Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Allen Samuels Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram of Aransas Pass meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Allen Samuels Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram of Aransas Pass include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Allen Samuels Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram of Aransas Pass
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 06, 2014 Business started: 04/01/1977 in TX Business started locally: 04/01/1977 Business incorporated 03/13/1989 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Denton, GM Mr. Jeff Wooley, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Denton, GM
Principal: Mr. Jeff Wooley, President
Related Businesses
Allen Samuels Chevrolet Allen Samuels Auto Group Allen Samuels Austin Dodge, Inc. Allen Samuels Dodge Chrysler Jeep
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Online

Alternate Business Names
Allen Samuels Auto Group Allen Samuels CDJR of Aransas Pass, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 877 Highway 35 Byp

    Aransas Pass, TX 78336

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Allen Samuels in Aransas Pass to purchase a pickup truck. I talked to the salesman and decided to purchase a 2006 Ram Quad cab. My wife and I were in the dealership for over 3 hours and I had asked that they run no more than 3 credit applications (they ran at least 6) because I did not want my credit score to be effected. After three hours of waiting I told them I had to take my wife home(she is diabetic and needed to take care of herself). I returned shortly and they told me that they had what I asked for (which was a 4 year loan at around $240 per month payment. When I went in to sign the paperwork they told me it was $280 per month for 5 years. They were only giving me $1500 for my trade when they had told me $2500. I went out while they straitened that out and came back in and it now $259 per month for 5 years. I asked them about the $1000 customer assistance that I qualified for and it took another 15 min to get that straitened out. They finally got it down to $240.50 per month for 5 years and I was dog tired so I signed. I was told I would get 16 free oil changes and a drive train warranty, but I was not asked if I wanted to purchase it and had no idea that it was going to cost anything. They said I would get the info and card in the mail in a couple of weeks. I finally signed just so I could get out of there. A couple of days latter I noticed that they charged me $2065 for a Mopar Vehicle protection plan and I was not happy but wanted to see what was involved before I confronted them. I received the info in the mail and was not happy with the plan. The info said I had 60 days to cancel without any penalty so I took it to the dealer and cancelled right away. When the refund showed up on my loan balance I was only refunded $1610 so I called Mopar Service center to find out why and they told me that the oil change part of the contract could not be cancelled. I was not asked if I wanted to purchase this agreement and if asked I would have said "heck no". I drive an average of 3000 to 4000 miles per year which averages $115 per oil change. I do not want it and I do not think I should have to pay this. I also think that Allen ?Samuels should be upfront with their customers as far as at least asking them if they would like to purchase this agreement.

Desired Settlement: I want my $455 refunded to me asap. I would also like Allen Samuels to stop the practice of adding things to a customer contract without at least discussing it with them.

Business Response: July 10, 2014

 

 

Better Business Bureau

**** ** ****** ***** ******* ** *****

 

Re: Complaint #********, Mr. *** *****

 

Greetings,

 

Please allow this letter
to serve as our official response to BBB complaint number ********, filed by
Mr. *** *****. This complaint was filed on July 9, 2014.

 

We are certainly concerned
with the complaint filed by Mr. *****. It is never our intention to mislead or
misrepresent any of our customers, regardless of the transaction type. We have
read Mr. *****’s letter and provided an outlined and detailed response below.

 


Mr. ***** stated that we run no more than 3
credit applications because he was concerned with any adverse effects on
his credit score. He stated that we ran at least six (6). --- We ran only
one (1) credit inquiry with the information provided by Mr. *****. Mr.
*****’s application was submitted to 5 lenders in order to obtain the best
interest rate, term, etc. This is all considered one transaction so it
does not affect his score as multiple inquiries. Had Mr. ***** visited
several different dealerships, and all had run his credit, that would
create multiple entries and could possible effect his scoring.


 


Mr. ***** stated that he was not initially
provided the $1,000.00 customer assistance that he was qualified for. ---
This additional $1,000.00 was not related to factory incentives or other
related discounts. This discount was included in a direct mail letter that
Mr. ***** did not immediately provide to us while working the purchase.
Once this information was provide by Mr. *****, everything was adjusted
and worked out well.


 


Mr. ***** stated that he was told he would get
16 free oil changes and a drive train warranty. Additionally, Mr. *****
stated that he was not asked if he wanted to purchase the warranty and had
no idea what was going on --- As stated previously, we are not in the
business to mislead or misrepresent any of our customers. The vehicle is a
2006 model year with no warranty on it from the manufacturer or from the
dealer. Therefore, the vehicle was sold to Mr. ***** AS-IS. As a result,
we offered Mr. ***** the warranty for purchase in order to protect his
vehicle purchase. Mr. ***** was provided a firm price and documentation
for the vehicle protection plan and oil change plan. Mr. ***** has a copy
of that plan and the pricing. That plan is also listed on his buyer’s
order and retail installment contract, as required by the lender. Mr.
***** also purchased credit life, which is listed on same documents, but
there is no dispute of this item by Mr. *****. According to Mr. *****’s
letter he has cancelled the vehicle protection plan. As a reminder, there
is no written, expressed, or implied warranty on this vehicle from the
manufacturer or dealer.


 


Mr. ***** stated that he was not asked if he
wanted to purchase the oil change agreement and if asked he would have
said “heck no”. He also stated that he drives an average of 3,000 to 4,000
miles per year so the 16 oil change plan would not work for him. --- When
the oil change plan was offered for purchase, why did Mr. ***** not inform
us that he only drives a short distance annually which makes that plan
unnecessary? If known, we could have tailored a different plan for Mr.
***** that would fit his driving style.


 

We are very concerned that
Mr. ***** believes that he was misled at any time during his purchase.
Everything was properly disclosed and provided to Mr. ***** throughout the
process. Mr. ***** has the documents in his possession that provide evidence to
that fact. We do not understand how Mr. ***** is not aware of what he
purchased.

 

Ultimately, we do not wish
for Mr. ***** to feel as if he was wronged by our company. We pride ourselves
on our stellar reputation within our community and throughout our customer
base. We continually provide support throughout our local school districts,
city governments, and civic organizations. We are deeply involved in our
communities and thoroughly enjoy what we do. It is distressing to us to learn
that someone feels that we did not provide them exactly what they purchased.

 

Since the oil change plan
does not work for Mr. *****, we would like to offer to modify that plan. The
plan is good for 16 oil changes, but all must be used within 4 years. If he
only drives 3,000 to 4,000 miles per year, then he only would use 4 of the oil
changes within the prescribed timeline. Each oil change comes out to $28.44 –
We will refund Mr. ***** $341.24, which is the difference between the plan cost
of $455.00 and the total price of 4 oil changes totaling $113.76

 

We feel that based on all
the evidence provided, this is a very fair resolution for Mr. *****’s concern.
We trust that Mr. ***** will agree, accept our offer, and provide a completely
satisfied resolution for this complaint. We look forward to Mr. *****’s
response.

 

Thank you,

 

**** ****** ********* * ******* *******
 

Consumer Response:

****** *****

**** ******** **** * ********** **

Please allow this to serve as my response to the comments and offer made by Allen Samuels.

 

Allen Samuel’s answer concerning the $1000.00 direct mail letter was:

“This additional $1,000.00 was not related to factory incentives or other
related discounts. This discount was included in a direct mail letter that
Mr. ***** did not immediately provide to us while working the purchase.”

 

My answer The first thing I did when I arrived at the dealership was to give them the direct mail letter. I could understand if they said it was misplaced or the salesman forgot to give it to the office, but to say it was my negligence is offensive to me.

 

Allen Samuel’s Answer to the warranty purchase was that since the vehicle was being sold “AS IS” they offered me the Vehicle Protection Plan.

 

My response Neither my wife nor I was told that it was an “AS IS” deal – and I was never offered or asked if I wanted to purchase any kind of protection or oil change program. The cost of both plans came to an additional $2065 which added a full year of payments. The first time I heard anything about the protection plan was in the office when I was brought in to sign the paperwork. That was over 5 hours from the time we had started this purchase process. But there was no conversation concerning the cost or even if I wanted it, just that my vehicle drive train would be covered, and did not mention how long it would be covered for. He said I would get the info in the mail. He also mentioned that there was “No Deductible” and when the info came in the mail it said that there was a $200 deductible.

 

Allen Samuel’s said “,When
the oil change plan was offered for purchase, why did Mr. ***** not inform
us that he only drives a short distance annually which makes that plan
unnecessary?

 

My Response The salesman had mentioned that I was going to get 16 free oils changes. He did not associate any cost or period of time involved in the deal. I was not offered the program and assumed it was part of the special considerations that were going on that weekend as part of their promotional deal. Had I known that I was paying for it and what the cost was I would have said “no thank you”.

 

Allen Samuel’s said: “Everything was properly disclosed and provided to Mr. ***** throughout the process. Mr. ***** has the documents in his possession that provide evidence to that fact. We do not understand how Mr. ***** is not aware of what he
purchased.”

My Response: Nothing was provided to me during the process. I did not even get a chance to negotiate the price, they just wrote it up. I did like the vehicle but they were charging me full Black Book Price for a vehicle that had as many flaws as my trade-in but would not give me full Black Book price for it. The first time I heard anything about the protection plan was in the office when I was brought in to sign the paperwork. That was over 5 hours from the time we had arrived at the dealership. My wife was now at home trying to get her sugar under control and I was very worried about leaving her by herself. I was handed the paperwork to sign and I signed it because I thought they were being trustworthy and I needed to get home ASAP to check on my wife. It was already after closing time at the dealership. Also the evidence that, as you put it, “is in my hand” was put there after 5 hours and I was a under duress by then. I had commented several times that I wanted to come back on Monday to finalize the deal but was persuaded each time by the staff to hang on for a few more minutes which ended up being hours.

 

Allen Samuels said: “We pride ourselves
on our stellar reputation within our community and throughout our customer
base. We continually provide support throughout our local school districts,
city governments, and civic organizations. We are deeply involved in our
communities and thoroughly enjoy what we do.

 

My response: My complaint has nothing to do with their accolades.

 

I will tell you however, that I am a retired Corporate Sales professional with a degree in Marketing and Management. My whole professional career was spent in the transportation industry of which most of it pertained to leasing and maintaining commercial motor vehicles. I am not a country bumpkin and I take offense at your attempt to make it sound like I was the one who is wronging you. By your claiming that the whole process and details were laid out for me prior to the agreement, you attempt to make it seem like it was my fault when it was not.

 

I would like my $455 refunded to me. I would prefer to get my oil changes elsewhere.  

Business Response: August 15, 2014
 

Better Business Bureau

**** ** ****** ***** ******* ** *****

 

Re: Complaint #********, Mr. *** *****

 

Greetings,


Please allow this letter to serve as our second official response to BBB complaint number ********,
filed by Mr. *** *****. This complaint was filed on July 9, 2014.

After receiving a response from our initial statement, it appears that Mr. ***** still believes that he
was wronged and/or misled during the process of purchasing his vehicle from us.
As stated previously, that is most definitely false. Unfortunately, it seems
that Mr. ***** has chosen not to believe any of what we have said or done to
explain the process. That, too, is very disappointing to us.

In closing, we are steadfast in our belief that Mr. ***** was fully aware of everything he
purchased and everything he signed during the sales transaction. However, and
out of respect for Mr. and Mrs. *****, we do not wish to continue this
dialogue. We will honor Mr. *****’s request and issue him a check in the amount
of $455.00, which will cancel all purchased maintenance coverage on his vehicle.

 

We believe that this is
the exact resolution that Mr. ***** requested. We trust that Mr. ***** will
agree, accept our offer, and provide a completely satisfied resolution for this
complaint. We look forward to Mr. *****’s final response.

 

Thank you,

 

**** ****** ********* * ******* *******

 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have not seen the refund yet.



Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: As previously stated, Mr. ***** was refunded $455.00 on check #*****, which was sent to his *********, ***** address. Mr. ***** should receive that check some time between September 8, 2014 and September 11, 2014, depending on USPS mail delivery. Additionally, Mr. ******* oil change plan was NOT cancelled as previously mentioned in prior correspondance. He can use it until it expires.

Thank you,

**** ****** ********* * ******* ******* ****************  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I just received the refund in the mail yesterday. Thanks for your help.

Regards,

***********

5/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Allen Samuels Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram of Aransas Pass Texas will not stand behind their repair work. The air conditioning system on my vehicle was repaired and replaced 4,000 miles ago and no longer operates properly. The dealership has offered to redo the repair at half the hourly rate of $120 per hour charging me 7 to 8 hours at $60 per hour. I spent $1498 to have the original repair done. I do not believe this is fair at all.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the dealership to fix the problem properly at no charge. The original repair work was not done properly.

Business Response: May 22, 2014

 

Better Business Bureau

1005 La Posada Drive

Austin, TX 78752


Re: Complaint #********, Mr. *** ******
 

Greetings,

 
Please allow this letter to serve as our official response to BBB complaint number ********, filed by Mr. *** ******. This complaint was filed on May 22, 2014. Our response is same.

Mr. ****** brought his 2006 Dodge RAM 2500 truck to us with two air conditioning concerns on February 28, 2013. Mr. ****** notified his Service Advisor of two separate concerns. Concern #1 stated that the air conditioning was not blowing cold. Concern #2 stated that the heater and defrost are inoperable. Following diagnosis of both concerns, Mr. ****** authorized repairs to his vehicle in the amount of $1,498.96, which included parts, labor, and State sales tax. Concern #1 was repaired by replacing a failed air conditioning compressor and the escaped refrigerant. Concern #2 was repaired by replacing the upper and lower housing units which are responsible for air distribution and delivery. To date, the vehicle has not retured to our facility for any type of diagnosis or repair.


According to multiple telephone conversations with Mr. ****** and our Service & Parts Manager, *** ******, Mr. ****** has stated that he is experiencing the same problem again with air distribution. The air is blowing cold, just not through the proper vents. At this point we are not certain of what has failed because we have not seen the vehicle to perform diagnostics.


The Parts and labor warranty on these particular Mopar parts is 12 months or 12,000 miles, whichever comes first. Unfortunately too much time has passed (15 months) and the warranty has expired. The warranty expired on February 27, 2014. We have even contacted Chrysler and requested out of warranty goodwill assistance for Mr. ******. They have declined to provide any type of help. That is why we offered to drastically discount our labor rate and the parts pricing for Mr. ******. Again, we do not know what has failed because
we have not diagnosed the vehicle. We have not been provided the opportunity to inspect Mr. ******’s vehicle.

We certainly empathize with Mr. ****** and his vehicle concerns. However, we need to look at the vehicle in order to verify the exact failure. The repair could be very simple and very inexpensive, but we will not know until we have inspected it. Additionally, the repair might NOT be related to the original repair. We will not know that until we inspect the vehicle. 

In closing, we are a bit confused and concerned with this BBB complaint. Mr. ****** told Mr. ****** that he was not mad at us, but mad at Chrysler. That, coupled with not being
afforded the opportunity to inspect the vehicle, we are concer*** that this complaint is slightly premature. We ask that Mr. ****** give us the opportunity to properly diagnose his vehicle and see what else we can do to assist him. If he is not satisfied at that point, then we can discuss further action. Once we fully resolve Mr. ******’s concerns, we request that this complaint be removed or closed as COMPLETELY SATISFIED.

Mr. ****** is welcome to bring his vehicle in to our facility at his convenience.

Sincerely,

 
**** ******
President & General Manager

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

*** ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

*** ******

Consumer Response:

May 23, 2014

Complaint # ********

 

Dear Mr. ******,

 

Thank you for your response. Please let me give you more details regarding this matter. First I am sure that you are aware of the heater/blender door defect present in thousands of Dodge Ram Trucks. This defect was first repaired on my truck November 1, 1997 at 13,664 miles by Lithia Dodge of Corpus Christi under warranty. The repair lasted until I brought my truck to your service department 2/28/2013 with 119,905 miles on the odometer. The repair made at your shop lasted until April of 2014 with less than 4,000 additional miles driven since your replacement of the housing and heater/blender door. The mechanic that did the work is no longer employed by Allen Samuels nor is the Service Manager. I have been shuffled around since May 6, 2014 when I drove from Humble, Texas to your place of business with no cold air coming out of the air conditioning unit.

 

I am currently residing in an RV park in Humble, Texas while my new home is being built here. The drive back to Aransas pass is too costly, time consuming and hot for me at age 67. In the spirit of fair play, kindness and sympathy, is it possible for you to make arrangements for me to take my vehicle to your Houston location, if not I have found a Triple AAA rated shop here that warrants their work for 2 years and 24,000 miles and is familiar with the defect present on these vehicles.

 

Respectfully,

 

*** ******

Business Response:

May 27, 2014

 

 

Better Business Bureau
1005 La Posada Drive
Austin, TX 78752

 

Re: Complaint #********, Mr. *** ******

 

Greetings,

 

Please allow this letter to serve as our second official response to BBB complaint number ********, filed by Mr. *** ******. This original complaint was filed on May 22, 2014. Our initial response is same date. Second complaint received on May 27, 2014. Our response is same day.

 

Mr. ******’s response does not state any reasons as to why he is not satisfied with our initial response. It only states that he is not satisfied. Based on our initial response, we are not certain what else we need to do at this point. We have offered to inspect our work and try to resolve Mr. ******’s concerns. As previously stated, we are unable to proceed with any type of assistance or resolution without inspecting Mr. ******’s vehicle. Mr. ****** has asked us to fix something for free, but we have not been provided the opportunity to verify any type of failure because we have not seen the vehicle.

 

Should Mr. ****** wish to move forward, we can inspect his concerns at his convenience by making a drop off reservation on a day of his choosing. However, should Mr. ****** refuse to let us inspect our work, we cannot attempt to resolve his concerns. If refusal is chosen, then we respectfully request this complaint be immediately removed from our previously clean Better Business Bureau record. Without the opportunity to inspect our work we believe this complaint has no merit and should be stricken from our Better Business Bureau history. We cannot help without looking at the vehicle.

 

Mr. ****** is welcome to bring his vehicle in to our facility at his convenience. 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

**** ******

President & General Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*** ******