Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Texas Air Masters

Phone: (210) 693-7651 Fax: (210) 490-7233 4197 Stahl Rd, San Antonio, TX 78217 http://www.texasairmasters.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Texas Air Masters meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Texas Air Masters include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Texas Air Masters
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 28, 2010 Business started: 07/14/2008 Business started locally: 07/14/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Manuel Vasquez, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Manuel Vasquez, Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning

Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Texas Air Masters has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 05/12/2015 I hired Texas Air Masters to service our A/C system to complete a tune up. After completed the tune up, the technician recommended that the ducts be replaced and a compressor saver kit needed to be installed. An estimate was given for the duct work and I opted to have the technician install "electrical absorption system" (known as a compressor as per ******). I paid for the service, part, and received the report from the technician. Prior to scheduling the duct replacement I opted to contact my home warranty company to see if this would be covered under my policy. The home warranty company contracted a company and came out to my home on 05/16/2015. During their inspection of the A/C unit they advised that the compressor needed to be replaced. They replaced the part and we paid for the service and part. We had the report from the second company showing that the part Texas Air Masters supposedly replaced was either a faulty part or never replaced. I contacted Texas Air Masters the following Monday (05/18/2015) to explain the situation and see about getting a refund for the part. I spoke with ****** * (the owner of the company) who advised there would be no refund. He asked where the part his company replaced was and I advised that the company took it with them. He stated without the part he would not be able to provide a refund. Originally he was not able to provide a refund however after hearing the part was taken he then changed his story and advised it could be done however they would need the part. I asked him if he still had the original part that the was removed when the technician replaced with the new one. He stated no and that the process is to take and recycle the part. I asked him if that is the normal process, how can you expect me to still have the part. At that point, he began to get very upset and advised me that he could not longer help me. On 05/19/2015, I came home from work and noticed water all over the downstairs. Between my kitchen and dinning room. My A/C unit that was supposedly was tuned up had leaked and the water traveled down through the ceiling. I called back to ****** *'s number and wanted to discuss the issue. Upon contacting him, he immediately yelled and stated he already told me his company can no longer do business with me because he didn't trust anything that I was saying and hung up. I decided to contact another company number listed and spoke to a lady. I explained the situation to her since I was unable to with ******. She stated that she would pass along the message. He called back and in a hostile tone advised me to stop contacting his company. I tried to explain the situation in a calm manner however he hung up on me. I am in shock and would never expect an owner of a company to handle a situation in this manner. I immediately called an A/C company to come check out the issue. The A/C company advised that the drain pipe to my A/C unit was clogged and caused the water to back up. The A/C techinician cleaned the pipe and advised the issue should now be resolved. I explained that I had Texas Air Masters out the previous week to tune up the system and didn't understand how this could happen. He asked to see the report provided by the company and pointed out the fact that it notes the drain pipe was clean.

Desired Settlement: Since Texas Air Master's failed to perform the service that I paid for properly, I would expect a full refund of the service performed. Also, I would like to be refunded the amount that I paid this company for the part that was supposedly replaced. I can provide the report that the second company provided outlying that the part was old or faulty (since the owner does not apparently believe what I am saying. Also, I would like to be reimbursed for labor and service it will cost me to replace the portion of my ceiling that was damaged because of the water backup due to the clogged drain pipe that Texas Air Master's listed on their report as clean. I also have their original report from Texas Air Master's that states it was clean and the report from the A/C company that came after the back up that outlines the issue came from the clogged drainage pipe.

Business Response: We performed a service (spring tune up) for mr ****** on
5/12/15, at that time we found a part that was failing. We gave the client the
option to replace the part (9pm) or he could wait for his home warranty
company. He chose to take advantage of our fast service, immediate response and
thoroughness. We get a call on Friday (5/15/15) from mr ****** stating that he
would like his money back because his home warranty company could do the job a
lot cheaper. I told him we could not refund him his money because the part was
installed and the services rendered, and part has been in operation. He
continued to go back and forth with me, we ended the conversation with me
telling him that I would call him back. I called back a couple hours later with
no answer. On Saturday 5/16/15, the office (spoke to receptionist) received
another call from mr ******, he stated that now the part we installed was put
in wrong so he wanted his money back. I called him back and he changed his
story yet again and said the part was defective so he wanted his money back, I
then asked for the part so we could test the part to confirm the other
companies findings. He said the other company took the part, this raised a big
red flag for me because anyone wanting their money back for a defective part
would keep the part so a refund could be processed. He continued to demand his
money back, we completed the conversation with me telling him that without the
part how can we refund him. On Tuesday we received another call from mr ******
stating that he now wants someone out there because he has water leaking, I do
not trust mr ****** and do not feel comfortable having my technicians out to
his home. Furthermore he had another company out to his home and touch the
system, I do not know what has been done to the system since we were last at his
home on 5/12/15. This claim should  not
count against our company, look on yelp and see if his story corresponds to
what he told BBB, he also left out the info about the water damage, which in my
opinion is much more important. We go above and beyond for our clients, our reputation
proves the point, I do not feel comfortable making any concessions for someone
who is through false information trying to get us to pay him. We feel that from
the very beginning his intentions were to have us do the work at 9 pm on
5/12/15 then call us back when his home warranty company came out to put in
their part, then ask for his money back.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because of false information the business has provided. First of all, I was never suggested to call my home warranty first by the technician. In fact, the technician insisted that I replace the part as soon as possible because it could break down at any moment. I would think with all the awards and recognitions of customer satisfaction they would first advice me to ask my home warranty for a repair. That would be the most decent thing to do if the business is really looking out for client's best interest. I must also point out that the technician who came to do the "tune-up" did inspect my unit inside without any tools. The only time he did use any tools was to replace the "electrical absorption system" state on the invoice (see attachment) dated May 12, 2015. Also, the technician suggested, on invoice, a compressor saver kit for $327.25 and replacement of A/C ducts for $2,800 or repair for $450. Based on the technician's knowledge and input of my unit, I allowed him to replace the "electrical absorption system" for $385.00 but not to replace/repair the ducts because I would get other company estimates for the duct work. 

So after the Texas Air Master technician's visit, I called a local A/C repair company "****** **** A/C" to come over to my home to give me an estimate for the duck replacement. On May 13, The ****** **** A/C technician came to inspected my ducts and immediately told me to first call my home warranty to see if they would cover the cost. He explain to me in detail the whole process of placing a claim. How it would work and how the home warranty insurance would send a local company to inspect the entire unit. He even advice me that calling the home warranty would be beneficial for me because they would only have a low inspection fee. So I called my home warranty that same day to set up an appointment for May 15, 2015 with ********* **********. The ****** **** A/C technician did no work to the unit but suggested to call him back if my home warranty did not cover the cost. 

So with the new knowledge of home warranty covering any damage or repairs for a lower cost. I call Air Texas Master on May 15, 2015 to see if I could return the part because I had just learned that my home warranty could possibly cover the cost or part that they had replaced. The owner told me that it was not possible to return the part and get refunded because it was already in used. I totally agreed with him because it made sense to what he was telling me. I went on to ask him what an "electrical absorption system" was and he immediately said he was busy in an attic but he would call me back. Hours later he did call back but I was not able to answer his call so he left a message to call him back when possible. I was not able to call him back because ********* ********** had arrived to inspect my unit. 

********* ********** inspected my ducts suggesting to replace or repair ducts, supply plenum, and condenser coil cleaning shown on invoice attached. Also on the invoice they had to replace a "bad capacitor". I asked the technician what is a capacitor and if it had to do anything with an "electrical absorption system. The technician expressed that he did not know what an "electrical absorption system" is and he had never heard that term. That brought up red flags so I called Texas Air Master to ask what was an "electrical absorption system" on May 16, 2015. The owner call me back explaining that an "electrical absorption system" is basically a capacitor. At that moment, I stared telling him about how ********* ********** had to replace the same part that his company supposedly had replaced three days ago because it was bad. So like any unsatisfied customer, I requested my money back from him but he refused by telling me that I was now changing my story and he did not believe me anymore. I suggested to show him the invoice from ********* ********** so he could see their notes. He then proceeded to give me another excused by telling me that he could only return my money back if I returned the part his company had installed. So I then responded that I would call ********* ********** to see if they could give me the part so I could give it to him and get my money back. Then he went on to give me another excuse that even if I got the part back he would still need to check the part to see if it was true it did not work and then see if he could possibly refund me my money. 

Of course ********* ********** did not have the part because, like every A/C company, that it is standard procedure to throw away bad parts. Of course Texas Air Masters knew that I could not get the part. So I called him back to explain to him what ********* ********** had told me. He still refused to refund me my money. He restated that he could not do anything for me because I did not have his part and even then if I got it, it would not be likely that he would refund me. So I asked him to give me back my original part his technician took of my unit and of course, he said they did not have it because they threw it away. My point exactly! How does he expect for me to get him his bad part back if his own company does the same procedure as any A/C company. 

I kept calling his business and cell phone with no success of getting my money back. He would call back just to tell me to stop calling his business or cell phone because he could not help me at all. 

On May 19, 2015, I get home to a leak coming from the second floor onto my dinning room floor and table. The dinning room ceiling was cracked leaking water from the A/C unit which is directly above my dinning room. The A/C unit closet was flooded with water streaming down to the first floor. So I inspected my A/C unit to find that the drainage pipe was clogged casuing the water to over flow. I immediately call Texas Air Master to send out a technician because from their tune-up inspection report (see attachment) they claimed the drainage pipe was clean. The owner called me back and did not want to hear anything I had to say. I called so we could come out to inspect the situation for himself and see that his technician did not thoroughly inspect my unit. 

There are many things that the Texas Air Mater did not report to me as a client or on their tune-up report because if he would have done a great job like the owner states, the technician would have noticed the water build up on the drainage pipe. 


Now I have damages to my dinning room ceiling which I expect for Texas Air Master to pay for repairs or repair ceiling with full refund of the bad part Texas Air Master had to place. 
 

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response: There is no further need to discuss this matter, we are now getting into a "he said, she said" situaion. I plainly told the truth on my very first response, after advising BBB to look on the **** review that was written, it was plain to see that his story was not accurate.  After the fact he began to add more information to make his story look like what he had on ****. We are willing to live with the results of our choice, based solely on the premise of principle. The home owner knew he had home warranty and we did explain to him the difference in cost from us and the home warranty company. The reason people buy home warranty is so they will not have to pay regular price on appliance repairs, including HVAC repairs. He chose to have us perform the project and we did our job in good faith. mr ****** also was not ok with paying for the service on Friday, (after it was completed days before). Also, any companies policy, no matter what type of business, would be to return the new(defective) part to be reinbursed. It is common practice that if a faulty piece of equipment is found by a competing contractor, to leave the part so that it can be tested and confirmed to be bad by the contractor that performed the work so that reinbursement can be processed. It is not a common practice to take the part so that there would be no evidence to confirm the other companies findings. Unfortunately, no company in business would go by a competing companies word. Would you mr ******? Would you simply trust what a competitor says, especially when proof was easily available? Would you trust a competing contractors word when simply leaving the part to help you the customer, get their money back was easier than taking it, knowing that there would be problems without absolutely no proof to confirm his findings? 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because I have showed facts/proof on previous response on how the part installed by the company was defected. My home warranty, in good faith, check the whole unit to make sure I wouldn't have any future issues or have to pay another service fee. Unfortunately, the home warranty inspector found the part installed by Texas Air Master defected. Like any costumer, who pays hundreds of dollars for a part or service, would request refund especially when major damage was done due to inadequate inspection by the Texas Air Master technician. 

I trusted Texas Air Master to look into my problem because of the statements posted on their websites stating "We Guarantee You Will Be Satisfied With Our Service Or Our Service Is Free" and "100% NO-RISK" but I guess the company does not stick to their word or really care for their costumers'  satisfaction. 


I am definitely not a satisfied customer because there are damages to my home that go beyond the A/C part. As an unsatisfied costumer I would expect for the company to keep their word and refund me and cover the cost to damages done by their inadequate inspection report.

Regards,

Arturo Vargas


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Texas Air Masters
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart