Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Mike's Appliance Service?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mike's Appliance Service

Phone: (210) 573-2786 Fax: (210) 320-5006 View Additional Phone Numbers 1116 Lee Hall, San Antonio, TX 78201 http://www.mikesapplianceservice.biz


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mike's Appliance Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Mike's Appliance Service include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Mike's Appliance Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mike's Appliance Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 05, 2009 Business started: 08/30/2006 in TX Business started locally: 08/30/2006
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Mike Smith, Owner Ms. Dalia Robledo
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Dalia Robledo
Principal: Mr. Mike Smith, Owner
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair

Industry Tips
Appliance repair tips

Additional Locations

  • 1116 Lee Hall

    San Antonio, TX 78201 (210) 781-5191 (800) 776-4663 (210) 573-2786

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired to fix soap dispenser in dishwasher door. First visit, said computer in the selection screen was broken. Missed the next appointment despite a 11-5 service wndow I waited. Came and replaced 1 board. Said I needed a differnt one. Missed another appt. without calling, depsite my calling several times to confirm coming that day. Came and replaced a circuit, collected $400 plus dollars and left. When I ran the dishwasher that day, the soap dispenser door still did not function. Called and they did not know anything about soap dispenser. Waited 2 more weeks and part ordered. Again missed an 11 to 5 service window today. Waited all day and called twice to confirm coming. Never heard from them.

Desired Settlement: Fix the door and give me an exact time. No more waiting days off! I asked repeatedly for a confirmed time since this was the third visit wasted. They refused.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I have not heard from them but they finally fixed the problem the day after I filed.  Thank you.

Regards,

******* *****

11/12/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our dryer stopped heating on Wednesday evening before leaving town for the weekend. After contacting the manufacture about the problem, we were given *****s Appliance Service and another repair company to contact for a service call. After scheduling a service call with **** the following Monday, my wife took the day off to be at the house for the problem diagnosis. *****s ended up cancelling the service call on Monday morning and asked to re-schedule for another day that week. We called around and found that *****s service call fee of $90 was a little higher than the three other repair companies we contact which were all the same at a $75 service call. For the convenience of not waiting any longer, we went ahead and re-schedule **** for the following day (Tuesday) but told them my wife could not take a second day off from work to be at the house, so my wife's mother would be at the house to let them in and pay the service call (and any approved additional charges). *****s was also give specific instructions to call my wife's cell phone with the estimate before completing any work since she couldn't be there. The technician never called with the estimate to our concern. When we returned home, the dryer was fixed and my wife's mother had wrote them a check for the repair thinking it had been approved. To our shock and dismay, *****s changed us $315 for the repair plus the $90 service call charge for a total of $405. They did give us a small discount for cancelling the previous day to it to a final total of $387.83. The technician was not authorized to perform the work and did not leave an invoice or anything with my wife's mother. The technician was at our home between 45 minutes and 1 hour, so we were charge roughly $315/hour for unauthorized work. We were very upset the work was performed without our knowledge and assumed it required an expensive part. After a little research on the manufacturer's website, we couldn't find a part very expensive that evening. When the technician and company didn't send us the invoice via email the next day, I called *****s to get a copy of the invoice. It took several calls, but *****s finally put together the invoice and emailed to me on Wednesday afternoon. The invoice only had two line items - the $90 service call and $315 to reset a fuse and repair a loose wire. No parts required. I immediately call the owner of *****s to complain about the unauthorized work and find out why the charge was so high. *****s obviously had this conversation before and spent a lot of time trying to defend his technician and justifying the cost based on his technicians pocket repair guide of standard labor cost. Unfortunately, the repairs performed were not the items listed in his guide and equated to tapping the fuse and tightening an existing wire (not replacing the whole wiring harness). To end our conversation on Wednesday afternoon, **** agreed to talk with his technician the next morning and call me back with more details. Based on the description of the repair and diagnosis for the unauthorized repair, I contacted several other appliance repair companies in the area to get an estimate over the phone. The largest and most well known company (*****) mentioned that the service call would be $75 and if there really wasn't any work to be performed, then the cost wouldn't be much more than the service call. ***** did mention that if the diagnosis didn't require the dryer to be disassembled, then additional charges would be involved, but expected the total cost to be no higher that $150 (probably lower). One of the other companies contacted said they couldn't give a very good estimate over the phone without their own diagnosis of the problem, but based on what we told them was wrong it would cost between $100 - $200 including the service call. Another company said the fuse couldn't be reset and had to be replaced which isn't true. Since it did require a part repair, he said the estimate would be $270 including the service call to replace the fuse and wiring harness - neither of which took place. The final company refused to give an estimate without coming out and changing us a service call. From talking to the other repair companies, we realized that not only did *****s perform work we didn't authorize them to do, but they also overcharged us double the going rate. The owner of *****s didn't call me first thing in the morning, so I send him an email before lunch to remind him to call after talking to his technician and let him know I felt we were over charged. *****s owner called back soon after my email and let me know he talked with the technician and would knock $50 off the bill. I let him know that $335 was still way overprice for the work performed and very disappointed he would continue to over charge us after they messed up and didn't get approval to perform the repair. We could not reach an equitable solution. He kept arguing the pricing was fair and then blamed his scheduling person for not telling the technician to call my wife with the estimate prior to performing the repair.

Desired Settlement: 1. *****s Appliance Repair needs to change their business practices (get authorization which will also take care of overcharging since owner knows what they expect to pay and can make a decision). I hope *****s didn't take advantage of us because my wife's mother was watching the house, but it seems odd they didn't call with the estimate like instructed and then over charged more than double the highest estimate we obtained. 2. Even thought the work should not have been completed with approval, we were glad to have the dryer repaired and willing to pay a reasonable and customary charge. We expect not to pay any more than $200 for the repair including the service charge, so the only acceptable settlement would be a refund of $187.83

Business Response:

“Hello,

 

    In response to this complaint, the only explanation that I can give is that my technician

gave  Mr. ********' mother in law, who was there during the diagnosis and repair, the estimate and the mother in law ok'd the repair. My technician completed the repair and collected the payment for the repair , as payment is due upon repair. This is protocol for service that is COD basis. The customer stated he is extremely frugal and wanted us to go down on our price, but this was after services were performed. Our prices come out of NARDA book (blue book) , we faxed the customer a copy of the blue book price showing that we did not over charge the repair.

 

 

Thank you, ******”

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Per our phone conversation, our complaint with *****s Appliance has not been resolved and his statement is incorrect.  The technician was supposed to contact my wife prior to making any repairs and they understood that my mother-in-law was just at the house to allow them access for the estimate.  Please keep complaint #******* open and unresolved. 

 

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response:   
    In response to this rejection, any special instructions that are  given at the time service is being set up, is written and highlighted on the dispatch itself. For example if a customer wants 8-12 that is written, or customer will not be home at certain time,or someone will be home is all notated   so that we do not have any conflicting circumstances such as this. If it would have been stated as we were typing up the call that would have been put in and highlighted for our tech to know, and those instructions are not on our paperwork. If the mother in law was there, why did she ok the repair if those were not the instructions left to her, our tech goes out to run the call as usual protocol and gives the estimate to the person who is available, at that point it seems as the mother in law should have called for the permission if she knew that was what was supposed to happen. The only question the mother in law asked if the price quoted included the 10% dicount, and tech said" yes".

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  I agree that the service orders were not taken correctly, but that would be their fault and probably related to them canceling the service call the day before.

Regards,

***** ********

1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company was contracted by ****'s to honor a service contract. Installed new heating element in dryer, but did not confirm that problem was solved. Dryer is now over heating, shutting off and giving Heating Element error code. Technician was yelling at me on the phone that "I've been doing this for 17 years and I don't make mistakes". Lady answering the phone was extremely rude and unaccommodating. She threatened me that they would never do work for me again because I complained. Have had problems with this company before for a different appliance repair.

Desired Settlement: Complete the repair properly so the device works the way it did before they repaired it. I expect a proper apology from all the people involved. I will contact ****s so they're aware of how this company treats customers and the poor workmanship/lack of thoroughness.

Business Response:

 Complaint #*******

 

Thank you for contacting us about  this,I will address the problem with the tech and office personel personally and will also contact the customer. We try to be corteous with all of our customers. All our staff is very courteous.We all take customers complaints  very seriously.

Thank you,

**** 

 

****s appliance service
5525 blanco rd ste 103

************ ****** ************ ***  

Business Response:

 Complaint #*******

 

Thank you for contacting us about  this,I will address the problem with the tech and office personel personally and will also contact the customer. We try to be corteous with all of our customers. All our staff is very courteous.We all take customers complaints  very seriously.

Thank you,

**** 

 

****s appliance service
5525 blanco rd ste 103
210-573-2786 OFFICE
210-320-5006 FAX

 

Business Response:

Complaint #*******

Thank you for contacting us about  this,I will address the problem with the tech and office personel personally and will also contact the customer. We try to be corteous with all of our customers. All our staff is very courteous.We all take customers complaints  very seriously.


Thank you,

**** 

 

****s appliance service
5525 blanco rd ste 103
210-573-2786 OFFICE
210-320-5006 FAX

 

Business Response:

 Complaint #*******

 

Thank you for contacting us about  this,I will address the problem with the tech and office personel personally and will also contact the customer. We try to be corteous with all of our customers. All our staff is very courteous.We all take customers complaints  very seriously.

Thank you,

**** 

 

****s appliance service
5525 blanco rd ste 103

************ ****** ************ ***  

Business Response:

 Complaint #*******

 

Thank you for contacting us about  this,I will address the problem with the tech and office personel personally and will also contact the customer. We try to be corteous with all of our customers. All our staff is very courteous.We all take customers complaints  very seriously.

Thank you,

**** 

 

****s appliance service
5525 blanco rd ste 103
210-573-2786 OFFICE
210-320-5006 FAX

 

Business Response:

Complaint #*******

Thank you for contacting us about  this,I will address the problem with the tech and office personel personally and will also contact the customer. We try to be corteous with all of our customers. All our staff is very courteous.We all take customers complaints  very seriously.


Thank you,

**** 

 

****s appliance service
5525 blanco rd ste 103
210-573-2786 OFFICE
210-320-5006 FAX

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******