Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Schmidt Mechanical Group, Inc.

Phone: (210) 444-9418 Fax: (210) 444-9438 View Additional Phone Numbers 10927 Wye Dr Ste 102, San Antonio, TX 78217 http://www.schmidtmechanical.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Schmidt Mechanical Group, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Schmidt Mechanical Group, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Schmidt Mechanical Group, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 04, 2011 Business started: 09/29/2010 Business started locally: 09/29/2010 Business incorporated 09/29/2010 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Keith Schmidt, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Keith Schmidt, President
Business Category

Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Refrigerators & Freezers - Service & Repair

Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Schmidt Mechanical Group, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10927 Wye Dr Ste 102

    San Antonio, TX 78217 (210) 593-7612 (210) 444-9418

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The ceiling in my garage at **** ******* *****, San Antonio, Tx ***** was damaged from water leaking from the A/C drain pan. An inline float switch was installed on the primary drain pan. The secondary drain pan continued to overflow after the service technician left. He refused to try to run a drain pipe from the secondary pan. He failed to give an estimate for this repair. A total charge of $415.00 was demanded. After negotiation with the office, a $200 payment (partial) was accepted in the mail. A second technician came out because the occupant of that rental at **** ******* ***** complained of continued water leaking from the ceiling and poor cooling. The second technician claimed that the float switch was working correctly. He refused to give an estimate to put in a drain pipe from the secondary drain pan. He stated "just put a new float switch in the secondary drain pan". He became threatening and stated that he needed to collect the entire amount due plus $59 for the service trip. He would not leave and I felt that I might encounter a physical attack of some kind. So I paid minus $59, acceptable to the office. The technician stated that the compressor was no good and he also tried to sell me refrigerant. A second A/C company was called by me. This company told me that the secondary drain was the proper place to install the float switch not the primary drain pan. Also the secondary drain pan was overflowing with water. The water was removed and a new drain pipe installed.

Desired Settlement: The $215 that I paid was done for faulty repair. The secondary drain pan should have been drained and a new drain pipe installed.

Business Response: Mr. *********,

 

I have reviewed your customer file and the sequence of events and my findings are listed below.

 

7/23/14 – My service technician ****** *. performed a $39.99 cooling inspection of your system.  He recommended you get a float switch installed and you declined at that time.

 

9/7/14 – Almost 6 weeks later you called into our office advising the dispatcher you have water leaking from the ceiling and you wanted to get the float switch installed the technician had recommended on his prior visit.

 

9/8/14 – ****** *., the same technician that was at your home before was dispatched to your home.  He called and gave you a price of $415.00 over the phone and you approved the repair.  The scope of work was to purge the drain line and vacuum water out of secondary pan for $121.00, Install a SS2 float switch for $235.00, and the trip charge/diagnostic of $59.00. The total repair was $415.00

 

Pictures were taken of the ceiling damage and you explained to him that you were the one who removed the piping from the secondary pan and capped it. The reason for this was because you did not want water leaking on people’s heads.  He did not collect from you as he was under the impression you were going to mail the payment in. He did not quote piping the secondary drain back as it is not necessary and code does not require it when a overflow drain switch is installed.

 

9/22/14 – You called into the office and advised the dispatcher the unit was not working.  We logged the call in as a warranty call and the technician was dispatched to ensure we did not have a faulty float switch or your drain was not clogged again.  My
technician ****** *. diagnosed the compressor to be tripped out on internal overload.  He checked refrigerant levels and the system was low on R22 refrigerant which caused the compressor to overheat and shut off.  You refused all repairs
and I advised the technician he had to collect for service and any open balance prior to departing.  You wrote him a check for $200 out of one account and did not want to pay any additional.  You called into the office and spoke to me,
the President of Schmidt Mechanical Group, Inc. and I advised you that you had a balance from the last repair and it needed to be paid prior to the technician leaving.  You proceeded to write a separate check from another account in the amount of $215.00 which closed out your prior invoice and I waived the $59.00 trip charge from that day.

 

We have pictures of all water damage of your ceiling that are time stamped and all checks with dates.  I am sorry you were unhappy with the service. You mentioned the SS2 was the wrong float switch but the SS2 is a switch that is mounted on the overflow of the coil itself. I have a picture of the installed float switch and it is installed in the correct spot per manufacturer specifications and per code.

 

If you have any additional questions or need any additional information please do not hesitate to call.  I have attached service reports, SS2 installation instructions, and pictures of damage above.  Please also note that i did not attached copies of the two checks dated 9/22/14 for security reasons.

Once again I am sorry you were unhappy with the services you received.  

 

 

***** *******
President
Schmidt Mechanical Group, Inc.
(***)********

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because:

Schmidt Mechanical sent a technician named ****** to install a float switch per my request. He installed the device on the coils and primary drain. I asked him if he could fix the drain pipe on the secondary pan that was capped. He stated that he did not have the materials. It was hot in the attic where the drain pans are located. He stated that the primary drain pipe was clean and not clogged. The Schmidt Mechanical dispatcher, ***** (?), told me that I could pay two hundred dollars upon receipt of an invoice to be mailed to my home and the balance later.

                Within a month, the occupant in the house complained that water was leaking from the ceiling and the central air conditioner was not cold enough.

Schmidt Mechanical was called to do a warranty check. A technician named ****** told me that the primary drain was working properly and the float switch also worked correctly. He failed to mention that the secondary drain pan had water in it. This indicated that the primary drain line was clogged and the float switch had failed according to ******* *** Maintenance Co. who had to be called after Schmidt’s tech ****** left. Tech ****** refused to estimate installation of a new secondary drain pipe. I think that the excess attic heat persuaded him not to go up in the attic for this task.

                Technician ****** decided to try to sell me a new compressor located outside where the heat did not bother him. Avanigo Co. told me that no new compressor was necessary not was refrigerant. The tech ****** then demanded full payment of the entire $415 in contradiction to what the Schmidt dispatcher had told me.

                The occupant of the rental unit decided to vacate the house because the air conditioner repair was delayed due to the negligence of Schmidt Mechanical. I am now out $850 per month until a new renter signs a lease.

Sincerely,

**** *********



Regards,

**** *********

Business Response: Mr. *********,

I am sorry to hear that you have lost your tenant.  In my prior e-mail I attached pictures, invoices, etc. showing that your ceiling was damaged when we first arrived to your rental home along with the installation instructions from the manufacturer of the SS2 float switch showing that it was in fact installed in the correct location.  I am willing to refund you $215.00, your disputed amount which includes the part and the labor.  I will need the SS2 switch back from you and I can then process the refund check.  For convenience I will be happy to send someone by to pick up the part from you or you can mail it or drop off at the following address.

***** *** ***** **** ***
San Antonio, TX *****

Thank you for your time and please let me know if you have any issues or concerns on this matter.

***** *******
*********
Schmidt Mechanical Group, Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *********