Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Comfort Design

Phone: (210) 775-1588 View Additional Phone Numbers 626 Isom Rd, San Antonio, TX 78216

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Comfort Design meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Comfort Design
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1986 Business started: 03/13/1985 in TX Business started locally: 03/13/1985 Business incorporated 12/16/2003 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Thomas J. Damiani, Managing Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas J. Damiani, Managing Member
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Contractor - Insulation Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Energy Conservation Products & Services Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Air Duct Systems Air Duct Repair Energy Service Companies

Alternate Business Names
TJD Comfort LLC
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Comfort Design has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 626 Isom Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78216 (210) 775-1588 (210) 646-9600 (210) 775-6545


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June 2016 I contacted ********* Comfort Design due to having issues with the air conditioner in my home not getting cold. The technician who came out indicated the system was old and would need to be replaced soon however he indicated that he would be able to repair the system where I will be able to get cold air. The technician repaired the system and told me the air conditioner should soon blow cold air. The technician also explained the service plan to me which I agreed to purchase. After collecting $268.13 the technician left the location. I waited for an entire day and realized the system was still not getting cold. It was the weekend so I waited until Monday before re-contacting *********. I let them know the system is still not getting cold. This was 1 ½ days following the first technician repairing the system. A second technician from ********* was sent to my home. The second technician informed me the air condition compressor was out due to the age of the system. I iterated to the second technician how the previous technician made repairs under the pretext of repairing the system. The second technician let me know he is pretty certain the compressor was not working when the first technician came out to my home and due to the age of the system it is not recommended that any repairs be done to try and repair the system. I contacted ********* to explain what transpired with the two technicians and that I wanted a refund of the fee I paid in the amount of $268.13 because the system never got cold and the air condition compressor was out when the first technician came to my home. The management at ********* stated they are not going to give me a refund because the technician performed work on the system regardless of whether it worked. I related to management this is unacceptable and that I will be reaching out to the BBB to try and resolve this situation. I was told to do whatever I feel I need to do but under no circumstance will ********* Comfort Design award me a refund.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund because the 1st technician knew the compressor was out. The 1st technician should not have done any work on the system and taken my money, not to mention selling me a service plan on a system he KNEW was irreparable because of the age of the system. I contend that ********* knowingly and intentionally defrauded me.

Business Response:

Dear Ms ****** **************,

I have reviewed your situation and I take complaints very serious.  I am the king of taking care of customers when it is warranted.  I reviewed the tickets in question and have attached them.  

On 8/12/16 technician #1 came out.  His words were as follows

"found bad dual capacitor's and replaced.  Found worn contactor, outdoor fan motor & dirty coil.  Replaced filter.  System appears to be overcharged on R-22.  Over all equipment is very old & in poor condition.  Compressor sounds terrible & pulling very high amps.  It is very likely system will fail in the near future.  Recommend replacing equipment ASAP."

On 8/16/16 technician #2 came out and this is what he found:

"Found compressor ground.  Did multiple checks on compressor and breaker to make sure.  Customer wants a quote on a new system."

I then called both technicians and spoke to them about your situation.  While, I feel bad that the capacitors didn't achieve what you wanted, I feel technician #1 was very clear and specific with your situation.  He informed me that the goal was to see if you could get more life out of the systems and not have to spend money on a new system now.  I like that my technicians give options and are not all about just changing out equipment.  That is what makes my company low pressure and we always try and do what is best for the client.  It seems like this just didn't work.  On the invoice he is clear that the compressor was in bad shape.  

The charge was $272.00.  What I can offer you is a credit of $272 towards the purchase of a new system from my company.  Because of all that you have gone through I would be willing to add $228 to that amount and make it an even $500 discount towards the purchase of a new system.  Based on what both technicians stated the equipment is very old and is in need of repair anyway.  I hope this helps you and feel free to give me a call if you would like to speak to me directly.  



*** ******* - Owner

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Mr. *******,

While I appreciate your offer to give me credit on a new system I will decline that offer.

The reason there is time between when the technicians came out is because the 1st technician came out on Friday. I did not call until Monday to say the system never got cold because your website states there is an extra charge if you come out on the weekend and I did not want to pay an extra fee.

As I have stated previously, the system never got cold. It is true that your technician stated he will try and patch the system together so that I can get cold air however, that never happened. As a professional I expect that the technician should have known the system was not repairable. The system should have been tested prior to the technician leaving the property to make sure it was going to get cold. He did not do this.

The fact remains not one thing changed when your technician came out to repair this system no matter what work he performed. The sole purpose for hiring ********* was to have cold air in this home for the mentally disabled and you did not provide that. This would be like taking your vehicle in for repair, they work on your vehicle under the pretext of repairing it but you end up leaving the shop with the same issue you came in with. That would be unacceptable in that instance and it is unacceptable in this one. Customers depend on the professionals (in this case *********) to do what is best but in this case you did not. Once I said I was not interested in purchasing a new system the technician decided to do whatever he needed to do to get my money.

Besides the previous stated information, per your documentation, the 1st technician wrote, “…found bad dual capacitors and replaced”.  I have learned that putting a new capacitor into an old unit will often cause the unit to overwork, overheat and fail.  This is information that should have been known by your technician. I was never informed of this.

The 1st technician also stated, “Found worn contactor, outdoor fan motor & dirty coil”. He never offered to clean the coil which is something else that will help make the system run more sufficiently. If he was truly doing what is best for the customer, should I have not been informed of this information? However, I was not because the technician knew the compressor was out.

You are attempting to justify charging me $272.00 but the bottom line is that you did not help me get cold air. What your company has done is unacceptable and unprofessional and no matter how you try and justify it, you have defrauded me out of my money and I would like a full cash refund.



****** **************

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Comfort Design
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart