Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bodine-Scott Air Conditioning

Phone: (361) 883-1900 Fax: (361) 884-1234 View Additional Phone Numbers 5638 Bear Ln, Corpus Christi, TX 78405 http://www.bodinescott.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bodine-Scott Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bodine-Scott Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Bodine-Scott Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 12, 1996 Business started: 07/12/1996 Business started locally: 07/12/1996 Business incorporated 04/07/2000 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joe Dominguez, Service Manager Mr. Chris Mundahl, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Dominguez, Service Manager
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Plumbers Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heaters - Repairing Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Wind Energy Systems Propane Gas Plumbing Water Heaters - Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Energy Audits Air Conditioning Repair Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers Solar Energy System Design & Installation Contractors - Solar Energy

Alternate Business Names
A C Distribution, Inc. Advantage Air Conditioning Co. Air Pro Mechanical Bodine-Scott Plumbing Mr. K Wiggins Heating & Air Conditioning
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bodine-Scott Air Conditioning has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5638 Bear Ln

    Corpus Christi, TX 78405 (361) 653-2407 (361) 883-1900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ***** installed/maintained the AC systems at our residence for 25 years plus. A few years ago they installed a new cooling system. The installation was shoddy and repair work did not remedy the problems. Problems: AC unit shut down because the condensed water did not drain. Technicians tried at least twice unsuccessfully fix this problem. Tonight water is dripping from the ceiling. A bucket filled up in less than two hours. In my opinion there are two problems with this installation: 1. The UNSUPPORTED plastic drain pipe (approximately 10 to 12 ft. long) with cover has sagged beyond redemption preventing drainage. 2. The P-Trap is not over the drain pan

Desired Settlement: Install the system properly.

Business Response:

In response to case # ********, ******* 411 Naples Str.                                                                         August

18,2012 Mr. ******* purchased an evaporator coil and condensing unit, during the install we adapted to the existing ducting, refrigerant lines, and drain lines as noted on the agreement. On October 12, 2012, the system stopped cooling due to a clogged drain line. A repair was made at no cost to the customer for this service. A service call for a water leak was called in on November 03, 2014. By November 21, 2014 Mr. ******* purchased a gas furnace from us and adapted to all existing equipment. June 14,2015 a water leak was called in, being a Sunday afternoon I had no information of any history in front of me. Technician stated that the customer was very upset, a decision was made to do a repair at a discounted rate. Not having all the materials needed for this job, I instructed the tech to pick up 10 feet of pvc sch-40 pipe. Retail cost per foot is $7.05 x 10' = $70.05. looking on the invoice we only charged for 1 foot of pvc pipe. Out of the entire time spent on the job I advised the tech to only charge 1 hour of labor ( $115.00) and not the full amount that would have been from 12:12 - 15:00, over three hours. Reasonably since the unit was installed in 2012, and the previous leak on 11/3/14, we had to collect the discounted amount that is on the invoice. Mr. ******* has been a customer of ours for a long time, as he stated for over 25 years. We know now how old the original piping or plumbing is. The problem we had on this day, the technician noted that the original drain line was bent due to the extreme heat in the attic (124 degrees). A picture was taken of the pipe while in its original location with a thermometer next to it. Attics do get very hot, but at this temperature I can understand pvc becoming flexible. We are not sure how old the home is, but if any changes have been made in the past such as changing the roof from a wood shingle to composition, this may cause the attic temp to rise. We do not specialize in roofing, I would recommend seeking the advice of a roofer if the attic ventilation is adequate. Please review the invoice attached and take in consideration the disputed amount of $300.00 was already granted at the time of service. Thank you.

Your message is ready to be sent with the following file or link attachments:

Service_Report_*********************

Business Response:

Mr. *******,

On the signed agreement, we do not assume any duty to repair or replace any existing problems, which are not specifically listed as work and services to be performed. We assume no duty to discover any concealed conditions or unknown physical conditions, which are not exposed and are not readily available for visual inspection. Specifically, we assume no responsibility for problems with non- replaced ductwork, non-replaced equipment, condensation drains lines, mold or mildew, unless specifically contracted and paid for these services. The plumbing section of the proposal is clearly marked rework existing drain. The electrical section is also clearly marked rework existing . Ductwork is marked, adapt to existing, none of these sections were agreed or selected at the time of sale for you to contract us to provide: All new drains, and ducting. All new electrical which we are not license for.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             On any service call a service / diagnosis fee is always applied. This is not labor, the old pipe that you brought into our lobby appeared to be 10 feet. The technician who was reimbursed for buying the pvc pipe out of his own pocket also confirmed the length was 10 feet. Sir the invoice still shows one foot of pipe. I am no expert on roofing, out of the 27 years I have in this industry I have witnessed excessive heat causing pipes to bend on a few occasions. The cause was changes within the structure such as not enough ventilation in the attic. I am not trying to shift blame, but only trying to come up with a thought to prevent this from happening again. Going back and forth is not resolving anything . what I can do is offer you a one year maintenance contract at no charge. We want to make sure after replacing the existing pipe, your system will continue to run without having this same issue.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               Thank you.   

*** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I agree going back and forth is not resolving anything.  Regrettably, I have been stating my case with your company since the issue arose. I lament that the Bodine-Scott that provided me great service for 25 + years, is no more. 


Regards,

******* *******

7/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a new A/C unit installed in our home. 1.5 years later the unit flooded the attic and water drained through the ceiling into the kitchen and pantry. We did not get an extended warranty and thus only had the 1 year warranty. I'm fine with this, we refused the offer and took our chances. So we paid $1000's for the repair to the attic, sheetrock, paint, replaced float switches etc. to fix the unit. Less than 8 months later the same thing happened again. ******-***** refused to pay for the damage. Refused to pay for the repair of the float switch and when we had a alternate company look at the work they did they found the float switches, which are supposed to shut the unit down for a specific case like this were improperly installed. *****-***** still refuses to pay for damages. Additionally they would not come to repair the unit for a week, with water leaking through the ceiling into light fixtures we told this was unacceptable. They still would not send a technician for a week. Terrible company. Terrible service. They were act reputable when I paid them to install the unit, repair the unit, however when it broke again they still refuse to admit any wrong doing. A/C systems, especially newly install and repaired should not flood your attic. The company has not responded to multiple phone calls and attempts by myself and my wife to rectify the situation

Desired Settlement: I would like ******-***** to cover the new damaged and repair to the unit. Additionally I desire re-imbursment for the first set of damages, since the system still did not operate properly once repair was completed. The unit was never properly installed. My Bills for the first repair ****** has on fill. I have the paper-work for the contractor who replaced the ceiling. I also have the bills for the new repair and have a contractor schedule to begin work this week

Business Response:

I have included a copy of my report from  9/17/2014, when the call came in as water damage. The system that was installed on 1/15/2013 was already out of its first year warranty. During my visual inspection and interview with the renter, I have reason to believe the results from the damage is a combination of lack of maintenance and keeping the system at a very low temperature (68-70) with a dirty filter. I understand another A/C company may have said it was a bad install, that would be the opinion of a competitor. The install guide from the manufacture is left with the equipment. Also a permit was purchased from the City of ********** on 1/15/2013. I have explained these concerns with ***.

****** by phone while I was on site at the time of service from the said date of my report. Gave customer a reasonable price to repair internal damage to the equipment, and recommended a license company to perform all service and maintenance.

Service Mgr. ***

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The receipt provided was a result of the 1st episode the A/C unit caused the damage to the house.  ****** ***** was hired to perform all A/C maintenance at the time.  I do not recall ever having received this invoice prior to seeing it in here.  
 
The complaint is in regard to a 2nd failure of the overflow switch which ****** ***** installed(Which the provided invoice indicates).   ****** ***** would not come down to look at our unit that was draining through the ceiling into kitchen for a week.  We then got a 2nd licensed company to come out the day of, to prevent further damage.  The work performed was due to the failure of the overflow sensor that should stop the unit from running.    

Regards,

***** ******

Business Response:

**. ******,

I’ve included the only two service calls trans scrip’s as the calls came in.  Neither one of these calls were we hired to do any maintenance at the time of service. Most likely the reason you haven’t seen these invoices is probably because the only billing address we have on file is *** *. ******. The original proposal also has this same address as well. Currently to this day we do not have your physical address. With ******* consent, while holding my camera, I mentioned to him as I mentioned to ***. ****** on the phone that I would be documenting my findings to determine the cause of the damage as stated on the second work order. During my interview with the Renter *******, I asked how he cleaned the drain out, he said with a wire brush. ******* mentioned he blew air down the drain line, when I asked what method did he use, he said by placing his mouth on it. While we were in the attic I tested the safety switch in front of *******, the switch works. Immediately the unit shut off. We noticed that the reservoir for the safety switch was dry and not holding water. The water is blowing out of the pan due to the dirty filter causing the static pressure to rise above operating standers as stated on page 10 of the install guide. As a result the inner liner became saturated which then caused the water to flow into the return duct and onto the ceiling. ******* also mentioned at one point the safety switch did trip turning the unit off.                                                                                                                                                         The reason for us refusing to go out a third time is because no repairs were ever approved as quoted on the previous invoice. We would have came out with the same diagnosis. The difference between the two damages, the first was only in the pantry area (ceiling), now draining through the kitchen ceiling. (For a week) Once again our switch did not fail, we know for a fact the switch did shut the unit off even when tested. We also know your renter has been tampering or servicing the equipment.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         Maintenance: You as the owner or other authorized party are responsible for adequate maintenance of your air conditioning system, including the regular cleaning of the filters, coils, and duct system. Your air conditioning system removes water vapor from the air, dehumidifying the air as part of the air conditioning process. During the water removal process, drains, evaporator coils, drain lines, as well as your homes plumbing can become blocked, break, or malfunction causing water to stand or spill.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 Regards, ***  

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October the fifth I called Bodine Scott to come repair my home a/c unit. It was not cooling. The serviceman came out and checked the unit without ever turning it on. He told me the evaporator coils were dirty and would have to be cleaned. He stated that they would have to make an appointment to do that, billed me $85.00 and left. I did not hear back from them the next morning so I called another a/c repair company to come repair it. Annaville Air Conditioning, Inc. came out and looked the unit over and turned it on. They then told me the fan capicator was bad and the unit was a little low on freon. They repaired the unit in about an hour and I was happy with them. I contacted Bodine Scott's service manager and requested my $85.00 back as they had not done the job properly. The manager said he would check on it and get back to me. After he had not contacted me for a week I called back and he said he had to check some more and would get back to me. To date he has not contacted me.

Desired Settlement: A refund of the money paid and a note in their file of the way they do business.

Business Response:

On 10/5/2014 (Sunday) at 9:39 AM our after hours dispatcher received a call from ******* ******* and stated his unit is not cooling, it has been freezing up. All customers who call in for service are notified of the service fee. Confirmation of payment is asked with the options of cash, check, or credit card. Knowing that the call came in as unit has been freezing up, the technician did not automatically turn the system on. Upon a visual inspection of the evaporator coils, technician noted on the report 70% restricted coils. Due to the high volume of calls after hours, technicians on call would need to notify dispatch and log on there report to have this schedule. To pull and thoroughly  clean the evaporator coils would most likely take three to four hours. During this time a new liquid line drier will be installed. When I first talked to Mr. ******, he mentioned to me that the technician never went outside to check the condenser unit or turn it on. I strongly believed the technician did, otherwise we would not have the model and serial numbers recorded on the service invoice or the operating refrigerant pressures. Contributing factors for units freezing up; any restriction of air flow, dirty filters, or restriction in the refrigerant circuit. On the consumer’s original complaint: I contacted Bodine Scott’s service manager and requested my $85.00 back as they had not done the job properly.   

                                                                                       Our technician had noted on a signed invoice; Customer needs to know if we can schedule him for tomorrow (Monday) if not he will find a company that will. Unfortunately our service schedule was full throughout this same week therefore we were unable to schedule an evaporator pull and clean that will take 3 to 4 hours especially on a Monday. In response to “ they had not done the job properly”, Bodine Scott was not given the opportunity to do the job. A diagnosis/service fee of $85.00 was applied and approved by Mr. ******.  Respectfully  the requested refund for the diagnosis/service was declined. I am requesting an extension on this complaint so that I may gather other supporting evidence.  Thank You.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I did not say the technician had not gone outside, I said he had not turned the unit on.  If he had turned the unit on hopefully he would have seen the blower was not working.  He could have replaced the capacitor and added the necessary freon to the unit and I would not be out the expense of a second service call. 
The repairs only took about forty minutes, and I would have been spared a hot sleepless night.

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response:    It is our company policy to collect a diagnosis / service fee on all service calls. Other services such as prices for parts, maintenance, pull and clean will follow afterwards. Once again Bodine Scott was not given the opportunity to do the job. It appears that the customer Mr. ****** did not want the repairs rescheduled due to the statement noted on the invoice; if we can not schedule him for tomorrow (Monday) he will find  another company that will. Had we done the evaporator coil pull and clean with other repairs needed, then of coarse a negotiated price adjustment would have been discussed. Please note this is our first time doing any business with Mr. ******, no other history was found in our records. The other supporting records that we are looking into is our GPS logs. This is only to verify the  time spent on the job.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I know it is a small amount of money, but the bottom line is the technician made a bad diagnosis and the company refuses to acknowledge this, leaving me to pay for their mistake.  The injustice of this really irks me.

 

 

Best Regards,

 

******* ******

 

 

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THE CARRIER AC THAT WAS INSTALLED IN THE BEGINNING HAD A MAJOR FLAW WHICH HAS RESULTED IN HAVING TO REPLACE THE COMPRESSOR TWICE ONCE ON 8/30/2010 AND AGAIN ON 4/7/14. ORIGINALLY PURCHASED ON 4/17/2006. THE FIRST REPLACEMENT WAS TOTALLY COVERED. THE SECOND REPLACEMENT COST $605 FOR PURON REFRIGERANT. THAT WAS AFTER A SERVICE CALL AND REFIGERANT $195 A WEEK BEFORE. ALSO WHEN THE INFINITY THERMOSTAT FIRST BROKE IN 2008 THEY TRIED TO CHARGE ME $550 FOR A NEW THERMOSTAT, CLAIMING THAT I HAD NO WARRANTY(WHICH I HAD PAID FOR). THAT'S ANOTHER STORY-THEY CLAIMED I NEVER PURCHASED IT, BUT WHEN I SHOWED THEM MY ORIGINAL PURCHASE CONTRACT, THEY BACKED DOWN. IN MY OPINION, THIS IS ONE OF WORST COMPANIES WITH WHICH TO DO BUSINESS.

Desired Settlement: I WON'T HOLD MY BREATH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Business Response:

****,

 

We are currently working with the manufacturer to get this issue resolved. **** ******* our contact that received the email has been on vacation, When I tried to input the information, everything is grayed out and I see no way to respond.

 

Please advise! 

 

Thank you,

 

********* *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: They are not addressing my nissues.

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: While researching the customer's complaint further, I found the following information.  Mr. ******* did have some issues with his system, which sometimes happens with mechanical equipment. The issues have all been repaired at no charge to Mr. ******* under his 10 year Parts & Labor Warranty.  Mr. ******* has also had SEVERAL Maintenance Checks throughout the years, in which no mechanical issues were found. On several of the inspections, the technicians noted that the condenser coils had to be washed. I cannot tell you what was restricting the outdoor unit. It could have been dirt, grass or possibly a dryer vent located in the vicinity of the condenser.  These issues would fall under "homeowner maintenance."  In August of 2010, we replaced Mr. *******'s compressor and, even though his system was more than 4 years old, and as a THANK YOU for being a loyal customer, we did not charge him for the refrigerant, which is not covered under a 10 Year Parts and Labor Warranty.  

In April of 2011, we performed a maintenance check on the system and all was well. In March of 2012, we performed another maintenance check and corrected some standard issues with a system that is 7 years old. The technician noted some possible issues that might need attention and also recommended Mr. ******* purchase a Smart 1 Maintenance Agreement, which he did not. In April of 2012, the FACTORY Hard Start kit was replaced at no charge other than the $85.24 Diagnostic fee. In March of 2013, we performed a maintenance check on the system and the system was in proper working condition.  

In April of 2014, we received a call that the compressor was "too noisy", at no time was it mentioned that the unit was not cooling.  We did charge the unit with 2 lbs of 410-A Refrigerant. We went ahead and replaced the compressor at no charge, even though warranty does not apply for noise because that is subjective to each individual.  Mr. ******* was charged only for the refrigerant, which as mentioned above, is not covered under a 10 year Parts & Labor Warranty. 

We feel that we have done everything possible to ensure that Mr. *******'s unit is performing according to manufacturer's specifications.  While we feel that the amount we charged Mr. ******* is appropriate and normal pricing for refrigerant, we will offer a refund of $211.75, which is a 35% discount, in appreciation for his being a loyal client in the past.  

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/16/13 I purchased a ***** Air Conditioning Unit for $3,385.00 from Bodine-Scott A/C Co. with new coils installed. On 7/28/13 the air conditioning ceased to work. Bodine Scott sent a repair person and he stated that the sheeting they made to adapt to existing duct work collapsed and the coils froze. It was fixed. On 7/31/13 my air conditioning during the early and mid afternoon was blowing warm air. The thermostat was set on 77 and it was 82 degrees in the house and we were hot. They came to fix it and said they couldn't find anything wrong, but changed the filter. At 5:00 pm it started to cool off again. On 8/10/13 I had the same problem at the same time of day with the thermostat being set at 77 then 75 and the room temperature would not measure below 82. Again the same service person came, checked and said he couldn't find anything wrong and left when it was reading 82. I had a birthday party and the guests left because they were too hot. I was told the owner would call me and he never did. on 8/13/13 the same problem occurred the same time of day. Set up service call, still waiting, left message for owner and he never called back.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the service repair to find the problem and fix it or replace a defective unit.

Business Response: We had been actively attempting to contact the homeowner to schedule an evaluation of the system in order to determine what repairs, if any, need to be made.  It is my understanding that the attempts were successful and we are scheduled to be there today.  The initial "freezing" of the system was due to the collapse of the homeowners original duct work, which we repaired free of charge as a courtesy.  Once we receive the report on the operation of the system, we will make a determination on how to proceed.  Bodine-Scott has made a commitment to the homeowner and we will deliver upon that commitment.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  The service manager came out took temperatures of different rooms and said he would get back with me.  That was over a week ago. They have not corrected the situation after wasting many hours of my time to be home when they sent people out four different times.  The first two times the technician (same person) said he didn't know what w.as wrong and left with the house at 82 degrees.  The service manager never got back with me after taking readings of different rooms

Regards,
 
**** *****

Business Response: I have included the report from the Residential Service Manager *** *********.

        "On August 13,
2013 a service tech responded to customers request of the A/C system not
keeping up in the heat of the day. Technician had found the original return air
plenum restricted above the filter area. Top section had fallen in blocking
airflow causing system to ice up. Attic insulation is old and depleted. Having
an attic temp of over 110 degrees will cause heat to penetrate into living
space. Customer **** ***** had furnace model # **************** replaced under
her home owners insurance prior to having us replace the evaporator coils and
condensing unit only. Signed agreement does state to adapt to existing ductwork
and copper. Blower compartment of furnace(Not installed by Bodine Scott)
 does not come insulated from factory,surface can reach the same air temperature
as the attic. (126 degrees), (102 degrees in shaded patio)  

        August 13, 2013
technician responds to a service call, system not keeping up and finds and
removes another blockage at the return air plenum. Tech cut the inner duct
board off to allow more airflow in return. August 28, 2013 I (Service Mgr.)
went out to evaluate the situation and the house. During this time system
performance was tested used Alnor flow hood to check for proper air flow.
Noticed hole and wires behind thermostat (original) were not sealed. This can
cause thermostat to read higher than normal. Sealed wires to help eliminate
false reading. Also noticed on some areas of the air ducts are leaking air into
attic. Before leaving set temperatures sensors throughout the  house.
After several days of recording data of temperature, and humidity as well as
cycles, a capacity check was performed using the information from the sensors.
The system is running at the correct capacity based on the tonnage. Customer
(**** *****) had stated that she has not been in the house very long.
Bodine-Scott was called out to give an estimate to replace the evaporator coils
and condenser unit. No other service calls prior to replacement were in file.

        In conclusion the
contributing factors that are affecting the performance of the air conditioning
system are; air leaks in the duct system, uneven temperatures in the house,
depleting attic insulation that allows high attic temp to pass through
sheetrock. In order to quantify improvements to the air barrier between the
attic and the living space, attic insulation will be needed. Weatherization,
all air leaks if any around doors and windows must be caulked or sealed.
Noticed back door does not close properly, deadbolt lock has to be engaged or
door will open. The un-insulated blower compartment also allows the air to warm
up as air passes through. When system has cycled off blower cabinet is heating
up to the same temp as the attic. Photos of all findings and temperatures will
be on file."

It is apparent that there are numerous issues contributing to **** *****s's discomfort: insulation, weatherization of the structure, and a blower cabinet that is uninsulated by design(not installed by Bodine Scott) none of which are due to the installation of the equipment that was installed by Bodine Scott.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  Bodine Scott is exaggerating and giving excuses.  The Previous A/C system was the same tonage and did not have this problem.  They wasted several hours of my time waiting for them and being home while they sent people who did not know what they are doing to try to fix the problem.  When I got the quote, I should have been told that the new units were not as effective as the old units.  Nobody in this company communicates with each other.  Each service person did not know the extensive history of what was going on and I was telling the story over and over again.  Nothing was in the notes.  Extremely poor service for what I was promised.  When I got the quote, I asked for the complete job cost.  These problems should have been discovered before I decided to use them. 

If these problems mentioned are the reason, why did the old air conditioner have no problem keeping the temperature cool on hot days.  I don't set the thermostat at lover than 78 degrees.  That is not too much to ask from a new unit.

Regards,

**** *****