Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fry's Electronics

Phone: (512) 733-7000 Fax: (512) 733-7057 View Additional Phone Numbers 12707 N Mopac Expy, Austin, TX 78727 http://www.frys.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the online and retail sale of home and car electronics and related products or accessories.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fry's Electronics meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fry's Electronics include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fry's Electronics
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 28, 2001 Business started: 05/22/1997 in TX Business started locally: 05/22/1997 Business incorporated 05/22/1997 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Randy Fry Ms. Kathryn J Kolder, Director Mr. Ken Lutz, District Manager Ms. Jen Meyer, Store Manager Mr. Marcus Sharp, Assistant Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jen Meyer, Store Manager
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Audio-Visual Equipment - Dealers Auto Alarms & Security Systems Books - New Computers - Dealers Computers - Supplies & Parts


Additional Locations

  • 12707 N Mopac Expy

    Austin, TX 78727 (408) 487-4500 (512) 512-7059 (512) 733-7000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently went to return a set of headphones that was a gift from a relative. I was told that without a receipt, they could not return it because it is a "while supplies last" item. When I inquired about the outcome if I could produce a receipt, he said they would gladly return it. This seemed odd to me, so I asked to speak to a manager. I waited and waited, and finally decided to leave. I tried to call the next day, and was put on hold for an extemley long time. I tried to call again a few days later and ask to speak to the store manager, but was told she was in a meeting. I called the next day again, and they transferred me to *** ****** line, and it rang to no end. I wrote a letter and adressed it to store manager *** ***** with my issue and all my contact information, and I still have not heard anything.

Desired Settlement: I would like for either *** ***** or someone in managment to contact me and explain the return policy and why I can't return an item I know was purchased at Fry's Electronics.

Business Response: I call *** ********** on 7/16 at 10:00am and left a voicemail.  I will attempt to email him to see if I can assist him with the headphones.

4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After purchasing the extended warranty on my laptop a problem developed with the screen, I took the laptop in for repair and the repair person and service ******* contend it is physical damage which it is not. I have never dropped the laptop or even taken it out of the house. They simply refuse to cover the defect under the extended warranty

Desired Settlement: If they will not honor the extended warranty then refund my credit card for the price they charged me. Invoice number is ********

Business Response: ?

 Good afternoon, *****

  In reference to this opportunity with *** *******, and after further consideration, we are willing to make an exception on behalf of *** ******* and refund the "pro-rated" amount of the PSC (Performance Service Contract). Please advise if I can be of further assistance. I can be reached at ************* or simply respond be email.

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*** *******

1/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought 3 PS 4 games last week since they have this Buy-2-Get-1 deal. Before I bought these games, I asked employee who works in Video Games department: "What is your return policy on video games?", He replied " un-opened can be returned in 30 days.". It turns out my kids don't like one of games I bought, since that game is still in original seal, un-opened. 5 days later after I bought those games, so I walked in Fry's, first ask for a refund, they said they don't know how to do it, their computer system does not allow them. so I asked how about for exchange? they said no. I asked their manage, a lady came out saying "no, we can not exchange or offer refund." Even the game is un-opened, I even asked them to just refund me 1/3 of total price, they won't do it. On my receipt and on Fry's website, it clearly says "un-opened game can be returned or exchanged within 30 days" I feel Fry's had falsely give out customer this impression and not stick to their promise.

Desired Settlement: refund or exchange for another *** game.

Business Response:

I spoke to this customer when he was in the store.  We did have a promotion, buy 2 games get 1 free, customer is wanting to return the game he received for free and receive a refund or store credit for that game.

We cannot give him a refund/store credit on a game he received for free.

 

 

*** *****

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I spent $120 plus tax on three games, the reason they marked that game for free just happened that was the LAST game being scanned by their system. From any point you look at it, I spent $40 on that game. I am not asking for $60 back. They can refund me $40 and mark that receipt, or allow me to exchange for a different game.

There is nothing in writing saying this sale is final. Fry's policy is if game is un-opened, they will accept return or exchange.

Fry's response is just an excuse to something they think it is in-convenience for them to do.


Regards,

** ***

3/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable