BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

The Artistry Company

Phone: (210) 273-6860 View Additional Phone Numbers 7271 Wurzbach Rd Ste 202, San Antonio, TX 78240 http://www.mua-fx-academy.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Artistry Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for The Artistry Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for The Artistry Company include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 27, 2007 Business started: 03/23/2011 in TX Business started locally: 03/23/2011
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of State Health Services
1100 W 49th St, Austin TX 78756
www.dshs.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (888) 463-6332

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Carrie Von Loudon, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Carrie Von Loudon, Owner
Business Category

Artist - Makeup Modeling & Acting - Training Motion Picture Special Effects Skin Care Theatrical Make-Up Training Programs Cosmetic Sales

Products & Services

The Artistry Company sells the following brand(s): Spank Kosmetix

The Artistry Company offers the following product(s): Posh Skin Care

Hours of Operation
M: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
T: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
W: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Th: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
F: 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Alternate Business Names
Institute of Makeup Artistry and F/X of San Antonio

Additional Locations

  • 7271 Wurzbach Rd Ste 202

    San Antonio, TX 78240 (210) 273-6860

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 370-9538(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I myself, as well as other fellow students, started classes on Aug. 20 2013 for a 10 week cores to certify in Make-up for what was supposed to be an Accredited Institute. Upon the beginning of our classes* ****** *** ****** the instructor was hardly ever instructing the class. Instead we were being instructed by students from other classes who weren’t even certified themselves. Not only that, but our class was always at a standstill due to ****** bringing in new student and giving them priority because they paid her in full for tutoring during what was supposed to be our regular class time. Now 21 weeks into the class, more than half of the things on the Institutes Curriculum have not even been covered. Instead of sticking to the curriculum, ****** brought allot of her own personal issues to the class room that rendered our class time. We were supposed to have a total of 20 field hours to complete our certification. On several occasions we were told to be somewhere to gain these hours, but instead we all stood around doing nothing. (Complete Waste of Time). ****** also led us to believe that we would be working on the set of many local production studios, such as the ***** ****** Dancers like she advertises on the website. However the contract with the ***** ****** Dancers was for years prior and not available to the students of the Institute. Students are also being told that this is an accredited school when in fact it’s not. The website also offers a scholarship program that apparently doesn’t exist.

Desired Settlement: The San Antonio Police Department has instructed me to file a fraud claim with my bank in order to recieve my money back.I have also filed a police report with the local police department for theft of services.

Business Response:

BBB

Friday, February 28, 2014

RE: Complaint *******

The Classes did start August 20, 2013. A graduation date has never been set in the 8 years that I have been teaching. If *** ******* graduated on the exact 10
th week that he was in the school, then why wasn't his tuition paid on October 24, 2013. His tuition was not paid until December 3, 2013. The requirement for graduation is that tuition must be paid prior to graduation. *** ******* brought up an issue of tutoring and me giving them first priority due to them paying their tuition —I cannot comment on that due to having no idea of what he is talking about. If names could be provided maybe we can look back and see what the confusion is. The late fees of approximately $300.00 were never collected from *** *******. As far as my contracts are concerned, I believe it is not a concern of *** ******* or anybody not involved in the contract, as tor when the contracts begin or end. As professionals we close some doors and open others. In order for me to put 100% of my time into the school — I choose not to renew my contract this year. I have included a copy of the "****** *******" contract to the BBB which shows the expiration of 2013. *** ******* was not only on One production set, he was on ****** ***** Movie Set, ****** **** Fashion Show, ** ******, *** ************** ********. Pictures of these are being submitted to the BBB. *** ******* also tried his hand at student teaching. He was specifically told not to use particular glue on the eye area that could blind/harm a student. He went against what he was instructed not to do. There is a letter submitted to the BBB from a student in that class in regards to that issue. As one can see, everything he has put in writing is false. We wish *** ******* luck in his future endeavors.

****** *** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for a 10 week make up course that started August 20, 2013. According to the contract and curriculum, we should have learned 26 subjects, have 20 hours of field work, and become certified in 3 areas. As of 18 December, we have only Learned 3 subjects and touched on 2, we have 0 field hours after four months of being with this school. She consistently cancels class without prior notice, she does not respond to phone calls or text messages, very unethical behavior to phone calls and conducting classes by using vulgar language, discusses her personal issues to the class, speaks very bad about other students in her other classes. Completely inappropriate behavior with students and employees as well as while conducting classes. When attempting to resolve issues with the owner, she uses foul language, screams and becomes irate. It has been very difficult to come to a solution with her. My daughters were also enrolled into her modeling class august 30, 2013 that should have lasted for 8 weeks. They have only received 3 class in the past 4 months. She did not have instructors to conduct the classes or a set schedule, therefore consistently canceling classes. I paid in full for both classes a total of $2,670.00.

Desired Settlement: I attempted to get a refund on the classes that myself or my daughters did not receive, but received a nasty text message that I will not be getting my money back...therefore I am requesting a full refund on both classes.

Business Response:

All contracts signed by ******** ******** state "Any and all payments made are NON-REFUNDABLE to include down payment" attached.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
****** did not full fill her end of the bargain. I paid in full to receive service/classes that should have been complete in a 10-11 week time frame along with certification and 20 hours of field work. It is the middle of December and I have no field work hours and no certifications and several subjects that were not taught. She did not full fill her end of the contract. 
Regards,

******** ********

Business Response:

It is not my responsibility to schedule the field hours. They are all told about the events that take place. It is up to them to schedule themselves and I have pictures of ***** at events so she is lying. I wont discuss this matter any longer she knows that her actions by keeping ****** ********* informed of my actions would cause problems for me. I have all of her text messages as well as mine I have spent too much time with this. She has never worked for The Artistry Company or has she been a client. She was a student that ****** brought in.  I gave her an opportunity to manage a different company that is housed under my roof and I paid a lot of money to insure that her twins were trained properly.  ***** didn't even show up for class the last two weeks because her husband was out of town. Her classmates just finished their Bridal Certification. She chose her path not me.

I also sent a copy of her contract along with my response It clearly states NO REFUNDS she was aware of this prior to signing and she removed herself from class. The class still meets at regularly scheduled times.

******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I appreciate teh response back from ** ******. I do however find it very unprofessional and disrespectul to call me a liar and to make false accusations that I am working with one of her ex-employees. I feel her response is way off base to the issue at hand. She is correct to say that it is not her responsibility to schedule our field hours, however, during our orientation, she stated taht she would provide us a list and schedule of events for us to choose that would count towards our hours, it was never provided. I did attend 2 events that we were asked to attend as opposed to going to class these days, but we did ot do any make up or assit in any way that would count towards field hours. She herself did not do any makeup at these events. We manned a table and handed out **** brochures for one event and the other we sat at a bar watching other makeup artists. Because my husband is active duty *** *****, there are times that he will be called to go out of town for his job, for which it is my responsibility as a mom to take care of my children, so yes I did miss 2 classes. I will mention that this particular TDY was scheduled around my classes that should have been completed by this time. *** ****** is also correct in saying that I have never worked with her company, I have always been a student and a paying customer. Yes she has asked me to help her with modeling classes; she stated on several occasions in front of several people that I was the director of her modeling school, but I have never filled out any applications for employment to be the director. She wanted me to take over becuase she stated many times that she does not have the time to run the school and I have also expressed to her that I have a full time job and a family, that I can not run the school either, but I would help where I can. I have made several attempts to have a sit down talk to settle all the confusion and issues that were associated with the school, she never had the time or when we met, it was never a discussion on the issues. Yes, she also told me on many occasions that she did not have the money to pay the instructors to teach the classes, but that is part of running a business. I am the paying customer and should receive services that I paid for. How is that fair for her to ask a paying customer to take over her school that has not been completely set up...therefore I paid for a school for my daughters that was never in existance. It has been very difficult and frustrating to try and work things out with ** ******. She becomes very belligerent and unprofessional when issues are brought to her attention. ** ****** is an awesome makeup artist!!! I say that with great passion and truth. She has an awesome talent that others want to learn. This is why I was so very excited about taking her classes. Unfortunately, the execution in teaching and running a business just did not mesh well. I really do hope there is a way for us to work out the reimbursement without having to go to extreme measures. I do wish her the best in all that she does. I am going to continue to press forward and work on gatting reimbursed because she did not fulfil her end of the contract by providing the promised services to me and to my daughters.
Regards,

******** ********

Business Response:  
Dear BBB:

Below is the details on our availability for a Mediation Hearing:

Please Place list any dates you are specifically NOT available in the next 6 weeks: 




Please Place an "X" next to the Day of the Week you are Available and work best for you: 

____Mon. ____Tue. ____Wed ____ Thurs. ___X_ Fri.

 
 Please Place an "X" next to the Time  you are Available and work best for you: 

__X__ Morning ____Afternoon 

I understand that BBB will do its best to accommodation the information I have selected.  I understand that mediation is scheduled to start between the hours of 8 am and 3 pm, and must conclude by 5 pm.

Thank You.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of Mediation. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID .*******, , and find that Mediation is necessary.

Regards,

******** ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May 2013 I attended this school with hopes of furthering my knowledge as a make up artist and to learn the art of special effects. It was suppose to be a 10 week course that turned into 14 weeks. Some of that time was the school being constructed by students and her lack of showing up to class on time, if at all. Even though the website and credentials were impressive, and the curriculum sounded fun to learn. I quickly learn there was some very unprofessional teachings happening. One is that the owner is saying the school is BBB accredited and its actually not, its her other business The Artistry Co. that is accredited. There were several items that the brochure and website said would be included in our tuition that we were never taught ie: daytime to evening make up, print tv and film, bald cap, red-camera, F/X body art, airbrush, men's make up, runway, portfolio building. In addition to the previous listed items were told that we would be given prints for our portfolio and never received them. We were suppose to get a professional make up kit that included brushes and a 16 pieces of make up. Instead we received cheap, crooked brushes that were falling apart by the time it came to using on practice models. Plus the make up pieces we got were only 12 and she included $1.00 eyeliner and $1.00 razor shaper for the brows. The brochure and website state its a "On Hands" approach, when in all actually the students do all the work while she collects the money. Her curriculum is based on the cosmetology work book, I know because I am a cosmetologist. As disappointed as I am having to do this I don't want any one to feed the pocket of someone who has used students for her personal gain and not the educate students who have dreams of being able to pursue their passion in life, make up and special F/X

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for my tuition 950.00.

Business Response: If you notice ****** ********* compliant fell on the
day after Ms. *********’s compliant he is also a close friend of hers. If you
look at my company website INSTITUTE
OF MAKEUP ARTISTRY (http://www.mua-fx-academy.com/) it clearly states at the bottom of the page The Artistry
Company is with the BBB and it also states “The Institute works
very hard to touch base on all subjects that are in the curriculum
during the 11 weeks  However, on occasion there may be areas of
interest not covered due to unforeseen circumstances. Though this accrues
rarely, we want to stress that attendance is crucial as well as student
participation.”  Once ****** had finish certifying he submitted
an application for an instructor position but due to lack of experience I rejected
his offer, I did however offer him a student teaching position that was nonpaid
in which he declined. Attached is his contract which states no refund and/or
returns.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
   ****** **** ****** is misleading in all any info she gives out or says. She likes to turn things around that she actually does and makes them look like the other person is saying or doing them. There were times in class that she had me teach the class and go over study material due to the fact she wants me as a personal assistant and an instructor. I did these duties withe the hopes of making my craft better but really she never has intentions of following through on what she says. There is also students who could verify this and also the fact that she had me test a student out on one of their finals. So for her to say I had no experience is false . The day I was suppose to start my student teaching I sat in the parking lot for an hour waiting on her on the first day that a class was suppose to start. I text her to let her know I was going to go in a different direction due to the fact that it was unprofessional not to even let her student teacher know that class had been cancelled. It wasn't till later that ****** **** louden left me a very crazy message screaming and shouting demeaning me on personal and professional levels. I still have the call on my phone.

    I'm not sure how this letter writing will resolve anything other than letting people know that this business is not what it says it is. ****** likes to think she gave me make up skills as she likes to think she has taught everyone something, but I have had skills prior to even giving my money and time to her everything she teaches is not hers it's either MAC techniques or cosmetology info.
   
  
Regards,

****** *********

Business Response: I spent three hrs writing out the response and it deleted the page when I hit proceed so I am typing it out I have conversations dates and times I will be headed to Austin to meet with you This is a bit more serious than it looks Im sending you a few pictures first one is makeup ****** did the week prior to him starting the academy and second picture is his work when he was certifying for black and white I will have the rest of my statement on a letter

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

****** *********

Business Response:

The attachments below is everything that I have in ******' file he asked for pictures 

dsc_**** Picture --model for a Fashion Friday show that ****** participated in the week he started the academy with me

 

IMAGE *** and Image ****-- ****** finished his training at the academy an extreme improvement I would say

 

linkedin and linkedin2 screen shots --of his education taken on 12/27/14 

 

just changed. and just ch. edu link, screen shots-- of his education deleted from his account on 12/31/14

 

I had sent the pictures to ****** via text months ago he responded to the text that he had received them This is everything in his file. ****** has the rest of the pictures I simply don't understand why he cant ask her for them when he speaks to her Im sure she would be delighted to help out. Unfortunately I can not ask for them myself. There is a protective order that has been filed against her as of 1/2/14 so there is no communication at this time. When we go to court I will ask her for any additional items that belong to the school that may be in her possession.

 

I  have a statement from the property manager ******* ********, that ****** called her and  tried to get her to open the doors to the academy months after he graduated, without informing me at all, which is clearly illegal and unethical.  This type of behavior is the reason why we couldn't pursue him to work with the academy.  

 

****** *** ******

Institute of Makeup Artistry & F/X of San Antonio LLC
The Artistry Company LLC
Spank Cosmetics LLC

 

Institute of Makeup Artistry & F/X of San Antonio LLC
The Artistry Company LLC
Spank Cosmetics LLC

www.mua-fx-academy.com

www.theartistrycompany.net

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

****** *********

   If ****** would of put this much energy into her schooling techniques, instead of demeaning the people who tried to help
her, this back and forth would not be happening. I have several years of make up and hair experience prior to even
crossing paths with ******. If the make up I provided for her" free of charge" prior to me even being in the school, why
did she not change it at that time? At that fashion show she was not even there to guide any of us, not to mention the
tools supplied for this event were being shared by 5 other students who had no training on being prepared for the working
conditions we were in. Since she has been in this field for as many years as she has, why does she not have experienced
instructors helping her to get this school running the right way instead of students that are enrolled in classes and are not
all familiar with how techniques should be done 
   I find it interesting that she has photos to show to demean me , but none of the photos we were suppose
to receive as part of our schooling. The photos she sent me were photos taken from a cell phone, very professional to include
in a professional portfolio. The pictures that were taken that were suppose to be for our portfolio were done in the school so
they should of been school property not someone else's, as the owner ****** should have had those to give to us by school end.
Those pictures were done for a grade on both make up and photo shoot skills. It was important for us to have them done right
as it should of been for her to provide what we were suppose to get for our portfolio, but since we never  had a class on how
to put the portfolio together we just didn't get that education or pictures. 
    As for my Linked In account, a account I rarely use I updated my resume with classes that I would of been taught. I took the
verbage from a brochure that I had received stating what would be taught. ****** has failed to mention that she endorsed me
on that site for specific skills. I had tried to erase the account but apparently did not do it correctly since I received a notice
stating that she had been viewing my profile. It is a public site so that is understandable but I have cut all and any communication
with her because she had made a phone call to my job trying to get me in trouble by saying untrue statements to my boss. I have been
a part of her trying to do this before with another student while I was sitting right next to her. Her tactics of bullying any one who
tries to point out her short comings she lashes out at in a very unstable manor, which is why more students will not come forward
because they don't want her involved in their life. As one of those people it is just that much more important for people to know
her unprofessional ways.
    When I spoke to the property manager ******* I asked her about the room that all the building of the school supplies were in ,not
the school it self. As a matter of fact that day I was at the school to collect my tools that help build that school Will the person inside
said she was not there and had no idea of her return. I had even text that day I was going by but heard nothing from her till after I
had left. So my intention of being there was not for the school it was to collect my tools that I still don't have due to her lack of being
at the school.
    I have many pictures and references of clients that I have done prior to this bad schooling experience that I can provide. ****** is not
the example of what the world of make up is about and I hope that people don't  find out the hard way like I and other paying people
have.  
   
     
 
   
   

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1