BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Air One Air Conditioning & Heating meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Air One Air Conditioning & Heating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Air One Air Conditioning & Heating
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 26, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984 Business incorporated: 01/01/2002 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Lance Beck, Owner Mr. Ernest Murry, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lance Beck, Owner
Principal: Mr. Ernest Murry, Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair

Alternate Business Names
AirOne Balcones Air Conditioning Balcones Appliance Repair
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 2700 A Hunter Rd

    San Marcos, TX 78666 (512) 738-0022 (512) 392-0022

  • PO Box 393

    San Marcos, TX 78666

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (512) 738-0022(Phone)
  • (830) 629-3399(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The technician came out to investigate an issue with my heating unit. He said the thermostat was bad and removed it from the wall. I asked how much and was given a price of over $400.00. I couldn't afford that at the time. The technician said I could go to ****** or someplace like that and purchase one that I could easily install myself. I purchased one to install, but couldn't install because the Air One technician left my old thermostat off the wall and I could not match the placement of the wires. I was a bit frustrated with Air One over this so I called another company, *** **** *****, to come and install the thermostat. The *** **** ***** technician installed the thermostat and the heater still didn't work. He checked some things and found out that the heater had another issue. He then re-installed my old thermostat just to check it. There was nothing wrong with it. I called Air One and spoke to ****** about what happened. She apologized and said she would send me a full refund for the service call. Some time went by and I didn't receive the check in the mail so I called her again. She then told me that she had talked to Mr. ****** and he said I would have to send an invoice from *** **** ***** to prove that it was something besides the thermostat that was causing the problem. So I called *** **** *****. The woman that answered the phone, can't recall her name, said that she would get it taken care of for me. As far as I know, she did her part. I still haven't received a refund from Air One. FYI, I didn't ask for a refund, I simply wanted Air One to know that their technician mis-diagnosed the problem. ****** is the one that offered a refund. She said that was their policy. Even though getting a refund was not my original reason for calling, I think it's only fair that I get one as ****** stated since I was charged for a service call and given a incorrect diagnosis.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to make good on word regarding a refund.

Business Response:

See Attached-
Ms. * and I have spoken on
6/12/2013 regarding the confusion with her refund check. I have expressed my
apologies for having let it slip my mind and have assured her that it has been
written and will be placed in the mail today.

A copy of the
other company's invoice was requested to use in training our technicians. It
allows us to communicate with our service personnel where they have gone wrong
and retrain in those areas. I was awaiting a copy of the invoice and
unfortunately, when it never showed, the refund slipped my mind.

I hope that I
have communicated my sincere apologies to Ms. * for any miscommunication on my
part and reassured her that the refund is on the way.





Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   I actually received the refund check in the mail yesterday.  However, I want them to know that I realize they requested the invoice from the other company that actually repaired the problem as proof that I had it repaired.  They have already challenged my honesty, now they want to insult my intelligence.  Although I do believe that they have every right to make this request, I am very disappointed in the fact that after all the years I have been a loyal customer of their company, they did not take my word for it when I explained the nature of the repair.  Again, I would like to express that I did not call the company originally for a refund, I simply wanted to inform them of the mis-diagnosis.  I had no knowledge of their policy.  I had been doing business with their company for years on the referral of a close friend and have never had any issues before this incident.  I will no longer use this company for repairs to my air conditioner/heating system.   I understand that technicians can make mistakes, this is not what upsets me.  What upsets me is the fact that after all the years I've been a loyal customer, even referring them to several of my friends, that they questioned my honesty.

Thanks for helping with the resolution of this issue.


Regards,

***** *****




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* from Air One came to my home on 5/13/13 and completed an estimate for repair. Our A/C was not blowing cold. ******* informed us that the A/C compressor was "shorted". I specifically asked him if he was sure that it was a compressor issue and not a contactor or a capicitor. ******* stated that he was sure that the compressor was shorted and that it neeeded replacement. He was going to give an estimate to replace the compressor, or the complete condensor/compressor assembly, and also an estimate to replace all of those items and the evap coils. For this estimate service we were charged $79.00. When I came home I decided to check the system myself. I removed the cover and inspected the system. I then reset the breaker that ******* had turned off at the ext unit. I tapped the contactor, it sparked slightly and the compressor came on. I then turned of the breaker, loosened the contactor connections, cleaned the contacts and reconnected the wires. I then reset the breaker and the compressor and fan came right on . It is aprox 2 1/2 hours later the A/C is running fine and our home is cooling off and is down to 75 degrees. My wife took our 3 year old daughter to her grandparents for the evening because of the lies and deception of Air One and their employee. I will contact them in the mornning and complain to the owners. I will also contact my bank and cancel the check the we paid them with. If this is the type of service that can be expected from Air One they should be run out off town. This is deceptive and wrong to take advantage off people.

Desired Settlement: Refund your so called "estimate fee". An apology letter for lying and trying to steal from us. If these things are not done we will post further revirew all over the internet and tell any neighbor or friend about this treatment and attempted theft.

Business Response: Mr_ * and I spoke by
phone on 5(13/2013 the morning after the incident. Prior to talking to him, I
did debrief the technician involved so I might better understand what went
wrong.

I fully understand
why Mr. * was upset and agree that he has every right to a refund of his $79.00
payment. That refund has already been taken care of.

In the course of our
conversation. I hope I was able to convey to Mr. *  that from our perspective, a refund of his
payment was never in doubt. My bigger concern was how this could have happened
in the first place. My biggest regret is the inconvenience and upset we have
caused. The simplicity of the solution would imply an almost unheard of degree
of incompetency or intentional deception ...

The
technician involved has been with our company for a little more than a year.
During this period, we have received an unusual number of phone calls, e-mails,
and letters commending this young man and his work.
This is the first complaint ... and at the same time, an extremely serious one.

Having had only one
experience with this technician and our company and that experience being a
rather bad one ... I can fully understand and appreciate Mr. *'s suspicions.
However, my repeated experience with this particular technician over the past
year indicates to me a less sinister ... but no less serious problem that we
will be working to identify and resolve.

I did thank Mr. * for
bring the matter to my attention and did assure him that we would address the
issue with the technician, that we would review his diagnostic procedures in an
attempt to find out how this call went so terribly wrong. In addition, we will
be closely monitoring the technician for any evidence of intentional deceptive
practices toward our clients or our company.

I do
hope I was able to adequately convey all this to Mr. *  in our brief phone conversation.

As
a company, we are always indebted to customers like Mr. *. It is this type of
customer that does allow us to quickly detect rogue employees, or outdated
business practices. In the end Mr. *  has
done us a great kindness in his complaint I lust wish there was a better way to
express our regrets.




Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1