BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Beyer Mechanical, Ltd meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Beyer Mechanical, Ltd include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Beyer Mechanical, Ltd
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1990 Business started locally: 01/01/1990 Business incorporated: 12/31/1991 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Patrick Beyer, Partner Jeffery Beyer, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Patrick Beyer, Partner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Plumbers

Alternate Business Names
Beyer Boys Beyer Plumbing Co.
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor

Additional Locations

  • 4711 Broom St

    San Antonio, TX 78217 (210) 656-9027 (210) 775-1734

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 775-1734(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Around 5:00 today, my HVAC began having trouble keeping the house cool. The temp was up to 77 which is warmer than I usually keep it. I called Beyer Air Conditioning and asked them to come out. The tech said I had a leak in the attic, I asked him to fill it up so it would at least be cooling tonight and they could come out this week and fix it. He said it would take 4-6 lbs. He said he put in 7 and he told me before he got to his truck. I asked him how he new and he said he weighed it on the scale in his truck. But he told me how much before he weighed...The low pressure side was 110 pounds because I took a picture of the gauges. I called two air conditioning companies after he left and both said my unit would not be cooling at all if it were 7 lbs low and it would take 1 or 2 pounds to bring the pressure up to where it should be. I called the manager Eric and he told me to do business with another company in the future and he did not want my business.

Desired Settlement: It's hard to say until I speak to ***** and **** tomorrow.

Business Response: **** ****** from our office has called and resolved the issue with *** *****. Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was out of town when my air system failed. It was the end of August and I had pets in my home. I googled the first company and had my sister in law call them for repair. She was charged an $89 service fee for the first visit. They ordered the parts and came back the next day to replace the outdoor fan motor and dual capacitor and charged another $774.63. Wen I returned from my trip we noticed a rattle in e unit. Over the next two months it progressively got worse. My Sister in law said that is the sound it made before it went out. So I called the company who apologized and said they would have someone come out the same day. A technician came out tightened fan housing screws and added about 6 inches of foam tape wherever he felt it was rattling. The company then charged me another $89 dollars and tried to say this is an unrelated issue. I contacted a service manger who told me boldly we are not charging you for the tape we used. We charged you a service fee for coming out. I do not feel I should have been charged anything for the follow up visit since had the screws been tightened properly when they put the unit back together we would not of had a rattle. My guess is the tape was not replaced when they took the unit apart to begin with. Of course I can not confirm that since I was not present for the repair.

Desired Settlement: Customer service should be number one. I was not asking them to fix a different problem. The unit did not rattle before e repair. Obviously the unit screws were not tightened properly after repair. Unfortunately I will not use their services again. You would think that after paying them $89.00 + $774.63 + $89.00 they could tighten some screws and not pretend this is a different issue.

Business Response: Thank you for the opportunity to resolve this issue. I have reviewed  your complaint with the service manager. I apologize this wasn't resolved when you took the initiative to call the first time. I agree with you that second call should have been completed at no charge. I will have a check sent to you for the $89 service call. I hope we can be of service to you in the future.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 23, 2013, the Beyer Boys ripped my off. They put a little freon in my a/c unit and charged me $1,165.48. I had the same work done a week earlier by another a/c repair company and they only charged me $472.10. I wasn't told up front how much their service was going to be, or I would not have agreed to let them do the work. Since I am 84 years old still recovering from a stroke, I feel I was taken advantage of.

Desired Settlement: I would like at least a $500 refund. My son has my POA and can be contacted regarding this complaint. His name is Gary Kennedy, 210-337-1786.

Business Response: We have contacted the customer and resolved the complaint. We offered to refund a portion of the invoiced amount and they accepted it.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 15, 2012, Beyer Mechanical installed a new 5-ton HVAC system at our home for $7830. The sale included an annual service inspection. During this inspection, the technician went into the attic and claimed he had made some adjustments to the furnace. Then he proceeded to the condenser unit outside. There he spent a fair amount of time. When I went outside to check and see if he needed anything else, I noticed he was working on the unit (panel off). Up until this visit, the system has performed flawlessly. After this visit by the Beyer Mechanical technician, there was a gradual decline in AC cooling performance. Now, the AC unit fails to cool with temperatures rising to 90F in our home. The outside condenser unit will not run while the inside furnace continues to blow. I have also noticed what appears to be smoke coming from our unit outside fan motor and a loud humming sound. This system is till under warranty and I have attempted to contact Beyer Mechanical, but they are intent on charging a service fee for diagnostic and repairs on a brand new unit that is now not working after technician made "adjustments".

Desired Settlement: Beyer Mechanical to come fix the problem without service charge since it was their technician that caused the problem.

Business Response: Thank you for the opprotunity to resolve this issue. Since the repairs were made yesterday I believe all of the issues have been solved. I hope we can be of service in the future.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.