Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential/commercial air conditioning repair, air conditioning & Heating Contractors/equipment, Ice Machine Repair, Refrigeration Equipment (Sales & Service) Refrigerators & Freezers (Service & Repair). We also offer a 24 hour on call service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Expert Air & Refrigeration Service, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Expert Air & Refrigeration Service, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Expert Air & Refrigeration Service, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 04, 2004 Business started: 09/07/2004 in TX Business started locally: 09/07/2004 Business incorporated 09/02/2007 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ward Chepulis, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ward Chepulis, Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment Ice Machine Repair Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Refrigerators & Freezers - Service & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Expert Air Refrigeration Services, LLC
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • ------

    Pflugerville, TX 78660 (512) 255-6525

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern, I called Expert Air & refrigeration Service LLC. on Monday February 10, 2014. I was told a technician would be able to look at it in about thirty minutes and there would be a charge. An hour later a technician came to my house and investigated the heater.He determined that it was a simple capacitor change. He changed the capacitor for my furnace blower fan and charged me a set fee of $173.66. The heater cycled and appeared to be working. It seemed expensive but I was glad to pay the fee and to have a working heater. The next day the the same problem happened again. I called at around 2:00 pm and explained what happened I was told the technician would be over in an hour to repair it. 2 hours later I called back and said he had not contacted me yet. I was told he had been held up due to weather conditions. At about 5:00 pm I got a call from the technician asking me what was happening I told him he said he would have to replace the whole motor which would cost a set fee and I would have a $95 credit from the previous days work to apply to the new work and that this would bring my total for both days work up to to $400 or so. I called some one else at that time who offered to do the same job for a little more than what I paid to have a capacitor changed. I have had a very poor experience with your company aside from paying $173.66 for a repair that takes about 20 minutes to do and that lasted about a day. I also had to wait 3 hours in an a cold house to find out I needed to pay more money to a company I just gave money for a misdiagnosed problem. I don't know how this would make you feel but it made me pretty upset and a little insulted. Thanks for your time ***** *****

Desired Settlement: I would have liked to work this out without involving the BBB If the company could come out on Wednesday which is today and fix my heater for the fee already paid. That might be sufficient. But they fixed it once and it broke the next day. They couldn't come out to fix it that day unless I gave them more money. They couldn't contact me in a timely manner. The only way I can see this as resolved is if my bill was adjusted, to reflect the price of the capacitor and perhaps 25 dollars for the technicians time. Making the total $45 by my estimation. Which I feel is generous. Although I would not consider that really resolved. I have lost 3 hours waiting, not to mention the day of the repair, the night without a heater, the time it took to file this complaint and the fact that I had repair done that only lasted for a day and was told I wold have to spend more money to get my heater back to working condition. I tried to email the company first but their website's contact page was not working. I spoke with the technician and he couldn't do the needed repair with out more money. I feel insulted and am upset about this. Mistakes happen but their mistake costs me $173.66 and a day later I am no better off than before I called them. I am in fact worse off I have less money, and still have to get my fan repaired before I go back to work. While I do not feel this can not be fully resolved the above mentioned bill adjustment is a step in the right direction. I know it cost them time and money too. I don't want to take advantage of them and I assume they don't want to take advantage of me. But I can't just give away $173.66, for a repair that lasted for a day. I feel bad about giving away $45 as well but I do have new capacitor and it was installed and it did work right for a day.. Thank you for your time and consideration. ***** *****

Business Response:

 

****,

I talked with *** ***** and explained to him that the credit he was getting and the repair would have been around $400.00.

 

He told me that he had a church member do the repair for $360.00 

 

We returned the check in full and let him know this that we are licensed company and fully insured that may be the cost difference.

 

  Please Keep me in the loop on this matter.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *****