This business is not BBB accredited.

Kim's Alteration & Cleaning

Phone: (210) 821-6005 1155 Harry Wurzbach, San Antonio, TX 78209


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that <em>lowered</em> the rating for Kim's Alteration & Cleaning include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Kim's Alteration & Cleaning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kim's Alteration & Cleaning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 10, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1992 Business started locally: 01/01/1992
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Kim Robinson, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Peter Diaz
Principal: Ms. Kim Robinson, Owner
Business Category

Alterations - Clothing Dry Cleaners


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1155 Harry Wurzbach

    San Antonio, TX 78209 (210) 821-6005

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 10 2013, or December 11, 2013, I bought my brand new *****i dress to Kim's cleaners to have it steamed for the military ball. The lady that works there, takes the plastic off my dress, and looks over it. She pointed out that I need to take the price tag off the dress and notice a small pull on the dress. She look over the entire dress to make sure there was nothing else wrong with the dress before she took it. She told me it was going to be $40.00 to have the dress steamed so I agreed and let her do it. And she told me that I can pick the dress up on the December 13, 2013 in the morning. So, I pick up my dress around 8:15 am. She handed me my dress and told me that my total will be $43.30 and I paid it with my debit card. When I get home, I get ready for the ball. Around 6 pm, I open the plastic off my dress and notice the stain, on my dress, and it was too late to call Kim's because they closed at 6 pm. I was so upset, that I had to wear this stained dress to the ball anyway, because I had nothing else to wear. My husband was like just take it to them tomorrow and let them know. Which I did. On December 14, 2013 the same lady who took my dress was like where did that stain come from, I told her I don't know because when I bought it to you it wasn't stained. She said let her try to get it out. So she said come back in a couple of days. So I come back in a couple of days, then the same lady tells me, its not ready, come back in couple more days. So on December 30, 2013, I walk into Kim's cleaners, asking about my dress. So she said its not ready and give me your number, and somebody will call you. I gave them my number and walked out, I'm so frustrated, and I was in tears on my way home. Because I work hard to be able to buy nice things. I don't understand how people have businesses and treat the customers and their things like crap. I don't think its fair that I'm being treated like this. Nobody deserves this, and I wanted to make sure that no one else would.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for $43.30, which I paid ***'s to have my dress steamed. Also, I would like to get my dress back with the stain out. Or if they don't give me my dress back, they will need to buy me another *****i dress which was about $600. If they do give me the dress back stained, then they will have to get me another dress still.

Business Response: Kim's Alterations and Cleaning regrets that this has happened. We have dedicated twenty three years to supporting our military and their families. We have had contact with the consumer. We are awaiting a copy of her purchase receipt for the dress to enable us to proceed further. Please have her email or fax it to us at FAX *************

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

From: ********* ****n [mailto:***************@yahoo.com]
Sent: Tuesday, January 28, 2014 1:22 PM
To: info
Subject: Complaint ID #*******

 

Hi,

 

My name is ********* ****n. I'm sending you this email because this complaint is closed and its not resolved. Kim's Alterations & Cleaners did contact me after I sent the BBB complaint.  It took them over two weeks to get back to me on this matter.  On December 30, They call and offered to give me $200 for the dress, because a disgruntled employee had stained the dress because they didn't know what they were doing. I told them that the jovani dress was brand new and it was worth between $500-$600. They told me if I find the receipt that they would refund me for the dress. Well I wasn't able to find the receipt and the owner that I purchase the dress from was out of town due to a family emergency. So I email them to tell them that I will take the $200 offer that they offer me, because I wasn't able to find or get another receipt from the dress shop owner. Also, I'm in the process of pcsing to another duty station, and I just wanted this situation to be over and resolved. But they call me on January 22, 2014 and left a message on my cellphone telling me I can come pick up the dress. (Which they told me that the disgruntled employee destroyed, I was confused because it was damage.)  I pick up the dress on January 23, 2014, the dress still had stains in it. I told them that I was not satisfied, and I will like for you to just give me $200 for the damages that you done to the dress. They said that my story and the employee who did my dress story doesn't match.  And appologize and said they were only refund me the money that I paid for the steamed. I work hard for my things, and its sad that businesses like this are still in business.  They treat the customers and their clothing like crap. They had my dress from December 14, 2013-January 23, 2014, and my dress was still damaged and stained.  My husband is in the military, and I'm a civil service worker. The reason why they are in business is because of the military. It hurt me that they would call me a liar. I have no reason to lie at all. I'm a very busy person, I don't have time to lie. I have witnesses they can proved that I was not lying. If I have to collect statements from those individuals, then I will. I just want to make sure nobody else experience this situation.

 

Thanks,

 ********* ***

***** ********* ***** ********* *** ******** ** ***** ************ ******

Regards,

********* *****