purchase at this time that wouldn’t involve a sizable down payment for another vehicle.

 

**** *******

President

Aransas Autoplex

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 This is not an offer to the complaint that I filed. This is a statement all in which is false and none based on fact. I have never spoken to president of Aransas Autoplex. I was never offered anything. In fact ****** ****** called me the day after the complaint was filed and told me that he would do everything in his power to get me into the truck that I wanted. I went down to the dealership and filled our another credit app. He called me the next day and told me that he had the truck on the lot and was working diligently on getting me into it. A couple days went by and I started getting worried and I had my husband call him and he informed ******* that it took time and that it looked good. No one had rejected me and there 4 banks looking at it. That I might have to put more money down but that it was looking good. I call three times in one day to not even get a call back. I finally told the receptionist that the next phone call will be my attorney when ****** calls me on his cell phone. He now tells me it is not good. That 3 banks rejected me and there is still another one we are holding out for. By this time my husband and I know that they are biding time. Something is up. I call ********* the bank that the loan is with. They noted my concerns but there is nothing they can do. I email ****** whom says he never received that I give up.... I wanted the spray in bed liner that was promised, the bumper replacement along with the **** certification for the used vehicle and a promise of the $2,000 coupon that was promised to me along with any other promotion at the time and that I wanted it in writing. Then I get this response. It is a lie. All of it. I call ****** immediately. He states that he is unaware of ******* response and that he never received my email through the company website. My this time I am in tears on the phone. He tells me when I come to pick up the Van that he will look at the Chassis and that he will have the bumper replaced. To send him the emails and that he will contact me Monday. My husband and I were sick all weekend and now it is Tuesday April 1st 3 days before my first $618 payment on a truck that Sucks. I am hiring an attorney.



Regards,

******* ******

Business Response: Ms. ****** has been contacted by the Sales Manager ****** Vernor throughout this situation. She has been appraised of what can be done with the limitation that we have available through all the lending constraints that are present in this situation. We are willing to address her concerns that she has with the vehicle. Ms. ****** was expected at the dealership Friday 4-18-2014 but she never showed. Ms. ****** has been advised of the constraint required by available lenders. Once she can address those constraints Aransas Autoplex will be able to accommodate what she desires.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ******* 
 
I am rejecting this response because: 
 
There is not one bit of truth to any of this. ****** ****** has never tried to once contact me about any 
"constraints" with any lenders. The last time ****** ****** and I spoke was when I contacted him about 
***** ********* response to this complaint which I described in the second response. I contacted 
"******" April 10th when I texted him three pictures of the front bumper. One picture showing that the 
license plate cover had fallen off. Just the cover because I still have paper plates which expired April 20th

The second picture exposing the reason as to why the front license plate came off. The piece they replaced 
was “wired in" not only from the front but up and around the front of the grill. The 3rd picture was the entire 
bumper coming slowly off the front of the truck. He stated that I needed to get in and have it fixed. I told 
him I was dropping my Truck of when I picked my Van up from the shop that next Friday from Corpus. 
But wait there is another issue here that has not been addressed. The entire time I have had the issue with 
this Truck I have also had my Van in their shop for repairs under an insurance claim. I was advised by my 
attorney and also by common sense not to exchange anymore moneys or have any further service with this 
establishment due to their fraudulent accusations and because of the legality of the present situation with 
this truck. The Insurance Company had to pay them a restock fee for ordering parts for my Van which they 
ordered without my prior approval. And I had to pay a $108 estimate fee. Now mind you I signed a form 
when dropping the Van allowing me to know of the estimate charges but “boy howdy” plainer than day it 
states parts and fees. Mind you I never gave them permission to order parts the estimator did from the 
insurance company. Now wait it gets better… to top it off they held the Van till the checks cleared the bank. 
My Van was never towed from Aransas Autoplex till the 15th of April. 
Now please tell me how I am going drop of my Truck to have the bumper, the moving bed....( Oh I haven't 
told you yet that what I thought was the Chassis was actually the bed of the truck moving on the frame of 
the truck) and not yet have my Van repaired. Also that the paint job is flacking off in spots. This is a 
$25,000 vehicle. Yes you would think that these people would have had my truck in and had at least all that 
fixed as I originally had asked the first time they had it in for repairs 3 days after purchase. Yes you would 
also think that they would have offered me a replacement vehicle knowing that they held my van as ransom 
till the insurance checked cleared. This is all so very upsetting that instead of rectifying a serious problem on 
their part in so many ways that they continue to carry on with these lies and false accusations. What has 
truly happened to the spirit of honor to another man and the power of their word? This is truly dis hearting. 
So once again this is not an offer to rectify. This is a false statement. 
This is what I want. My bumper and my bed fixed. My sprayed on bed liner that was promised. The **** 
certification of a used vehicle inspection which was obviously never performed. The bed topper at price that 
was offered when I first wanted released out of this contract. I want my $2,000 coupon that was never 
applied to this contract as promised along with any other promotion when I trade the truck in July. I have to 
deal with these people in order to keep the warranty on the truck through the gap insurance. Either we 
rectify these problems immediately or its going to be like having had signed with the Devil….and we know 
who is lying here. 
 
Regards, 
 
******* ****** 
 

12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a car from this dealer ship. When I went in to talk to the salesmen he asked me what is the one thing you are looking for in a car? I told him Bluetooth. He sold me a car and told me it was equipped with Bluetooth. We'll it wasn't so I contacted them to tell him, his only options he offered me was to buy an external Bluetooth devise or use my aux in the car. The point is I didn't want that I drive a lot with my work and I needed it to be an internal Bluetooth so my phone no matter where it was in the car would automatically connect. I wasn't satisfied at all with this answer so I contacted the supervisor of sales, he told me he would make it right and get back with me ASAP. I didn't hear back so I called, he told me the same thing, he was waiting to hear back from some one, I got tired of waiting so I went I to the dealership to see him, he told me they weren't going to pay to have the device installed because it was too much. I'm sorry but it isn't my fault that they told me the car has Bluetooth and it doesn't . He then told me that he would see what he could find and I still haven't heard back. I don't know why no one has taken the time to make this right, I feel like I have been brushed off as if it isn't important. I would like to have this matter resolved and the correct devices installed in my car.

Desired Settlement: I would like the factory bluetooth installed in my car by the appropriate dealership.

Business Response:

****,

We have resolved this to Ms. ******** satisfaction.

Thank you,

* *******