BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Autumn Heating & Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Autumn Heating & Cooling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 13, 2005 Business started: 08/24/2004 Business started locally: 08/24/2004 Business incorporated: 07/21/2001 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Chad Arthur, Owner Linnaea Swenson
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chad Arthur, Owner
Customer Contact: Linnaea Swenson
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Handyman Services Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning

Products & Services

Autumn Heating & Cooling sells the following brand(s): Goodman, Lennox, Rheem, Tappan, Trane

Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 2001 Windy Ter Ste D

    Cedar Park, TX 78613 (512) 459-8118

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Autumn Heating & Air Conditioning company is incompetent. I had to have my air conditioner serviced late last month (it took them three visits to finally get it working right) and I have never received an itemized invoice for the $1700 repair. I have asked for this now three times, once asking the owner and still no invoice. I need this invoice to submit to my home warranty company for reimbursement. Homeowners beware of this incompetent business.

Desired Settlement: fax me the invoice to ###-###-####.

Business Response: We replaced Mr. ****’s coil in June. Mr. **** contacted us about having us mail him his invoice. The office manager was out the office during that time. We had temporary receptionists here and they did not know where everything was. Unfortunately, one of the girls had a hard time finding invoice and Mr. **** got upset. As the problem escalated I was informed of it and was able to speak with Mr. **** and get control of the issue. I did not realize until after I got off the phone with him that he had filed this complaint. The next day we were able to get the invoice from the service tech and email him a copy.

Thankfully Mr. **** is happy now and will continue to do business with us.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
******* ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a maintenance agreement which was a system check 2 times per year. On or about June 7th Autumn Heating & Cooling was scheduled to perform a maintenance check. When the technician arrived he did not have the equipment needed to clean/clear the drain pipe & he told me to call a plumber. After he left I went to work and when I returned home Friday evening I had no ac. They advertise 24/7 service but this is false advertisement - there is no service after 5:00pm. On Saturday when I called ******* in the office told me that this particular technician was the only one working. I asked that he not be sent to my home because when I talked to him he tried to tell me what I needed to do to get the system working. I told him that I wasn't about to fool around with an electrical system. He told me that he would get to me when he got to me. ******* told me I would be put on the schedule for Monday. On Monday I called to confirm that I was on the schedule. I was NOT on the schedule so I agreed to a Tuesday, 8-10am appointment. On Tuesday at 10:30am when no one had arrived I called to see where the technician was and was told "we won't be able to fit you in today and since you no longer want to do business with us we'll just mail your maintenance fee back to you". I called back to see when the check would be mailed. ******* told me she would mail it the next day. I called 2 days later and ******* told me she mailed it out the day before. It has been a week and there is still no check in the mail. Even with snail mail it doesn't take 7 days for mail to get from Cedar Park, Texas to Austin, Texas.

Desired Settlement: I want a money order or cashiers check in the amount of $100. I wouldn't trust this business to issue me a check from their company because they have treated me so poorly and can't be trusted. My husband passed away in February and I am distressed. These people need to pay me my maintenance fee so I can get back to grieving my loss.

Business Response: On June 7th we did send **** to Ms. ******* house. **** preformed the work he is able to do to try and fix Ms. ******* issue with her A/C. He drained the line but it was very clogged and needed a plumber to come out and fix it. **** had flipped the float switch outside so it would stop draining which caused Ms. ******* to call because the A/C was not working. **** told her she could go outside and flip the switch and the A/C would work. Ms. ******* was not comfortable with that and wanted him there right away. **** could not provide an exact time that he could be there and Ms. ******* got upset.  At that point she wanted someone other than **** to provide her service. We were not able to send someone other than **** out to fix the switch. ****** offered to give Ms. ******* a full refund of her three year maintenance contract that only had three months remaining on it.

We did mail Ms. ******* her refund check of $97, and apologized for the delay but there is a process that refunds have to go through and it takes a couple of days.

Ms. ******* does have her check and we are sorry that we could not make her a happy customer.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
******** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Air conditioner installed 08/07/2012 failed on 05/17/2013 within 5 year parts/1 year labor warranty, with biannual service contract that has not and apparently will not be honored because after 9 months of a 12 month contract the company has not had time to enter the service contract into their computer system. ****, apparently the manager, says that they are not required to do anything because they are busy with other customers who also have contracts, and they will get to us when they can but it will not be for at least one week, quite possibly longer because he doesn't have to do business with me.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of all money paid if service contract is not to be honored. Also, written confirmation of warranty and repair of a/c unit that is still within warranty period, without cost to me. This company does not in any way deserve an A+ rating.

Business Response: On May 20, 2013 Mr. ******* contacted Autumn Heating and Cooling and told us his system was not cooling. His system is still working but not getting as cold as he would like it to be. Our first available appointment was Thursday (May 23) but he was not available. We then scheduled him for Friday May 24. We could not come out the same day because yes there are clients who have air conditioners are not working at all, so we do respond to clients with NO Cooling first and work in service calls. We tried to contact Mr. ******* several times in January and March to schedule his check-ups but the phone number we have on file was not a working a number. Our service contract states that service calls will be dispatched to the next available service tech on notification of and Emergency Need. Mr. ******* was very rude to our staff and threatened to unleash legal fury like no other. He said that ******* was a waste oxygen and should never come back to his house. ******* is the owner of the company and if he told Mr. ******* that we do not have to do business with him, it was because of Mr. *******’s rude behavior and name calling of the staff. Our staff does not need to be subject to that kind of treatment.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The air conditioning company was unable to repair my unit (which they had installed) because they said they are no longer a ***** equipment authorized dealer or repair company. The owner **** ****** told me to go hire another company. I have paid for a service contract and the owner refused to even refund the service contract amount. Also, the service technician ***** (according to the ***** **** ** *** **************) lied about having put the parts on another technician's truck for installation.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the Service Agreement payment and a portion of the original purchase price of the unit. Apology from the owner.

Business Response: On August 14, 2009 we replaced Mr. *******’s air conditioning system. The replacement system came with a two year warranty. The warranty expired in August 2011. At that time Mr. ******* purchased a three-preventive maintenance plan. The maintenance plan provided two checkups a year for three years. The checkups are done in the spring and fall, during that time our technicians examine the system to make sure everything is performing properly.The maintenance plan does not cover the cost of parts or the labor to install the parts.

On March 30, 2013, we went to Mr. *******’s house because his system was not cooling and at that time informed Mr. ******* he needed a new motor. It was a part we did not carry on our vehicle and would have to come back to replace it. Mr. ******* was very unhappy and at that time Mr. ****** told him he could take his business elsewhere. His labor warranty had expired and we were under no obligation to do the repair. Once Mr. ****** returned to the office he mailed Mr. ******* a refund check for the $97 maintenance plan he had purchased in September 2011.

Mr. ******* was wanting a refund on his Maintenance plan and that check was sent to him and cleared our bank on April 8,2013 showing that he did receive the refund from us.

At this time we have fulfilled our obligations to Mr. *******.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. However, I still find the business practives deceptive and misleading.  Other customers who have paid for the maintenance plan are likely to find out only when they need a repair that the company is unable to service their unit.

Regards,
*** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/30/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/29/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/27/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1