Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Elmer’s One Hour Air Conditioning

Phone: (210) 782-8550 Fax: (210) 590-3054 9710 N Ih 35, San Antonio, TX 78233 http://www.onehourairsanantonio.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Elmer’s One Hour Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Elmer’s One Hour Air Conditioning include:

  • 22 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Elmer’s One Hour Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on Elmer’s One Hour Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 2000 Business started: 07/09/1999 in TX Business started locally: 07/09/1999 Business incorporated 07/31/2009 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Elmer Zubiate, Owner Ms. Rocio Aguirre, Office Manager Ms. KeeAnn DeVora, (Former) Mr. Lorenzo Frias, Manager Mr. Mark Mcgoon, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Mark Mcgoon, Operations Manager
Principal: Mr. Elmer Zubiate, Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Water Heaters - Repairing Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air Quality Service Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Elmer's One Hour On Time Elmer Plmbing Zubie Air Inc.
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Elmer’s One Hour Air Conditioning has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 9710 N Ih 35

    San Antonio, TX 78233 (210) 782-8550

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: MY SISTER IN LAW IN SAN ANTONIO NEEDED HVAC SERVICE ELMERS CAME OUT. I PAID OVER PHONE WITH CC THEY LEFT 2 INVOICES # **** AND 5093 WITH A TOTAL OF $ 2,800.00 I HAVE ASKED THREE TIMES FOR ITEMIZED INVOICES PROMISED , NOT RECEIVED .

Desired Settlement: ITEMIZED INVOICES TO SUPPORT THE AMOUNT CHARGED AND/OR ADJUST THE CHARGES TO REFLECT THE WORK DONE

Business Response: We are a lump sum contractor, If someone told the customer we would give a break down that is incorrect. We replaced a 3 Ton upflow coil with TXV, added a drain guard, 25x20 filter grill to improve filtration to protect the unit and provided 12 filters. This a part of a package price. The customer was presented six options with each having a custom priced specific to the offering. Their is no breakdown because we do not break out time and material on a unit/coil replacement. It is one price to be fair to all customers. We will not give back 2000.00 dollars because the customer does not like the process or price after the installation for his sister. The services were not for him, but for his sister. I am grateful he is kind enough to pay for his sister, but we explained everything to her and she signed on his behalf. If he would like to call and speak with ******* the service manager that would be fine, but we do not commit to providing anyone anything other than our invoice and proposal as agreed upon by the client and customer. We appreciate the business, but decline returning funds based on two phone calls not yielding breakouts of services.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:WHY NOT GIVE A ITEMIZED  EXPLANATION OF CHARGES IS IT BECAUSE THEY CANNOT SUPPORT THE CHARGES . MY SISTERINLAW IS OVER 70  AND IN POOR HEALTH IFEEL SHE WAS TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF AND I GET TO PAY FOR IT .. THEREFORE I WOULD LIKE  ITEMIZED CHARGES   THE UNIT REPLACED ` CAN BE BOUGHT ON INTERNET FOR LESS THAN  400.   THATS A LOT OF LABOR.

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response:

As mentioned in the previous response, you are welcome to call the shop and speak with ******* ***** about the charges. We Charge what we charge because it is more than just labor. We like most retail service industries that advertise, pay employee benefits, train, and employ the best people we can attract within the industry. These things all cost money above and beyond just new construction or remodel mark up. We must evacuate the EPA regulated refrigerant and dispose of it, replace with refrigerant, their is copper brazing involved that cost in gas (nitrogen for pressure test, acetylene and oxygen for brazing, brazing rods that contain silver) time to correctly commission the unit to start up, quality control visit from senior technician to inspect quality. Their are many more items, but the value can not be experience or relayed over the phone. We do not break all these thing down into single line items. It is a lump some package. We do not charge labor in the fashion you want. We base it on the people inolved for industry averages. This is ensured so clients do not pay for difficulty in technician experiences or delays. We will not break down in detail all this. If you want a broad understanding then call. We are a premium priced company with premium guaranty. We are not the cheapest, and that unit cant not be bought in Texas for that price because of licensing structure and insurance requirements by the State of Texas. McDonals pays less than 95 cents for a ingredients in a combo meal, but you still pay 7-8 dollars for the meal. You dont ask them to itemize the bill, they are a lump sum vendor. So are we.

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:I WOULD STILL WANT A ITEMIZED TWO LINE (PARTS--LABOR) WRITTEN INVOICE. I CAN UNDERSTAND YOUR RELUCTANCE IT MIGHT REFLECT ANY EXCESSIVE CHARGES IF ANY.                                   

Regards,

****** *******

12/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have attempted to cancel my "membership" three times over the phone. During each call I was assured that it would be taken care of. However, I continue to have the membership fee of 19.95 deducted from my account each month. After the last call I committed to filing a complaint if it happened again... and it did. 19.95 was deducted today for services that I have canceled several times and no intention of using.

Desired Settlement: First priority is to stop getting charged. Ideally, I would be refunded for the last couple of months. This is getting ridiculous.

Business Response: We deeply apologize for Mr ****** experience, and will have our new accounting person reach out to him directly to match up the information and delete from the account.

10/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing to inform you of our dissatisfaction with Elmer's One Hour AC &Heating service- "always on time or you don't pay a dime".Friday ***** came to diagnose the problem we are having with our ac. His recommendation(estimated to cost7k) to replace the entire system. He schedule techs to come Sunday-sept 6,2015 (9-11). The tech did not arrive. At 11:04 we got a call saying the tech is running late r/t car problems. We ask if our install would be free per the company's trade**** and advertisement. The person on the phone said we could not get the install for free. He would have to talk to his boss. We requested to talk to the boss. At 11:49-no tech yet. ******* (the boss) called questioning our request to have the install for free. I informed him that is what your agreement states. He stated he will have to stop the job and find out what is going on. The techs did not show up on time and Elmer's AC and Heating company does not want to pay the install for free as their advertisement and name stated. The boss wanted he to stop the job and get back to us on Tues. We are not satisfied . He said he would take one thousand dollars off the job. That is not what the company policy promises.I would like to add to this complaint. Please note the installers of the air conditioners were very nice. They were polite. Unfortunately one of the guys fell through the ceiling. He sustained scrape and said he we ok. The boss was called and plans had to be made to fix the big hole in the ceiling. The boss wanted us to sign the invoice of work completion indicating the work was done to our satisfaction . We were not satisfied that we were left with a big hole in the ceiling. We told the boss we did not want to sign the invoice until the ceiling was fixed and ***** (the supervisor) came out to quality check the job. ******* became rude. We were told if we did not sign the document the lines would be cut . We explained the payment ($7,000) was being financed . They would get their money. ******* stated he had already compensated us $1,000.00 off the price for being late. I reminded him that is not what their company policy states. I asked if he could come out and inspect the job. He said he couldn't because he was out of town. He said all we had to do was to sign the papers anywhere so the installers could get paid. We told him we were not comfortable with that. I asked if the installers could write on the invoice that the customer do not want to sign until the ceiling was fixed. ******* said we should write that on the invoice. I felt like we were being forced to sign the invoice . When I told ******* I felt like we were being coursed to sign, he started to talk loud. I put the phone on speaker and gave it to me husband. I did not hear the rest of the conversation . My husband signed the invoice that he was not satisfied with the work.**

Desired Settlement: I would like the business to keep their promise. If they can not then they should held accountable for false advertisement .

Business Response: All work has been completed. The husband agreed that he was satisfied. We do not advertise that replacements are free if we are late on installs. We do not have set times on installs because of manufacturer equipment availability and locations. We arrange approximate times. The free is for repairs to existing equipment. We gave the customer 1000.00 dollars off the price and fixed the whole in the ceiling.  This customer is resolved and completed on our end. The husband has stated several times that he very satisfied to our team. We will not being assisting her any further. She is pushing to try and get a new system for free by misrepresenting the our advertising and claims. The agreed to not pursue the free any farther with ******* when the 1000.00 was returned as part of our satisfaction guarantee listed on our proposals.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

My husband was told his signature was required so that the workers could be paid. I will forward a copy of
what he wrote next to his signature . We wanted to wait to indicate our satisfaction after everything was done. We wanted 
to wait until quality check was done. ******* was adamit and insistent . I forwarded you a picture of their logo. 




Regards,

****** ******

Business Response:

*******,

Attached is a copy of the invoices. ******* did not ask them to sign so the guys could get paid. He asked them to sign to acknowledge the 1000.00 discount that was given for customer satisfaction and inconvenience of a large whole in the ceiling from the installation process (either by intention or falling through from attic). I have attached the a copy of the Guarantees that are on the back of the proposal that they signed. We do not at any point offer free installation based on being late. We offer it based on customer satisfaction, and it is not free installation, but rather free repair to make it satifactory. We will not be addressing ****** ******'s request for free installation any further, installation are different than service requests. The advertising is based on service fee and only required repair to get a system cooling. Their is to many factors to make that guaranty on an installation. We performed a quality control on September 9, 2015 by ***** ****. If ****** has a problem with the system, quality of installation or its function, we will be happy to address. We will not entertain anymore financial compensation.

Thanks,

**** ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is the best
they can do. I appreciate the time of Mr. ******. I hope this was a learning experience for all. As a consumer I have the right to ask questions, read the fine print, and expect people to keep promises. Sorry for wasting anyone's time. I am sure your product is so well made we will not need service. But if we do need the unit serviced, unfortunately your representative will have to talk with me. Or me and my husband, if he is available . All of our time is very valuable and we try our best to work as a team.


Regards,

****** ******

9/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a $10,200 Coleman HVAC from Elmers in February of 2015. I was told by the sales person named ***** that my bill would be lower and I would be able to tell the difference in degree temperature. He told me that I wouldn't have to keep my thermostat so low. 78 would be comfortable. Our first problem was our bedroom was not cooling with the new system. My personal thermometer said 84 degrees and my thermostat said 76. Elmers came in March and apparently adjusted it. Our second problem came when my March energy bill was over $200 when they said it was supposed to be less than $90. Elmers came out again to "adjust" the system. It is now July 24 and I have yet to have an energy bill under $200 and my bedroom is still 5 degrees warmer than the thermostat. Elmers has come out multiple times every time I call about the bedroom and each month that I have a high energy bill. However every time they have come out to "adjust" nothing changes. Every time I call the office now I get another person that I have to explain the situation to and the sales person has not responded to my call in over a week. After spending $10,200 on a system and 6 months with a high energy bill they still have not helped me, fixed my system or made me a priority.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund or a replacement of a system that actually works.

Business Response: We have responded to numerous versions of these complaints via the emails you guys provide. We completely removed the entire system and upgraded to a state of the art two stage 18 SEER complete system to demonstrate our dedication to customer service to Mr Cervantes on 9/02/2015. This had a value of over 12,750.00 that we lost in proving our commitment. We will not be taking any further action with Mr ********** have communicated to him we will take care of him. 

9/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our air conditioning went out 8/5/15, I called for a diagnostic, was told what we needed, applied for financing, and told to expect technicians between 8-9a.m. 8/6/15. At 8:15a.m. 8/6/15, I received a call that technicians were on their way. At 9:40, the technicians had yet to arrive. I called and was told to expect a call back. At 10:10a.m. I called again because I never got a call back. At that time, I spoke to a different person who already knew why I was calling because she was next to the person who took my last call. She told me they had been delayed and were on the way. The technicians showed up at 11:34a.m. At 3:50p.m. I was told the unit was leaking and a new one had to be delivered. It is now 7:16p.m. and still no unit. I asked to see the work order because I had not been given one the day before, and the work order said the cost was $2,622. When the technician called to verify amount, the charge was $4,498. There is no structure, the technicians are 1 month new to the company, the call center reps are also 1 month new (and less). I asked for a managers name and number, a supervisors name and number, and a call by either one. No call took place. It is now 7:33p.m., the new unit has arrived, and it does not match my indoor unit. The technicians told me, someone has to be here tomorrow to install the correct one.

Desired Settlement: Desired outcome would be a full refund. I will settle for at least half.

Business Response: Ms. ********* received the correct unit the very next day, based on wholesale error and communication with the delivery personnel.  The complaint was made the day of error, and we corrected as soon as possible. She stated at the time she was satisfied, and we assured her we would stand behind our mistakes. That does not mean we will be giving the job away. We will not be taking any action on further than correcting the situation as we did. We started and completed repairs and install within a 24 hour period from time of diagnosis. We are sorry for her frustration in having to buy new equipment and deal with the heat, but that does not translate into return of funds.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I spoke with a representative of that office, who assured me he would take my complaints back to his supervisor.  The reason I submitted the complaint the same day, was because up until that point (after 7pm),  the two technicians had to call another technician (who was at home) to come and find out why the units were not working.  I was told I would receive a call from the supervisor that day, and all I received was a text message from the sales person, stating (and I quote) " Im not in good cell area. Hear we have had a rough day of it.. ***** text me he's gonna get you cooling tonight. But wrong unit was sent after the first one had a leak.  I will get ******* to call you in AM.  My boss to see what we can do to make this long day right for you. Sorry. ******* at Elmers"  
The very next day the correct unit was in fact installed in record time.  I waited for a call all day from that ******* person, that never came.  If he did call, there was no voice mail, as I am not permitted to use my phone during business hours.  I got a call from my husband around 4:15 later that day, stating that the unit was on, and blowing warm air.  A technician showed up around 5:30, and we started getting cool air again within a couple of hours.  Later that week on the 11th, I sent a message to the representative who said he would take my complaints to his supervisor, stating "I still have not heard from ******** or my sales person ******* regarding my complaints".  At this time, I assume the reason I have not, is because I reported this complaint.
At minimum, I want $417 refunded back to me for lost wages for myself (the day of the proposed services) and for my husband (the following day - for corrections on previous days service).  I believe that is fair for having been the run around, followed by worse and worse service throughout the day.  Poor planning, and poor communication is ultimately what led to the horrible customer service I received.  Even the technicians, whom I made sure stayed hydrated having to wait around all day, were as frustrated as me and my household.

Regards,
******* *********

Business Response: The management team was not made aware of Ms. *********'s desire to have management call and speak with her. When the technician was present to correct the issue would have been the time to call and speak with management about what can be done. Instead she did not allow management to continue to address or issue, but rather just filed a complaint while in the middle. The assumption was that she was happy with the correction that were made. We will be happy to work with her, and find a solution for her. Please have her call our office and ask for ******* ***** or **** ******.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response at the moment because until we actually resolve this issue, it has not yet been resolved.  I spoke with three employees of this company, the afternoon that all the problems started, stating my want to speak with ******** because all three employees told me he was the one I needed to speak with. They also told me that the sales person ******* (my sales person) promised/sold services that could not be performed.  ******* himself, also texted me, saying he would have management call me the next day, and that did not happen.  I have saved all the text messages, with the phone numbers available for proof if need be.  The call center women I spoke with said that there was restructuring happening, and that no one really knew what was going on.  ********, the last one I spoke with and barked at for not calling me back with an update (at 10:45 am) as to where my technicians were (promised between 8-9am), said she would let ******* know I was expecting a call.  After waiting a few more hours, and more conversation with the technicians at my house, whom also informed the business I expected a call, no call was received.  I called back around 4:30, spoke with ******** again, and when I told her what I was waiting for, she informed me he had already left for the day.  To tell me, no one was aware of my wishes is bull.  Had I been given an actual satisfactory survey, my real feelings would have been transparent, a month ago!

I will most definitely be calling tomorrow, hopefully by 10a.m., and I hope to actually speak with someone, and not be asked "What's a good number to call you back at?"
The third time I was asked that in one day, I asked to be put on hold because no one was capable of returning a phone call.  The operator's response was, "I'm sorry, I've only been here about a month, and the other girl has barely been here two weeks."

Regards,

******* *********

4/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I terminated my contract on January 30, 2015 with this company due personal circumstances beyond my control. I requested my prepaid monies to be refunded back to me. I had prepaid a total of $25800.00 to this company. The sum of $7300.00 was paid for the initiating of the contract and a second sum $18500.00 was for the first payment to start construction (which was never started). I first requested my $18500.00 to refunded back to me several times. This company would ignore my requests, then finally after several trips to their office and asking several times and they relented and refunded my $18500.00 Then two weeks ago I sent the company a certified letter to the 2 principals involved and requested that my contract to be cancelled. In the letter I told them if I owe any money to them show me the invoice and I will pay what I owed but since no work has been done I should not owe anything. In the letter I requested them to respond with in 5 days of receiving my letter, no one did. I placed a call to the owner of the company and requested that he return my deposit of $7300.00 and asked if he received my letter, he said " He would look into it" (being certified yes he did received it). To this day I have not received a phone call, or any explanation as what they are going to do. I do not know if the BBB can help me, if not then you need to direct me to a suitable lawyer. I know I have given them enough time to respond.

Desired Settlement: I want what is owed to me. I will gladly pay any billable hours incurred and reasonable penalties due the contract cancellation. I do not think I incurred $7300.00 of billable hours or penalties. I need my $7300.00 back.

Business Response:

 Re: ****** ******* - Complaint #******** 

Here is the contract that the customer signed. On pdf labeled ******* Contract, that is the back of the contract they signed. 8. General portion B, is where it states the 20%  may not be refunded if the contract is broken for any reason if after the 72 Hour rule. Please let me know if I need to still log in and respond to the complaint. The last time I did this morning it stated no response was necessary. 

Thanks

4/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A technician was called out to inspect our 5 1/2 year old ac unit. The technician told my wife that the unit was operating in emergency mode. He falsely claimed that meant the unit was about to go out. The technician assured her that preventative maintenance in the form of a new unit would insure no down time when the weather got hot. She decided to replace the existing unit based on the false information that the ac unit was about to go out. Because of my heavy work schedule, my wife didn't tell me about the ac replacement until 2 months after the install when she finally explained what happened and that she had not yet received any warranty or other paperwork.

Desired Settlement: I want my old unit back.

Business Response: This information is not complete or accurate. The reason the 5 ton air handler was replaced was due heavy corrosion on the heat absorption system (coils). The system was very low on refrigeration charge, indicating that the system had a leak present at the air handler's coils. The wife was explained this, and agreed to replace the system for 5746.00. We also through our plumbing company replaced the water heater for 1900.00, and combined the customer paid 7646.00. The wife was informed and aware of what was being presented to her. I can not help if he does not like the price, and she did not tell him for two months of the situation. That is not a business affair, but rather a personal affair among themselves. We will be more than happy to address providing another copy of the proposal and warranty agreement (10 years parts and labor) that she signed in order for us to move forward with a purchase of equipment. The technician did not miss represent that maintenance and a new air handler would be a positive choice for making sure the system performed through the summer heat. Furthermore, we were there on four separate occasions, and would have gladly addressed any concerns. These four trips were 1/28/2015, 2/09/2015, 2/19/2015, and most recent 4/2/2015.  Since the husband is addressing two months later, and was not present for any of the four visits. We do not feel this is a valid dispute to have. It is hard to believe that a system and water heater were replaced and he was not maid aware of this in time to address.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because their response is laughable.  They were called out on a routine semiannual inspection.  During the prior year when they were called out for a similar inspection, the technician told me the unit needed to be replaced.  I got a second opinion and was informed that there was no need for replacement.  Since that time, the unit worked fine.  I reject the assertion that the unit had problems.       
    In addition, the unit was only 5 1/2 years old.  It still had approximately 5 years of life left.  If one were to assume that the company is providing a 10-year warranty on the new unit, one should reason that at least 4 1/2 years of life still existed on the old unit. 
    Later, a company representative informed me telephonically that the culprit who suggested my wife buy the new ac unit had been fired. If true, it was a little late!
    With respect to the water heater, the company representative informed my wife that new water heaters were coming out that would cost twice as much because of new standards.  While it is true that new water heater standards are coming, replacement cost may be as much as $100 more, not twice as much as the older models.  This is just one more example of scare tactics employed by this unscrupulous vendor to create sales.
    Finally, I still do not have a manufacturer warranty.  I question how valid the vendor's warranty is.  All they have to do is go out of business, change their business ID and I have no warranty on the existing unit.  The warranty they say they gave me is scratched on a plain piece of paper that certainly would not stand up in court.  
     While I did not discover this fiasco until 2 months after the fact, I still have a brain.  I have witnessed first-hand their deceptive sales practices in the past.  This company replaced a unit that was approximately at half life.  As far as I am concerned, I am out half the value of an ac unit without a valid warranty on the new one. These guys are a real joke!       
 
Regards,
**** *********

Business Response: This customer replaced the condensing unit to the system in question in 2012, and the reason for recommendation is because the system presented low refrigeration and corrosion present from a leak in the refrigeration system of the indoor coil. The customer was presented 6 options ranging from 2989.00 to 7646.00. They chose the most expensive option, and we present options so the client is in control of their choices. The basic option would have corrected the problem, and came with warranty. No person at this company made false claims about the system or the need for a new water heater. The customer was in complete control of the choices made. We made recommendations in the past because the system was showing long term reliability issues. We do not control the durability of systems, we simply warranty the equipment we install to make sure of the benefit. If the client felt we were misrepresenting ourselves in the past, then he should not have called upon us again. We do not make up issues to sell equipment. We are forced by law to stand behind our claims, and a poorly performing air handler can damage a new condensor's compressor. The customer has a five year warranty and service plan, this is to ensure the equipment lasts during the manufacturer's warranty. He has five years on parts. labor, and equipment. All companies have the risk of going out of business, but we feel the company will be here to honor its warranty regardless of customers opinion. His warranty is through us and Goodman on the system. He can review his Goodman warranty online with simply imputing the model and serial number. The equipment is registered.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because I know the deceptive sales tactics were used on a repeated basis to my detriment.  I do not intend to pursue this matter further and I do not anticipate any resolution.  The simple fact is that I should not have dealt with this company.  As the company representative suggested, it is my fault for working with a company that I knew to be dishonest.  I knew better.  Too bad that my wife did not. 

Regards,
**** *********

4/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* *. Came out and gave us quote on 12-15-14 of $6600.00 and told us we would get a price breakdown per technician ( water heater tech and furnace a/c tech) and it was not provided. He also said we could get CPS rebate and use for tax credits. I called 8 times over 3 weeks trying to get a breakdown and never received a return call and when I asked for the supervisor I was told he was out in the field and could not be reached. Finally I insisted on speaking with supervisor and ***** set up an appointment for us to come in and speak with ******* *****. He said he could not provide us with a breakdown because they don't have one but he offered to extend our warranty and $600 for the charge of an a/ c leak repair that ****** installer stated we did not have after he checked by pressurizing our a/ c unit. I stated that is why we wanted a breakdown because we were charged for services not even performed. We walked away with no breakdown because they could not provide us with one. My husband said we signed off for services because we were told we would know exactly what we were being charged. ******* said he couldn't do anything else but offer the extended warranty and $600 since we caught that charge listed on quote and told my ****** there was no leak.i kept all notes; paperwork and emails between myself and ******* where he says he doesn't have a breakdown except the workorder that didn't add up to $6600.00 and it only showed total. After ******* said we could get CPS rebate he says our units dont qualify so he lied to us and we told ******* that. ******* said he was unhappy with how we were treated and would talk to ******* and ***** who would not have anyone return our calls. Now I called last week on 2/19/15 asking for Manufacture certificate for water heater and furnace installed for income tax purposes and I received one email from ***** Neidig who sent me an owners manual and I told him we need manufacture certificate that shows energy efficiency rating. He said he would have ******* call us back. It is now 6 days later and I sent 3 more emails and received no response by email or phone. ***** also told me he couldnt give me a manufactures certificatefor furnace because that's a different person I need to get with.

Desired Settlement: I want a breakdown of charges for original work and equipment installed. I want a refund of overcharges and my Manufactures certificates for my water heater and furnace. I also want proof that they registered our ac unit. All they did was say sorry and try to get rid of us with extended warranty since they cant explain our charges (OVERCHARGES). I can neverget a return phone call ever. I have called and emailed numerous times. Ive spoken with *****, *******, *******, ***** and *****a. I am stuck again.

Business Response:

Service Manager asked Mr & Mrs ******** to stop by the office to take care of the matter at their convenience. 

Agreed on upgrade on warranty and $600.00 check they received and were happy on 01/08/2015.

Work was done & complete on 12/16/2014

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

We went in requesting details of charges, we were told they did not have a breakdown. We stayed that our work order stated that a leak on our air condition unit was fixed. ****** the installer told us there was no leak, I asked for a refund for that service because it was not done. That is the reason we received $600 check and we were offered extended warranty for our inconvenience and time lost. We still do not have a breakdown of charges so we don't know what the $6600.00 was used for, we don't know how much we were charged for the water heater, furnace or labor. I'm still waiting for our spec sheet/ manufacture certificate that we requested over a week ago. I was emailed by **** that I would have that by yesterday. We were told by ******* *. That we would have a breakdown of the $6600.00 when work was completed back in December and we still do not have it. How do we know we weren't overcharged. We only caught the overcharge on the work order because we were told by your installer that we never had a leak. It is not good business to not be able to provide your customers with a breakdown of charges, we want to know where the $6600 was applied. It seems like you cannot provide this breakdown because you overcharged us for service. We still need a breakdown, have not received information on furnace or proof that a/c unit was registered.
Regards,

***** & ******** ********

Business Response:

I will be taking the lead on this complaint. I am working on getting the breakdown of the Coil and Furnace replacement. The reason for the lack of breakdown is we are a flat rate company that uses the one simple price structure on the replacement of equipment that all associated costs and ****ups combined for our offerings. The water heater was a flat rate of $1689.00, and the replacement of the coil and furnace where valued at $4311.00 ($4911.00 -$600.00) after the credit that ******* extended. The warranty was extended through our company, so this is not reflective with the manufacturers. I will start to work on verifying the registration of equipment from the manufactures and the registration cards. I will also, work on extending the breakdown on the coil furnace for the customer to see the value in the one simple price structure. I deeply apologize for the confusion in providing the consumer with detailed breakdowns, but this is not something that is available to all for control measures internally with our business structure. At no point is our intent to mislead or make a customer feel that a service offered is not of the value offered through the use of one simple price. Thank you to you and the customer for your willingness to continue addressing the matter.

Cordially, 

**** ******

###-###-####

****@ontimeelmer.com 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Thise amounts you are listing does not add up with what we discussed with *******. ******* took off $600 from what our total was ($6600) because we looked into our work order. ******* charged us for repairing a leak on our outside A/C unit. When ****** (installer) came he told us that we did not have a leak in our outside A/C unit and he knew this because he pressurized the unit and found no leak. This is the whole reason we are going through this now. ******* did say that he would talk to Mathew because he gave us a lot of incorrect information as we found out after the fact. ******* did not discount us, he refunded a charge for work that was not done. So now we are questioning what you have charged us. We would not have agreed to the amount of $6,600 if we knew that work was written up to be done and not needed. That is also why we feel we are being overcharged, even after ******* refunded $600 we were never supposed to be charged to begin with. $6600 is a lot of money to pay for the furnace, coil and water heater when you research the cost of those items online they are nowhere close to what we are being charged. Especially now that we know that we were overcharged and told that we had problems with our systems that never existed. 
Regards,

***** & ******** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I would like to reject the offer of Mediation for complaint ID ********.

Regards,

***** & ******** ********

2/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing about the over charges and deceptive practices by Elmers One Hour Air Conditioning. They damaged my new wooden floor in the process of replacing my old heating furnace and air conditioning blower unit with the new equipment. They delayed for 8 weeks to send the operating instructions for a new thermostat they installed, despite their weekly promises to send it. After they installed a heating furnace and air conditioning blower unit, I found out from other well-known A/C companies that they were charging approximately $4600 (parts and labor) for the exact same equipment that Elmers One Hour charged me $7100 (parts and labor). I told Elmers One Hour that they overcharged me and they said they would look into this matter but they never called me back. Elmers One Hour also illegally opened up a Wells Fargo credit card account in my name without my approval to pay off the balance (over $2000) of the total amount they were charging. I initially paid them $5000 by check for part of the total $7100 charge and paid the balance of the charge with my credit card (not Wells Fargo). I called Elmers about the questionable credit card account they opened up in my name and they said they would look into this matter. They never responded.

Desired Settlement: Pay me the difference between what Elmer's charged me, $7100, and the common charge ($4600) by several other air conditioning companies for the same equipment.

Business Response: Mr. ****** agreed to get work done at the time. With his permission and authorization we got work done.  Attached is prof of paperwork that he approved us to run credit for his payment.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I agreed that Elmer's could use my credit card to pay for the balance I owed.  their use of my credit card (VISA) for me to pay the balance I owed is definitely NOT same as my authorization for them to open up a credit card account in my name without my approval.

Regards,

****** ******

1/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased a Silver Membership for the yearly maintenance in 03-06-14 and i was told by tech that i would get a air conditioning maintenance in july. that it would automatically be scheduled since the contract goes into the system. well in august i get a call and i am told my scheduled maintenance will be December 1st and i asked why they said due to short staff. I then asked what about my summer maintenance they said that would carry over and i would get that in june or july , so i said ok. well this call was since august and december comes and no one shows on december 1st and so i called the company to asked what happened spoke with ***** and he checked the system and apparently i was not schedule for a maintemance so he then asked if he can schedule me for the 2nd i said yes after 2pm would be great since i had gotten off early for the day before the insure i was home. well my Scheduled appt for the december 2nd i get calls telling that they wont be able to come out to due to staff shortage. I then explained the situation about I having to get off early. So They schedule for later and I spoke with ***** and he had told me he can have someone out by 430pm and so I called him at 530 and he said he was going to call tech and call feedback and he did said tech was finishing up n would get to my home soon . So 630 no tech no issac. So next day 12-3-14 spoke with ***** and he was surprised tech didn't show. He checked to see why and he then says they tried contacting u and u never answered so I replied if u and I communicated all day prior how is it I didn't answer I'm sure they the correct number u or the company provides them since I spoke with u and I got calls for scheduling and cancellation.then he says they couldn't find ur home. wow..so he then puts me on hold he spoke with his supervisor and offers me a duct cleaning. And that they can do both heating and air maintenance on the same day. Wow.. I said and how long will that take? A few hours I said u know if I can't get the membership service I bought Whispersync h was 2 times a year. And I have to be homebound that few hours just CANCEL my membership and REFUND me my money. it's December and my membership I bout in March for time and maintaining convince is almost over. So he transferred me to ****** and she said on 12-3-14 she would send email to finance department and they would contact me. She even confirmed me phone number. Today is 1-12-15 spoke with ****** again @ 9am she said she would call me in 15 min so she could look into it. No return call so I called @ 5pm she was gone for the day. So talking to ***** again he said he would have his regional manager call me (*******). So now today is 1-13-15 called @ 945am and ***** put me on hold and so then I get a woman who says ******* is in an interview he should be done soon he will call u pretty soon he is almost done. So I waited. Again today 1-13-15 @430pm I call and *****puts me on hold for 7 minutes asked if ******* was in he said he will call you right back I asked if could just hold transfer he then says he is out on the field. That he will be calling me right now. Since I have started this complaint process at 5pm which is now 6pm no call for. Anyone. Date bought 3-6-14 invoice#***** tech Jon job# 253838 paid $143.40.

Desired Settlement: Just want my money back for the membership I bought and never got priority service like it states. I would like it resolved quickly. Just like they charged me

Consumer Response:

Spoke with Mr ******* who is the supervisor and he did refund me my membership money in full and offered me a year free silver membership. he also had someone come out and give us the winter maintenance and duct sanitizing which cant be done until spring. so the out come is good pertaining to the refund. but all the other promises I will have to wait and see because even when they scheduled me between 9-11 am on Monday they didn't show until after the fact that I called him and he had someone show as soon as possible and they did at 12noon. so I can say he cares about his customers but to me if I still experienced an issue on a scheduled time which was done by the supervisor I can just not count his promises. but I will give them the benefit of a doubt to keep me as a customer.  thank you so very much for letting me use this site to get my issue resolved. 

thank you again

****** ******* 

 

12/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I began doing business with your company when my husband I purchased our home in April 2013. Since then we have trusted your company to provide heating and A/C services and even install a new Thermostat on 12/02/2013. After the installation, we had a new outside unit installed through our home warranty company, American Home Shield which we have since cancelled. Since cancelling our home warranty we decided that your company would be best to continue our heating and A/C services. However, during this last visit we were very displeased with the service that we received beginning with the call to schedule our appointment. Initially when I called to schedule I was expecting the $9 diagnostic appointment that is advertised via various communication channels for your company; however, upon scheduling I was informed that it would be $59. The weather had dropped in the 30’s so I made the appointment as we needed our heat working. After I made the appointment my husband had to call back to ensure that the service call would be dropped to $9. Then the day of the appointment on 11/13/2014, ******* came and “rewired” the upstairs unit but in reality I believe he just went outside and flipped the breaker. Before he “rewired “ I told him I was not sure yet if he should complete the “rewiring” he said if he didn’t then the service call would be $59 anyways so I might as well go ahead and get the service plus the $9 diagnostic fee. This seems unethical to force customers into paying more for services by indicating that if service is not completed the service fee would be increased. While here he also “inspected” our thermostat and indicated on the Work Performed Today section of the bill that he checked for proper operation of the system and that A/C was coming on when calling for heat, but really the A/C was not coming on and the thermostat was not functioning properly, which if he had checked it thoroughly he would have identified that. Since, my husband and I trusted the work performed by your company when the unit stopped functioning again we called the company who installed the outside unit to ensure that there was nothing in fact wrong with the outside unit causing the issues. They confirmed that the outside A/C unit was functioning properly but that the thermostat was faulty and should be replaced (installations of this thermostat was performed by your company on 12/02/2014) and that “rewiring” would not have resolved the issue. They did not perform any services at our request and we immediately called your company regarding the faulty Thermostat. However, now Elmer’s is refusing to remedy the situation that they have caused and should have identified during the 11/13/2014 visit. Your company practices are not trustworthy and you should at least honor the warranty time period to refund the money we paid to have a properly functioning thermostat. My husband and I spoke with Sandra on Friday December 5th and were guaranteed a call back from Darlene by Monday December 8th. However, no call was received to the contact number provided and now on December 10th I was placed on hold for nearly 40 minutes waiting to speak with Darlene only to have Heydis your lead dispatcher inform me that Darlene was not even at her desk. Based on my recent experiences, I will ensure that I strongly advise against using your company as they unprofessional, untrustworthy and take advance of customers.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the thermostat in that amount of $199 as it is faulty and will not work..

12/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 1, 2014 this company came out to do an inspection of our A/C unit. This unit was installed April, 2010 by another company that has since gone out of business. It came with 10 year warranty on all parts. That visit we paid $239.40 for a 1 year Prime Service contract. The initial technician said the unit looked great with the exception of the Ultra Violet unit that needed to be replaced. The following day he returned, replaced the unit and charged us $397.00. When we stated that the initial problem, an overly warm bedroom, was still a problem he said we would have to make another appointment to have the baffles in the attic adjusted. On July 15th, another technician came out. He stated the problem was with a circuit board in our unit that would cost $756.00 to replace. When we questioned if it wouldn't be covered under warranty he said he would check and get back with us the next day. A week went by and we didn't hear anything. After a week, I phoned again and was told they would have to check but, the technician would call me first thing the next morning. He never called. I telephoned the company again stating I was very dissatisfied with their service and wanted the monies we paid for the Prime Service Contract refunded. My call was transferred to a supervisor who asked that we give them one more chance. I agreed with the caveat the service fee be refunded if we still were not satisfied. He agreed and set up an appointment on Friday, July 25th for his "best" technician to come out between 9:00am - 11:00am. No one ever called or showed up. I phoned that afternoon again, requesting our Contract fee be refunded. Again, I was transferred to another supervisor who agreed a check would be sent. It is now Thursday, August 6th and no money has been refunded. I called again today and was told the check was mailed Saturday. ?????

Desired Settlement: A check for $239.40 for the Prime Service contract and a check for $397.00 for the ultra violet light that should have been covered by our warranty. (All prior inspections were done by the installing company prior to them going out of business.)

Business Response:

We did have some challenges and our new office staff didn't schedule even after our manager rescheduled we will get them a refund as requested.

I apologize for the inconvenience and are training our staff, but our errors are not your problem.

I am making sure we get a check out today!

Again I know I cant get rid of the frustration , training office staff has been a challenge the last couple of months but we will continue to train

***** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
The check should be in the amount of $397.00 and mailed to:  **** ***** ****** ****** *****, TX  *****

Regards,

***** ******

Business Response:

Sent: Wednesday, November 19, 2014 4:25 PM Subject: Elmers One hour < customer ***** ****** 

ok we have sent it certified mail ********************  is the receipt number!!!!

let me know if you need anything else ***** ******* ###-###-####

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a member of the "One Hour Comfort Club" since 3/6/2013. The cost for this service is $29.95, which is paid by automatic credit card debit each month. As a One Hour Comfort Club member, I am entitled to: A) One precision tune-up, professional cleaning and rejuvenation of my air conditioner plus one safety check annually (early spring to summer); B) One precision tune-up, professional cleaning, and rejuvenation of my furnace plus one safety check annually (early fall to winter). The problem is with the customer service call center at ###-###-####. I called this number on 6/5/2014, 6/11/2014 and 6/12/2014 in an effort to schedule an annual check of my A/C. Each time I was given a different excuse-- their computer system was not working, a dispatcher would call me back, etc. No one ever called me back. I even asked for a supervisor and was told she was not available. Finally, I was given an appointment for 6/26/2014. No one showed up or even called to cancel/reschedule. I called the company again on 6/27/2014 and 6/30/2014 and was given the same run around. I searched through my paperwork and found a local telephone number of ###-###-####, and was connected to what appeared to be the actual business. I have now been given yet another appointment for 7/9/2014. In the meantime, my credit card is being charged each month for the "comfort" of knowing I can call this company anytime I need service for my A/C.

Desired Settlement: I request performance of my annual A/C check as outlined in the "Once-Hour Comfort Club" contract followed by a cancellation of my membership. I would also like a refund to my credit card for July, 2014.

Business Response:

Trying to respond however this has been resolved refunded ?and serviced everything resolved.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

A routine check of our A/C system was performed on 7/9/2014 as requested.  However, service was originally scheduled for 6/26/2014, but no one showed up.

Our Club membership appears to have been cancelled as requested, as no automatic debit was charged to our checking account on 8/1/2014.  
  
No refund of our monthly service charge ($29.95) paid on July 1, 2014 has been received, as the business stated.  
  
Regards,

**** *********

Consumer Response:

*********,
We received a refund check from  One Hour Heating and AC. Thank you and the BBB for your help in getting this matter resolved. 

* *********

9/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Elmer's One Hour was contacted on Friday, 15 Aug 2014, at approximately 8:00 P.M. to repair our ****** **********l A/C System. Once the technician arrived, he determined that the run capacitor needed to be replaced. Additionally, while diagnosing the repair the technician determined that the compressor was pulling high amps. Therefore, the technician recommended that a start kit combo be installed to prolong the life of the A/C compressor. I informed the technician that according to the ****** website the A/C unit was still under a 5-yr parts warranty. The technician said that it was too late to contact ****** for a warranty call and that the Technician would usually contact ****** for a warranty check. However, because it was so late in the evening, I should call Elmer's Business Office on Monday with the Make, Model, and Serial number from our A/C to receive a credit from Elmer's for the warranty work completed and that Elmer's would contact ****** to resolve payment for the warranty work. Since the work has been complete, Elmer's has been contacted on three occasions Monday, 18 Aug 14, Tuesday, 19 Aug 14, and Friday, 22 Aug 14 to speak with a Manager to resolve the warranty work and receive a credit. On each occasion the business office has taken my information and promised that a manager would call me back. To date, a manager and/or business office personnel has not returned my phone call to resolve this issue.

Desired Settlement: Request a credit card refund for the parts replaced on my residential A/C unit covered under ****** 5-yr parts warranty.

Business Response: Ill look into this right away I just received the email and get it resolved asap

7/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response: Please note that the unit MPG is warranted however requires pads for maintenance to heed warranty active on all products installed by one hour. Please note we fed ex her filters and spoke with client and all seems to be well.

Thank you
******

5/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested that they stop billing me for their club membership. I still am being billed $19.95 a month for a membership I don't want.

Desired Settlement: I want them to stop billing me (it comes from auto-payment on my checking account that they should stop). A refund of the past month or two's payments is fair

Business Response:

THE BILLING HAS STOPPED WE TRIED CALLING CLIENT NA THNK YOU

4/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last night when temperatures were frigid we came home to a unit that would not blow heat. We called the number to have someone notified and to have a technician come out and they could not come out. Per our contract it states if within two years a unit breaks down they will give us 500.00 for our inconvenience. Well I really really am disappointed and angry that they could not come out last night. It was a very freezing night we have two children and our pets that we're freezing last night. It is bad business and unethical to "guarantee" 24-hr emergency services rain or shine, snow or ice, and not follow through with your end of the contract.

Desired Settlement: What our family would like is the $500.00 that is guaranteed to the customer if the unit breaks down within the first two years. The unit is brand new out of the box, inside and outside there should have been no reason for the unit to not work. Very very angry and dissatisfied with this business. To make matters worse my husband is a Wounded Warrior who has fought for his country and for this business to say that they "honor" Service-members is a lie, if they respected their reputation and their business they would have come out last night to fix the heat.

Consumer Response:

Yes they indeed stuck by what they advertise and gave us a $500.00 inconvenience fee. I hope and pray it never goes that route again.

Thanks,

******* ****

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July of last year, I had an emergency involving my air conditioning unit. It failed in less than six years on a new house. Elmer's one hour came out and installed the new unit immediately. That was a great job. However, subsequently, my insurance requested a report of what happened so subrogation could be undertaken to get some of, if not all of my out of pocket expenses returned to me. This totaled almost $10,000.00 out of pocket. It took Elmer's One hour 3 months to actually have a person come out and inspect the old unit and do the report-which was supplied to me as well as my insurance carrier. The Insurance carrier then requested a bit more information from Elmer's One Hour. It has now been 7 months that Elmer has not responded back to the Insurance company, nor to me. After repeated phone calls and promises to deliver, nothing has been done to help me rectify the situation. All is needed is some clarification on the report sent out previously and the company is failing to respond and the actions are not against Elmer's One Hour, but another vendor. Also, along with the $6700 expense for the unit, I paid Elmer $2200 for an ultra violet light to go in the previous unit that was not installed on the original unit-further bolstering my insurance claim

Desired Settlement: I would like Elmer's One Hour to finish the report they promised to give to the insurance carrier and send the information to them, so my claim can be brought to fruition. I would like this settled in a timely manner-considering it has been 9 months since the incident has occurred.

Business Response: Our ******* ******* spoke to and mailed *** ********** the info he needed *** ********** is happy has no other questions.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******
I am rejecting this response because:
no information has been mailed to me and I NOT spoken with any ******* ******* about this. I so reject I am happy because this represents two separate times thatT Elmer's One Hour has reporting agencies (ie BBB and ******* ****) by responding with Untruth.

Regards,
****** **********

Business Response:

Ok let me get with **** again he will call you before the end of the day

1/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: about two weeks ago I noticed a problem with our AC fan not blowing, I got on my computer and called on On time Elmer, I called late in the evening and they told me it would be a $149 charge to come out that evening. I declined since the weather had not been hot that eve and we could open the windows. They scheduled arrival for early the next day. ***** arrived on time and "diagnosed" the problem. A few components that were under warranty had failed, and there was a starter pack not installed from the factory or by the original install team at the time we purchased the home. He also recommended we get more airflow to the main unit in the attic so the blower would not have to work so hard. We went over some options and signed an agreement. He took my credit card and called in the numbers to the office. I THOUGHT I was paying a $400 dollar deposit instead the card was ran for the whole balance!!!! ALL of the parts except the starter pack were under warranty and the manufacturer replaced them, ***** did go pick them up and returned and installed them. He also said we would have to return Friday, this was a Tuesday I believe.... to finish. He said he wanted to send out his BEST TECH who was really good at putting in these air flow vents and that was the soonest he could get out. Well he came and went that Friday, He was in our attic for about 45 minutes or so. He came down and told my wife he was finished, said sign here and took off. I got home that night and we were in bed and the fan kicked on, I could hear a completely different noise from the way it sounded before he did anything in the attic, I chalked it up to this being more airflow and the unit is just going to sound different. Shortly after **** from Elmers called and said his tech in fact did NOT finish.. and they would have to return again Friday the 18Th!, They said they would be there between 12-2. SO my wife again took ANOTHER day off work since someone had to be there. **** called at 11:57, he said I am sorry but we will not make it today. 3 Techs were supposed to be coming and he told me ALL of them called in...I spent the majority of the day chasing a mysterious person who works for them who is the ONLY one in the company who can process a refund on a credit card... HA!!!! The run around this company has given me is text book and believe me , they are good at it.... I have been hung up on, transferred and left on hold and told over and over again... I am sorry but there is nothing I can do. They are RUDE, Arrogant, and if they were my employess they would be unemployed!!! I have asked MANY MANY times to speak with the owner and ****** in the office seriously tried to tell me, he doesn't have a phone???? And he cant be contacted???? Who do yall really think your fooling??? ******* is the last clown that I have had the pleasure in dealing with, He was supposed to call me today 21 Oct and he was going to meet me at my office at 9 am or shortly after, guess what still MIA, We have spoke numerous times today and his last promise was he was supposed to be at my office at 4:30 he accidently called me and left me a 3:29 second message before he was supposed to be here. He said he was talking to his "supervisor" about getting the refund approved and we would get it all on paper at 4:30. Well in this voicemail he sure sounds like a classy guy.... I really didn't need to hear about your "*******" And how your booze bottle got stolen out of your truck, I got the message saved just in case any of your "supervisors" would like to hear it... 4:30 came and went, what do you know..... He said he cant make it but wants to meet me at 10 am.... I am seriously done waisting any more breath or time on these Jokers. I want a refund of my money period. I AM PURSUING legal action with this as well, and I will be hiring another AC contractor for a second opinion on the status of my AC to see if anything has been damaged, due to there incompetence. When you call them they say, "where we are always on time or you don't pay a dime" Stand behind it then. All I originally wanted was the work to be completed but since you cant make hardly ONE appointment on time, I want it refunded, I will be happy to pay a bit for labor on the part(s) that were under warranty that were installed

Desired Settlement: $1625 Dollars returned that was processed WITHOUT my acknowledgement or permission

Business Response: Mr ****** we already refunded over $1300.00 and did resolve it with him he's all taken care of 

1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/16/13 repairs were made to my air conditioning system so it would run more efficiently. The following day when I turned on the air conditioner, I found out that the drain pipe was not secured when water began leaking from my ceiling, which damaged my ceiling and the area rug. A repair person came out and did a temporary fix. On Sunday, 11/18, additional repairmen came out to make the larger repairs. However, repairmen had to come out four more times to finally get the system repaired. Repairs to my ceiling took seven days. While the company paid for the repairs, I needed someone to be there while the workmen were there because I had to be at work. I had someone who does home repairs make sure that everything was going well and reporting back to me. For his time, this person charged $1050. He also bought 2 gallons of primer and paint for a total cost of $120 as he had recently painted my home and I wanted to make sure that I would be getting the same quality and color of paint. His total bill for services and paint/primer came to $1170. Additionally, the original bid called for the installation of 3 return vents. As it turned out, only two could be installed, yet I was charged the full amount of the original bid that was for 3 return vents. I have not yet been reimbursed for the site management fees and primer/paint nor the cost of the return vent and associated labor costs that were not necessary. During the seven days of repair, my home was in disarray and I had to cancel a party I had planned to have. I have been more than patient with this company in making the repairs needed, even though they had to continually be called back. They make promises about paying me what is owed, but do not follow through.

Desired Settlement: I expect a refund for $1170 plus the cost of the air vent and associated costs that were charged, but were not installed.

Business Response:

***** ******** we also paid her the full amount sheiks also happy With the resolution, the plumbing company and electricians had part in the damages too, we paid off the $1170 for the supervisor she hired and we are trying to collect from the other companies , but we paid her because we wanted her to be happy

9/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called the business and asked if they could do payment plans on repairs of air conditioners because we have little money and no air. They were told the situation and they said we work with all kinds of financial situations. The technician comes to our home, checks the unit for leaks and said he could not find any. Said he replaced a capacitor and the unit needed yearly maintenance. We gave him all our money and thought it was repaired. Went to bed, awakened the next morning and it was hot again. 0ver 90 inside our home. We have asthmatics here and heart problems. Called back and they are wanting more money! I asked what the $464 dollars we gave them was for. Well, because the technician put on the receipt that there could be possible leaks, then we have to pay MORE money! So we basically gave them our last $500 and still have no air!

Desired Settlement: I would like them to come back out without the expensive service fee and work with us on a payment plan as they said they would.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Sent: Wednesday, September 04, 2013 11:14 AM



The situation has been resolved concerning my complaint.



Regards,

**** *****

8/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service