Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Carlisle Auto Air

Phone: (210) 377-3377 Fax: (210) 341-2229 View Additional Phone Numbers 6411 San Pedro Ave, San Antonio, TX 78216 http://www.carlisleautoair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carlisle Auto Air meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carlisle Auto Air include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Carlisle Auto Air
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1979 Business started: 01/01/1955 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1955 Business incorporated 07/31/1978 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Billy M Carlisle, President Mr. Tray Carlisle, Vice President Ms. Evelyn Carlisle, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Billy M Carlisle, President
Principal: Mr. Tray Carlisle, Vice President
Business Category

Auto Air Conditioning Equipment Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Air Conditioning Auto Repair & Service Auto Parts & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Alternate Business Names
Evapocore Inc Huebner Automotive San Pedro Automotive
Industry Tips
Car Repair Tips

Additional Locations

  • 6411 San Pedro Ave

    San Antonio, TX 78216 (210) 558-1020 (210) 922-5991 (210) 377-3377

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Compressor, Dryer, oriface tube, flush, and exchange freon were bought at Carlisle Air in October 2012 on cash tickets. After system was properly disassembled, flushed, dried, reassembled with new parts and vacumn tested and freon installed it worked properly for 9 months and stopped working. Upon examination by myself, A/C Certified technician, and second diagnosis by tech at Randolph Air Force Base it was determined the compressor was defective. I disassembled the A/C system and took the purchased parts to Carlisle Air for warranty replacement. The salesman recognized me and explained the warranty terms. I showed the removed parts to him and confirmed they were from Carlisle Air and he gladly gave me warranty replacement parts, Compressor, dryer, oriface tube and flush. I went back to Randolph Air Force Base and flushed the Accumulator, Condensor, and hoses. I found the oriface tube was lodged in the tube and removed it and took it in for exchange, but again the same salesman helped me and saw it was not necessary to replace the tube and removed the oriface tube for me. I returned again to the base and began to reinstall the A/C parts. Upon installing all parts, with necessary lubricant, the lead tech at the Auto Repair shop on base did a vacumn test and conformed there was no leaks. He then charged the system, 1.6 pounds, and rechecked the system installation and operation while again not finding any problems. I test drove the vehicle for the next three days until I was satisfied it was repaired and returned it to my daughter (It is her car and she lives in Corpus Christi, TX and suffers from a debilitating and health risk Asthma that requires her to be in temperatures that will not effect her condition in a deadly manner.) in order for her to attend school and travel about. It did not make it back to Corpus Christi before the A/C failed. Upon returning the vehicle I did a diagnostic check and found it to be full of freon, but the A/C button flashed in the cab and the compressor would not come on even with the bypass method. I did research on this and found it was probably caused by an electrical problem within the system. I checked the switch, relay and wiring to the system and found all were functioning within OEM specs and began to suspect a defective clutch coil, part of the compressor clutch system, and decided to take it to Carlisle Air for confirmation and possibly repair if pricing and warranty was agreed upon. I accepted the $90 dollar diagnostic fee and was told the parts were under warranty, but the labor would be charged due to it not being done at Carlisle Air. I asked the time required for billing of each part in the system as well as the time charged for recharge as well. I was told it was it was 1.0 hours of diagnostics and half would be refunded of repairs were made there, 1.3 hours for the compressor replacement, .5 hours for the oriface tube and .5 for the dryer replacement. I was also told it would be an hour to recharge the system in labor as well as charges for the freon installed. The total amount of hours is 3.8 hours of chargeable labor for the service, with the half hour discounted after service being completed at the location, and the labor charge per hour was approximately 97 dollars and hour. This adds up to $368.60 and I could even understand a bit more for misc. parts and or fluids, but I was called and quoted $1200.00 plus dollars and they were discounting me the original cost of the compressor I purchased only resulting in over $900.00 + dollars to repair the system. I asked why this was so high and I was told it was due to them replacing the compressor, dryer, oriface tube, freon, flush and oil which is all brand new. When asked about this I was told they would not install that brand of compressor in their shop and stated it was not a brand trusted by their company. This infuriated me due to me purchasing it, from their company Carlisle Air, and that is deemed not suitable for service quality in their shop. I feel I have been mislead about the quality of the parts purchased. I feel I was mislead by the service writer about the companies desire to resolve the issue in a professional manner. I feel I was treated to unfair and dishonest business practices and this treatment of customers is approved of by the management of Carlisle Air. The biggest question is why Carlisle Air would sell a customer a defective part knowingly and expect the customer to believe their BBB accredited business' quality control as well as their honesty and customer service business practices and willingly state to a warranty issue customer that the parts they sell to the public are not of company standards and they do not use them due to such. This almost seems like theft to me and I feel it may lead to this avenue of legal action. I want the owner of Carlisle Air to speak with the salesman first and verify I bought, as well as brought the defective parts back for verification, the parts from Carlisle Air and then research the labor times, in which I have access to AllData and the time allowances for each part, and then answer why they would sell customers a sub par product with the knowledge of it being a less that OEM recommended replacement part openly and without regard for the customers financial expenditure and/or amount of money spent to correct a problem that will probably fail again soon due to poor quality control management by Carlisle Air. I feel this is wrong and I want it addressed and corrected immediately.

Desired Settlement: Have Carlisle Air take responsibility for defective part. I want all charges for parts purchased by me for warranty repairs, at Carlisle Air, reimbursed and the parts warranty to be extended for another year after repair is made and repairs to be verified as completed correctly and A/C system is working within OEM standards by Carlisle Air. I also want the verification of repair by Carlisle to be credited due to the payment of diagnostics service paid on 8/15/2013 and not charged to me again. I also want the owner to formally acknowledge the flaw in customer service and state an apology for such to me and ensure the malpractice by his service department and/or parts department do not continue and harm another customer's trust and financial security.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *****,
            Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. I have discussed it with ******* ******, the General Manager, and it is my understanding that you and he have come to an agreement. I appreciate your business very much, and hope to continue to serve you and your family in the future. As mentioned in your conversation with *******, we have complete confidence in the parts that we both sell and install. The employee that had given you misinformation with regard to the quality of parts sold in the parts department has been reprimanded, and will be further trained on the facts of the situation. Being a new hire, he is not yet fully versed in the parts that we sell. I assure you we will work diligently to remedy this customer service issue. I want to again thank you for the business you have given us in the past and allowing us the opportunity to work past this issue. If you have questions for me, or feel as though I can help you in any way please don’t hesitate to contact me.
 
Regards,
 
**** ********
VP GM, Evapocore, inc.
dba Carlisle Auto Air

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Carlisle Auto Air
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)