This business is not BBB accredited.

Green Air Conditioning and Heating

Phone: (512) 788-4215 Fax: (512) 339-6770 View Additional Phone Numbers 1515 Dungan Ln Ste 207, Austin, TX 78754

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Green Air Conditioning and Heating
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 30, 2008 Business started: 11/01/2001 in 0 Business started locally: 11/01/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Seamus O'Brien, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Seamus O'Brien, Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Ventilating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Liberty Air
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations


    1515 Dungan Ln Ste 207

    Austin, TX 78754 (512) 788-4215


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: UNREASONABLE rates, HOSTILE services 2nd floor A/C stopped cooling so scheduled with them based on the reviews. On schedule date, ****** called and said he'll be stopping by in 30 minutes. 30 minutes later, he called and said he can't find my house. After telling him my address again, he ended up showing up an hour after. He was in a completely different zip code. It took 1.5 hours after scheduled time just for him to show up. I asked if he can give me a little discount for the delay. He declined to compensate my time because he said he's only human and makes mistakes. After another hour of inspection, he told me that the coil's leaking, the coolant valves aren't working well, and that the run capacitor is going bad. He also mixed up the outside units and got confused as to which one is for the upstair and which is downstairs. After clearing up the confusion, I elec*** to get the capacitor replaced and coolant refilled since it was the quickest way to get it cooling again. ****** charged $150 to replace the $15 capacitor and $100 for 2lb of R-410A coolant (costs him about $3.5/lb). I confron*** him about the ridiculous markup rate. ****** got offended, refused to budge, and ci*** his business costs. He said his rates are the same as his competitors. After which, he tried to upsell me on the $1300 coil replacement. Total damage for his trip is $300, which would have been fine if everything stayed running. I offered to pay cash so he can save on credit card processing fees and lessen his burden business costs. After only a month, 2nd floor A/C stopped cooling again. Called ****** to come check out the system again without service charge. He agreed and told me to call back again the next day to schedule an appointment with his office (couldn't schedule directly with him for some reason even though he's the owner and the date I wan*** is 2 days away). ****** came, inspected, and blame the problem on the coils. I asked if it's possible to return the capacitor and get some money back since his repair las*** only a month and way overcharged on parts. He snapped again saying that his work is professional and competitive priced but he can't guarantee how long his repairs will last and that if I want any consolation, go write a negative review.

Desired Settlement: Refund $200

Business Response: On August 14th I was scheduled to be at Mr. ****'s home at 9:00 AM. My 7:00 AM call had run late so I called Mr. **** at 9:00 AM to let him know I was running late and would be there closer to 9:30 AM. We do inform our customers that our appointment times are more of a window because some calls take longer than others, and we will call when going or to let them know if we are running late. We use Apple maps for our GPS. I was in a rush, clicked the link and proceeded to the route. Unfortunately, I ended up in south Austin at the wrong address. I called Mr. **** to confirm his address and apologized for the mix up. I also offered to reschedule the appointment if it was no longer convenient for him. At 10:15 AM I arrived and once again apologized for my tardiness.

Mr. **** had scheduled a system check up with my company. He has 2 systems at his residence that are identical outside. I turned the upstair and downstairs thermostats off and on to figure out which system controlled each zone and labeled them after that. I then star*** working on the outdoor units. The upstairs condensing unit had a bad capacitor and was low on refrigerant. I informed Mr. **** before any repairs were made that we charged $150.00 parts and labor for the capacitor and $50.00 per pound for refrigerant. He agreed to these prices and I performed the repairs. We have a policy when we add refrigerant to perform a leak test at no charge. If the system is low on charge that generally means there is a leak. It can sometimes take up to an hour to locate the leak, but it is the right thing to do. I loca*** a leak in the indoor coil. Mr. **** was informed the coil had a leak and it would have to be replaced. The 2 pounds of refrigerant was not a permanent fix and the money spent on the refrigerant would be refunded towards replacing the coil if it was done within 30 days of the original invoice. The invoice total was $315.00. Mr. **** offered to pay cash so I gave him $15.00 off because I wouldn't have to pay a credit card processing fee. The system was cooling again when I left. Mr. **** could have shopped around for a better price on the coil replacement or got a second opinion if he questioned my diagnosis.

On September 24th 10:12 PM we received this email:
Message: My AC got serviced from you on 08/13/2015. Paid $150 to get a $15 capacitor replaced, $100 for refrigerant, and $65 for labor that was late and was*** an hour of my time. The fix las*** only a month. The upstairs system stopped cooling again. I need the system fixed without further charges or a refund of $280 so I can get it fixed by someone else. Thanks.

I called Mr. **** at 8:00 AM the next morning to schedule coming over that day. He did not return our call during business hours and instead called me back on my cell phone at 7:30 PM that evening I explained to him that I would come back out at no charge, but that I could not schedule him because I was not in the office and my office manager was the person who handles our scheduling. My office manager called him the following business day at 12:00 PM as he reques*** and he was put on the schedule for the next day. I arrived on time for our appointment. The system would run for a short time, and then turn off. I checked the refrigerant charge and found it was low again. The system has a low pressure cut off switch, and it was tripping because of the low charge. I showed Mr. **** the pressures and explained the problem was the same one as diagnosed on our previous visit. At this time he told me my prices were too high and he wan*** his money back for the original call. There was no charge for this visit. The capacitor that I installed was working fine and it carries a 1 year warranty but that was not the problem. The system had leaked it's refrigerant which I had told him it would do, since the indoor coil was leaking. Sometimes a recharge can last a year and others only last a few days. His system continued to cool for over a month after my first service call. I did not feel that he was entitled to a refund just because he did not like the diagnosis, and I had also informed him the work performed was not a permanent fix. I perform quality work and stand by my word but it is impossible to fix HVAC units for free and stay in business. I have attached both invoices with a full description of all work performed.
****** *******
Green Air Conditioning and Heating
y here...

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The response merely ******** what I've written in my original complaint and does not include any effort to negotiate a resolution. I'm not asking Mr. ****** to fix my HVAC for free. I'm merely asking him to do what's right and fair. I will pay the fair price rate minus the cost of wasting my time by not willing to negotiate a fair resolution. I'm only asking for a refund of $200, not a full refund.


*** ****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Green Air Conditioning and Heating
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)