This business is not BBB accredited.

The Artistry Company

Phone: (210) 370-9538 7271 Wurzbach Rd Ste 202, San Antonio, TX 78240 http://www.mua-fx-academy.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for The Artistry Company include:

  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 8

Additional Complaint Information

Based on BBB files, The Artistry Company has a pattern of disputes alleging completion-of-training issues. Complainants allege they purchased cosmetic educational training classes and did not receive all classes paid for. In some cases, complainants allege other students were teaching classes instead of the instructor. Complainants further allege that multiple course classes were canceled and required hours, which were paid for, were not received. Complainants generally seek a full or partial refund.

Business responses to disputes generally state students receive all course work and classes and therefore a refund is not available. For more details regarding disputes received by BBB, please visit the complaints tab of this BBB Business Review.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The Artistry Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 27, 2007 Business started: 03/23/2011 in TX Business started locally: 03/23/2011 Business incorporated 04/28/2013 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of State Health Services
1100 W 49th St, Austin TX 78756
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/
Phone Number: 888-963-7111

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Carrie Loudon, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Carrie Loudon, Member
Business Category

Artist - Makeup Modeling & Acting - Training Motion Picture Special Effects Skin Care Theatrical Make-Up Training Programs Cosmetic Sales

Products & Services

The Artistry Company sells the following brand(s): Spank Kosmetix

The Artistry Company offers the following product(s): Posh Skin Care

Hours of Operation
M: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
T: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
W: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Th: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
F: 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Alternate Business Names
Institute of Makeup Artistry & F/X of San Antonio LLC
Industry Tips
BBB Advises Caution When Dealing With Talent/Modeling Agencies

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Artistry Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7271 Wurzbach Rd Ste 202

    San Antonio, TX 78240

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended the institute from July of 2013 to October of 2013. As part of the curriculum, students were to have hands on experience to learn how to apply makeup including men's makeup, bridal, runway, fashion, and so on. The school flyer includes the classes that were to be taught. I did not receive the instruction to learn how to apply makeup as promised by the instructor. Class time to learn how to gain hands on makeup artistry skills was replaced with a five to ten minute lesson of watching the instructor apply makeup then leave the classroom to her office for personal reasons. Classmates and I were left to figure out how to apply and correct makeup application without instruction. Other class times were canceled due to personal issues that the instructor felt unable to attend and teach class. Several class times were also replaced with the same exam that was taken on numerous occasions while the instructor conducted business during class times. his even includes showing up to class where I and other students only ate food that was provided by the instructor while we sat during our classroom hours and did not learn anything from the curriculum promised. I approached the instructor about our education, but was met with resistance and denial of the lack of education. It was after an inappropriate outburst from the instructor to classmates and I stating, "she was sick of us" that I did not feel comfortable attending the institute anymore. While attending the academy I made bi-weekly payments of $143 dollars on time. The problem in short is I paid for an education I did not receive. I can not fully explain the time and money wasted by attending the institute and having to witness unprofessional business practices.

Desired Settlement: This business has a responsibility to refund me the money I paid for an education I did not receive.

Business Response:

This young lady started as a promising student but then she started missing class and expected to be tutored one on one which is not standard policy. Q. had the opportunity to go with me to a video shoot with me that included the Mayor of San Antonio. Now I have text message after text message trying to work with her far beyond what should be expected of an instructor. Her course cost was 1650.00. she was continuously late on her payments and still has an outstanding balance. Unfortunately she also has a contract that is signed by Ms. ***** that states there are no refunds and if the student drops the course then she must still pay the remainder of the balance, which she has not. I recently saw her comments on a site that was created by an individual that was trying, but failed to create a similar business as mine. I do not have Ms. *****s file in front of me do to the fact Im in another town opening another school. I do however have contact names and numbers of students that were in her class that were very happy and were even hired by the makeup lines they wanted. I also have *****s test scores I believe her first test score was a minus 68 with 89 questions. Her score before she quit coming to class was minus 17..Big improvement in my opinion. I will extend this settlement with Ms. *****. I will withdraw her outstanding debt that has been scheduled for submission to the 3 credit Bureaus. However if the BBB or Ms. ***** would like me to submit everything in her file and the text messages supporting my statements are true and factual please let me know.

Thank you so much
******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The classes that I missed that Ms. *** ****** is referring to is classes where untrained students were teaching the class while she remained in her office or did not show up for class to instruct. This was verified by former classmates that attended these specific classes where students were teaching and not the instructor. I brought my concerns to her about untrained students teaching the class, but was met with hostility and denial in response. A former employee and special F/X director hired by Ms. *** ******, Mr. ****** *******, was also scheduled by the instructor to fill up class time on three separate class days by demonstrating special F/X makeup, however my classmates and I were enrolled in the makeup artistry program and not the special F/X program . This was not part of our curriculum and the instructor remained in her office on these days where ****** ******* instructed. This troubled my classmates and I as our class time was wasted. In the original flyer for the institute, tutoring is listed as part of the course curriculum. When I asked for tutoring from the instructor, she suggested I either show up to the institute on my non-class days or go to her home to receive tutoring in makeup application. Because she was unavailable when I asked to tutor at her home, I asked to come up to the institute by the instructor to receive makeup application tutoring from her. On at least three separate occasions I requested tutoring from the instructor herself, but was tutored by a untrained student that the instructor requested do so. This was later brought up with the instructor after her unprofessional and inappropriate outburst towards my classmates and I, but again I was met with denial of the events. My contract was signed in front of and by the former office manager and Ms.*** ******'s ex-girlfriend, ****** *********, that I would pay $1100 for the course. A copy of my contract is located in the instructor's files. Every bi-weekly payment of the $142 was made on time when Ms. ****** ********* was employed as the institute's office manager. As office manager she took my payments through my debit card. It was after the instructor fired Ms. ****** ********* twice in September 2013. that there was no office manager available to collect payments from myself or other students. It was after several weeks without a new office manager that the instructor started taking payments from my debit card herself. The copies of my payments are also located in the instructor's files. The allegations that I signed a unmet contract to pay $1650 and was late on my payments is completely fabricated by Ms.*** ******. Added to my balance of $1100 was an optional $200 "basics course" that was later added to the curriculum for every student shortly after the first week of class. This course was to include four hours of one on one time with the instructor going over the basics of the different kinds of makeup,makeup brushes, and basic makeup application. I received less than 20 minutes of the basics course and was denied a refund by the instructor after she added it to the curriculum for every student without the $200 extra charge. Had I recieved my $200 refund, my balance would have $900. The comments from the site that Ms.*** ****** is referencing is a student organization to bring awareness on how to find credible education. The individual she has referenced has not tried to create a similar business. In my classroom was six students including myself attended the institute. Three classmates, including myself, dropped of the institute due to the lack of education, unmet contract agreement, manipulation, and unprofessional conduct of Ms. *** ******. Only one classmate out of the three who remained in the institute, was hired by M-A-C. No other classmate that I had contact with in the classroom expressed their happiness with the institute, but in fact felt there time and money was wasted while attending. Some of these classmates expressed their concerns about their lack of education to the instructor , but were met with threats, denial, and lies. In regards to the test exam I took repeatedly throughout the course, after showing a copy of the test to other industry professionals they verified that much of what was on it was not industry standard. In fact several things were against the law according to Texas Department of Regulations of Cosmetology. I could have incurred large fines by duplicating what she Ms. *** ****** taught me and my classmates. With an unmet contract to provide me an education I paid a little more than $700 for, the business has the responsibility of refunding me that money and releasing me from any debt

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: Quela. Signed a contract that she still owes 800.on. Manual ******* was an instructor of the Academy and we hired before the Academy even started I have four classes running at the same time Does she expect me to teach every ssingle class? Plus run The Artistry Company that creates opportunities for the students to work on real life situations. I expand the course over a longer period of time to give the students time to work on the technique the actual training is about 40 hrs and the other 40 is giving them a place to come and practice with others that have a passion for the craft our last conversation I told you to come in and I would personally take the time to work with you so you would gain the knowledge you missed during regular class time you agreed to come in and I was there and you were a no show do you remember that I have a question for you why have youi exte waited this long to complain about me if the so called incidents happened months ago? i extended opportunity after opportunity and you were rude and difficult but i still tried to come to a resolution and i went to the school on my day off and waited for you for two hours and do you remember your response "I had to work I have a life" so do I Ms ***** 
Have a blessed Day and good luck with your endeavors 
****** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: as I stated in the
previous complaint, my contract was signed in front of and by the former office manager and Ms.***
******'s ex-girlfriend, ****** *********, that I would pay $1100 for the
course. A copy of my contract is located in the instructor's files. While
attending the institute, Ms. *** ******* was the only instructor for the makeup
artistry program. As the instructor of the program, you were expected to teach
every single class. Having untrained students or an F/X instructor to teach
your makeup artistry classes is not part of the contract. My classes were extended
till November 2013 when our original graduation date was October 8th,
2013. Even with the extended classes I and my classmates did not learn an appropriate
makeup application or technique or correct industry standards. When other students
and I confronted you about your lack of instruction and unprofessional conduct, we
were shutdown with harassment, threats, and hostility. I was never rude or difficult
with you. I was asked to come in to meet with you, but I did not confirm the
meeting because of my work schedule. I received no phone call that day from you
to confirm the appointment or that you even showed up. The response “I had to
work I have a life" is fabricated. The knowledge I missed during regular
class time was due to canceled classes, untrained students teaching, and you as
the instructor unwilling to teach my classmates and I. For a time I did not
have the knowledge in filing a complaint against your business. Now I do. With
an unmet contract to provide me an education I paid a little more than $700
for, the business has the responsibility of refunding me that money and
releasing me from any debt.

Regards,

***** *****

6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The owner/instructor claims to be a "Nationally known Celebrity Makeup Artist" but no one outside Texas seems to have heard of her. She gets you all hyped up about learning these special techniques and advanced Special Effects Makeup. I submitted an application online and quickly received a reply inviting me to attend an open house. The owner claimed that she would be screening students and only a select few would be accepted. The day of the open house I was not asked to see a portfolio and there was no screenings taking place as she was accepting anyone and everyone who wanted to enroll. The class started within a few days and it was not what I was expecting. We were told that we would be learning Airbrushing and Body Art but that wasn't the case as she had let go of the Artist who was suppose to teach those skills. As days went by she would pull the instructor away from class to assist her on gigs and travel to another city where she has been trying to open up another school. Due to her pulling him away that would cause our classes to be canceled and no make up days were ever scheduled for the lost time. In addtion what she teaches does not meet State Rules and Regulations after doing research. Her violations vary from sanitization, to application of makeup products, rules on touching a clients face if you are not licensed to do so, using the back of her hand as a palette (tray). She has also been seen taking a razor to trim clients eyebrows and she is not certfied to do so along with charging to apply false eyelashes. Futhermore, not only has she taught wrongful skills, she is unethical, unbalanced, unprofessional when dealing with both students and clients, discrimitory, drags her personl life into the school and business and I have been witiness to her not paying artists when working on a job with her. Lastly her certifications are not real and mean nothing. They're just a stack of blank cerificates that she buys at Walmart, types up and signs. She has blamed artist for her lack of personal responsibility and the list goes on.

Desired Settlement: For the owner/instructor to no longer be in business because of flase and fraud practices

Business Response: ********* has violated her non disclosure and confidentiality agreement case is pending she has only paid a total of 832.00 on the f/x class which she completed  She gave the CFO a credit card, when he attempted to charge the card the cc company asked him to take the card from the customer and destroy it she has also being investigated for fraudulent biz practices If I had something to hide do you truly think I would allow you to sit at my desk and download files from my computer so you can have them when needed for business. Now you have my info and I already see you used my cc to bid on a site got a customer and failed to tell me about it. That is why you wouldn't respond when I asked repeatedly for the passcodes to the thumbtack account. You also contacted **** ******* another person on my account this is clearly a violation of your contract as well as an offense against the law

Good Day

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: 

First and foremost I have proof to back up each and every word I am about to type including harassing text messages, emails and phone calls from ******, her girlfriend, mother and an employee. Starting with my credit card, I personally went to my bank to close that account due to my card being lost along with another card that listed my account/routing number on it. In addition, I was quite relieved that I had closed that account so that I would not continue to be charged for classes that for one, were taught by students that had not been certified to teach and two, not being provide the training that was promised prior to me signing up. Let me include that some of our classes were canceled due to ****** always pulling away the Instructing Student and classes were never made up. She says I finished the course yet I have nothing to show for it. I amongst many others have witnessed and been victims to this woman’s bizarre behavior. She is unethical, unprofessional, lacks personal responsibility and drags her personal life into the school and company. As for the false statement in regards to me contacting ****, I have not spoken to this client. Last I was in contact with her was prior to my FX Instructor/Student doing her trial makeup application which if I recall correctly was back in March. Again, I have phone records and text messages that will prove ****** has falsified her statement. As for me using her card to place a bid on the The Artistry Company’s Thumbtack website, got a customer and failed to tell her is another false statement. The customer she speaks of is a friend of mine (***** *.) who I asked to go on to the site to place a request for a quote. I actually asked this of other friends and fellow students. Reason being is I was hired on by ****** to be her Managing Director for The Artistry Company. ****** has opened two Thumbtack Accounts, one for the school and one for the company which she has us bid against each other just to try to book clients. At that time I was trying to get the company’s website running properly because all the leads were going to the schools account rather than the company. ****** would always complain that she was getting bombarded with email leads on the schools account so I was trying to redirect them to The Artistry Company site. I had made several attempts to get in contact with the Admin Dept. for Thumbtack to get assistance as to why we were not receiving leads on the company account. He said it was due to the account being inactive and us not placing bids on clients. So I asked for help from fellow peers. I asked them to go on the website and submit a request for a quote to see if I would receive it on the company’s site. Again, I have messages to back up what I'm saying is true therefore I did not use her card to get a customer. As for me being in violation of the non disclosure, we were all forced to sign a document that for one is a fraudulent non disclosure along with the no compete. These are not at all legal binding documents. They were merley pieced together by things that were pulled from Google and were addressed to interns/employees, we were neither. Technically we were just students. She has refused to pay anyone, including licensed makeup artist and hair stylist that have worked with her on job after job. ****** has also brought us on to work jobs she was being paid for when we had not had the proper training nor learned the proper sanitation guidelines according to the Texas Rules and Regulations. If anyone should be under investigation for fraudulent business practices it should be this woman, ****** **** *** ******. In conclusion based on public records this woman is a CONVICTED FELON for THEFT and "*** ******" isn't even her real last name, it's just ******.  

Regards,

********* **********

Business Response: I am seriously not going to read this its a waste of time and energy i have every text and email between ********* and myself I own 3 different companies one is suppose to be ran by an artist to help other artists get jobs the one booking the clients makes 10% commission now for me missing classes she only had 5 and I have her listed as absent for 3 due to her daughter trying to kill herself or some other family drama oh she had to go to Houston on another day. The CFO of IMUA has everything documented and a case has been filed against a group of people that want me to release them from their non disclosure and no compete which isn't going to happen I will send an additional email directly to the BBB with the information regarding  this case and the names listed, the attorneys info and the reports from the investigation that is on going. But I do believe child protective services should be brought in becouse she has a troubled daughter that is crying out for. Help by hurting herself now that I see what ********* is capable of doing I see why her daughter is in desperate need of social services to intervene she should look at what is going on in her own life and if she would live without the hate and the deceit maybe her home and her loved ones wouldn't suffer so good luck ********* and God Bless you 
******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

It is unfortunate that Mrs. ****** has resorted to personal attacks in an effort to draw attention away from the facts. She has taken the opportunity to twist and abuse information disclosed in confidence through what once was a heart felt conversation. Her CFO, which also happens to be her father, is unable to remain impartial due to his relation. I have been denied copies of all documentation, save a non-disclosure agreement. I do not trust that the documents he will be able to provide are valid. I reject this response, that turned out to be more of a personal attack. And request the investigation of my complaint be founded in fact, rather than hearsay and allegations. 

Regards,

********* **********

5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The owner of this school lured me in just for my money. The owner was not teaching class half of the time like we were promised in the beginning. She took most of my night time "working" for her knowing I had full time school the next day. Most of the time in class we wouldn't be hands on. It would be mostly just conversations in class. At times she would be drinking wine while teaching her class. This school is unethical and very unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: People need to know how this school is and how manipulative the ***** is.

Business Response: Now that *** ********* has received the final demand  for payment before filing, she obviously feels the need to create fictitious stories about me or the school. I have inclosed just a few of many text messages and a recommendation letter ** ********* asked for. In her text she has acknowledged that she has an outstanding balance that out of my generosity was reduced for the help she volunteered for in the office. My *** ******* ******* takes care of any and all monies that come in or goes out of IMUA. I have documentation from Jan to April between ** ********* and myself and there is not one complaint nor harsh words. I tried to help *** ********* as much as I could after she got a DWI, her financial responsibility to the courts needed to come first and then she could make smaller payments to me I bent over backwards for several students even though it put me in a financial bind. I don't know why **** ********* has chosen to act in this manner however it may possibly shine light on why she was dishonorably discharged from the Marines and she has turned to liquor as a self medication. I stopped ** ********* many times from coming over to my house because she sounded as though she was intoxicated.  I have compassion for all my students The only thing that I do wrong is allow them into my life. I am guilty because I trust to easily and care for the well being of people that come into my life It truly saddens me that so many people lack integrity. Take responsibility for your own actions Your word is all you have in this life.
****** ******

5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a student at **** and I started 12-3-13. at the time I was working at a dermatology office so I could pay for tuition but then I got layed off and I told the ***** of the school ****** ****** that I wasn't going to be able to continue going to school then she said that I can work for her to pay off my tuition. she worked me basically like a slave and I didn't really learn anything while I was in school she always stressed hands on to get practice but we never really got to practice or learn anything because there was always something else going on with her.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: This is almost to ridiculous to respond to but lets recap the work that *** ** ** ***** did for me.... She scanned receipts into the computer and she answered emails. She lost her job right after she started the school and she asked me if she could work with me to help pay it off. While she worked with me *** ***** was always late or didn't show up at all However she showed up at class every day. While she was with me I took her to the salon to get her nails done, I gave her a ***** ******* handbag, clothes, a pile of costume jewelry and fed her when ever she was at my house and she also was given an *** *** to replace her flip phone while she was working with me, which she still hasn't returned Its a little ironic that she has this asinine complaint when I have feedback letters from her on her training that very favorable. I also have text message after text message of her pleading with me to come back after she was a a no show. We worked out the hours vs the money owed and she agreed she even started working with my mother on a project. 9 out of 10 times there was someone else in my home when *** ***** was here. They can attest to her activities. Sitting at a computer doing nothing certainly can not constitute slavery? I am however suing ** ** ** ***** for Tuition the phone and handbag she failed to return.

Have a great Day
****** ******

5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An agreement was made with this company to provide makeup services for 5 people at noon on April 12th, one of which was a bride who had specific run through a with a specified makeup artist. Services were prepaid on February 12th and another payment was made on March 12th. On the day of the event the makeup artists were late the original artist was not present eyelashes were not used and then the company insisted on payment even though payment had already been made. Per the artists and an assistant the owner could not be reached as she was out of town. Upon return from our honeymoon multiple attempts were made to contact the owner to clarify payment charged $350 in advance yet the makeup artists said the total was $225 they day of. It was only after I talked directly to the makeup artist was I even assured that the duplicate checks had been ripped up.

Desired Settlement: I would like a billing adjustment as I did not receive the services which were agreed upon nor were the services completed in an appropriate time. I would also like to be contacted by the business owner.

Business Response:

Unfortunate for us, **** is correct. I booked a makeup Artist that showed up for her trial a month prior to the wedding and she was a no show no call. When we were called by one of the brides maids and found out the Artist wasn't there we went into panic mode do to the fact we were 1500 miles from San Antonio. We called Salons around the Fredericksburg/Kerrville area and couldn't find anyone. Finally we were able to reach two of my Artists that were already out in the field and they agreed to hurry over to the location, which was outside of Comfort. We, I, offered to pay them an additional 100.00 for their amazing efforts. The Artists weren't familiar with this particular bride and did not have access to her file so yes they asked I believe the Mother, for payment. I wasn't aware of it until I returned back to San Antonio. I instructed ***** to touch base with **** and asked her to handle the situation do to the fact I wasn't real clear on what took place. *****, one of my stylists, spoke with **** and collectively agreed to shredding the check that was for 125.00. I received a picture from ***** that this indeed had been done. When I contacted **** I apologized and shared with her the consequences the Artist that didn't show up had to face. She was terminated from The Company. 

Once again I apologize I take full responsibility for the actions of my former Artist.
Thank you
******

3/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I myself, as well as other fellow students, started classes on Aug. 20 2013 for a 10 week cores to certify in Make-up for what was supposed to be an Accredited Institute. Upon the beginning of our classes* ****** *** ****** the instructor was hardly ever instructing the class. Instead we were being instructed by students from other classes who weren’t even certified themselves. Not only that, but our class was always at a standstill due to ****** bringing in new student and giving them priority because they paid her in full for tutoring during what was supposed to be our regular class time. Now 21 weeks into the class, more than half of the things on the Institutes Curriculum have not even been covered. Instead of sticking to the curriculum, ****** brought allot of her own personal issues to the class room that rendered our class time. We were supposed to have a total of 20 field hours to complete our certification. On several occasions we were told to be somewhere to gain these hours, but instead we all stood around doing nothing. (Complete Waste of Time). ****** also led us to believe that we would be working on the set of many local production studios, such as the ***** ****** Dancers like she advertises on the website. However the contract with the ***** ****** Dancers was for years prior and not available to the students of the Institute. Students are also being told that this is an accredited school when in fact it’s not. The website also offers a scholarship program that apparently doesn’t exist.

Desired Settlement: The San Antonio Police Department has instructed me to file a fraud claim with my bank in order to recieve my money back.I have also filed a police report with the local police department for theft of services.

Business Response:

BBB

Friday, February 28, 2014

RE: Complaint *******

The Classes did start August 20, 2013. A graduation date has never been set in the 8 years that I have been teaching. If *** ******* graduated on the exact 10
th week that he was in the school, then why wasn't his tuition paid on October 24, 2013. His tuition was not paid until December 3, 2013. The requirement for graduation is that tuition must be paid prior to graduation. *** ******* brought up an issue of tutoring and me giving them first priority due to them paying their tuition —I cannot comment on that due to having no idea of what he is talking about. If names could be provided maybe we can look back and see what the confusion is. The late fees of approximately $300.00 were never collected from *** *******. As far as my contracts are concerned, I believe it is not a concern of *** ******* or anybody not involved in the contract, as tor when the contracts begin or end. As professionals we close some doors and open others. In order for me to put 100% of my time into the school — I choose not to renew my contract this year. I have included a copy of the "****** *******" contract to the BBB which shows the expiration of 2013. *** ******* was not only on One production set, he was on ****** ***** Movie Set, ****** **** Fashion Show, ** ******, *** ************** ********. Pictures of these are being submitted to the BBB. *** ******* also tried his hand at student teaching. He was specifically told not to use particular glue on the eye area that could blind/harm a student. He went against what he was instructed not to do. There is a letter submitted to the BBB from a student in that class in regards to that issue. As one can see, everything he has put in writing is false. We wish *** ******* luck in his future endeavors.

****** *** ******

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for a 10 week make up course that started August 20, 2013. According to the contract and curriculum, we should have learned 26 subjects, have 20 hours of field work, and become certified in 3 areas. As of 18 December, we have only Learned 3 subjects and touched on 2, we have 0 field hours after four months of being with this school. She consistently cancels class without prior notice, she does not respond to phone calls or text messages, very unethical behavior to phone calls and conducting classes by using vulgar language, discusses her personal issues to the class, speaks very bad about other students in her other classes. Completely inappropriate behavior with students and employees as well as while conducting classes. When attempting to resolve issues with the owner, she uses foul language, screams and becomes irate. It has been very difficult to come to a solution with her. My daughters were also enrolled into her modeling class august 30, 2013 that should have lasted for 8 weeks. They have only received 3 class in the past 4 months. She did not have instructors to conduct the classes or a set schedule, therefore consistently canceling classes. I paid in full for both classes a total of $2,670.00.

Desired Settlement: I attempted to get a refund on the classes that myself or my daughters did not receive, but received a nasty text message that I will not be getting my money back...therefore I am requesting a full refund on both classes.

Business Response:

All contracts signed by ******** ******** state "Any and all payments made are NON-REFUNDABLE to include down payment" attached.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
****** did not full fill her end of the bargain. I paid in full to receive service/classes that should have been complete in a 10-11 week time frame along with certification and 20 hours of field work. It is the middle of December and I have no field work hours and no certifications and several subjects that were not taught. She did not full fill her end of the contract. 
Regards,

******** ********

Business Response:

It is not my responsibility to schedule the field hours. They are all told about the events that take place. It is up to them to schedule themselves and I have pictures of ***** at events so she is lying. I wont discuss this matter any longer she knows that her actions by keeping ****** ********* informed of my actions would cause problems for me. I have all of her text messages as well as mine I have spent too much time with this. She has never worked for The Artistry Company or has she been a client. She was a student that ****** brought in.  I gave her an opportunity to manage a different company that is housed under my roof and I paid a lot of money to insure that her twins were trained properly.  ***** didn't even show up for class the last two weeks because her husband was out of town. Her classmates just finished their Bridal Certification. She chose her path not me.

I also sent a copy of her contract along with my response It clearly states NO REFUNDS she was aware of this prior to signing and she removed herself from class. The class still meets at regularly scheduled times.

******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I appreciate teh response back from ** ******. I do however find it very unprofessional and disrespectul to call me a liar and to make false accusations that I am working with one of her ex-employees. I feel her response is way off base to the issue at hand. She is correct to say that it is not her responsibility to schedule our field hours, however, during our orientation, she stated taht she would provide us a list and schedule of events for us to choose that would count towards our hours, it was never provided. I did attend 2 events that we were asked to attend as opposed to going to class these days, but we did ot do any make up or assit in any way that would count towards field hours. She herself did not do any makeup at these events. We manned a table and handed out **** brochures for one event and the other we sat at a bar watching other makeup artists. Because my husband is active duty *** *****, there are times that he will be called to go out of town for his job, for which it is my responsibility as a mom to take care of my children, so yes I did miss 2 classes. I will mention that this particular TDY was scheduled around my classes that should have been completed by this time. *** ****** is also correct in saying that I have never worked with her company, I have always been a student and a paying customer. Yes she has asked me to help her with modeling classes; she stated on several occasions in front of several people that I was the director of her modeling school, but I have never filled out any applications for employment to be the director. She wanted me to take over becuase she stated many times that she does not have the time to run the school and I have also expressed to her that I have a full time job and a family, that I can not run the school either, but I would help where I can. I have made several attempts to have a sit down talk to settle all the confusion and issues that were associated with the school, she never had the time or when we met, it was never a discussion on the issues. Yes, she also told me on many occasions that she did not have the money to pay the instructors to teach the classes, but that is part of running a business. I am the paying customer and should receive services that I paid for. How is that fair for her to ask a paying customer to take over her school that has not been completely set up...therefore I paid for a school for my daughters that was never in existance. It has been very difficult and frustrating to try and work things out with ** ******. She becomes very belligerent and unprofessional when issues are brought to her attention. ** ****** is an awesome makeup artist!!! I say that with great passion and truth. She has an awesome talent that others want to learn. This is why I was so very excited about taking her classes. Unfortunately, the execution in teaching and running a business just did not mesh well. I really do hope there is a way for us to work out the reimbursement without having to go to extreme measures. I do wish her the best in all that she does. I am going to continue to press forward and work on gatting reimbursed because she did not fulfil her end of the contract by providing the promised services to me and to my daughters.
Regards,

******** ********

Business Response:  
Dear BBB:

Below is the details on our availability for a Mediation Hearing:

Please Place list any dates you are specifically NOT available in the next 6 weeks: 




Please Place an "X" next to the Day of the Week you are Available and work best for you: 

____Mon. ____Tue. ____Wed ____ Thurs. ___X_ Fri.

 
 Please Place an "X" next to the Time  you are Available and work best for you: 

__X__ Morning ____Afternoon 

I understand that BBB will do its best to accommodation the information I have selected.  I understand that mediation is scheduled to start between the hours of 8 am and 3 pm, and must conclude by 5 pm.

Thank You.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of Mediation. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID .*******, , and find that Mediation is necessary.

Regards,

******** ********

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May 2013 I attended this school with hopes of furthering my knowledge as a make up artist and to learn the art of special effects. It was suppose to be a 10 week course that turned into 14 weeks. Some of that time was the school being constructed by students and her lack of showing up to class on time, if at all. Even though the website and credentials were impressive, and the curriculum sounded fun to learn. I quickly learn there was some very unprofessional teachings happening. One is that the owner is saying the school is BBB accredited and its actually not, its her other business The Artistry Co. that is accredited. There were several items that the brochure and website said would be included in our tuition that we were never taught ie: daytime to evening make up, print tv and film, bald cap, red-camera, F/X body art, airbrush, men's make up, runway, portfolio building. In addition to the previous listed items were told that we would be given prints for our portfolio and never received them. We were suppose to get a professional make up kit that included brushes and a 16 pieces of make up. Instead we received cheap, crooked brushes that were falling apart by the time it came to using on practice models. Plus the make up pieces we got were only 12 and she included $1.00 eyeliner and $1.00 razor shaper for the brows. The brochure and website state its a "On Hands" approach, when in all actually the students do all the work while she collects the money. Her curriculum is based on the cosmetology work book, I know because I am a cosmetologist. As disappointed as I am having to do this I don't want any one to feed the pocket of someone who has used students for her personal gain and not the educate students who have dreams of being able to pursue their passion in life, make up and special F/X

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for my tuition 950.00.

Business Response: If you notice ****** ********* compliant fell on the
day after Ms. *********’s compliant he is also a close friend of hers. If you
look at my company website INSTITUTE
OF MAKEUP ARTISTRY (http://www.mua-fx-academy.com/) it clearly states at the bottom of the page The Artistry
Company is with the BBB and it also states “The Institute works
very hard to touch base on all subjects that are in the curriculum
during the 11 weeks  However, on occasion there may be areas of
interest not covered due to unforeseen circumstances. Though this accrues
rarely, we want to stress that attendance is crucial as well as student
participation.”  Once ****** had finish certifying he submitted
an application for an instructor position but due to lack of experience I rejected
his offer, I did however offer him a student teaching position that was nonpaid
in which he declined. Attached is his contract which states no refund and/or
returns.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
   ****** **** ****** is misleading in all any info she gives out or says. She likes to turn things around that she actually does and makes them look like the other person is saying or doing them. There were times in class that she had me teach the class and go over study material due to the fact she wants me as a personal assistant and an instructor. I did these duties withe the hopes of making my craft better but really she never has intentions of following through on what she says. There is also students who could verify this and also the fact that she had me test a student out on one of their finals. So for her to say I had no experience is false . The day I was suppose to start my student teaching I sat in the parking lot for an hour waiting on her on the first day that a class was suppose to start. I text her to let her know I was going to go in a different direction due to the fact that it was unprofessional not to even let her student teacher know that class had been cancelled. It wasn't till later that ****** **** louden left me a very crazy message screaming and shouting demeaning me on personal and professional levels. I still have the call on my phone.

    I'm not sure how this letter writing will resolve anything other than letting people know that this business is not what it says it is. ****** likes to think she gave me make up skills as she likes to think she has taught everyone something, but I have had skills prior to even giving my money and time to her everything she teaches is not hers it's either MAC techniques or cosmetology info.
   
  
Regards,

****** *********

Business Response: I spent three hrs writing out the response and it deleted the page when I hit proceed so I am typing it out I have conversations dates and times I will be headed to Austin to meet with you This is a bit more serious than it looks Im sending you a few pictures first one is makeup ****** did the week prior to him starting the academy and second picture is his work when he was certifying for black and white I will have the rest of my statement on a letter

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

****** *********

Business Response:

The attachments below is everything that I have in ******' file he asked for pictures 

dsc_**** Picture --model for a Fashion Friday show that ****** participated in the week he started the academy with me

 

IMAGE *** and Image ****-- ****** finished his training at the academy an extreme improvement I would say

 

linkedin and linkedin2 screen shots --of his education taken on 12/27/14 

 

just changed. and just ch. edu link, screen shots-- of his education deleted from his account on 12/31/14

 

I had sent the pictures to ****** via text months ago he responded to the text that he had received them This is everything in his file. ****** has the rest of the pictures I simply don't understand why he cant ask her for them when he speaks to her Im sure she would be delighted to help out. Unfortunately I can not ask for them myself. There is a protective order that has been filed against her as of 1/2/14 so there is no communication at this time. When we go to court I will ask her for any additional items that belong to the school that may be in her possession.

 

I  have a statement from the property manager ******* ********, that ****** called her and  tried to get her to open the doors to the academy months after he graduated, without informing me at all, which is clearly illegal and unethical.  This type of behavior is the reason why we couldn't pursue him to work with the academy.  

 

****** *** ******

Institute of Makeup Artistry & F/X of San Antonio LLC
The Artistry Company LLC
Spank Cosmetics LLC

 

Institute of Makeup Artistry & F/X of San Antonio LLC
The Artistry Company LLC
Spank Cosmetics LLC

www.mua-fx-academy.com

www.theartistrycompany.net

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

****** *********

   If ****** would of put this much energy into her schooling techniques, instead of demeaning the people who tried to help
her, this back and forth would not be happening. I have several years of make up and hair experience prior to even
crossing paths with ******. If the make up I provided for her" free of charge" prior to me even being in the school, why
did she not change it at that time? At that fashion show she was not even there to guide any of us, not to mention the
tools supplied for this event were being shared by 5 other students who had no training on being prepared for the working
conditions we were in. Since she has been in this field for as many years as she has, why does she not have experienced
instructors helping her to get this school running the right way instead of students that are enrolled in classes and are not
all familiar with how techniques should be done 
   I find it interesting that she has photos to show to demean me , but none of the photos we were suppose
to receive as part of our schooling. The photos she sent me were photos taken from a cell phone, very professional to include
in a professional portfolio. The pictures that were taken that were suppose to be for our portfolio were done in the school so
they should of been school property not someone else's, as the owner ****** should have had those to give to us by school end.
Those pictures were done for a grade on both make up and photo shoot skills. It was important for us to have them done right
as it should of been for her to provide what we were suppose to get for our portfolio, but since we never  had a class on how
to put the portfolio together we just didn't get that education or pictures. 
    As for my Linked In account, a account I rarely use I updated my resume with classes that I would of been taught. I took the
verbage from a brochure that I had received stating what would be taught. ****** has failed to mention that she endorsed me
on that site for specific skills. I had tried to erase the account but apparently did not do it correctly since I received a notice
stating that she had been viewing my profile. It is a public site so that is understandable but I have cut all and any communication
with her because she had made a phone call to my job trying to get me in trouble by saying untrue statements to my boss. I have been
a part of her trying to do this before with another student while I was sitting right next to her. Her tactics of bullying any one who
tries to point out her short comings she lashes out at in a very unstable manor, which is why more students will not come forward
because they don't want her involved in their life. As one of those people it is just that much more important for people to know
her unprofessional ways.
    When I spoke to the property manager ******* I asked her about the room that all the building of the school supplies were in ,not
the school it self. As a matter of fact that day I was at the school to collect my tools that help build that school Will the person inside
said she was not there and had no idea of her return. I had even text that day I was going by but heard nothing from her till after I
had left. So my intention of being there was not for the school it was to collect my tools that I still don't have due to her lack of being
at the school.
    I have many pictures and references of clients that I have done prior to this bad schooling experience that I can provide. ****** is not
the example of what the world of make up is about and I hope that people don't  find out the hard way like I and other paying people
have.  
   
     
 
   
   


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on The Artistry Company
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart