Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Beyer Mechanical, Ltd

Phone: (210) 656-9027 Fax: (210) 656-9399 View Additional Phone Numbers 4711 Broom St, San Antonio, TX 78217 http://www.Beyerboys.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Beyer Mechanical, Ltd meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Beyer Mechanical, Ltd include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Beyer Mechanical, Ltd
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1990 Business started locally: 01/01/1990 Business incorporated 12/31/1991 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Private Limited Company by Shares (LTD)

Business Management
Mr. Patrick Beyer, Partner Jeffery Beyer, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick Beyer, Partner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Plumbers

Alternate Business Names
Beyer Boys Beyer Plumbing Co.
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Beyer Mechanical, Ltd has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4711 Broom St

    San Antonio, TX 78217 (210) 656-9027 (210) 775-1734

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We built our house in 1992 and had a Lennox HVAC system. We had no significant repairs to the system but decided in 2011 that since it was leaking freon we should get a new system. We purchased a Lennox HVAC system in 2011 through a special promotion at Cosco from Beyer Mechanical. There were two systems put in; one for downstairs and one for the upstairs. The upstairs unit began to have problems within the first year. Subsequently it had difficulties almost every six months, including difficulties with relays, motherboards, motor etc. Beyer Mechanical sent out different technicians every time we called for service. We were told at one point there was a problem with the electrical wiring and so we, at her own cost, paid for a master electrician to come out and re-wire from the outside breaker up to the unit. The unit continued to have problems. Finally in January 2016 they determined there may be a problem with the unit and offered us a new Lennox HVAC unit, which they installed in January 2016. On May 29 we were awoken by the smell of smoke in our house. We called our local fire department and they discovered that the issue had to do the upstairs air conditioner. We called Beyer mechanical and they send out another new technician who informed us that the problem was that the heater was coming on and that the relay seem to be out. He said he was going to fix it temporarily, force it on in the on position and order a new part and would be back in that week to replace the part. I called the Beyer Mechanical Lennox representative on Monday May 30 I described what it happened and asked if he could get a field representative from Lennox or anyone else to come out and look at the unit installation to see if there was something causing these consistent problems. He said he would get back with me and I have called him twice since but he has not returned my call. I feel as though I'm being ignored by them and that they have left a repair half done and not completed. I'm not sure if this is safe and I am concerned that I will continue to have future service issues with this unit.

Desired Settlement: While we, of course, would like to have the unit repaired, I am very concerned that there is a bigger issue with the way the units were installed and that something is causing both of these units (2011 and 2016) to have continued breakdowns. I would like a thorough investigation to determine what is causing these breakdowns. I would then like to have these issues resolved.

Business Response: We are aware of the history of issues with this equipment. We have been working with the customer and Lennox to resolve  the issues. We have an appointment to make a repair tomorrow. I will leave another correspondence after the repairs are done.

6/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they dug a hole by the water meter, where the water run down at a slope, instead of digging from the top to slope. they wanted t charge me 1450.00 to replace completed water line, But they charged me 185.00 for digging in the wrong place. I did not have them do the work. I called a friend and he and I dug at top of slop by water faucet, we found leak and we repaired I for less than 60 dollar. The tech has no experience. They did not know what they were doing

Desired Settlement: I am willing to paid only for service call which is 50.00. and want a refund fund of 135.00.

Business Response:  Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your service call. Thank you for talking our manager on the phone today as well. Our manager said he apologized for the misdiagnosis of your yard leak and refunded the full amount of the call. I hope we can be of service to you in the future.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ********

9/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Around 5:00 today, my HVAC began having trouble keeping the house cool. The temp was up to 77 which is warmer than I usually keep it. I called Beyer Air Conditioning and asked them to come out. The tech said I had a leak in the attic, I asked him to fill it up so it would at least be cooling tonight and they could come out this week and fix it. He said it would take 4-6 lbs. He said he put in 7 and he told me before he got to his truck. I asked him how he new and he said he weighed it on the scale in his truck. But he told me how much before he weighed...The low pressure side was 110 pounds because I took a picture of the gauges. I called two air conditioning companies after he left and both said my unit would not be cooling at all if it were 7 lbs low and it would take 1 or 2 pounds to bring the pressure up to where it should be. I called the manager Eric and he told me to do business with another company in the future and he did not want my business.

Desired Settlement: It's hard to say until I speak to ***** and **** tomorrow.

Business Response: **** ****** from our office has called and resolved the issue with *** *****. Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *****

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was out of town when my air system failed. It was the end of August and I had pets in my home. I googled the first company and had my sister in law call them for repair. She was charged an $89 service fee for the first visit. They ordered the parts and came back the next day to replace the outdoor fan motor and dual capacitor and charged another $774.63. Wen I returned from my trip we noticed a rattle in e unit. Over the next two months it progressively got worse. My Sister in law said that is the sound it made before it went out. So I called the company who apologized and said they would have someone come out the same day. A technician came out tightened fan housing screws and added about 6 inches of foam tape wherever he felt it was rattling. The company then charged me another $89 dollars and tried to say this is an unrelated issue. I contacted a service manger who told me boldly we are not charging you for the tape we used. We charged you a service fee for coming out. I do not feel I should have been charged anything for the follow up visit since had the screws been tightened properly when they put the unit back together we would not of had a rattle. My guess is the tape was not replaced when they took the unit apart to begin with. Of course I can not confirm that since I was not present for the repair.

Desired Settlement: Customer service should be number one. I was not asking them to fix a different problem. The unit did not rattle before e repair. Obviously the unit screws were not tightened properly after repair. Unfortunately I will not use their services again. You would think that after paying them $89.00 + $774.63 + $89.00 they could tighten some screws and not pretend this is a different issue.

Business Response: Thank you for the opportunity to resolve this issue. I have reviewed  your complaint with the service manager. I apologize this wasn't resolved when you took the initiative to call the first time. I agree with you that second call should have been completed at no charge. I will have a check sent to you for the $89 service call. I hope we can be of service to you in the future.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

8/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 23, 2013, the Beyer Boys ripped my off. They put a little freon in my a/c unit and charged me $1,165.48. I had the same work done a week earlier by another a/c repair company and they only charged me $472.10. I wasn't told up front how much their service was going to be, or I would not have agreed to let them do the work. Since I am 84 years old still recovering from a stroke, I feel I was taken advantage of.

Desired Settlement: I would like at least a $500 refund. My son has my POA and can be contacted regarding this complaint. His name is Gary Kennedy, 210-337-1786.

Business Response: We have contacted the customer and resolved the complaint. We offered to refund a portion of the invoiced amount and they accepted it.

8/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 15, 2012, Beyer Mechanical installed a new 5-ton HVAC system at our home for $7830. The sale included an annual service inspection. During this inspection, the technician went into the attic and claimed he had made some adjustments to the furnace. Then he proceeded to the condenser unit outside. There he spent a fair amount of time. When I went outside to check and see if he needed anything else, I noticed he was working on the unit (panel off). Up until this visit, the system has performed flawlessly. After this visit by the Beyer Mechanical technician, there was a gradual decline in AC cooling performance. Now, the AC unit fails to cool with temperatures rising to 90F in our home. The outside condenser unit will not run while the inside furnace continues to blow. I have also noticed what appears to be smoke coming from our unit outside fan motor and a loud humming sound. This system is till under warranty and I have attempted to contact Beyer Mechanical, but they are intent on charging a service fee for diagnostic and repairs on a brand new unit that is now not working after technician made "adjustments".

Desired Settlement: Beyer Mechanical to come fix the problem without service charge since it was their technician that caused the problem.

Business Response: Thank you for the opprotunity to resolve this issue. Since the repairs were made yesterday I believe all of the issues have been solved. I hope we can be of service in the future.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Beyer Mechanical, Ltd
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart