This business is not BBB accredited.

Frio Air Conditioning & Refrigeration

Phone: (210) 360-9225 8111 Ashwood Pointe, San Antonio, TX 78254

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Frio Air Conditioning & Refrigeration include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Frio Air Conditioning & Refrigeration include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Frio Air Conditioning & Refrigeration
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 31, 2013 Business started: 07/10/2012 in TX Business started locally: 07/10/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jason Mata, Owner Ms. Crystal Mata, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Mata, Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Government Contractors Air Conditioning Repair Restaurant Equipment - Repair & Service Ice Machine Repair

Alternate Business Names
Frio A.C.
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations


    8111 Ashwood Pointe

    San Antonio, TX 78254 (210) 360-9225


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/26/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Frio Air Conditioning & Refrigeration owned by **** ***** to install a new central air and heat unit in my apartment. We went over all supplies that he will provide and I asked him if the size of the unit that he was offering me was the correct size for the apartment and according to him YES. He installed it 6/27/2014 all done the same day. I notice there was a little noise inside the inside unit according to him it was made by one air filter. He suggested to install two air filters instead of one but he was not sure if that would solve the problem." At the time he only had one filter". He offered to bring it on Monday "the other filter". Then He agreed to come back the next couple of days to make sure the A/C was working fine. When I purchase the the A/C through them they offered 10 YRS parts and 5 years labor. I questioned to him if by any chance there was anything wrong the unit he would be able to take care of the problem right a way and he answered yes. The Unit was installed on a Saturday..... it took 16 hrs for the a/c to cool the apartment I was a concern to me and I text him he text me back telling me that it was normal and that he would come the next day to install another air return . Monday came and no show . NEVER SHOWED UP. No call no txs. I text him on Wednesday July 2nd and called him to let him know I still can hear the noise inside the unit and another problem My room was not getting enough air it is too hot to sleep at night. No response. finally he answered late that afternoon and said he couldn't make it he was out of town.. I wait to hear from him all week in the mean while me and my roommate are sleeping in the leaving room because there is not enough cool air in my room. Tuesday July 8th i get a text saying he will not make it again after he had mentioned to me over the phone he will but he had bought the air filters and return grill to be isntalled and that he will also will check the air ducks when he gets to the house. Wednesday july 9th I text him again and asked him if he was coming and he told me NO he was in another job site that he was sorry. Meanwhile we can't sleep at night. Saturday July 12th another miserable night notice the inside unit was frozen and getting really hot inside the apartment. I text him and left him a voice mail and I got a call from him later in the afternoon telling me that he thought it was strange I even sent him a picture of the copper being frozen. he said he will stop monday morning. between 7 and 8 I said ok. at 9:28 I sent him a text asking him how much longer I had to wait he text back at 10:47 AM telling me that he was stuck at jason deli with a freezer issue. Now how much longer I have to wait for this company to come and look at my new unit. I am very concern with them being a small company and not keeping up with their good customer service. I am very frustrated and I have been inconvenience by them. They have been paid in full and I have not own the unit a day and it was already having problems at this time at don't know if he sold me the wrong size of unit and that is the reason why the thermostat can not keep up with desired temperature. This unit is just going and going is not cooling the apartment completely

Desired Settlement: I would like for him to replace the unit or make the unit work at its best.... Right now its over working. I would like for them to honor the warranty he offered