BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Allen Samuels Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Allen Samuels Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Allen Samuels Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1966 Business started: 01/01/1966 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1966 Business incorporated: 04/06/1977 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Judy Schwieger, Customer Contact Mr. Dave Kersten, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Judy Schwieger, Customer Contact
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Mercedez Benz of Waco
Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 1625 N Valley Mills Dr

    Waco, TX 76710

  • PO Box 7978

    Waco, TX 76714

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (254) 772-6732 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon deciding we were going to purchase a new vehicle for my wife (and knowing she wanted a Chevy Traverse) we decided to try Allen Samuels Chevrolet just down from our house in Waco. Upon contacting the dealer, we were thrilled to find that a recent trade had just come in and that the exact color, year and make/model we were looking for matched. We drove to the dealership on a Wednesday evening (has significance, read on) just before close and met a great sales team member and the used *** *******. We were escorted to the shop as the recently arrived Traverse was "still in the cleanup/turnaround phase and wasn't ready for test drive just yet…" Understandable. It was still on the lift and we were able to see it. After the look, the ******* asked for my wife's financial details, which she gave to have her credit checked and information processed. After this, we were given some pricing options - not bad options, either. We had come to a decision, but wanted to test drive (naturally) before purchasing. However, they were now closed, the car wasn't "ready" and we could come back tomorrow, test drive before finalizing the deal. We agreed. The following day (Thursday), the dealership contacts us and informs us that, "the Traverse has still not made it's way out of the shop just yet and that they are still working to get it ready for our test drive…just hang in there…thanks for being patient." We played phone tag with the salesman (who again, was very courteous) until we received a confusing call later before they closed - informing us that the car had been SOLD. After having been on the phone and ready to head over to the dealership to let my wife test drive the vehicle - the last thing I expected was a call telling us that it had been sold during the night. Curious, considering it was not in shape enough to test drive just moments earlier. The following day (Friday), I am off of work - and I receive a call from the salesman - "Come on down! Good news, the car DIDN'T sell! It's ready for you to buy!"… SO… excited that our earlier moment of disappointment was nullified, we drove out to the dealership. When we arrived, our salesperson greeted us and went to get the keys…. only to find out from the used *** ******* that the car had, indeed, been given on a "promise to finalize paperwork" agreement to another person. So. Needless to say, we were disappointed and frustrated. What began as a "Let us clean it up for you and close the deal" turned into a "sold the car we negotiated with you two days ago to buy… sorry about that". Now… knowing the car business fairly well, I knew there was a reason… and there was. Here's the rub: The Traverse we wanted was negotiated with us a $25,000 price. It was THEN posted to the Allen Samuels website the day after it was "in the shop and needed more time" for $3,900 MORE MSRP (I have pictures). What happened was this: someone emailed/came in and offered to by the advertised online price and was sold the car for a $3,900 profit for our good friend the used *** ******* - all the while "delaying" us from the "test drive" to try and cash in on a higher profit. (Somehow, the car was magically off the rack, out of the shop and keys in hand for them overnight and gone by open the next day). While I can't blame someone for wanting to make profit, I can certainly tell you that my opinion of the integrity of the purchasing process with Allen Samuels management is at a maximum low. I understand that a sale is a sale, but when you agree on a car and process the financing and then purposefully delay someone from finalizing delivery of a car by by telling them "it's in the shop, wait just a bit longer" in hopes that you can squeeze out more money from another potential client - that's just poor business etiquette. Add this to the fact that the management wasn't communicating to the sales staff regarding what vehicles had been sold, were ready for test drive or even were on the lot and you've got a recipe for confusion and poor information exchange within a business. Two wasted drives to the dealership, an hour of finance processing and talking and three days of simply waiting on the car to be ready from it's "point inspection" for test drive - just to have the car sold out from under our (documented, paper signed agreement) from the used *** *******. If you come here to buy a car, you'd better have cash in hand and expect no test drive before purchase - otherwise, the first person to swing in overnight and buy as-is while it's "still in the shop and unavailable" can undercut you for a few bucks more - regardless of your agreement, discussions and signed, documented offer from the dealer.

Desired Settlement: For the dealership to locate an equivalent vehicle - a used 2012 (or newer model) Chevrolet Traverse, White, less than 30,000 miles, LT Model with automatic keyless start - at a dealership or at auction - and have it delivered to Allen Samuels Chevrolet for our purchase at $1,000 less the agreed upon price in our documentation (signed agreement) from the dealer/used car manager to both a.) deliver our initially agreed upon order and b.) compensate us for our multiple trips to the dealership and dishonest communication of the vehicle and purchase process. (I am willing to provide documentation)

Business Response: On 4/16/14 *** *** **** ****** visited our dealership and
was met by ***** ****** (sales rep) and explained they were in the market for a
pre-owned traverse. ***** introduced the ******’s to **** ***** one of the
***** *******.   *** ***** explained we
had just traded for a 2012 Traverse LT which they were interested and wanted to
see the vehicle.   

 

The ******’s were taken to the service department and showed
them the vehicle by both the *********** and *******.. After 10-15 minutes of
checking out the vehicle they went back to the sales department to start the
negotiation phase. The trade was appraised and figures presented to the
customer.  The ******’s  were not receptive to the sales price and
trade value after 20+ minutes of negotiating the price was reduced as far as we
were ablt to compromise. 

 

The ******’s  seemed
to be close on figures but wanted to test drive the vehicle which is
understandable.  They were told  the car should be out of the shop the following
day and that the Sales Rep would call them. Then again asked for more for the
trade which the ***** ******* declined. 
The ******’s said they were going to try and sell the trade out right
themselves.

*** ****** asked how long we would have the Traverse. He was
told  because of the nature of our
business it could be here a month or it could sell tomorrow. He explained they
were going to talk about it and get back with us. The following day the vehicle
went to the final prep before it is put on the lot for sale.   *****
called *** *** **** ******, they said they would be in the next day. The
vehicle was sold to another customer that same day. *** *** **** ****** did
come in the next day, and were told the vehicle was sold. 

 

The ******’s had not put a deposit on the vehicle to hold
for them or call before they arrived to see if it was still available.  The ******’s did not ask us to hold the
vehicle for them either and once another consumer made an offer and paid for
the vehicle we sold it.

 

It was explained we could try and find another vehicle for
them. He seemed upset and left. I have not been able to find a similar vehicle
yet but we continue to look and will notify *** *** **** ****** when we do. We understand
the disappointment in not being able to purchase that vehicle however we do
want to assist them in finding a vehicle they will be happy with for the right
price.  We will attempt to make the ******’s
a satisfied customer.

 

 

Business Response:

On 4/16/14 *** and **** ****** visited our dealership and was met by ***** ****** (***** ***) and explained they were in the market for a pre-owned traverse. ***** introduced the ******’s to **** ***** one of the ***** *******.   *** ***** explained we had just traded for a 2012 Traverse LT which they were interested and wanted to see the vehicle.   

 

The ******’s were taken to the service department and showed them the vehicle by both the salesperson and manager.. After 10-15 minutes of checking out the vehicle they went back to the sales department to start the negotiation phase. The trade was appraised and figures presented to the customer.  The ******’s  were not receptive to the sales price and trade value after 20+ minutes of negotiating the price was reduced as far as we were ablt to compromise. 

 

The ******’s  seemed to be close on figures but wanted to test drive the vehicle which is understandable.  They were told  the car should be out of the shop the following day and that the ***** *** would call them. Then again asked for more for the trade which the ***** ******* declined.  The ******’s said they were going to try and sell the trade out right themselves.

*** ****** asked how long we would have the Traverse. He was told  because of the nature of our business it could be here a month or it could sell tomorrow. He explained they were going to talk about it and get back with us. The following day the vehicle went to the final prep before it is put on the lot for sale.   ***** called *** and **** ******, they said they would be in the next day. The vehicle was sold to another customer that same day. *** and **** ****** did come in the next day, and were told the vehicle was sold. 

 

The ******’s had not put a deposit on the vehicle to hold for them or call before they arrived to see if it was still available.  The ******’s did not ask us to hold the vehicle for them either and once another consumer made an offer and paid for the vehicle we sold it.

 

It was explained we could try and find another vehicle for them. He seemed upset and left. I have not been able to find a similar vehicle yet but we continue to look and will notify *** and **** ****** when we do. We understand the disappointment in not being able to purchase that vehicle however we do want to assist them in finding a vehicle they will be happy with for the right price.  We will attempt to make the ******’s a satisfied customer.

 

 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  The information contained in the business owner's response is not accurate/false.  The dealership actually stated that they "wanted (us) to be comfortable with the purchase before committing by taking a test drive of the vehicle."  When asked when we could take the vehicle on said test drive, we were instructed that it was not available until it was "...fully cleaned, "turned around", and out of the shop."  This was not the case as we would have gladly put money down to hold the vehicle after seeing it, but were instructed by the vendor to wait until it was ready.  The unique information the response fails to include is that they held off for three (3) business days "getting it ready" and sold it at a higher price to make a profit. 

Again, the basic issue is with integrity and honesty to us, the consumer.  The business chose to make a profit in a very unprofessional way after their initial "drawn up" agreement with us.  We did negotiate terms on the car, but any consumer with intelligence is going to drive a used car before purchasing it from a dealership.  In this case, we were deprived of the ability to even crank it before the dealer got an offer to "buy it off of the shop floor" quite literally.  It's simply a poor way to do business when you state that a consumer can purchase something, but not until it's "ready" and then break that agreement by immediately offering it to someone else under different terms.  Additionally, the salesperson had no communication with the ***** *******, thinking that the vehicle was still available hours after it had already been sold.

We have since purchased a vehicle and would ask the dealership to make the issue resolved by a simple gesture of time/frustration by purchasing us dinner across the street at ******.  We still wish to be honorable with them but feel like that is a fair compensation for our multiple trips to the dealership and mishandled agreement from the sales staff.  I will await their reply.

Regards,

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/2013 I went to Allen Samuels because my car would not start and I had to have it jumped. I spoke to **** and he advised me they could test the battery. I also told him the the air conditioner was not cooling properly, the airbag light was on, the rod that holds the hood up came off ànd I had to keys that needed to be programmed. I was advised that the may only be able to get to the battery and the keys because of the time and I was OK with that. After checking the battery **** advised me that the battery had a bad cell and a replacement battery would be $179.00. I asked if the battery was still in warranty because I previously had it replaced but could not remember when. **** looked up my account and said the battery was replaced in 2010 but would have to check with the manufacture on Monday to seen if it was still in warranty. I said OK and asked if they were able to get to my other repairs. He said they only got to the keys. When I went to pay for the keys I noticed the other repairs were not even noted on my receipt, was this the reason they were not addressed. I went ahead and left because my biggest concern was the battery. Over the weekend I noticed the battery had a sticker on it that said the battery was covered for 6 years or 80000 miles so on Monday I pointed the tag out to ****. He said we had not called the manufacture yet and then became flustered when he could not find my paperwork he previously printed. I started wondering if I had not shown back up on my own would he have even called. ***pulled my account back up then asked another service advisor if they could honor the warranty on the battery since I previously had warranty work done. I guess the other adviser apparently said no because **** came back to me and gave me a line about since the previous battery was covered under a bumper to bumper warranty they could not honor the warranty on the battery. He than quoted me a replace battery cost of $199. I told him you previously said the battery was $179.00. He went ahead and got the price down to $179.12. I went ahead and paid the $179.12 price. On Tuesday 9/24/13 I went in and spoke to the service manager because the bumper to bumper warranty expired in 2/2010 and the battery was replaced in 7/2010 so I don't understand why the warranty on my battery is not covered. The service manager asked another service advisor *** about how the warranties on the batteries work and *** said alot of the battries they use have that 6 year 80000 mile warranty sticker on them but they don't go by the warranties on the batteries. If they use a different method to determine how long the warranty is for. The service manager that told me the previous battery was not covered by the bumper to bumper warranty but they must have given me some type of good will warranty and if I would have come in a year after the battery was put in they would have covered under warranty. After hearing all of these different excuses by Allen Samuels i feel like these service advisors and service manager are playing a bait and switch game with their customers. They are clearly using batteries that have warranties that have 6 year warranties but not wanting to honor them. If someone have a battery in their car that say 6 years or 80000 miles who is going to think the battery is only good for I year.

Desired Settlement: I would like the 6 year 80000 mile warranty honored since this battery was put in my car in 7/2010 and clearly it was still under warranty based on the battery sticker

Business Response: Ms. ****** ******** battery was replaced August 9, 2010 her factory warranty did in fact expire on February 9, 2012 at 36,022 miles.
The battery that was replaced was done so under the previsions of  policy/goodwill. Regardless of what the circumstances were on the replacement of
the battery General Motors has taken a stiff stance in regards to battery replacements in or out of warranty. Attached you will clearly see G.M.’s policy
on battery replacements. Per the general motors policy and procedures manual the battery in Ms. ******** vehicle is not covered by any type of warranty
regardless of any markings or stamps that may be placed there for marketing purposes. The battery was out of warranty after 12 months unlimited miles which
made the battery out of warranty on august 9, 2011.

We offer 3 levels of batteries provided by G.M “Good, Better, Best” this is the discrepancy in the price differences there is also another offer for a third battery which is higher that the first 2 quoted. 2 documents attached.

While we understand the frustrations of Ms Horton it would be a complaint directly agaisnt the manufacturer.  If the battery would have been replaced without cost it would have been a cost to the dealership and not reimbursed by the factory.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: After carefully reviewing the response from Allen Samuels and as a customer since 2007 I have to say I am very disapointed in the pass the buck excuse they gave.  As a licensed Chevrolet dealership and a service provider when Allen Samuels orders parts from GM or any manufacture I would think they would notify the manufacture of any discrepancy with warranty information that maybe listed on the part before they pass it on to the consumer without notification.  When the battery was put in my car back in 2010 I was never notified by Allen Samuels that the battery was only warranted for one year and I know for s fact that I was never notified that the 6 year 80000 mile warranty sticker on the battery was some type of marketing tag.  As for the comment made by Allen Samuels that my complaint should be with GM and not them, I don't think so because they put a battery in my car that had a big sticker on it that  said 6 year or 80000 mile warranty on it and if they knew that GM or any other manufacture would not honor that warranty they never should have put that battery in my car without having the manufacture correct their warranty advertisement.  If Allen Samuels is having problems with GM and their reimbursement policies that is something that the owner of the company needs to address directly with them but as a customer a battery with a 6 year 80000 mile warranty was put in my car and Allan Samuels as    the servicing agent should honor it.  I also don't completely  buy that I was given a goodwill warranty before because  after going back and forth with Allen Samuels I started  remembering some of the details from 2010 when I brought  my car in to be serviced I remember given my extended warranty card to the advisor at that time and I also remember them saying something about electrical because I remember them having to replace the battery twice, but regardless if it was previously covered under my extended warranty or a goodwill warranty I know that that battery had a 6 year 80000 mile warranty on it and Allen Samuels should honor the warranties on the parts they are using or don't use them because it make the consumers feel like they are been deceived.



Regards,

****** ******

Consumer Response: I went back to Allen Samuels today and spoke to *** ******* after he thoroughly explained  the warranty policy with GM and ** ***** in better detail an aggreement was reached that since I was a loyal customer and since the warranty on the battery was never explained to me in 2010 he would waive the diagnosises cost for the other repairs they did not get to when I came in for the battery.  Even though the battery could not be covered under warranty I am very glad that *** ******* made a true effort to retain my business and I pleased with the outcome. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writting this complaint to express my concerns regarding the quality and integrity of Auto Body Repair shot at Allen Samuels. I have now gone 2 full weeks without my vehicle and in the interim, I have visited the shot 2 times after being told my vehicle was ready although the vehicle was not complete. The first instance they forgot to install my step rail which confirms that a QA process was not conducted. Additionally, they were supposed to replace and paint the two door that were damages (Per how ***** was billed) although they did not paint the door handles and leads me to believe the doors were not replaced. Furthermore, there was paint bubbling on the fenders along with unpainted compound lines around the door handles. Since the vehicle was directly hit on the driver rear wheel, there were supposed to do an alignment although when I asked **** *****, he said that they had driven the vehicle around and it seemed fine although after I asked him why they had billed ***** for an alignment, he said "Oh well they must have aligned it then since their office clerks billed it" although no work-order of documentation verifying the alignment specs could be generated. My experience soon got worse as I walked around to the passenger side and realized that my headlights had scratched horizontally...when I pointed this out to ****, denied any sanding of the headlights and stated that the scratches were from the sunlight. We went back and forth on this matter until finally I just did not want to continue discussing this. When my vehicle was dropped off, my headlights were crystal clear as they were when I purchased the vehicle 7 months ago. I am very unsatisfied with the quality of repairs and frankly, I am beginning to question the integrity of this operation not wanting to ensure that billed work is being done and QA quality inspections and being performed. I will not settle for scuffed headlights because someone does not want to take responsibility of their mistakes....This was a $6,500 job and I chose Allen Samuels because of their Brand, Size and 10-star rating....I have included a copy below of the repair tracker notes ..... Customer Repair Status & Message Center06-19-13 10:36 am CT - MESSAGE TO YOUR ADVISOR: Arrived on 6/18 following the 2PM notice that vehicle was ready for pick-up and vehicle was not ready... 06-18-13 2:04 pm CT - MESSAGE FROM YOUR ADVISOR: Emailed current status (Ready for Pick-Up) 06-14-13 6:09 pm CT - MESSAGE TO YOUR ADVISOR: My vehicle's headlights did not have horizontal scratches consistent with possibly fine sandpaper on the upper side of them... Both headlights exhibit inconsistent scratch patterns. 06-14-13 6:03 pm CT - MESSAGE TO YOUR ADVISOR: After arriving to pickup my vehicle, i noticed the following: 1. bubbling on the lower edge of the fender 2. Door handles had not been painted and there is a noticable difference 3. Passenger side headlight was scuffed/showing scratches. possibly during the wetsandind if the hood. 06-14-13 3:06 pm CT - READY FOR PICK-UP: Customer notified via email. 06-14-13 3:06 pm CT - VEHICLE STATUS UPDATED: Ready for Pick-Up (Customer has been notified via e-mail.) 06-14-13 3:06 pm CT - VEHICLE STATUS UPDATED: QA Process --> QA Complete 06-14-13 3:06 pm CT - VEHICLE STATUS UPDATED: Clean-Up Process --> Clean-Up complete 06-14-13 3:06 pm CT - VEHICLE STATUS UPDATED: Reassembly Process --> Reassembly complete (Customer has been notified via e-mail.)06-13-13 4:03 pm CT - VEHICLE STATUS UPDATED: Reassembly Process --> Working reassembly (Customer has been notified via e-mail.)06-13-13 4:03 pm CT - VEHICLE STATUS UPDATED: Paint Process --> Paint complete (Customer has been notified via e-mail.) 06-13-13 2:04 pm CT - MESSAGE FROM YOUR ADVISOR: Emailed current status (Awaiting Paint) 06-12-13 7:52 am CT - VEHICLE STATUS UPDATED: Paint Process --> Awaiting paint 06-12-13 7:52 am CT - VEHICLE STATUS UPDATED: Body Repair Process --> Body repair complete 06-11-13 2:03 pm CT - MESSAGE FROM YOUR ADVISOR: Emailed current status (Supplement hold) 06-10-13 2:27 pm CT - MESSAGE FROM YOUR ADVISOR: The yukon has gone to the paint department. 06-10-13 2:01 pm CT - MESSAGE TO YOUR ADVISOR: Hi, I just wanted to follow-up on the progress of the repair.....is the repair still on supplemental Hold? 06-06-13 2:03 pm CT - MESSAGE FROM YOUR ADVISOR: Emailed current status (Supplement hold) 06-06-13 8:23 am CT - VEHICLE STATUS UPDATED: Body Repair Process --> Supplement hold (Customer has been notified via e-mail.) 06-06-13 8:23 am CT - VEHICLE STATUS UPDATED: Repair Authorization --> Repair authorization obtained (Customer has been notified via e-mail.)

Desired Settlement: I would like for my vehicle to be repaired according to what ***** has agreed to pay (Alignment, Doors, etc...) along with ensuring the my vehicle is inspected upon completion and informed when it is 100% ready for pick-up. Additionally, I just purchased this vehicle 6 months ago and will not settle for scuffed headlights as a result of the body-shop's error, if these headlights were defective, we would have clearly seen this and documented this on the original inspection of the vehichle...furthermore, the scratches are not consistent with Sun damage as it is different on both lenses and the scratches are horizontally and only on the upper side of the headlight where it meets the edge of the hood.

Business Response:

This is in response to a complaint filed by Mr. ******** concerning issues with his vehicle while in our body shop.  Unfortunately when you have a customer and insurance company that have two ideas of how the vehicle is to be repaired at times the repair facility is stuck in the middle.  We can not make it a common practice to  repair or replace items that we are not compensated for from the insurance company or the customer.

 

 

  1. No one from body shop called and told him his vehicle was ready. Unfortunately a feature was turned on to our computer program which sent him e-mails saying it was ready when it wasn’t. Customer did come and inspect vehicle prior to us completing or having running board on vehicle.   This was a glitch in the system and we do apologize for the inconvenience.
  2. The doors were replaced, and we have the old doors to prove it. Doors were painted disassembled, i.e. no door handles on doors when painted. ***** did not pay or call for handles to be painted. Therefore door handles are faded causing some color difference.
  3. Both headlights show signs of sun damage, not sanding scratches. Left headlight was removed from vehicle prior to any sanding. Only left side of vehicle was sanded. Hood was not sanded or painted. Right headlamp shows sun damage worse than left and no sanding was done near that light.
  4. Headlamps and door handles have been inspected by both the area manager for *****, and Allen Samuels Corporate personnel, as well as Our body shop Manager ****** ********. All agree headlamps are sun damage, but for customer satisfaction Allen Samuels agreed to buff headlamps to minimize the sundamge effects. Door handles also were agreed that they were faded.
  5. The  Alignment had been complete, and **** our estimator has driven the vehicle and stated alignment seemed satisfactory. No spec sheet had been supplied to us for alignment. Therefore we returned vehicle to an alignment tech and had it rechecked and a spec sheep supplied to verify alignment. Also note that Allen Samuels compensated customer with an additional tire that he nor ***** paid for, as customer was concerned about condition of tires because he was planning a long trip.   This was at the expense of Allen Samuels for which we have not been compensated by ***** or the customer.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******.  At the end of the day, I should not have to micro-manage this highly rated facility to ensure that my running board is installed or that an alignment was conducted.  As far as my door handles, how much more does is take to spray door handles the size of a candy bar, especially when it's part of the door and part of half the vehicle that was painted.  After 20+ days in the repair shop, I finally picked-up my vehicle and had to return the next day because my rear door that was replaced did not lock/unlock...I was told that they will submit a supplemental request as a courtest suggesting that the damage was not associated with the accident but since they replaced the door they would take care of it.  ALl in all, very disatisfied with this shop and would not recommend! 

****** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/15/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/14/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1