Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Camden Copper Ridge Apartments meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Camden Copper Ridge Apartments include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Camden Copper Ridge Apartments
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Kimberly Guerrero, Community Manager Ms. Sarah Dudley , Community Manager Ms. Laura Rios, District Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Sarah Dudley , Community Manager
Principal: Kimberly Guerrero, Community Manager
Related Businesses
Camden Breakers Apartments
Business Category

Apartments Property Management

Industry Tips
Landlord Repairs

Additional Locations

  • 6635 S Staples St

    Corpus Christi, TX 78413 (361) 992-1960 (361) 980-2505

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Worst experience of my life! Since day one we had issues, ******** the assistant "manager" who is suppose to know what the property like the back of her hand as someone who is in charge, told us we were going to have updated appliances that worked, and that the apartment would be move in ready. They pressured us into signing that the apartment was okay and when we moved in, the apartment smelled like dog, the paint was chipping in different rooms, the AC was not working even though we had it set at 69, and when maintenance came, they said it feels cool, nothing's wrong, so we just continued to sweat in our sleep. the dishwasher was so old when we turned it on, eveything in our kitchen got wet because the door to it was not screwed in right, the refigerator door was installed back wards, so that when you wanted food the door would open facing the wall, and my husband had to reinstall that correctly, there was no microwave after I repeatedly asked if we would have one and she said yes, the stove he food inside at the bottom, and the girls were always in the back talking while the male worker was up front. They are never willing to help out, and when you have a complaint, ******** would just roll her eyes and give back attitude to you, or take longer on your service request. And then, they made us sign up with some payment plan system that none of them understood how to set it up and expected us to do all the work in setting up arrangements. No contract was signed to this, not we're the requirements explained on fees due. We decided to move out after almost a month, and now they are calling with rudeness everyday threatening us if we don't pay they will send it to credit beauro. With an amount over 3,000. We tried telling management obove and they never got in contact with us. None of our deposit applied towards anything and in fact everything doubled. When we moved out, we cleaned the apartment spotless even better then it was before and they still charged us. The contract is a screw over and little charges for everything, poor customer service and no one that works there knows what they are doing. Don't rent from Camden Copper Ridge.

Desired Settlement: I should not have to pay for breaking my lease due to breach of contract and unprofessionalisn and unbearable living situations in the apartment unit

Business Response: 01/11/2016
RE: BBB Complaint ID # ********
********* and ******* applied for apartment #*** on 9/11/15. They were ‘Approved with
Conditions’ in our system, which means they had the option to do one of the following: Reapply with a
guarantor, enroll in the NPS Rent Assurance Program, or pay ½ month rent as a deposit. They chose
to do the NPS program, a payroll deduction, which is not something we can force someone to do.
They completed the paperwork for this and signed the lease along with the addendum which states:
“(i) it is Resident’s obligation to assure that rent and other charges are paid to Owner in a timely
fashion pursuant to the Lease; (ii) it may take some months for the direct deposit feature of the NPS
Program to meet Resident’s monthly rental payment obligation; (iii) notwithstanding any lapse in
payment under the NPS Program, Resident shall assure that Owner receives payment in a timely
fashion for all months during the term of the Lease; (iv) Resident will be in default of the Lease in the
event that Owner does not receive all payments or other charges due in a timely fashion.”
This was also explained to ********* and ******* prior to enrolling.
They moved in on 9/25/15 with the understanding they would need to pay the prorated rent, which
they did, and future rent payments as stated in the lease addendum above. On 10/3/15 our
employee, Miranda, gave them a courtesy call to remind them rent was due and still needed to be
paid, and that **** fees begin on 10/4/15. They did not pay and were given a **** Rent Reminder
Notice on 10/4/15, followed by additional rent notifications on 10/9/15. On 10/12/15 our employee,
Brittney, called to follow up as we had not heard back from them regarding their rent payment. At
this time they said they couldn’t pay and would be moving out. On 10/14/15 we placed an
Abandonment Notice in their apartment. The apartment was empty and they were moved out of our
system on 10/19/15. Keys were not returned. We attempted to make contact via phone but did not
hear back from ********* or *******.
In regards to the condition of the apartment upon move in, the make-ready was complete and
appliances were in good working order. It was also walked prior to them getting keys and moving in.
They were given an Inventory & Condition form that was to be completed and returned within 48
hours, which they never returned to our office. There was one service request submitted for the AC,
to which our Maintenance Supervisor addressed and made sure was cooling properly. No future
requests were made for this. The apartment home does not come with a microwave nor were they
promised they would have one.
Their balance from move-out is $2317.19 and the $125.00 unit deposit they paid at move in was
applied towards the balance. Per the lease they are responsible for fulfilling a 60 day notice and
paying a Lease Termination Fee equal to one month of rent. There is also a mandatory cleaning fee of
$95.00 which is listed on the first page of the lease contract they signed. We have not called and
threatened them for payment as their account was forwarded to our third party collection agency
immediately after moving them out because it was a skip.
Our office staff was never anything but professional with ********* and ******* as we are with any
other resident or prospective resident. We have processes in place to ensure consistency and
communication with every customer.
***** *****
Community Manager
Camden Copper Ridge
*** ** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Some of the statements made out untrue, as well as never getting an opportunity to talk to the main manager, even after the fact I called and left messages. The apartment was not a suitable living environment, due to the fact of AC not cooling all day or at night. I had put in a service request more than just once. I had about 3 service request complaining about everything and nothing was done other than the one time that maintenance came to tell me nothing was wrong with my AC. Not only that but I requested for pest control and again no one came to the apartment. We had spiders and roaches filled in the apartment. The refigerator was not installed correctly so that we could not access it appropriately. We had to fix that ourselves. Th assistant manager that I did talk to about this was very unprofessional and had attitude was dosrespectful to my mother who attended me for the walk through as a witness to how rude the staff is. When I signed on for the lease I was promised a microwave in the apartment by the assistant manager. Also, the lady who else signed our lease with was unsure if a program called the NSF but insisted to add us on after the fact that we were thinking we were eligible for the apartment. After talking me it over ad her explaining everything as rent would be pulled out every paycheck and informing her my husbands paycheck of every two weeks. She told us the first months rent would be pulled out from when he gets paid. There was not forms or contracts given to us of the NSF arrangements saying otherwise. Then the first months rent came around and they expected us to pay rent before the 4th and my husband didn't get paid until the 8th, I tried calling the manager and explaining the situation no one got back with me to see what would be arranged other than the letter that said we must pay full months rent plus **** charges for everyday Bing **** until the 8th. None of that was discussed with us or told to us or understood when talking about this NPS arrangement. 

Regards,

********* ******

Business Response:

Messages are checked daily, throughout the day, and the office did not receive a call from ********* or ******* requesting a meeting.  Our office is open 7 days a week and we would have welcomed the opportunity to discuss their concerns at the time.  Only 3 total service requests were submitted for their apartment home during their residency- one for the A/C, one for installing netting on their patio, and one requesting a microwave.  Each of these requests were completed immediately with the exception of the microwave, as this apartment did not include a microwave which was communicated to the residents. I have attached the signed lease agreement for review, which also includes the addendum for the NPS Program they chose to enroll in.

***** *****

Community Manager

Camden Copper Ridge

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The point of the complaint is being ignored. Camden Breakers Staff are unprofessional,disorganized,rude,disrespectful, and leasing consultants were not helpfull. There were so many miscommunications on what what said before we signed the lease and once the leasing consultants had their commission, everything changed.  Regardless of what  was signed on thee lease.  When. We asked. Question or we didn't understand anything,even their own staff were not  familiar , they. Had no knowledge of the  NPS. Arrangement.  Also, I have records that I made many complaints and called several times and left several messages.  This  issue. Should have been discussed with the manager who was gone for two hours. On lunch break while we were sitting talking to the assistant manager who was alone ion the day we gave our 60 day noticee.  Since she couldn't. Do anything but roll her  eyes, and  be unprofessional, I left my contact information for her to pass to the manager, and we never once received a call. Or message. Otherwise I would. Have saved all of that information as well. 

Regards,

********* ******

12/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The water has been out in this apartment complex more than a dozen times, sometimes without any notice. Water pipes break. This is beyond their control. This apartment complex is quite old (built in 1988, if I remember correctly), yet my rent for a one-bedroom 643-sqaure foot apartment comes out to around $1000 each month (HIGH for Corpus Christi, Texas) with all the extra charges I did not ask for, yet the company requires them to be added to the bill. I don't mind paying top dollar for my living situation, but for $1000 the quality of service provided is not commensurate with the amount charged. The management is completely inept. They never answer the phones. They don't offer solutions when I present them with an issue (e.g., in this case, asking for updates on water outages). Before I complained, they rarely notified residents of planned or non-planned water outages. I complained to ****** *******, the recently promoted *******, and updates started coming. However, they did not continue coming, nor were they accurate. For example, for this water outage, we received an email at 2:22pm on Sunday saying that there was an emergency water shut off. The email included this statement: "We will keep you informed to let you know when the water will be turned back on to the community." The next email was sent at 4:57pm the same day: "Again we do apologize for the emergency water shut off and are very sorry for the inconvenience. We estimate the water to be on in approximately 2-3 hours as we have someone working on this situation. Thank you for your patience." That was the last email I have received from them. It is now more than 24 hours later (5:33pm on Monday), and the water is still out. We have not received any updates on the status of the water repair. I called the corporate 24-hour call center Sunday evening, and they informed me that workers would be out "very early" in the morning to conduct repairs. This was not the case. Workers did not show up until 10:00am Monday morning. I checked with the City of Corpus Christi, and they perform emergency service calls 24 hours a day. The last time there was a water outage, the management had a vendor by the name of "Service King" come out for repairs, and they do 24-hour repairs. The company the management went with this time drove up in a personal pick-up truck with no service markings. It was clear that this was not a 24-hour service company, and I don't know why the management didn't go with a 24-hour service to come on Sunday for repairs. It is now 5:43pm and the water has been turned back on. The only email I have received since 4:57pm Sunday has been received now, and all it says is that the repairs are complete. I am fine with water leaks and the ensuing repairs. What I am not fine with is the lack of initiative of the management to fix the problem (did not call a 24-hour company, did not contact a company that would come first thing in the morning, and did not contact the city for repairs), the lack of updates from the management (did not send status updates of repairs to community), and the misinformation that is distributed by corporate (the inaccurate statement that someone would be out to repair the leak "very early in the morning"). It seems like all the company cares about is papering over their faults and making top-dollar for a product that is way over-priced for the quality of the property and the management.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be charged the appropriate rent amount for the quality of apartment. My rent went up when I renewed my lease. It is now around $1000. This is not appropriate for Corpus Christi for this level of apartment complex. I would also like to be notified of any future water outages and updated on the progress of the repair. I also want the management to start taking proactive steps in helping to solve the residents' problems, as opposed to taking an "it's out of my hands" approach. For example, lower my rent to the appropriate amount, do not charge me for things I do not want to be charged for (Trash Valet, Camden TV, etc.), and take immediate steps to correct the issue if there is a future water leak.

Business Response: Hello,

The recent water shut offs have been isolated incidents, not directly related.  As always, we address any emergency immediately and work until it is resolved. Residents are notified either by direct email or on our MyCamden.com resident portal account should there be an emergency requiring the water to a building to be turned off temporarily.

The total monthly rent paid by resident includes cable and valet waste. These are amenities that are included on the lease, and are not separate charges that can be removed.  Residents are aware when signing a lease agreement that the cable and valet waste are included in the total monthly rent, in addition to any other rentable items they choose to lease.

We encourage our residents to contact us should they ever have any concerns, as we are committed to providing Living Excellence.

Best Regards,


***** ****** ********* *******, Camden Copper Ridge
**** ***** ******* ****** ****** ******** ** *****
T ###-###-#### | F ###-###-####
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I decided to accept the business' response because the issue has been resolved and there have been no further water shut off incidents. In the future, should there be another water shut off, I, along with all the other community members, expect an appropriate response this time, as opposed to the unacceptable response of the management during the last incident. The messages that *** ****** attached to her response email were not concerning the incident I was referring to. Her attached messages were about another water shut off incident that had happened previous to the incident that I cited. 
I also disagree that these incidents are not directly related. They are directly related in the sense that Camden's infrastructure (or rather, the infrastructure that Camden bought out from Potter's Mill Apartments) is sub par, and therefore resulted in several unplanned breaks. It makes no logical sense that numerous water breaks were isolated incidents given how close together in time they occurred. As I mentioned, there have been no further issues with water shut offs since this complaint was filed, but you can rest assured that I will be getting in contact with the BBB should another mishandled incident occur at this community.

Regards,
***** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Camden Copper Ridge Apartments
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)