This business is not BBB accredited.

South Texas Appliance Repair

Additional Locations

Phone: (210) 653-8898 Fax: (210) 653-8959 13327 Nacogdoches Rd Ste 3, San Antonio, TX 78217


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers appliance service and repair.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for South Texas Appliance Repair include:

  • 23 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for South Texas Appliance Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 19
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on South Texas Appliance Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1990 Business started: 07/13/1988 Business started locally: 07/13/1988
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Roberto Lucio, Owner Scott Lucio
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roberto Lucio, Owner
Customer Contact: Scott Lucio
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies

Industry Tips
Appliance repair tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

South Texas Appliance Repair has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13327 Nacogdoches Rd Ste 3

    San Antonio, TX 78217 (210) 653-8898

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7113 San Pedro Ave.

    San Antonio, TX 78216

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1.The refridgerator broke down and the friend who was keeping the house at the time called ********* . ********* gave her the number of SOUTH TX APPLIANCES REPAIR. It took them 2 days to come so my friend had to buy bags and bags of ice. The repairman REPLACE THDEFAULT TIMER. On my return, the refridgerator broke down again. This time I called ********** ********* ****** who replaced the COLD CONTROL, something which should have been done by South TX appliances repair. the bill from South Tx appliances repair was $162.37 for 'Reset board had to override switch" 2. the same day, South TX appliances repair RESET THE DEFAULT TIMER of the stove (after using the broiler, the oven could not be turned on) the bill was $116.36 - which I believe too be an EXCESSIVE fee for 2 minutes of work Before I looked for another repairman, I called the South TX Appliances repair - they told me the case was closed to call *********. I did, they referenced my complaint but could not respond to it.

Desired Settlement: 1.Refund of the $162.37 since the work was not done properly and I should not have been charged for service call and I had to pay the "********** ********* ******" $225.00 2.Refund of at least 75% of the repair for the stove - which was in excess of the normal fee for this kind of repair (with a service call of $ 72.50

Business Response: We are sorry that you feel that way about the repairs. Regarding the refrigerator repair, the technician would troubleshoot the most common problem with the repair. Having done that it eliminated the alternate company repairing the same thing. Regarding the oven , when the technician arrived the oven was not working at all. The technician reset the board which made it function properly. The price including the service fee due at the time of the visit.


***** ***** ********* ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because: the refrigerator was NOT REPAIRED, it broked down  again and this time another repairman replaced the défective part (cold control) which was causing the problem. As the oven is concerned, resetting the board should not have 
cost as much as I was charged. And I was charged 2 service calls: $85 and $42.50 when other repair companies do no charge service call when repair is done. I feel the South Tx Appliance repair took advantage of the situation 
Regards,

********** *******

Business Response: The service fee for one unit is $85 plus tax and any secondary unit on the same day is $42.00 plus tax. That is quoted to the customer before heading out upon agreement. Service fee is collect at time of first visit for our diagnosis whether the service repair is wanted or not. All companies set there own way of collecting their service fees.

South Texas Appliance Repair

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: this shows that your company is not to be recommended. And it does not respond to my request of refund for REPAIR NOT DONE and fee TOO HIGH for the reset of the default timer.
It cost me $225 to have the refrigerator REPAIRED and that was added to your bill of $278.73. If the repair from your company had been done correctly I would not have had to call another company.

Regards,

********** *******

6/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The nature of my complaint is actually not only a service issue, but a repair issue as well. A warranty issue may tie into this, also. My LG washer was in need of repair, as it has been making a very loud noise on spin cycle. I have paid this company to come out for the diagnostic appointment, about $92. They told me what part was needed and that they would order it, and I would need to wait for it to come in before they could repair it. The part came in and the tech came out on March 13, 2015 to "repair" my washer. This cost me another $236.31. The day after, I washed my clothes and the washer is still making the same noise. I was told the part is under warranty for 3 years, and the labor for 30 days. Today I had an appointment scheduled for 1:00pm-6:00pm for a tech to come look at the washer again, and no one has showed. It's late at night as I am writing this. I'm already extremely upset, but if they decide not to fix my washer before the labor warranty is up, "upset" will be an understatement. This is the worst customer service experience I have ever dealt with, and for them to break their own appointments is so unprofessional and inconsiderate. I paid over $300 to get my washer FIXED, and I feel that they've done absolutely nothing to fix it, and they aren't making any effort to help any further. I've read countless reviews of other customers who have had the same experience, and even been "stood up" by this company on their appointments multiple times. You do not make people stay home waiting for services that they've PAID FOR, and then not show up. Some people miss work for this. If there is ANY legal action I can take, understand that I will take it. You can't just take people's money and not provide the services promised. This company is a scam.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund since South Texas Appliance Repair did nothing as far as repairing my washer, and because they are not fulfilling their duty to service my washer as it is under warranty. I am outraged. I honestly do not even want their services anymore, and I do not want to do business with these unprofessional thieves.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

 

Regarding the appointments we missed in March, when we called there was no answer. We must receive verbal confirmation that someone is home. Otherwise the technician does move onto his next call. According to the repair the technician did replace the parts (**************** ****************** ***** ****) . The unit was tested and unit checked okay with no existing knocking. Customer was instructed not to overload machine.

 

South Texas Appliance Repair

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Any unanswered calls from South Texas Appliance repair were made to me outside of my appointment window. When I make an appointment, I plan my day to be available for that appointment time. Why on earth would I be available outside of that? Why do we set appointment times? Regardless, I returned these phones calls well before my window (from 1:00pm to 6:00pm) even began. And this was not on a day that I was stood up by the company. I spoke with a woman name ****** that day who had the worst attitude and customer service. I was returning a missed call at 11:00am and she rudely told me that I'm supposed to be available when the technician calls, as if I'm in the wrong. I said no, I'm supposed to be available from 1:00pm to 6:00pm. I was at work. She says "are you available or no?" I said no. She was just terrible about it. So the technician didn't end up coming until after 5:00pm that day. The first missed appointment I received no missed calls and no voicemails from the company. I called several times during my window and was told that the technician was still coming, and no one ever did. The second time, I was told they were waiting to hear back from LG so they would not be coming. And I had to call them to find this out. No one called me. Not to mention I had to speak to another rude rep named ****** who cut me off every few seconds and put me on hold before I could speak or say anything I wanted to about my issue. I was on hold over 30 minutes. The technician who replaced the part in my machine ran it on spin cycle with absolutely nothing in it, and he was here all of 15-20 minutes. How thorough. I never overload the machine. No matter the size of the load it still knocks. I've experimented with load size to determine if this was the reason. I requested this company's service to REPAIR my appliance, as their name claims they do. Not to charge me on parts and labor that do not fix the problem, and when my machine is still broken, they suggest another expensive part to try. I would think that during the diagnostic visit they would KNOW what the problem is and how to fix it. If not, what am I paying you for? For you to be as clueless as I am about my machine? And take my money and leave me with the same problem? This is your job. It is the name of your company for crying out loud. How can I be satisfied when you don't deliver the services your company is named for and I get horrible customer service and broken appointments? And then I'm told I need to replace the drum. Another $1,000+! I ask "and what if that doesn't fix it?" And I'm told "well all we can do is troubleshoot from there". Really? I'm paying for you to blindly replace parts in my machine until the sound happens to go away? And my bank account is drained? No thank you. You have given me the absolute worst experience with ANY business in my entire life. I should have listened to the rest of the bad reviews of South Texas Appliance Repair. And I will be sure to add my review to the list on as many websites as possible to warn others. Thank you. 

Regards,

****** *******
 

Business Response:

We apologize for any rudeness you had encountered. Rest assure that was addressed. We do not take it lightly when a customer has encountered unprofessional customer service. Regarding the washer we do provide 30 day service fee, 30 day labor, and 3years part warranty. If it happens to be different part being required we would charge for that part. An example I compare an appliance job too would be that of a car. The technician is going to diagnose and repair the most common part that may be causing the problem. Not jump ahead to a major costly job if he could avoid it. Unfortunately, what the technician ultimately found was that it is in need of a tub job which is a major costly job. Sometimes it is not what a customer wants to hear, but nevertheless the job is needed. We apologize that you are unsatisfied with our services.

South Texas Appliance Repair.

 

5/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Originally my Fridge began leaking large amounts of water from the top of the unit. Being under warranty, South Texas Repair was sent out to fix the problem. They then determined that major components would need to be replaced, and it would take 7-10 days to receive the parts. We were told to keep rags/paper towels in the fridge to capture the water. It has been 2 weeks now, and due to the delay in service, the water has now damaged and destroyed other components. The motor for the freezer is now non functioning due to the water leaking onto it, along with power supply issues where it will shut off. Also, the temperature controls are also destroyed due to the water and power supply issues. All of our freezer food has now de-thawed and is ruined. After multiple calls, they still have not set up a time in which they are coming to make the repairs. in fact, when I called, they claimed that I had actually CANCELED the service, which was completely untrue. So now, due to their inaction of making the required repairs, I have a nonfunctioning refrigerator with a large amount of money in food that must now be thrown away. We can also not purchase any food that needs to kept cold as the unit shuts off and the items will spoil

Desired Settlement: Even if repairs are made, there is no guarantee that the water has not destroyed or damaged other components of the unit. The unit is only 2 years old and nearly out of warranty. We cannot afford for it to stop working due to the damage it has sustained because this company has not taken immediate action to fix the issue.

Business Response: Yes, we are waiting for the parts to repair Mrs. ******** leak on her refridgerator. That is the name listed on the ***** account dispatch. We did receive a call from Mr. ******* regarding that the unit has gotten worse. However the parts which are the water reservoir and housing which are for the leak, have nothing to do with a no cool issue.That was explained to him that day and suggested for him to call ***** on the no cool situation. That same day we received a call from Mr. *******, ***** also called us regarding the account. ***** let us know that it was a whole other issue and stated we would need to wait on our end for the parts (backordered) which have to do with the leak and they would send another tech for the no cool issue. That was related to Mr.******* when he called a second time and he did claim he was reached by ***** and was scheduled but felt we are still not doing enough for him and he would report us to the BBB.
Unfortunately we cannot over-rule anything the warranty have us do. It was a different issue and treated as such. A new dispatch would have to be obtained to repair a different issue.

South Texas Appliance Repair,
*****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I verified both last names on the account with you and was told that you had no record of a fridge repair under either last name. I was also not notified of any backorder of the parts. As for the cooling issue, it was directly due to the copious amounts of water draining into the unit, which eventually got into the electronics of the unit causing further damage. This was confirmed by the ***** technician that came in lieu, due to your companies inadequate response/repair time. The other damage mentioned in my complaint is directly due to the initial repair that was requested, and not performed. 

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response:

Good Afternoon,

 

Regarding the repair, the customer was informed that the parts were in back order. He stated the technician told him that we would receive parts 7-10 days. It was explained to him that it is a standard ETA for parts. We would not know an actual ETA unitl it gets processed through our parts department. He then proceeded to call his warranty (*****) which also informed him we had to wait for the parts to get refrigerator repaired. Customer was very irate and verbally abusive to staff.He did mention that he was going to report us to the BBB. May 1,2015 part were installed. Unit tested and checked out okay.

 

South Texas Appliance Repair

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

1) We were never told parts were on backorder until I called after an unreasonable amount of time had passed.

2) The staff was extremely rude. I may have been upset at the lack of service, but was not verbally abusive. I requested to speak to the manager and was hung up on by the staff.

3) You're company never performed any work. ***** sent their own technician out to order parts, which arrived within 7 days when ***** ordered them. ***** then made 2 trips to fix the damaged unit. When I mentioned to ***** the poor quality of customer service by your company and poor response time on performing repairs, it was mentioned by a ***** rep that it was NOT the first time they had been told that and South Texas repair had a reputation for it. South Texas repair never stepped foot in my house after the initial diagnosis of the unit. 

4) Once again, when I called Sout Texas repair, I was told there was no record of a repair ticket and was then told that I had cancelled my repair even though I had never spoken to your company before. 

By the way, I never did get to speak to that manager I had requested. 


Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: We do apologize for any rudeness you have experienced. We do know that the day of your call, you had given your name instead of the name that was associated with the account. That is the reason why no one could find the account.Then you were asked for the telephone number associated with the account. You were found in two different warranty portals, one showing you were cancelled and ***** was active.  Per *****, we had to wait to install the first parts ordered given that it may have fixed the problem. They also stated they would relay that to you as well since they had received several calls from you that day. We apologize for any inconvenience. 

South Texas Appliance Repair.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

You backtrack everytime you respond and change your statement. I provided you 2 different names the account would have been under along with two different phone numbers. When the Tech came out, he stated he needed to order parts and would be back. We never heard anything back from your company after two weeks. That is when this problem escalated. If there were two accounts showing, why were we not notified of the discrepancy when noticed instead of just not showing back up? ***** was not a part of this process after we placed the warranty call until it was clear your company was not going to respond to our need and claim. 

Regards,

****** *******

4/8/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Whirlpool refrigerator was leaking water. I called Whirlpool they set up service with South Texas Appliance Repair. STAR first serviced the refrig in July 2014. Refrig still leaked, so I called Whirlpool again. STAR came out again, Nov. 2014, only to tell me I needed to defrost the refrig for 24 hrs. During this repair the technician dented one door panel. STAR agreed to replace the door. Great! It would be if I could get them to keep one of the several appointments I have made with them. The first appointment was Feb 13. I took a half day from work to meet the technician. I called just before 5pm to be told he was still on his way. Never showed! Second appointment was on March 9, 8-1pm. I called and was told he was still coming. Never showed! Called just before closing to find out he was over booked! Third appointment March 10, first thing in the morning. Around 12ish I called, to be told he was still coming. Never showed! Called this morning only to be told no one could come out, because the tech called yesterday at 5:10 and no one answered. I checked my phone and he did call from a private number ONE time. I have five children, one being a 4 month old. I'm busy. I have been waiting patiently for days and he couldn't try calling one more time!!!!! Note: A phone call from STAR when no one could show up or was over booked would have been nice.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to come fix my door asap, when it is convenient for ME not them.

12/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have several complaints about South Texas Appliance Repair. The main problem I have is that after making the appointment and describing exactly what needed to be done, then following up twice, and having someone come to my house they were unable to make the repair as scheduled - or even within several days. Also their customer service is abysmal. To sum up my problem I scheduled an appointment to fix my oven ignitor on Sunday. I described exactly the problem and included my Model Number and oven Serial Number. I followed up twice to make sure it could be done on time. I had someone show up to my house late, represent to me it was fixed, but the next morning it would not work. Then when we attempted to get them back out to fix the issue they said it was a defective part and there were no other parts in all of San Antonio. They said there was nothing they could do for several days. This was the day before Thanksgiving. I described exactly what was wrong and they should have planned accordingly with proper parts or let me know they could not fix it several days earlier when I was following up with them. Exactly what happened was on Sunday before Thanksgiving my oven ignitor broke. I scheduled a repair through the Maytag website. They scheduled me for an appointment on Tuesday between noon and 5 p.m. I followed up directly with South Texas Appliance Repair on Monday to make sure everything was set. They were very short with me on the phone and said yes. Then on Tuesday when they had not contacted me by noon with a more exact time I called and again they said everything was fine and he would be there no later than 6 p.m. Then when I had not heard anything by 10 till 5 I called at 4:50 p.m. and their message machine said they were closed. It also said their hours were until 5 p.m. Someone finally called me at 530 to say they would be there in 45 min. Someone showed up at 6:30 and said the ignitor was broken and he would see if he had one. He then called his boss to let him know he was done and said he happened to have the part. he then showed me the oven was working, which it did appear to be. He left me a bill because their office was closed and I said I would call the next day to pay. Then I get to work the next day and my wife called to say the oven was not working. This was now the day before Thanksgiving when we were having people come into town. My wife called their office and she said they were not helpful and quite rude. I called the Manager, *****, on his cell phone which I had from the day before, he is the one who called me at 530. He said he had already heard from his office what happened, though they had not called my wife back. He said it sounds like it was a bad part they replaced it with. I told him my situation with family coming into town and I needed someone back the same day to fix the problem they left from the day before. He said he was booked and also didn't have any parts. I tried to explain again what was going on and he had only excuses. Our conversation quickly deteriorated to a swearing match by both parties, and he hung up. I had not paid him and do not plan to. I understand he was busy that week and isnt prepared with all parts for all circumstances. However I told him EXACTLY what was wrong several days before hand and followed up twice to insure the repair would go smoothly. I went to him because he was a Maytag certified repairman. As such I do not accept his excuse that he did not have the part. He should have been better prepared, as I was in my planning. Then he refused to even come out that day because he said they were booked. I also this excuse is unaccceptable. I was clearly bumped back the day before, and he should have done the same to at minimum come and check what was wrong.

Desired Settlement: As I previously stated I had not yet paid and do not intend to pay, therefore a refund is not necessary. I would like an apology admitting he was wrong. Also I want him to admit I do not have to pay him.

11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was given the name of South Texas Appliance by the Whirlpool authorized service for warranty work. When they came out to my house to repair my built in refrigerator the charged close to 500$ to replace the dryer. After a few weeks, the refrigerator failed again. When Whirlpool contacted South Texas Appliance, they were told that I would be charged 1000$ in labor to replace the coils. The parts themselves were covered by warranty. I was told that there is a flat fee for this service, not an hourly charge. I changed companies. I was told by the new company that Whirlpool sent that the dryer is made to leak a dye that is found with a black light, and replacing the dryer does not fix the leak. South Texas Appliance should have made a follow up appointment with me to search for the leak with the black light. I was also told that the cost to replace the dryer was 150$ even though I had been charged 400$. I received an incomplete and very expensive repair from South Texas Appliance.

Desired Settlement: I think South Texas Appliance should refund me the 250$ that they over charged me, and should not be doing Whirlpool factory service.

Business Response:  

We charged that amout because the unit needed to be tapped, also when you installed a uv dye drier and refill the system you will see the dye coming out the line were the leak is at, if there is a leak. When the technician was filling the system the amperage was normal on the compressor. when the customer called in a few weeks later we gave him an estimate on the repair. we give the estimate before we go back out, so we can already have the parts with us and ready to install when the technician go back on the recall.

we will not be refunding any money.

thank you

south texas appliance repair
   

9/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: since the first week of june south texas appliance repair tech name **** came to my home, he acknowleged that my refrigerator was going to need a new control board and relay switch, he was suppose to order parts, and I was told parts would arrive in 5 business days, **** went on vacation that week parts arrived, but instead company sent a different tech out with the wrong parts because they said parts dept. ordered the wrong parts so tech left my home, and I was told that correct parts wld be ordered so I waited another week, so that made a total of 3 weeks I waited for parts to arrive, so they called me around june 20th to schedule appt to come out, so before we set up appt. I asked them what parts they had ordered and they told me that they ordered a defrost kit for the second time in error, so now I been waiting over a month for parts, so they told me that correct parts were finally ordered. thru all the month of waiting for correct parts I called company over 10 times and their customer reps were very rude and they hung up the phone on me when I started complaining because they were taking so long fixing my fridge. they starting getting mad at me and blaming me for complaining to them after they ordered wrong parts 2 times before ordering the right parts the 3rd time or I think they were the right parts, cause they never came out to fix my fridge, the were suppose to come july 14, and they never showed up, I called july 15 at 8 am to asked them why they didn't come on july 14 like I was promised, they turned around and said that they had called me twice, but that was a lie cause I had been home all they I even spoke to my appliance insurance person ********* from total protect, so they just kept argueing with me and started to get loud with me like it was my fault so they told me that they were not going to come out to fix my fridge after all and then hung up on me. all their customer reps are very rude starting w *****, *******, ***** and *****. I don't know how companies can stay in business after being so rude to customers. also I would like to add that I am disabled 58 yr old man, I feel this is abuse on the handicap. they are taking advantage of handicap people with all their abuse, I hope someone can talk some sense in to them, because this is no way to treat the handicap people, thank you so much in advance. they took my 75 dollars and didn't fix anything

Desired Settlement: they need to retrain their customer services dept. starting with the rude manager . and refund my 75 dollar deductible they took from me.

5/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our LG washing machine (model WM0642H) was leaking water. Customer Service from the LG company recommended South Texas Appliance Repair (STAR) and they were notified. On March 7, 2014, a technician (****) came to the house and replaced a hot water valve. We paid $254.80 for the repairs. As soon as we used he machine again, the valve produced a loud whistling sound that could be heard throughout the house. STAR was contacted about this and they sent the same technician on March 28th. He again replaced the valve, but when we used the machine again, it was whistling louder than before. On Apr 23 we talked with both **** and the manager at STAR who told us that if they came out to fix it they would charge us again for the part(s) and labor. We made a call to LG customer service but as the machine is out of warranty, they couldn't get STAR to back their work.

Desired Settlement: Fix it right or give me a refund.

Business Response:   when we went out on 03/17 we went out for a leaking hot water valve. the valve was replaced, the customer calls us back the following day stating the the valve is making noise. we reordered the valve to be on the safe side. when we went back and installed the second valve, it was doing the same noise. we advised the customer that there might be air in the valve just to let valve run. we also talked to lg, and the advised the same thing. we can also recommend  the customer lower the water pressure going to the water valve.

thank you

star

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The statement STAR made about telling us to let the water run thru the valve is entirely FALSE. They never told us anything other than it was fixed and they were done.  Nothing else. If this were true why didn't they tell us something about the water pressure. Our water pressure worked for several years without any problem. They are just trying to deflect the complaint to keep from being held responsible for not standing by their work.


Regards,

** ****

4/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: More than a month and still no repair whirlpool and south texas appliance repair are horrible company's don't use them.I called whirlpool on 1-31-14 for service repair on my washer. They sent south texas appliance repair to fix the problem on 2-13-14. The tech replaced some parts but didn't test the washer and left but called later to see if it worked. I informed him its still broken and never came back instead he close the ticket work order.So I called s.tx. appliance again to fix it they informed me they couldn't the ticket was close that I had to call whirlpool for another service repair. He came back on 2-20-14 and said it needed a new hose and he'll order the part. I called them on 2-28-14 a week later and they never ordered the part. They said it will be in and put on by 3-4-14. So I called to see when the tech will be coming and they said the part still wasn't in. So I called whirlpool and they to were no help. Their response was I had to wait for the part. IT HAS BEEN MORE THAN A MONTH. AND IM STILL WAITING both company are horrible in customer service and communication. When I ask whirlpool to reimburse me for having to go to the laundry mat and spending 40.00 a week they cut me a check for only 30.00 because they normally don't send reimbursement. I've waited more than a month and still nothing. DONT EVER BUY EXTENED WARRENTY FROM WHIRLPOOL OR USE SOUTH TEXAS APPLIANCE. Whirlpool was quick to get my 400.00 for the extended warranty but they aren't quick to take care of their customers.

Desired Settlement: I'm a family of five and we do laundry very week and right now because my washer is still broken. I'm having to go to the laundry mat to wash and spending 40.00 a week not including gas to get there. It's been more than a month so 40.00 dollars x 4 weeks = to 160.00 I've spent already. When I paid whirlpool 400.00 for that extended warranty and they haven't taken care of the problem. They could at least reimburse 160.00 I've spent already or replace my washer.

Business Response:   We are showing that we installed a water valve at the beginning of march and completed the call.

thank you

S.T.A.R 

2/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a customer service issue, also!! This company is recommended by The Whirlpool Co. as having authorized Whirlpool Techs. for service and repair on Whirlpool Appliances. When calling a week out for a Sat. appt. you are asked to wait from 8am-1pm for this tech to come out and repair your appliance. I was advised by Whirlpool that my F1 error code on my wash. machine indicated that I needed a new central cont'l unit board and due to a recall by Whirlpool the part would be covered. The install. of this part would not be covered and STAR was recommended. STAR was called and I asked that this part be replaced at Whirlpools expense per a confirmation code and the appt. was set. I waited until 2:10 pm (6 1/2 hours) on Saturday and found that my part was only ordered on Friday (not when I called to make the appt.) and thus did not come with the certified/authorized repair tech. for my machine to be repaired who left at 2:24pm. Then this STAR charged me for a service call to diagnosis my washing machine when Whirlpool already made the determination based on the error code. STAR now quotes a labor charge for installing the part on another visit which should have been done on Saturday had they had the part with them. I did call and speak to Bobby the manager at STAR to negotiate a price for my next visit but there was no working with this manager, no empathy for the fact that I waited 6 1/2 hours and accomplished not one thing new and in fact he told me that this is how every service call is handled. WOW. This is just not how you treat people and expect to keep customers. I could have done a lot of other things that day if they had just called to cancel my appt.. This could have been handled so much easier if only businesses would take into consideration the do unto others rule. My time is just as valuable as theirs. Since STAR did not do anything for me I would like a refund. I had already been diagnosis' by Whirlpool and they know this as they ordered the part on Friday!!!!!

Desired Settlement: Refund of $ 92.01 which I paid for 10 minutes of the repair mans time and conversation.

Business Response:

 F1 error code does mean there is an issue with the control board, it also gives that error when there is a bad connection to the control board. we charge the $85.00 for the trip and diagnose. when whirlpool sends a pre id it list of parts it could be ( PRE-ID hose and harness assembly and control board, covering Parts only 85.00). we sent out a technician to the customers home, so the trip/diagnose fee will not be refunded. we have are set labor charges. whirlpool was only going to cover parts not labor nor the service fee.

thank you

S.T.A.R

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
STAR company did not address or accept responsibilty for the fact that I waited 6 1/2 hours for this service repair person to come out and confirm what I already had knowledge of through Whirlpool as much as they would like to declare that they can charge a service fee of $85.00 +  for a 10 minute visit.  $85.00 an hour is alot of money but $85.00 + for a 10 minute visit is unexplanable for the service that I received.  

This company is located a few minutes from my home so the cost of this services is nothing close to what is estimated on this invoice.  In addition, ****** advised me that he was less than a mile away on another service call prior to my visit so he did not go out of his way to come to my home on his way back to the company location.  Sometimes a "good" company has to take into consideration what they are doing for a customer and adjust accordingly for "their" mistakes.


STAR company did not explain the reason that my part  (control board) was not with the service person as it should have been since I placed my order on Monday for my service call of Saturday. 

Your company did me wrong.   

Regards,


**** ********

Business Response:  We apologize if the tech arrived at the call late. as far as the service call, we charge 85.00 if your 2 miles away or if your 10 miles away. again we have to verify that those are the parts that are needed.

thank you
S.T.A.R 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  

I still do not agree with the how STAR (a Whirlpool representative) handled my service call.  I should have been given the information up from on Friday evening that the service person coming on Saturday would not have my part to fix my washer as he had just ordered it on Friday.  This would have given me the opportunity to cancel my appointment.  Save my money for the actual appointment when my washer would have and could have been fixed.

I am a single mom and don't have money to throw away.  I was expecting to pay for a fixed machine.   There was no empathy involved with this company at all.

They were just out to make a buck at my expense!


Regards,

**** ********

Business Response:

 even if the parts was not in. we still needed to sent out the tech to check the unit.

thank you
S.T.A.R

1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Appliance not cooling proplerly. South Texas Appliance Repair serviced my ******** cooler on 17 July 2013. I was told a part needed to be ordered and it would be in by the end of the week, or early the following week. I did not hear back from South Texas Appliance Repair so I called again the week of 22-26 July 2013 and was told it would be in at the end of the week, or early the following week. I did not hear back from South Texas Appliance Repair, so I called again the week of 29 July- 2 Aug 2013 and I was told the part would arrive in a day or two. I called again the week of 5 Aug and was told the part had arrived. I gave South Texas Appliance my work number and told them to call me when a technician was available. They called the wrong number. I called back the next day and gave them my work number again and told them to call me at work when the technician was available, again they called the wrong number. On 9 August 2013 I called South Texas Appliance several times and I was assured a technician would arrive; the technician never showed up. 12 August 2013 a South Texas Appliance Repair technician called me and said he would be at my home in the afternoon. The technician arrived and worked on the cooler. He told me it was fixed and to call back if I had troubles. The next day, 13 August 2013, I noticed the cooler was running extremely hot, and the air had an electrical fire smell to it. I contacted South Texas Appliance Repair the following day at 0800; the technician told me he would contact ******** and ask for repair suggestions and would call me back the same day. He never called back. On 15 August 2013 I called again and asked for a status but was told the manager was busy, so I asked for a call back but I did not receive one. On 16 August 2013 I drove to South Texas Appliance Repair and aired out all my complaints; no one contacting me to tell me the status of my part; calling the wrong number; not showing up for appointments; work performed causing my cooler to overheat, and not following through with contacting ******** the same-day as agreed and providing me with possible solutions. After a long conversation, South Texas Appliance informed me they were not interested in trying to correct the problem.

Desired Settlement: The initial problem with the cooler was it would not cool, now, not only is it not cooling properly but it is overheating causing a safety issue. I would like a credit to my card credit for $281.45.

Business Response:     
    We replaced what was advised to us by the manufacture. since that did not fix the problem, we placed the order into product research with the manufacture. the customer refused to wait. the customer came into our office and was being very confrontational and was told to leave the premises. once we get a responce from the manufacture, and if the customer chooses to we can continue with the repairs.

thank you

s.t.a.r

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  The response is not accurate.  ******** did not provide recommendations prior to South Texas Appliance Repair working on my cooler.  Before they worked on it, it was not cooling as cold as it should.  After they worked on it, it started overheating and is not useable.  I called South Texas Appliance Repair the following day and I was told they would call ******** that day; they did not.  I called again the following day, still no resolution.  I drove to their location at 8 a.m. the next day and requested they contact ******** while a waited, they would not, I was told I would have to wait the following week.  This is after they told me they would contact ******** two days before, and on top of 3 weeks of missed timelines, calling the wrong contact number, and missed appointments.  Yes there was a confrontation between me and a manager about this fiasco but matters came to a head when the owner directed  profanity towards me.  I told the owner I would file a complaint and he said he could not care less.

I will consider this matter resolved when South Texas Appliance Repair agrees not to charge me.  ******** has been informed about this matter and has provided another repair service.  I no longer require or want assistance from South Texas Appliance Repair.

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: We stand by our statement. no money will be refunded.

thank you

star

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  South Texas Appliance Repair did not repair my appliance; they ruined it. South Texas Appliance Repair has failed to take responsibility for their actions and has not been truthful about this matter.

Regards,
**

11/1/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: South Texas Appliance Repair came to my house on 7-15-13 to diagnose a warranty repair for a whirlpool refrigerator, model #***********. They saw that both vegetable and meat bins were full of water that had dripped from the icemaker and that there was frost built up around the icemaker and the back wall of the refrigerator. Additionally, there was a solid sheet of ice at the bottom of the refrigerator. Part # ********* was ordered to replace the icemaker and part # ********* was ordered to replace the circuit board on invoice #********* These parts took 10-11 days to arrive and were installed on 7-31-13. I was actually called on 7-26 with the info that the parts had arrived. On Sep 16, I noticed the same problems had reoccurred, bins full of water, frost inside the frig, etc. I called ***** again and South Texas came out the next day. The repairman stated "the parts did not take and the same parts would have to be reordered. " Well, a repairman came out about one week later on Sep 24 and confessed that the wrong parts were ordered. I asked how could this happen and he stated he didn't know. On Oct 1st, I called asking why the parts were taking so long and was told they should be in Oct 3rd or 4th. I called on Oct 4th and was advised the parts were now delayed until the following Monday, Oct 7th. I received a voice mail on Oct 7th, stating that my parts were on back order and there was no ETA. After speaking with *****, he stated "If you had any common sense you would realize this is a problem with Whirlpool and not South Texas." Of course, this is very poor customer service on *****'s part, as no customer should be talked to in this way. At this point I called ***** and complained about the poor Customer service I had received from South Texas App. A ***** Supervisor called me back and advised me that South Texas should be calling me back Oct 10, Thursday with definitive information. True to form, I was left a voice mail on Oct 10, stating that the parts were still on back order and there was still no ETA. So today, when I got off work, I called the ********* ***** here in *** ******* at ************. Sure enough they had the part #********* in stock for $143. I immediately called ***** and gave them this info. Why have my parts been on order for over two weeks now, when they are readily available on the local San Antonio market? I was advised by ***** Rep ******* that the part or parts should have arrived on Oct 10th at South Texas Appl. (she was quoting from the notes in my record.) I then advised her that I no longer trust South Texas and now have good reason. As a result. I would advise all San Antonians to give South Texas Appliances a wide berth. I have rescheduled a repair and proper diagnosis with another repair service.

Desired Settlement: A letter of apology and a full explanation of actions and inactions taken by south Texas appliance Repair.

Business Response:  we checked with our distributor and the part (********** is still on back order from the manufacturer. we advise customer to contact the manufacturer when they have any complaints or concerns about parts.

thank you

*******

9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******** *************View online Download as zip Ms. ********* ******* and/or to whom it may concern: I am sending you this message to inform you that the matter surrounding “Complaint ID: *******” still has not been resolved. In addition, please know that the response received from South Texas Appliance Repair is inaccurate/incorrect; because, the aforementioned damage (committed by the technician) does not involve burned switches. Instead, it involves a switch that was broken by the technician. Please see the following summary and attachments to get a better visual account of the damage. Summary: On May **, 2013, as per the direction of the ******* ******** ******* *********** (Company who which I purchased my extended service plan to cover my******** **********; Service Plan Number *********), South Texas Appliance Repair at ***** ****** ****** ***** *** ******** ***** ***** ************** dispatched one of their technicians (*****) to repair the ignition switch to one of the burners of my ******** kitchen cooktop. While completing the aforementioned repair, the technician damaged/broke the switch to the cooktop's air vent. Then, to make matters worse, he left without informing us that he had damaged it. My wife then noticed the damage shortly after he left, when she checked the switches. She then telephoned his supervisor (*******) to inform him of what took place, however he was not willing to help us out. Instead, he told my wife that the damage was not covered under our warrant, therefore we would need to pay them to come out and do the repairs. Thus, it leaves me under the impression that this is likely a fine line unethical practice that South Texas Appliance Repair is taking advantage of so that they can make more money off of its customers. Otherwise, I believe they would simply send another technician out to do the repair. My wife also reached out to our service plan provider ******** ******** ******* ************ and spoke with ******** at ************** to seek help, but was told that they could not do anything. I then spoke with both companies the following week on two separate occasions and received the same response. While doing so, I reminded ******* ******** ******* *********** that they were not off the hook, because they are the company who sub-contracted South Texas Appliance Repair to come to my home to complete the repairs. ******* ******** ******* ************* mailing address is**** *** ******* ******** *** *****. To this very day, they have not returned to my home to complete the needed repair to the broken switch on my cooktop. This is why I am sending you this email I have attached a copy of my service plan, the invoice involving the repair, and photographs of the damaged switch. I desperately seek your assistance and would appreciate any help that you can provide us. Thank you in advance for your assistance. *** ** ********* ***** ******** * **** ***** ******** - Work Attachments: Top email, along with the attachments, was sent to the BBB link on July *, 2013; I still have not received a reply.

Desired Settlement: Complete the needed repair

Business Response:  We stick to what our technician told us. we will not be replacing anything.

thank you

star 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The South Texas Appliance Repair technician caused the damage, thus he is responsible for the repair.  I make over $140,000 on an annual basis, own a house valued over $600,000, have a credit rating over 800, and hold a very high position with the Federal government that requires special clearances (must clear a very lengthy background check based on honesty, integrity and ethical behavior).  I could easily pay for the damages, but I am a person of principle.  If I did not cause the damage, I should need be required to pay for the repair.  Instead, if necessary, I will use the money to hire an attorney.  If so, I hope that the company knows that the attorney will request that they pay for his fees.  The bottom line is that I am not going away until they satisfy my request.  I hope that the business owner realizes this.  

Please share the attached photographs with him so he will have a better understanding of the damages caused by his technician.

Regards,

*** ********* 

Business Response:  not to sure what your income or the value of your house has to do with the issues with the range, but we stand by our statment. no parts will be replaced.

thank you

star

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: STAR still has not satisfied/is refusing my request to repair the damaged stove top switch, which their technician damaged.  As a result, I am now requesting that they compete the necessary repair on or before 10 days of my response that I am sending to the BBB today (Saturday, July **, 2013 to Tuesday, July **, 2013).  Otherwise, moving forward, they will then need to communicate with my legal representative, because this pending administrative legal matter will be taken to court.  At which point, I also intend to pursue additional monies to compensate for the aggravation, stress and precious time that I have needed to devote to this preventable matter, and the cost to hire an attorney.

I also kindly ask that the BBB please note that I have made a genuine effort to resolve this matter with STAR at the very lowest level on several occasions.  Please also note that I intend to notify the Attorney General of the State of Texas and my local Congressman of this matter.  Then, they can look forward to dealing, not only with my attorney, but the State of Texas and a Congressman as well.  Like I stated above, STAR has 10 days to come to my house to complete the repair or I am going to continue to pursue this possible legal matter.

On a side note, I suggest that they have their technician take a polygraph/lie detector test, because anybody with a little bit of common sense would know that a person with the economic status that I have would not devote so much time to pursue such a matter; unless, I did not invoke the damage, especially when the cost to repair the item is probably only around $100 to $200.  Think about it!            

Regards,

*** ********* 

7/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a ******* Refrigerator with a service warranty. The refrigerator went out on June ***, therefore I called *****. Someone from South Texas Appl. Reprs was to come out on June ****. I pulled the refrigerator out myself to save time. The tech, named ****, came and like the other complaint from BBB I read from May **, 2013, he stood in front of the refrigerator and then ask me question like did we have any rain with a storm or lightning. I said a few days ago. He then decided that it probably was the circuit board that they lock up when there is lightening. I was very doubtful about this. Anyway he said he would unplug and replug and it would reset the board. Then I was really doubtful. He said he heard a click, (which by the way I could always hear the refrig running) and that after a few hours it would be cold. I told him that my daughter could hear a hissing could as if something was leaking. But he insisted that what he did would fix the problem. He said I could call the next day if there was a problem. He left. After a while, I check, Not cooling at all. I unplugged and waited about 10 minutes since he said it needed to be unplugged at least 5 minutes. Only he didn’t even wait 30 seconds when he did it. But night time, nothing. And by the next morning all hot air. Before any of this, I had some cool air on the top refrig and none on the bottom freezer. After his service I had nothing. I called ***** again on June **** and they couldn’t get someone out until June ****. I called South Texas and the earliest they could come back was June **** in the afternoon. I called June **** during the afternoon to verify. I spoke with a gentleman, *******, and he told me the tech was running late but would be there. He then ask me what the problem was. I explained everything about the refrigerator and about the last tech and his solution that did not even work. He then thought I needed a certain part based on my conversation with him. I told him I still wanted that tech to come out and verify the problem. After 8 pm I gave up. The tech never came. I called on June ** and spoke with the same guy and told him the guy never came. He then explained that he was going to order the part. I was very doubtful about his diagnosis and even asked how can he order a part without looking at it. I didn’t have a choice but to go with it. I had been calling ***** and complaining about the situation. Monday June **** I called and spoke with a woman and she said ******* was on vacation. I told her everything again and about a part being ordered. She didn’t know. and would call me back. I called ***** again to complain and they would keep the June **** appt. I aske who was coming, It was to be South Texas again. (Because of some overflow situation) I said okay. At least someone would come and check it out maybe. I get a call from a woman at South Texas and said that the June ** appt would be canceled and would rescheduled when the part came in. I again asked her how do they know what part to ordered if they haven’t seen or tested it? She didn’t know but would call me back. Never did. I had a ** refrigerator before and never had any type of problems. Even as old as it was, I gave it away as I wanted this type of refrigerator I have now. I may have made a big mistake. It is not even 2 years old. I am disabled and on a limited once a month check. So here I am going on 10 days without a refrigerator. And still nowhere closer to being fix.

Desired Settlement: With or without a service contract, the company should step up and do the necessary work to determine the correct type of service or parts needed for the appliances. Never 2nd guess anything as this results in having to go back again. This could decrease the waiting time of getting apointments. Instead there are days before you are seen. I don't think my service contract (or anybody paying for that matter). should be paying people to diagnosis a problem just from hearing or looking at something. I can not afford to go out and eat or buy groceries daily as needed.

Business Response: The day of the second service call the tech was running late and was unable to make it. The tech placed the main control board on order for the refrigerator. We will be going back to the customers home once the parts has come in.

thanks

s.t.a.r

7/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 15, 2013, as per the direction of the Federal Warranty Service Corporation (Company who which I purchased my extended service plan to cover my ******** appliances; Service Plan Number *********), South ***** Appliance Repair at ***** ****** ****** ****, *** *******, ***** ***** (************) dispatched one of their technicians (*****) to repair the ignitian switch to one of the burners of my ******** kitchen cooktop. While completing the aforementioned repair, the technician damaged/broke the switch to the cooktop's air vent. Then, to make matters worst, he left without informing us that he had damaged it. My wife then noticed the damage shortly after he left, when she checked the swtiches. She then telephoned his supervisor (*******) to inform him of what took place, however he was not willing to help us out. Instead, he told my wife that the damage was not covered under our warrant, therefore we would need to pay them to come out and do the repairs. My wife also reached out to our service plan provider (Federal Warranty Service Corporation) and spoke with ******** at ************** to seek help, but was told that they could not do anything. I then spoke with both companies the following week and received the same responses. While doing so, I reminded Federal Warranty Service Corporation that they were not off the hook, because they are the company who sub-contracted South ***** Appliance Repair to come to my home to complete the repairs. We did not reach out to South ***** Appliance Repair directly; this was all arranged by Federal Warranty Service Corporation. Federal Warranty Service Corporation's mailing address is **** *** ******* ******** *** *****. If needed, I have a copy of my service plan, the invoice involving the repair, and photographs of the damaged switch. Thank you in advance for your assistance. *** ** *********

Desired Settlement: I asked that somebody come out to home as soon as possible to complete the needed repair.

Business Response:

    When we talked to the tech that was out to the customers home. he informed us that the knobs were burnt, and he had not damaged anything. we will not be replacing the knobs.

thanks

s.t.a.r 

6/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted South Texas Appliance Repair to repair my Whirl Pool washier on April 11, 2013. ****, the technician, came out to my apartment on April 12, 2013 to repair my unit and determined the locking mechanism needed to be replaced and a part needed to be ordered. After seven business days, **** came back out to my apartment and determined the circuit board, that initiates the locking mechanism needed to be replaced. **** said, there wasn't any way for him to determine this during his last visit. However, I don't see how that's true since there's a way for a human being to manually unlock the door. With that being said, **** could have manually unlocked the unit and checked the circuit board. **** explained, that it would be another couple of business days before the part came in and that we'd receive a call to schedule the next appointment. I received a call to schedule the appointment on Friday, April 26, 2013 and scheduled the appointment on Monday, April 29, 2013. I received a call on Monday, April 29, 2013 stating the ****, the technician would come out to our apartment and service the repair as long as the dryer unit wasn't stacked on the washier. This was the first time I heard this information, so I was extremely upset, since South Texas Appliance Repair wanted to schedule another appointment once the dryer unit wasn't stacked on the washier. I called South Texas Appliance Repair and explained, that I never received a notification of having to un-stack the dryer unit from the washier. The phone service representative explained that **** had relayed this information in a phone call. Me, being the digital technician I am, looked through my call logs and didn't find a single call from **** the South Texas Appliance Repair technician. This means that **** lied about relaying that information to the customer (me). I decided to escalate my phone call to the property owner , "*****," who told me the same thing as the phone service representative. I explained, that I never received any indication, that the dryer unit needed to be unstacked from the washier. ***** told me, "we can unstack the unit, but you (the customer) will have to pay for the labor." I told *****, that should be covered, since **** failed to relay that information to me. So ***** said, "no, you will still have to pay for the labor to unstack the units." So, I asked how much, and there was a delay in our conversation, then he responded "$75," which leads me to believe, that he is looking for an opportunity to price gauge a customer. I told *****, that I am not going to pay for the labor cost to unstack the units and he hung up the phone call.

Desired Settlement: A formal written apology from South Texas Appliance Repair.

Business Response:

 The manufacturer does not cover the labor to unstack the washer and dryer. If the customer chooses to they can unstack the units them selfs if not we charge 75.00 to unstack. 

thank you

south texas appliance repair

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Although the manufacturer does not cover the repair, the company failed to relay this information to the customer. When confronted about this information the business lied about sending a notification to its customer. 

Regards,

***** **********





























5/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called into whirlpool for repair on a refrigerator, received their automated system who made the appointment with south Texas appliance repair. When I called to find out what time, the person on the phone said that it would be an 85.00 dollar diagnostic fee, plus parts and labor. When the technician came out he stood in front of the refrigerator and said he was listing for the beeps, he then said that the problem was most likely the control board. The technician did not remove anything or hook up any kind of tester to let him know what the problem is. There are several control boards in the refrigerator but he said that it might be the control board on the top. How can you tell what electronic part is failing with out taking anything apart or putting some kind of tester on it. This is such a scam to take 85.00 dollars and not perform a diagnostic test on the appliance, and hope that the part he guessed on fixes the problem.

Desired Settlement: The technician should have put a tester and ran a diagnostic test to determine the part that is bad or going bad and not just stand in front of the refrigerator and guess which part might be bad. By putting a tester on the refrigerator he would eliminate the guessing game of which part should I change and charge the customer for.

Business Response:

For this model the tech did perform proper procedure in determining what the failure issue is with this unit as he is very experienced with this model.  We do not install parts that are not needed and if the part was allowed to be installed and did not work the cust. would not be charged for that part or labor for the install unless the unit was working properly.  I'm sorry the cust. feels that something should have been hooked up to the board itself to test but this is not a requirement from the manufacture to perform.    The cust. was very aggressive with my tech while at the home including using profanity and was the same way with me on the phone.  This is something I do not feel has any place in any industry. 

*****
S.T.A.R.
210-653-8898

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
After talking with Whirlpool the supervisor named ****** she said that something should have been done other than standing in front of the refrigerator and listing and was not very happy with what i told her, what was performed. As she has said there is no way to determine the malfunction without removing something and checking it. There is no one that has a calibrated ear to determine the malfunction. The part ***** said about me being aggressive my wife will attest that i asked the tech to troubleshoot the issue not to just listen to the refrigerator and guess which part is not working correctly, and charging me 85.00 for listing. If that was the case then the tech could have called and told me over the phone what was wrong because you can listen to the same beeps either in front of the refrigerator or on the phone. For the less than 5 minutes the tech was in my house and the service that they claim was preformed does not warrant the 85.00 payment. As i stated before if they are that good with their ears then there is no need to show up just run the diagnostics test over the phone.

Complaint: *******



Regards,

Michael Reap





























Business Response: I've contacted my WP rep and he has made the proper notes.  I have an experienced tech and this is the 1st complaint I've recieved in 5 years, and I can see how this may be how he determined this issue.  The appliance service professionals here are responsible for any incorrect diagnosed part no the customer.  I'm sorry Mr. **** feels this way.



*****
S.T.A.R.
210-653-8898

4/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/28/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service