BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Allen Samuels Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram of Aransas Pass meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Allen Samuels Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram of Aransas Pass include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Allen Samuels Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram of Aransas Pass
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 06, 2014 Business started: 04/01/1977 in TX Business started locally: 04/01/1977 Business incorporated: 03/13/1989 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Denton, GM Mr. Jeff Wooley, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Denton, GM
Principal: Mr. Jeff Wooley, President
Related Businesses
Allen Samuels Chevrolet Allen Samuels Auto Group Allen Samuels Austin Dodge, Inc. Allen Samuels Dodge Chrysler Jeep
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Online

Alternate Business Names
Allen Samuels Auto Group Allen Samuels CDJR of Aransas Pass, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 2006 W Wheeler Ave

    Aransas Pass, TX 78336 (361) 386-2626

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Allen Samuels Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram of Aransas Pass Texas will not stand behind their repair work. The air conditioning system on my vehicle was repaired and replaced 4,000 miles ago and no longer operates properly. The dealership has offered to redo the repair at half the hourly rate of $120 per hour charging me 7 to 8 hours at $60 per hour. I spent $1498 to have the original repair done. I do not believe this is fair at all.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the dealership to fix the problem properly at no charge. The original repair work was not done properly.

Business Response: May 22, 2014

 

Better Business Bureau

1005 La Posada Drive

Austin, TX 78752


Re: Complaint #********, Mr. *** ******
 

Greetings,

 
Please allow this letter to serve as our official response to BBB complaint number ********, filed by Mr. *** ******. This complaint was filed on May 22, 2014. Our response is same.

Mr. ****** brought his 2006 Dodge RAM 2500 truck to us with two air conditioning concerns on February 28, 2013. Mr. ****** notified his Service Advisor of two separate concerns. Concern #1 stated that the air conditioning was not blowing cold. Concern #2 stated that the heater and defrost are inoperable. Following diagnosis of both concerns, Mr. ****** authorized repairs to his vehicle in the amount of $1,498.96, which included parts, labor, and State sales tax. Concern #1 was repaired by replacing a failed air conditioning compressor and the escaped refrigerant. Concern #2 was repaired by replacing the upper and lower housing units which are responsible for air distribution and delivery. To date, the vehicle has not retured to our facility for any type of diagnosis or repair.


According to multiple telephone conversations with Mr. ****** and our Service & Parts Manager, *** ******, Mr. ****** has stated that he is experiencing the same problem again with air distribution. The air is blowing cold, just not through the proper vents. At this point we are not certain of what has failed because we have not seen the vehicle to perform diagnostics.


The Parts and labor warranty on these particular Mopar parts is 12 months or 12,000 miles, whichever comes first. Unfortunately too much time has passed (15 months) and the warranty has expired. The warranty expired on February 27, 2014. We have even contacted Chrysler and requested out of warranty goodwill assistance for Mr. ******. They have declined to provide any type of help. That is why we offered to drastically discount our labor rate and the parts pricing for Mr. ******. Again, we do not know what has failed because
we have not diagnosed the vehicle. We have not been provided the opportunity to inspect Mr. ******’s vehicle.

We certainly empathize with Mr. ****** and his vehicle concerns. However, we need to look at the vehicle in order to verify the exact failure. The repair could be very simple and very inexpensive, but we will not know until we have inspected it. Additionally, the repair might NOT be related to the original repair. We will not know that until we inspect the vehicle. 

In closing, we are a bit confused and concerned with this BBB complaint. Mr. ****** told Mr. ****** that he was not mad at us, but mad at Chrysler. That, coupled with not being
afforded the opportunity to inspect the vehicle, we are concer*** that this complaint is slightly premature. We ask that Mr. ****** give us the opportunity to properly diagnose his vehicle and see what else we can do to assist him. If he is not satisfied at that point, then we can discuss further action. Once we fully resolve Mr. ******’s concerns, we request that this complaint be removed or closed as COMPLETELY SATISFIED.

Mr. ****** is welcome to bring his vehicle in to our facility at his convenience.

Sincerely,

 
**** ******
President & General Manager

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

*** ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

*** ******

Consumer Response:

May 23, 2014

Complaint # ********

 

Dear Mr. ******,

 

Thank you for your response. Please let me give you more details regarding this matter. First I am sure that you are aware of the heater/blender door defect present in thousands of Dodge Ram Trucks. This defect was first repaired on my truck November 1, 1997 at 13,664 miles by Lithia Dodge of Corpus Christi under warranty. The repair lasted until I brought my truck to your service department 2/28/2013 with 119,905 miles on the odometer. The repair made at your shop lasted until April of 2014 with less than 4,000 additional miles driven since your replacement of the housing and heater/blender door. The mechanic that did the work is no longer employed by Allen Samuels nor is the Service Manager. I have been shuffled around since May 6, 2014 when I drove from Humble, Texas to your place of business with no cold air coming out of the air conditioning unit.

 

I am currently residing in an RV park in Humble, Texas while my new home is being built here. The drive back to Aransas pass is too costly, time consuming and hot for me at age 67. In the spirit of fair play, kindness and sympathy, is it possible for you to make arrangements for me to take my vehicle to your Houston location, if not I have found a Triple AAA rated shop here that warrants their work for 2 years and 24,000 miles and is familiar with the defect present on these vehicles.

 

Respectfully,

 

*** ******

Business Response:

May 27, 2014

 

 

Better Business Bureau
1005 La Posada Drive
Austin, TX 78752

 

Re: Complaint #********, Mr. *** ******

 

Greetings,

 

Please allow this letter to serve as our second official response to BBB complaint number ********, filed by Mr. *** ******. This original complaint was filed on May 22, 2014. Our initial response is same date. Second complaint received on May 27, 2014. Our response is same day.

 

Mr. ******’s response does not state any reasons as to why he is not satisfied with our initial response. It only states that he is not satisfied. Based on our initial response, we are not certain what else we need to do at this point. We have offered to inspect our work and try to resolve Mr. ******’s concerns. As previously stated, we are unable to proceed with any type of assistance or resolution without inspecting Mr. ******’s vehicle. Mr. ****** has asked us to fix something for free, but we have not been provided the opportunity to verify any type of failure because we have not seen the vehicle.

 

Should Mr. ****** wish to move forward, we can inspect his concerns at his convenience by making a drop off reservation on a day of his choosing. However, should Mr. ****** refuse to let us inspect our work, we cannot attempt to resolve his concerns. If refusal is chosen, then we respectfully request this complaint be immediately removed from our previously clean Better Business Bureau record. Without the opportunity to inspect our work we believe this complaint has no merit and should be stricken from our Better Business Bureau history. We cannot help without looking at the vehicle.

 

Mr. ****** is welcome to bring his vehicle in to our facility at his convenience. 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

**** ******

President & General Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1