BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ARS Rescue Rooter - Will Fix It meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ARS Rescue Rooter - Will Fix It include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 40 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

40 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 29
Total Closed Complaints 40

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on ARS Rescue Rooter - Will Fix It
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 1973 Business started: 06/01/1968 Business started locally: 06/01/1968 Business incorporated: 12/11/1997 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E 41st St, Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (800) 845-6584
info@tsbpe.state.tx

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brad Jellison, General Manager-Austin Larry DeHart, Service Manager Mr. Rick Hoffart, General Manager - San Antonio Kay Kazmir, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brad Jellison, General Manager-Austin
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians Electricians - Commercial Heating Contractors Plumbers Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Refrigerators & Freezers - Service & Repair Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Appliances - Major - Service & Repair Appliances - Small - Service & Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair

Alternate Business Names
A R S American Residential Services American Residential Services L.L.C. ARS Rescue Rooter ARS/Rescue Rooter County Wide Plumbing Co Osgood Services Rescue Rooter Will Fix It Will Fix It Plumbing Co
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Appliance repair tips Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 1920 Grandstand Dr

    San Antonio, TX 78238

  • 2306 Howard Ln Ste A

    Austin, TX 78728 (512) 777-7000

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 521-6657 (Fax)
  • (210) 558-1701 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered into a maintenance service contract with Will Fix It. They came in during the fall to check on the heater-this was a good service. In February, A plumber came to check on the water heater- which resulted in the whole house not having any hot water for the next 48 hours. The supervisor eventually came and fixed the problem that their worker created since there was no problem to begin with. Today- I waited for an AC person to show up to check on the AC units- it has been three hours and nobody has shown up. I have called their office several times today and I finally cancelled my service contract-they will reimburse me $49 per unit and I have 3 units. I think I should also be reimbursed for the "botched" plumbing check in february which resulted into a major inconvenience for my family as we had no hot water for 48 hours on 2 cold winter days.

Business Response: Attached.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Over the past seven weeks, dealing with Will Fix It (WFI) in San Antonio has been a costly disappointment. I had an a/c problem with two bedrooms that were not cooling although the rest of the house was comfortable. WFI investigated, identified the problem and recommended the solution, I paid for the resolution. My problem was not solved. Then WFI made a follow-on visit and made some a/c adjustments that still did not solve the problem. Then WFI made a third visit to assess the problem that produced some additional costly repair recommendations. Telephonic communications with their local management have proven to be fruitless. I have lost confidence in WFI competency to resolve the a/c problem. The "real" complete fix and price should have been recommended from the start of this transaction so that I could have made an informed determination about the resolve to the a/c problem. I no longer want to deal with WFI. At this point, I want WFI to honor their advertise 100% satisfaction guarantee and refund my payment for solution never provided less the cost of the materials that have already been initially installed. To date, I am still waiting for them to respond to my request for a refund. (ref: "Will" Fix It Invoice ***********)

Desired Settlement: I want WFI to honor their advertise 100% satisfaction guarantee and refund my costs less the cost of the materials that have already been initially installed.

Business Response: BBB of
Central Texas

RE:
Better Business Bureau ID #********

We
are in receipt of your email dated July 7, 2014 regarding the above captioned
Complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us
the opportunity to respond.

On
May 20, 2014 American Residential Services, LLC D/B/A Will Fix It
("ARS") installed new ductwork and upgraded the insulation at the
property located at **** ****** ***** *** ******** ***** *****. We are
currently in communication with *** ******** to gain a better understanding of
the Complaint, and hope to achieve an amicable resolution very soon.

ARS
prides itself on providing premier customer service, and appreciates your
assistance in resolving this dispute. If you require additional information
regarding this Complaint, please feel free to contact me directly at *****
********.

Respectfully,
are,
***** ****
********* ********
********* *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and a full refund is the only option satisfactory to the situation.
My initial residential a/c problem still needs to be resolved. 

Regards,

****** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ARS Rescue Rooter 2306 Howard Lane Austin, TX 78728 ###-###-#### On June 8, 2014 a contract was signed between ARS representative ***** ***** and myself ****** *******. It was paid for by a Home Depot Credit Card. ARS and The Home Depot had teamed up together. Mr. ***** and I had been in negotiation about replacing my mother’s existing AC unit. On the 8th it was decided that I would replace the condenser unit outside. Mr. ***** looked at the inside part of the AC unit and showed where it was a 50 ton unit. This AC unit had been working and was still working for over 10 years that we have lived here. It was found out that the unit was a 1997 making the unit seventeen years old. This was the reason for the replacement of the AC unit. On June 9, 2014 ARS installation people came out and removed the old unit and then put the new unit in place. They had a few problems installing the condenser and according to the installation person (******) he said that he was not too worried about how the unit was installed since being out in the country they did not have to follow the rules as much due to no one coming out to inspect the work. After charging up the unit the installation person came inside and looked at the fuse box. This person (I believe he said his name was ******) said that the fuse was to small (30amps) and it needed to be 33 amps up to 60 amps with 50 amps being the best. I asked ****** if they were going to replace the fuse for free and he said yes. He then said that the wiring going from outside to inside was too small for a 50 amp fuse and he needed to contact his boss. Since ****** only looked at the wiring outside I do not understand how he could tell the wiring was wrong. ****** was negligent and did not do his due diligence in checking the fuse before installing the AC unit. After ****** spoke to his boss he came back and said that his boss was not going to send out an electrician (which I thought they were suppose to do) and that the cost of replacing the wiring would be at my expense. ****** said that the new unit would work on the 30 amp fuse but that I needed to get the wiring replaced within two years or it was possible that is would damage the new unit and ****** handed me a 50 amp fuse. ****** then asked me to sign showing that the AC unit was working after he completed all of the work and that he had gone over everything with me. I signed the paper since the AC unit was working and asked ****** for a copy. ****** said that a copy would be mailed to me and then left the property. On June 10, 2014 I received a call from ***** ***** asking why I had refused to allow the electrician to come out. I told Mr. ***** that I had not refused to allow the electrician to come out and told Mr. ***** what I had been told by ******. Mr. ***** stated that the AC unit was not safe. This was the first that I had heard about the unit not being safe. After talking to Mr. ***** I was told by him that he would talk to his electrician and at ARS cost would get them to come out and make sure the AC unit fuse and wiring were replaced. Mr. ***** also stated that he should have checked the fuse to make sure it was the proper size. Had Mr. ***** not been negligent on doing his due diligence I would not have allowed the unit to be put in. On June 16, 2014 around 8:10 am I called Mr. ***** and let him know that I had not heard from anyone about coming out as he had stated. Mr. ***** said he was not at the office and would talk to the electricians when he got to the office about coming out and replacing the fuse and wires to what was needed. I asked Mr. ***** at this time about the paper work the installer had me sign and Mr. ***** said give it another week and I should have it. I have an 85 year old mother who is on oxygen and has an oxygen machine to produce oxygen. If something happens and the fuse blows and electricity goes out then it could cause her to die. The AC unit was installed and left in the current manner knowingly by ARS people endangering my mothers and all household members’ lives. This especially pertains to my mother since she has more trouble breathing in hot weather. I was even told by Mr. ***** to turn the unit off if we left that this is how bad it was. It is now June 18, 2014 and I have not heard anything from ARS. On June 20, 2014 at approximately 9:00pm the AC unit stopped cooling. I contacted Mr. ***** at this time and Mr. ***** over the phone promised and guaranteed me that an electrician would be out on June 21, 2014. This letter has also been sent to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation on June 18, 2014. Tracking Number ************ On June 21, 2014 I contacted ARS in Austin and spoke to a female who answered the phone. I briefly explained what had taken place and she said that a work order had been issued and if I would like to find out what was happening she would place me on hold and find out. A male calling himself **** came back on the phone and I asked who he was. I was told that he was **** and worked for ARS in Austin. I tried to get some information from him about what was going on and he would not tell me much except that the sales person was ***** ***** and that he would be calling me. After a bit I got **** to admit that ARS was going to come out and fix the problem which was that the fuse was too small and the wiring was too small and that ***** ***** would be calling me to explain. This was about 9:00am June 21, 2014. I tried to send a copy of this letter to the corporate office over the ARS website but it would not take the complaint. At around 11:37am I recalled ARS since I had not heard from ***** *****. I was told by the operator that they would be out at 3:00pm. I gave them until then are other steps would be taken. At 12:01 I was called back by ***** ***** telling me that ARS was not going to replace the wires or fuse that I would have to pay over $400.00 for the wire replacement. I told Mr. ***** that he had told me that ARS would pay for the wire more than once and the person calling himself **** said the same. The heat my mother is having to experience is causing her breathing distress and in my opinion attempted murder by ARS and employees. Mr. ***** was aware of my mother’s breathing problems and that the reason the AC unit was being replace was so my mother did not have to go through what she is going through now with her breathing problems. Thank you, ****** *******

Desired Settlement: This company need to replace the fuse and wiring in the house since they did not say anything about the fuse and wiring being to small until after installation. The heat can cause an 85 year old woman to be in jeporday of life.

Business Response: Attached.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a technician come out to replace my propane water heater with an electric water heater. He failed to solder the copper cold water line resulting in flooding of my laundry room floor and excessive water being sprayed under my house. A second technician came out to repair the copper cold water line. He used PEX line to make the repair instead of copper. With the next day or two a second leak developed on the copper hot water line. Once again my laundry room floor was flooded. A third technician came out to make the repair. He mentioned that the coupling used to make the repair to the cold water line was the wrong type of fitting...used only for temporary repairs. It was very late and the technician didn't have any copper tubing so I just asked him to cap the hot water line until the water heater could be repaired properly. The fourth technician who came out to make the final repairs was actually the first technician to install the unit. My plywood floor was flooded for 7 days. Their has been a giant dehumidifier in my laundry room for 2 weeks. My floor is still wet. I just had a brand new pier and beam foundation put in under my house this January. All new wood beams and 38 structural steel piers were installed. I fear one of the beams may also have been damaged. I also found out that a permit was not pulled for the job until after I made a fuss and the water heater was installed improperly.

Desired Settlement: Replace my laundry room floor. Inspect the wall where the water heater sits for any water damage. Inspect my new foundation for any water damage. Pay my water bill for the period of time the water was leaking and pay my electric bill for the period of time that dehumidifier was running.

Business Response:

June 20, 2014

BBB of Central Texas

RE: Better Business Bureau ID #********

We are in receipt of your email dated June 16, 2014 regarding the above captioned Complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond.

On May 29, 2014 American Residential Services, LLC D/B/A Will Fix It ("ARS") installed a new water heater at the property located at *** **** ** *** ******, Texas *****. Ms. ********* requested we return on May 31, 2014 as a supply line was leaking, and our service professional repaired the line. Ms. ********** contacted ARS the same evening and requested we resolve any secondary damages. The restoration company ARS contracted with reached out to Ms. ********** offering to resolve the situation immediately. However, Ms. ********** scheduled to have the appointment the following day.

On June 3, 2014 Ms. ********* requested we repair a second leak that occurred. Upon arrival, our service professional found that the water had been turned off with no water present on the floor and the repair was completed. On June 9, 2014 ARS hired a subcontractor to resolve any potential water damage that may have resulted from work we performed at the property. Upon arrival, the subcontractor informed ARS that the floor had rotted over a long period of time and was able to determine that the secondary damage mentioned in the Complaint happened prior to our initial service visit. Therefore, it is difficult for ARS to accept responsibility for a problem that occurred prior to our arrival.

ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service, and appreciates your 
assistance in resolving this dispute. If you require additional information regarding this Complaint, please feel free to contact me directly at ###-###-####.

Respectfully,

***** ****

Corporate Customer Relations Analyst

Business Response: Attached.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been using this company for about seven years. I have had quite a few items installed in my home ( Water Heater, Water Softener, Reverse Osmoses , Commodes) Until Will Fix It Was merged with another company I received good service. After the merge it seems like every time I call they give me a two hour window and are anywhere from one to two hours late. The reason given is usually they got tied up on another job. We usually have to call the dispatcher to find out what the problem is and are told that they will call back. Some times they call back right away and sometime it is a half hour or more before we hear from them. Some times we have to call them back to try and get an answer. I was to get service today on a warranty repair on my water softener between 12:00 & 2:00. At 2:30 they had not arrived so my wife called and was told by the dispatcher that he would call back. A t 3:20 she called me at work and told me she had not receive a call back I called the dispatcher and was told that the tech would be there shortly. I ask the dispatcher how long is shortly, he sail in about 30 min. The dispatcher was very unconcerned as to the problem and very rude. I receive a call from the tech and since I was busy at my shop I asked him to call my wife who was home. She called me back and said the tech told her he was out of cell phone range and couldn't call and it would be about 5:00 before he could get there. My wife had rearranged her schedule for the day and then she had to rearrange it again because of the new time he was suppose to be there. We have been paying them $9.95 a month for six years to get Priority service and a discount on parts.

Desired Settlement: Would like to have a supervisor to explain to me why I am having these problems and how they intend to rectify it.

Business Response: Attached.

Business Response:

June 12, 2014

BBB of Central Texas

RE: Better Business Bureau ID #********

We are in receipt of your email dated June 3, 2014 regarding the above captioned Complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond.

On February 19, 2007 American Residential Services, LLC D/B/A Will Fix It ("ARS") installed a new water softener at the property located at 1**** * ** *** ***, *** *******, Texas *****. We contacted Mr. **** on June 4, 2014 to gain a better understanding of the Complaint and to hopefully achieve an amicable resolution.

ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service, and appreciates your assistance in resolving this dispute. Therefore, we replaced the water softener on June 5, 2014 to honor the lifetime guarantee of that system, and the new equipment warranty information was provided to Mr. **** to ensure his satisfaction. If you require additional information regarding this Complaint, please feel free to contact me directly at ###-###-####.

Respectfully,

 

***** ****

Corporate Customer Relations Analyst

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3 May 2014; I put in an emergency request with ******** **** ****** ***** for a Plumper. *** dispatched the job o Will Fix It. Will Fit It work order was assigned to technician **** for service call. At 2:57 received a call technician was dispatched; I called back at 3:12 to find out where the technician was? Will Fit it dispatch informed me he was 20 mins out. Technician arrived at the gate at 3:12 and stated he had been waiting for us for over 20 mins. This was not a true statement.Technician examine the pluming and stated the job was not covered by *** and would cost $1200 because I need to have a water regulator installed and my water pressure PSI was 100. He reported to *** that the problem was I had a leak because I needed a water regulator and that my 10 year old hose bib was leaking not due to normal wear and tear. I questioned his finding and reports to *** regarding the issue. The technician did not talk with me the homeowner about his findings nor produce a written summary until I had paid my $75 service fee. Very unprofessional.On the written receipt he wrote. He listed two different diagnose for the pluming issue. " Hose Bib Leaking, Found hose bib leaking also found high pressure 110PSI. I ask him could he not have fix the hose bid to allow us to have water in the home. **** said "YES" but that would be $160 for the service because that would not be covered by ***. I asked why did you not fix the hose bib? He wanted me to pay $160 extra to fix a problem he could have easily taken care off under by contract with ***.The technician **** unprofessional attitude and workmanship left my family without water in the home for 24hrs because *** could not get another plumper to us before 1:30 the next day.It is my unbiased knowledge that Will Fix It and their representative **** willfully try to extort extra payments from a homeowner by refusing to fix the problem they were contracted to fix by providing false reports to *** in order to be paid more money.

Desired Settlement: REFUND of all funds

Business Response: Attached.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: 12 hrs later *** contracted another San Antonio service provide who certify the water PSI was 80, not 110 as reported and fix the problem U FIT IT claimed they could not fit because it was not covered by *** in less than 20 minutes. This is a great 60 minutes piece and I am willing to post the two invoices side by side along with their response on any public website so consumers can be aware.

Regards,

****** ********

Business Response:

May 16, 2014

BBB Serving Central Texas

RE: Better Business Bureau ID #********

We are in receipt of your email dated May 8, 2014 regarding the above captioned Complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond.

On May 3, 2014 ******** *********** ********* ****** ***** Will Fix It ("***") responded to a service request property located at **** ****** ***** *** ******** ** ***** on behalf of *** ********' home warranty company, ******** **** ******. Our service professional found the water pressure to be at 110 PSI at that time.

We are currently in communication with *** ********, and an appointment is scheduled for May 17, 2014 to gain a better understanding of the Complaint. *** prides itself on providing premier customer service, and we appreciate your assistance in resolving this dispute. If you require additional information, please contact me directly at ***** ********.

Respectfully,

 

***** ****

********* ******** ********* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not received a signed contract and the job is nearly complete. There have been several changes to the jobs' original contract agreement on Feb 18, 2014.

Desired Settlement: I need a signed contract to assure me of the 10 year warranty for all work done.

Business Response: Status on this customer is closed. We have been working
with the customer since March 6th. Mrs. ****** came in with her son on March 6
at 5pm requesting her invoice copy. We presented it to her and at that time she
asked when are we going to finish the back fill and repairs to her home? We
explained the city inspection was set for March 7th once it passes we can do
the back fill and repairs. Mrs. ******* called in March 7th to say we failed
inspection. We sent out our crews to make the repairs per city inspector. City
re-inspection was set for March 10th. Mrs. ******* called us to say the
inspection had passed. She also was inquiring as to the warranty for our work.
I explained where on her invoice she would find it. Mrs. ******* was on the
phone with me while looking at her invoice and I told her if you look on the
right hand side where your total is just on the left of that you will see it
say 45ft tunnel 10parts and 10yr labor. Mrs. ******* did say she saw and
understood that is the document we will reflect on if she has issues in the
future. We set up later that week for us to go out and do the backfill. We then
went out March 18th to lay her concrete. We did explain our field supper would
be out the next day on the 19th to make sure the concrete was dry enough to
complete all the repairs to her home. On the 19th it was dry enough
so the field supervisor was able to finish all the repairs. Mrs. *******
understood and was ok with that. I called Mrs. ******* today to conform that
all the work was done and she had the document she needed. Mrs. ******* said
everything is done and she is happy now.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When the representative from Will Fix It came out to give me an estimate for a new AC system he said that I would definitely be getting a $2000 rebate from the city of San Antonio if I got the new system and attic installation. He said I had to have everything installed before June 30 to get the rebate. He subtracted $2000 off the total cost of the unit indicating that I would be getting that money. He did not indicate that I would have to qualify or that there should be any reason that I would not receive this money. I was told it took approximately 2 months to receive the check in the mail. After waiting two months I call the company and asked for a contact number of the person in charge of the rebates. I contacted that person and that person said I did not qualify and would not be getting a rebate. I contacted Will Fix It to let them know that I considered this fraud since I was told without a doubt that I would be getting this money. I have made several calls since then requesting that Will Fix It pay me the money they promised. I have yet to receive that money. Every time I call to inquire what is being done to fix the problem they tell me that they will call me back but I always have to call them.

Desired Settlement: I want the money that was promised. The promise came from Will Fix It with the written amount of $2000 subtracted from my total expense. They are engaged in a "he said, she said" scenario stating that the city told them that I would get the rebate, the city saying they did not say that. I was counting on this money and I did not receive it.

Business Response:

City of San Antonio presented us with a rebate for our customers. If they purchase a gas complete and home insulation they will get a $2000 rebate. We have been in contact with the city trying to get the rebate our customer in entitled to. The city called us back and stated that the program is over and they will not credit the customer $2000 for this rebate. I called the customer this morning 9/30/13 to let her know about the cities decision and that we will issue out a check to her for the rebate amount.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  They resolved this matter quickly and I am happy with the solution. 

Regards,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contatced ARS on 6/4 to schedule due to a plumbing problem on. My main sewer line was backed up and I could not use any water in my house, including flushing my toilets, running the dishwasher, showering, and doing laundry. I had a coupon for the sewer line to be cleaned and camera inspection of the drain to diagnose the problem for $77. I was given an appt time for 6/5 between 8am-12pm. The plumber arrived, cleaned the drain, and reported the camera inspection employee will be out to complete the diagnostic work of the problem. The camera inspection associate, **** graham 294-4344, completed the camera inspection. He reported that I have a tree root in my pipe and that broke the pipe open, although I have no trees in my front yard. He explained that tree roots are 8x longer the trees themselves, so it could be from my neighnbor's trees (which are located across the street and across a driveway), or it could be from a crepe myrtle 30 feet up from the problem in my flower bed. **** explained that he saw the tree root on the camera, even showed me this brown blockage, identified it as a tree root, and reported the details of the job to be completed. **** reported a whole will be dig up to 4 feet deep and 5 feet in radius, the root will be removed and all of the root system underneath will be cut back and applied with something to prevent it from growing into the pipe again. Then the pipe will be repaired. **** explained that this is a job that requires 2 workers, will take 8-8.5 hours, a large hole has to be dug and due to the complexity of the job and tree root system, the charge is $1925.00. **** reported the plumber will arrive 6/6 between 9-9:30am and will be done 8-8.5 hours later. **** reported that no water can go through the pipes until the job is completed, including, flushing my toilets. He guaranteed that the job will be completed by the time I returned home from work, which is 10:30pm, and that I could flush my toilets and use all the water appliances in my home. At this point, I could not flush my toilets or let any water go through the pipes. I signed the estimate. The next morning, no one has come to my home to begin the work by 11:15 am, which is when I leave for work. I called ARS dispatch, who reported that the plumber had another job to do and would not arrive to my home until 2-2:30pm that day. I could hear the dispatch lady asking someone my questions in the background. I was informed that although they were arriving considerably late, the job would be completed and I could flush my toilet. The dispatch lady also informed me that the plumber would put a note on my door notifying me that they did not complete the work and if I could flush my toilets that night or not. I arrived home that night at 10:30 to a hole in my yard with exposed pipe and caution tape. I had no note on my door and did not know if I could flush my toilets or not. I called dispatch, who had no information as the plumber did not upload his notes that day. I took numerous pictures of the pipe, hole, and mound of dirt. There was no tree root system and no tree roots anywhere: I looked in the dirt that was dug up and in the hole. There was only dirt, a few rocks, and some grass roots. I called dispatch and expressed my concerns regarding my estimate, lack of timliness of work, and not informing me if I can flush my toilets or not, and requested that someone call me at 8am the next business day, 6/7. Per *****, the 2nd dispatch lady, she had 2 notes documented in my chart regading my concerns and for someone to contact me. No one contacted me. I woke up 6/7 and met the plumber outside, who was very politce. The plumber confirmed there was no tree root in the pipe, a tree root system does not exist, and that the cause of the break was the ground shifting and there was dirt in the pipe. The plumber reported that the field supervisor was supposed to contact me to on 6/6 to inform me the job was incomplete and that I could flush my toilets, but that did not happen. After explaining my concerns and frustrations, I refused to sign the paperwork of the work completing and agreeing to the $1925, and requested a new estimate based on what the actual problem was. The plumber notified me that the job took a total 4-4.5 hours. The plumber also recommended that I cancel my credit card so they could not charge me and reports "this happens all the time." I canceled my credit card and requested that someone from ARS contact me. I was contacted by *******, the plumbing supervisor, who explained to me that the $1925 is a flat rate to for a 5 foot pipe repair, no matter what the problem was or how long it takes. I was never informed of this flat rate and this was never discussed in my discussion with the salesman, who I thought was a camera inspection/plumber employee. She informed me that I have to pay and that it is a flat rate, so they cannot even break it down and bill me hourly. I told her I would not pay the $1925 due to lack of information and inability to make an informed decision based on what the salesman told me,but requested another estimate and offered to pay for the services rendered based on the information I was quoted. I explained that if I was informed of this flat rate no matter what the problem was nor how long it took to complete the job, I would not have agreed to their services. ******* refused to provide me another estimate because "there is no other estimate, $1925 is a flat rate." I think it is ridiculous that I would pay $500 an hour for this service when I could have dug the hole myself, hired a plumber at $200/hour for 4-4.5 hour and then refilled the hole with dirt myself. ******* was to get back with me on Monday 6/10. In the meantime, the service was completed 6/7 @ 11am, a different camer inspection person confirmed there was no leak and I can use my facilities with no problem. ******* called me back 6/10 and asked how I would like to pay for the service. I had to retell her my story all over again..it seemed like she thought I would forget about it over the weekend. She said the same thing about the flat rate, but that she would talk with the salesperon, **** ******, and get back to me. Less than an hour later, **** calls me and offers me $200 off the job, making it $1725. I declined and reported all of my concerns with him. He did not deny them and said "well thats our flat rate" and "ok" in agreement to what he had told me in the beginning. I told him I want a new estimate based on the agreement **** had made with me. He said he would contact his manager about a different price and someone would contact me. Today 6/12, an employee from their finance/collections department, named **** contacted me. She did not have an answer to anything I said above, but would only say that my signature is on the contact. I informed her that it was an estimate, but she reported I signed a contract and everything **** had told me was not on the contract, but I was still liable to pay what I had signed to. She also reported that the salespeople are not suppose to quote a timeframe as no one knows how long it will take because "they dont really know what the problem is to begin with." She also informed me that **** was suppose to offer me $250 off with a 10 year warranty, all of which were not offered. She inquired how much I was willing to pay. I reported half as the work was less complex than quoted and took half the time than qouted. She reported that that was too low and would never be approved, but she would talk with a few managers and get back to me 6/13.

Desired Settlement: I just want a new estimate based on what was originally quoted to me. If a job is quoted as complex due toa complex problem that takes 8 hours, but then turns out to be not complex at all and only takes half the time, then I should pay half of what was originally quoted. I really appreciate your help in this!

Business Response: Our prices are flatrate prices.  These prices reflect what an average job takes to complete.  We provide our customer this kind of pricing structure so that there are no surprises.  We do not come back to you later and ask for more money because the job took  longer than anticipated.  It is an exact price whether it takes 2 hours or 24 hours.

Per the contract there were no roots however,the line was still collapsed and needed repaired. 

We had previously offered you a discount of $250.  In order  to resolve this matter we will double this offer to a $500 discount upon immediate payment of the balance. Please contact me at the office if further assistance needed.

Sincerely,
*** ******
ARS Rescue Rooter
Customer Care Specialist
###-###-####-Office
###-###-####-Fax

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pursuant to a television advertisement for a "$69.00 Spring AC tune-up" I called ARS and scheduled service. The appointment could not be scheduled for about two weeks. The technician came, performed the service, stated that the Freon was "a little low" and charged for one pound of Freon. I had a friend, **** ******, remain at the house while the service was being performed. The invoice for the service came to about $161.00, almost $100 more than the anticipated bill. Mr. ****** issued a check on my behalf in response to the invoice. When I called to check on the invoice I was told that the "Spring Tune-Up" special was $89, and that the technician put in one pound of Freon for a certain amount. I pointed out that the TV ad claimed a $69 charge. Even allowing for being "a little low" on Freon I suggested that being charged for one pound of Freon was excessive. The receptionist said she would take my name and have someone call me. After not hearing from anyone for 48 hours I called again and requested to speak with the Service Manager. She also claimed the ad that ran was for $89, not $69. She also informed me that ARS only charged for full pounds of Freon, not partial pounds. After several calls back and forth she agreed to refund the $20 that was over the "Spring tune-up" price and actually after I said that they were engaging in unscrupulous business, bait and switch practices. The manager agreed to have a check cut within two weeks. I have never received it.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get the $20 refund which I was promised.

Business Response: Ms. ***,

Thank You for bringing this to my attention.  I will get the check request in process for $20.00. However, it will be made out to Mr. **** Steer since the billing information is in his name and he made the intial payment.  Also, I would like to take this time to apologize for any inconvience you have had. Please feel free to contact me regarding any further issues.  I will be more than Happy to help you. And again my sincere apologies.

*** ******
ARS Rescue Rooter
Customer Care Specialist
###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted ******** ********** ***** back on March 30 to report a plumbing issue. *** sent Will Fixit to troubleshoot my issue. Up further review by Will Fixit it was determined that we had a leak under our house and they provided me an estimate. The cost of the repair was being covered by **** except for the cost of gaining access to the pipe. Upon completion of the job after, Will Fixit provived me statement dated June 3, to reflect a balance due (which is the first statement I have received, eventhough I kept asking for an itemized statement for over a month). I contacted *** on June 4th to see what Will Fixit billed them for the repair and what I am responsible for. ******** ********** said that I am only resposible for $6195 of the repair, which does not match the statement sent to me by Will Fixit. Will Fixit's sent me an invoice with an amount of $7145, with an ajustment of $3550.00 (down payment to start the job) and a balance due of $3595.00. This does not reflect what ******** ********** has on file with Will Fixit and shows an overbill of $950.00. Through out this process I sent a couple of e-mails to Will Fixit, which unanswered. I called Will Fixit at least once a week to talk to the project manager ****** ******* and unless she was in I did not receive any calls back. I could never get a straight answer as to what was taking so long to complete the job or as to why I could not get a final itemized statement.

Desired Settlement: I would like a corrected itemized statement from Will Fixit to show what they submitted to ******** ********** and what ******** ********** paid to them as well as the $3550.00 down payment I paid. The Balance due from me according to ******** ********** should only reflect $2645.00, which is derived from the $6195 minus the $3550 down payment.

Business Response: I spoke with Mr. ****** and agreed that he had a total balance of $6195 and he paid a down payment of $3550 which leaves a balance of $2645 due to us.  I emailed a copy of the invoice showing the corrected amount and Mr. ****** stated he would send the remaining balance in once he received the corrected invoice.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and as long as they send me the correct itemized invoice I will be more than happy to pay the balance.  As of 3:00pm CST time on June 4th, i have not received anything in my e-mail from Will Fixit (*********************).

Regards,

**** ******




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed up for Annual (Spring/Winter) service checks on our AC and Heating. Last year they conducted their Winter service in Late January, well after the need for heating and conducted their Spring service in June. I tried over the past several weeks to schedule the Spring service this month, leaving multiple voice mails for their local service agent, ******. She refuses to return my calls or schedule my service.

Desired Settlement: At this point, I want reimbursement for the monthly charges under the annual service agreement since June of last year.

Business Response: Our Home Service Plan includes one years worth of maintenance which can be completed in one visit, or can broken out into two seperate visits. Either way the service is completed we are removing a years worth of dirt and your complete system receives is recommended yearly maintenance. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced trying to schedule your cooling tune-up and will look into communications within our office to hopefully improve policy and procedures to avoid this situation in the future.

Weather greatly affects our ability to perform system maintenance. The ambient temperature outside has to be over 70 degrees to get accurate readings on coolant pressures, etc. and our weather recently has been too cool to perform these maintenance checks with any kind of accuracy. We have had to reschedule many of our customers and regret this situation was not properly communicated to you. We would be happy to schedule your tune-up at your earliest convenience to be sure your system is functioning at peak performance before the heat of summer settles in.

In the future if you need to schedule a service call feel free to call our main number ************, this number is answered 24 hours a day, and they can help out with any requests you may have. Unfortunately when you called ****** at our Austin branch she was not in the office and your message was not received until many days later.

Please let us know a day and time that works best for you and we would be happy to get you on the schedule. I will personally monitor your service request to be sure it is completed on time.

we appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns, and look forward to hearing back from you.

Best Regards,
******** *******

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Nothing on ******** voice mail indicated she was out or unavailable.  In addition, using their phone system, I tried connecting with the 24 hour manned center to only get sent back to her voice mail.  Finally, when ****** did call, I was told that they want to schedule a service call out two weeks to may 10th.  We've finally decided to cancel this worthless service and hire someone else.  Guess what, I got a call back within 20 minutes and have a service person heading out to my house within the next 30 minutes.  I obviously did not get what we paid for and still feel that they owe us for the monthly fees charged us since the last service call.

Regards,

***** *******





























Business Response: If you are sure you would like to cancel your HSP we will honor your request. Our accounting department issued a refund of $*** which is * payments of $** back to your credit card. I would like to apologize again for your experience and thank you for informing us of the situation so we can analyze and improve communication within our office.

If you have any other questions regarding any of our services please feel free to contact us directly at ************.

Best Regards,
******** *******

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *******




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/23/2012 Delivery Issues
8/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/15/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/16/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/7/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/10/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/5/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
9/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service