Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Stan's Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.

Phone: (512) 929-9393 Fax: (512) 929-3400 6016 Dillard Circle, Austin, TX 78752 http://www.stansac.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Stan's Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Stan's Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Stan's Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1969 Business started: 01/01/1954 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1954 Business incorporated 01/24/1975 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Williams, General Manager Mr. Chris Strand, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Williams, General Manager
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Contractor - Home Performance Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Weatherization Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Quality Service Energy Audits Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Air Duct Repair

Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Before You Build Your Home Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Stan's Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6016 Dillard Circle

    Austin, TX 78752 (512) 929-9393

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/12/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a new home in July of 2013 with an air conditioning system installed by Stan's. At the beginning of July 2015 the outside unit fan went out. Stan's came out and replaced a capacitor on the unit and got it running again, however less than 2 weeks later the fan went out again. Stan's dispatched another tech who informed us that the fan motor was now out and needed to be replaced. The tech told us that he did not have a motor on the truck and would have to order the motor which would take 3 days. Since stans could not fix our AC and temps were in the 100s we called another company who fixed it and informed us that the capacitor was incorrect and may have caused the motor to go out.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund for the incorrect capacitor installed for $170 and a refund for the cost of the fan motor which needed to be replaced for $500

Business Response: I am sorry for the difficulty you have had this summer with your air conditioning unit.  I see the service ticket from 7/10 when a capacitor was replaced.  You were charged $190.50.  I also see that we found the non working motor on 8/01.  You were not charged for this visit.  I will refund the $190.50 that you a paid on 7/10.  We do not pay for repairs from another company, so this is the only amount that I can refund.  I will process the credit for $190.50 this week.  Please let us know if we can help you in the future. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
I will follow up this complaint further if no refund is received by next week  (8-19-15), as a friend has been waiting weeks for a refund from this same company.

Regards,

***** *******

12/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The technician that came to work on my heating spent the entire time he was here on the phone on numerous phone calls from other Stan's technicians who sounded like they had no idea what they were doing. He was completely distracted and interrupted our own conversations about my service call by answering other phone calls. I have 2 units. One upstairs and one downstairs. The technician was so distracted, he was diagnosing the upstairs system by looking at the outside unit for the DOWNSTAIRS system. SO what makes me think he has given me an accurate diagnosis of the problem with my system? I just got a call from a person named **** with the quote for the repair of $410.00 dollars to replace a defrost board. When I asked for a breakdown of those charges, he refused to give me a breakdown. That's ridiculous. He asked if I wanted to schedule the service, I explained that I have had nothing but bad service from Stan's and he hung up on me. It only gets worse. Since **** hung up on me, I was forced to call someone else to come complete the repair work. A friend referred me to Total Comfort. Their technician noticed right away that the thermostat upstairs was not compatible with a heat pump system. He replaced the thermostat and the system works perfect now. THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE DEFROST CIRCUIT BOARD! The Stan's technician missed the thermostat problem and incorrectly diagnosed the defrost circuit board problem. They were going to charge me $410 to replace a perfectly good part. Also, when I initially placed the repair call, I indicated that the downstairs unit was only heating intermittently. The technician completely failed to check/test/recommend repair of the unit. I think he was too busy coaching inexperienced technicians that were calling him every 2 minutes. When I asked the Stan's technician, *****, what he had done to fix my downstairs unit, he hadn't even noticed that it was on the repair ticket. I explained that I had had a few Capacitors blow on that unit before. I don't think he listened to me because he was too distracted with phone calls. Total Comfort quickly tested the capacitor, found it was failed, replaced it and - like magic, it is working perfectly. That took a total of about 10 minutes. I plan to report Stan's Heating and Air Conditioning to the Better Business Bureau for falsifying repair work and attempting to overcharge me for unnecessary repair work. I had both systems repaired today by Total Comfort for $230. I had 2 trucks - the father (40 years of repair experience) and the son in two separate trucks within hours of my phone call. That included Diagnosing/testing both systems, replacing a thermostat, replacing a capacitor, blowing out all drain hoses, final testing of both systems. Stan's was going to charge me nearly double that amount to replace a perfectly good part on only ONE UNIT! Also, every single time I made or received contact with any employee of Stan's, they used the same excuse. That they are flooded with calls and overworked and backed up because of the extremely high volume of heating repair calls they are receiving. This company should not overbook service calls to the point that they are providing inefficient, fraudulent service. It is my opinion that this company is taking advantage of customers by overbooking repair calls, inaccurately diagnosing system problems and, overcharging without providing details of charges and fraudulently recommending unnecessary repair work.

Desired Settlement: Stan's needs to be investigated for committing fraud against it's customers. It's apparent that they claim that equipment needs unnecessary repair work at extremely high costs and are unwilling to explain the breakdown of charges to their customers. For this reason, it is my opinion that they may also be committing tax fraud as well by hiding charges to the customers without explaining what the charges include.

Business Response: The customer stated this resolution:  Stan's needs to be investigated for committing fraud against it's customers. It's apparent that they claim that equipment needs unnecessary repair work at extremely high costs and are unwilling to explain the breakdown of charges to their customers. For this reason, it is my opinion that they may also be committing tax fraud as well by hiding charges to the customers without explaining what the charges include.  Along with a stated refund.


Mr. ********** stated he stopped payment on the check.  We have obliged by shredding the check without processing it. 

Mr. ********** was abusive to our technician verbally with profanity and belittling him.  The technician is a retired military veteran that is not accustomed to this type of abuse and disrespect.  He was rattled by the situation.  The technician asked to never go back to this home again.  Mr. ********** continued his inappropriate demeanor with our parts person.  We do not expect our people to take this abuse from anyone.  The parts clerk was justified to terminate the conversation with Mr. **********. 

I find it odd that he complains the technician was inspecting the wrong unit in one statement then he says he did not look at both systems for a diagnosis.  This is contradictory in itself. 

The cost of being in the service business is very expensive.  We offer service 24 hours a day seven days a week.  We have trained and insured technicians.  We have a support staff for the activities in the field.  We have to charge for our services.  We stand behind our repairs for one year.  If in fact there was a wrong diagnosis as Mr. ********** claims, he would not have been charged for unnecessary repair. 

Flat rate pricing is the standard in the service industry.  Parts and labor are lumped together to come up with a set price for a given task irregardless of the time it takes to perform the task.  This allows us to give an 'up front' price versus time and materials pricing.  We pay the sales tax when we purchase the parts.

I will not be contacting Mr. ********** for further resolution as this is the type of customer that we would choose not to do business with.

10/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a new AC unit installed a little over 2 years ago from this company. We paid almost $6k for the AC. Now, after such a short time, in AC life we are having issues with the unit. This will be the 4th time we have contacted them in less than 6 weeks. The first guy came out and was rude and wouldn't even tell me what was wrong in any terms that made sense. The AC worked for a short time, then went out again. They sent out the same guy at no charge and had him fix it. He said he left the freon cap off. The AC worked for a short time once again, then out again. They sent another AC tech out who said the first guy was fired. He diagnosed a clogged drain and had the nerve to charge me almost $200 for the visit AFTER I had paid for the first visit, which obviously didn't fix the problem. Here is is, a weekend AGAIN and my AC is out. The only saving grace is it is not over 100 degrees this time. BUT, I have an elderly 81 year old who lives with us with early stages of Alzheimers and a husband who is on Disability with Migraines. The heat effects both of them severely. I have called the after hours emergency number, but no call back yet. I am in customer service myself and have been my whole working life. I understand that sometimes, things are hard to diagnose, but 4 times in six weeks and to continue charging me? I would clearly like this problem FIXED and not be charged further when it has taken repeated efforts to get it right. I have a friend who used to do AC and told me what it probably was and I even told Stans about this on the first call and they said the part we needed according to our friend was covered under our warranty for the AC, yet the techs have yet to think it is this part and only offered band aid solutions.

Desired Settlement: I would like a repair without service fees. I will be glad to pay for parts not covered under warranty. I would like an apology and the refund of the service call on the third visit as I had already paid previously and they didn't fix it,, so why charge me again?

Business Response: ***** ****** from our management team is working directly with the customer for final resolution.  Another service call is in order at no charge to the customer to determine next steps if any.

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service tech diagnosed and defined problem with HVAC not cooling (this complete new HVAC system was installed by Stan's in 2009 at cost around $6k and still under 10 yr warranty) as the compressor windings were shorted and the compressor had failed thus requiring replacement of the compressor. That service call was followed by a telephone call quoting repairs required, including the compressor replaced under warranty, totaling about 20% of our original installation expense. I declined Stan's proposed repair and secured another vendor to re-diagnose and solve the problem. The compressor was NOT defective and the repair was completed within an hour when the contact assembly was replaced under warranty for a TOTAL repair service cost of $100! Furthermore, our contact with Trane, the OEM manufacturer, affirmed the warranty was better than Stan's quoted repair indicated it would be. Clearly Stan's business has deteriorated under its new ownership or operational practices.

Desired Settlement: Given the gross misdiagnosis and extended time we have had to endure our A/C system being out of service, we believe Stan's should refund the full payment charged for their worthless service/diagnosis visit.

Business Response: Service Manager, ***** ******, talked with the home owner and explained the situation.  Our technician made a diagnostic mistake.  The customer was refunded what he paid and offered a free service agreement.  Situation resolved.  See e-mail the customer sent below....




*** *******

 

Thank you for your prompt response and provision of the cell
phone number so I could successfully connect with you.  Your commitment to
refund the original service fee paid for the misdiagnosis by Stan’s technician
along with your additional offer of a 1-yr, no-cost maintenance service
contract on our home’s HVAC equipment is certainly a very respectful and
extraordinary consideration for the imposition we experienced.  We
appreciate your commitment to serving our home HVAC needs effectively.

 

**** ** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by *** ****** in reference to complaint ID ********, and agree the proposed resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Stan's Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart