BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aire Serv of the River Cities meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aire Serv of the River Cities include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aire Serv of the River Cities
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 12, 2002 Business started: 07/01/1987 Business started locally: 07/01/1987 Business incorporated: 09/15/2000 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Don Austin, President Mr. Joseph Matthew Nolen
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don Austin, President
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Quality Service Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Air Duct Cleaning Air Duct Systems Air Duct Restoration

Alternate Business Names
Aire-Serv Heating & Air Conditioning Austin Nolen Ventures LLC
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 2001 Clovis Barker Ste 1-a

    San Marcos, TX 78666 (512) 396-2653 (512) 620-0166 (512) 353-0143 (512) 295-9449 (210) 375-2653

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 375-2653(Phone)
  • (210) 375-2653(Phone)
  • (512) 295-9449(Phone)
  • (512) 353-0143(Phone)
  • (512) 620-0166(Phone)
  • (830) 625-2653(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/3/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Technician (****) came out to repair A/C Monday 6/10/2013 ($75.00). He stated the control board was out ($405.00). He ordered the part Tuesday 6/11/2013. The part came in and was installed on 6/12/2013 late at night. The part DID NOT fix the problem. Called Aire Serv of Austin again Friday 6/14/2013. Technician (*******) came out and within 15 minutes, properly diagnosed the problem ($37.50 service charge) as an electrical issue (bad switch $0.67). Finally got a hold of Don Austin of Aire Serv on Tuesday 6/18/2013. He stated he couldn't give us back the old control board because they didn't have it. He finally agreed to give us back at least $75.00 from the first service charge but nothing else. Then he had me call ******** from Aire Serv later the same day. She attempted to try "Used Car Salesman" math on me. She stated that had I had a maintenance contract with them, I would have saved money, and if I would only let them keep the $75.00 (that Don Austin agreed to give back), I would only owe them $50.00 more.

Desired Settlement: We paid them to fix our A/C unit. They did not fix it. Since I paid for a service that was not received and they tried to upsell me after the fact, I fully expect a full refund now.

Business Response: We received your letter about a complaint from Mr. ***** from a service call we ran at their house originally on 6/10/2013. Mrs. ***** actually called Monday morning of 6/17/13 to talk to us about the diagnosis and the circuit board. I spoke to her about the call and explained that unfortunately, the air conditioning system had two problems. The first problem was the power cutoff switch that serves as a power disconnect for the furnace. The power cutoff switch is just a normal on/off light switch that was intermittently providing power to the furnace. The second problem was the failed circuit board in the furnace that we replaced as described in the complaint on 6/12/13. I spoke with the technician before I spoke with Mrs. ***** to confirm the procedures used to diagnose the failed circuit board. Upon arrival, **** diagnosed what turned out to be the impact or effect of the root of the problem the *****' were having with their system. He did not experience intermittent power interruption while he was there. He tested the circuit board for voltage across the board. He was  getting power to the board but no voltage across the board. Therefore, he condemned that circuit board and we ordered a new one and replaced it as stated on 6/12/13. At that time, the furnace worked again and **** was able to see that the system was cooling properly. There was no uncertainty about the failed circuit board at that time. The customer agreed and paid for the repair.

Two days later, ******* received a call that the *****' were not cooling and was notified that we had been out previously to replace a circuit board. ******* discussed the call with **** to gather details from him about what he had seen at the location. Having the knowledge of the first service call, ******* wanted to check the replaced circuit board to make sure it was ok. When he arrived and began looking at the unit, he noticed that there was no power to the unit but that the power cutoff switch was in the on position. He then disconnected the high voltage wires from the furnace to test the wires with his meter behind the switch. After moving the switch on and off several times, he got power to his meter once for a short period of time and then before moving the switch again, no power. He was not able to get a power reading again after trying the on and off position repeatedly. ******* concluded that the root of the problem was an intermittently working power switch that was not  consistently allowing power to the furnace. He recommended that the *****' either replace the switch themselves or hire an electrician to replace the switch. He later discussed the call with ****, who was relieved that the root  of the failed circuit board was found and that the new one was working fine.

As I discussed with Mrs. ***** on Monday 6/17/131 and intermittent high voltage supply is a common cause of failure for circuit  boards. The furnace is not engineered to handle power interruptions. It is designed to operate when a call for cooling (or heating) is received from the thermostat, Intermittent power interruption is very hard on the components of any appliance. I apologized for **** not experiencing the power interruption  at the original call but unfortunately he just did not experience that. Mrs. ***** stated that she understood what I was explaining but that her husband may want to call back and discuss it further since Mr. ***** was more familiar with electronics. I also offered to refund the return trip fee of $37.50 because I could see the reason behind their frustration that the root of the failure had not been identified by ****.

Mr. ***** called the following day, Tuesday. I am not aware of a previous call from him. I went through the call with him as well but Mr. ***** was much more determined to make me feel as if **** did not see a lack of voltage across the board. I explained that **** did not have any reason to conclude that the board was bad other than a lack of voltage across the board and furthermore, when he returned to replace the board, he did  not experience intermittent power to the unit. Also, when. the board was replaced the unit ran properly while he was there. I assured Mr. ***** that we are not in business to condemn parts and have return trips. It is a very unprofitable way to run service, Mr. ***** did request that we return the failed board but 'unfortunately, we do not keep failed parts that are not under parts warranty. Mr. ***** pointed out that he had a degree in electronics. I said that it is not uncommon for us to see a part failure, circuit board or otherwise from an intermittent power failure, Mr. ***** agreed with me that he could see how a circuit board could become damaged from these circumstances. Mr. ***** then said that we did provide a new board so rather than refunding the return service fee of $37.50, he would rather us refund the initial diagnostic fee of $75.00. I agreed to do so because **** just didn't see the  root of the failed circuit board at the time of the initial call or when he returned and replaced the board. He just didn't experience it but the customer was upset and I wanted to fulfil their request for the initial diagnostic, Mr. ***** stated that he felt that since **** did not see what the cause of the failed circuit  board was that they should not be charged the initial diagnostic fee because the diagnostic was incomplete.

We cut a check for $75.00 to the *****' that day (which cleared our account on 6/26/13). Our dispatcher, ********, asked me about the diagnostic refund because part of her job is to book the call results in our dispatching software. I explained the situation to her and why I had agreed to refund the diagnostic charge. She asked me if she could call the *****' and offer an Advantage Plan Membership maintenance agreement, which would provide member discounts for repairs, cut the diagnostic in half and provide two future tune-up visits, This would result in an Advantage Plan Membership, normally $149.00, for $50.70 and then they would have two future maintenance visits, I told ******** that I didn't know if the *****' would see that as something of value or not because they were frustrated about us taking two visits to find both problems that the system was having. I told ******** that it was up to her if she wanted to call to make the offer. ******** has worked here for me and my partner for over nine years. I can assure the *****' that she had everyone's best interest at heart. She answers the phone and dispatches calls daily and has many long term relationships with many many customers. She felt like she had a win win idea, not an idea to enable us to avoid refunding a diagnostic or get more money from a customer. It was not my idea. She definitely regrets making the offer. She has read the complaint and feels awful that her offer for maintenance has caused the *****' to feel like we did not fix their air conditioning system when they agreed at the time of the initial circuit board installation, at the time of the return visit when we pointed out the failed high voltage switch, and during the calls previously described. To my knowledge the system is cooling at this time.

I looked through our dumpster and checked with **** to see if he had cleaned out his van during our Thursday AM meeting or Monday AM meeting following the board replacement. I wish I could have located the circuit board but I did not find it,  We charged a $75.00 diagnostic fee for ****'s visit on 6/10/13 and received authorization for a circuit board for $405,24. We collected $75.00 on 6/10/13, returned to replace the circuit board on 6/12/13 and collected $405.24. We do not leave premises without restored cooling without an upfront agreement for a further repair or no further repair. All parties agreed that the unit was working at that time. We only charged half of a diagnostic, $37.50, for the return trip by *******. We have refunded the initial diagnostic fee of $75.00. We are really sorry that **** did not experience power interruption while in  the home and that ******** offered a maintenance contract. Offering the Advantage Plan Membership had the opposite effect that ******** intended.

**** has been doing air conditioning work  for over 20 years. Through education and training as well as work experience under licensed contractors, he has made a major achievement by obtaining his air conditioning license as well. This service call did not present a unique set of circumstances and we are confident in our diagnosis.

We are willing to refund the return visit fee of $37,50 when ******* ultimately found the root of the problems that the *****' experienced with their air conditioning system in addition to the refund already provided. Alternatively, we would also be willing to offer an Advantage Plan Membership at no additional cost This would provide the *****' two future tune-up visits and a 15% discount on future repairs for one year as well as  priority scheduling and save them $50.70.

Consumer Response: I reject the response due to the fact that the air conditioner was on when **** first arrived. He said he would look at it anyway. He then came back down and told both my wife and I that he caught the power dropping on the unit while he was monitoring it. He then stated that those kind of intermittent problems occur with a bad board and we would need to replace it. At this point I know there's no way they are going to own up to it. I just want to make sure no one else is taken for a ride by these guys.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1