This Business is not BBB accredited

Affordable Air Conditioning and Plumbing

Phone: (512) 436-0744 Fax: (512) 243-8608 View Additional Phone Numbers 2009 Ranch Road 620 N Ste 340, Lakeway, TX 78734 http://www.affordableairconditioningandplumbing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Affordable Air Conditioning and Plumbing include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Affordable Air Conditioning and Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Affordable Air Conditioning and Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 14, 2012 Business started: 07/15/1993 in TX Business started locally: 07/15/1993 Business incorporated: 07/15/1993 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E 41st St, Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (800) 845-6584
info@tsbpe.state.tx

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. Bruce Craig, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bruce Craig, Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Plumbers Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Heating & Air Conditioning

Alternate Business Names
Craig Family Limited Partnership
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2009 Ranch Road 620 N Ste 340

    Lakeway, TX 78734 (512) 436-0744

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid AHSP in November of 2013 a $585 fee for a year of home warranty services and they never informed me that they were going out of business until April 4, 2014. Know they claim that I have to agree to cancel the warranty contract, so that they can prorate my fee.

Desired Settlement: Full payment of the $585.

1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They ran a water line approximately 1200' from the water meter. They were supposed to burry the line to a depth of 12" from the top of the pipe. They were also supposed to backfill with sand. I've learned that these were not done when I had to dig up an area to repair a broken pipe. After many unreturned calls, I finally had them send someone to repair. They sent another plumbing service to repair at no cost to me. This was in line with the warranty they gave me. I now have another problem - the pressure reducer valve they installed is not working and the water pressure is too high. This is also covered under the warranty they gave me. When I called them, they told me they sold the company but after talking to a former employee, I learned that the sale never went through. When I mentioned this to the company, they told me well, that does not matter because we dissolved the plumbing part of the company and only kept the home warranty part. They do not want to honor their warranty commitment. I paid over $8000 for the water line to be run, and when I was concerned about the quality of the work during the project, ****, the plumber told me it came with a warranty so I had nothing to worry about. I feel I have been scammed and they are trying to get out of their legal commitments. I have to turn off the water at the water main due to the high pressure, and also because I am afraid the line will freeze as they did not bury it to the full 12" agreed.

Desired Settlement: I want them to first of all replace the pressure reducer valve at no cost to me. However, as I cannot wait for water any longer, I have contacted a third party to do this. I would like for them to therefore pay for the third party. As the line was not properly backfilled with sand and was not to the depth per local building code, I want a refund unless they can resolve this some magical way. The company is not trust worthy and should not have an A+ rating.

Business Response:

****:

I am not sure where you emailed complaint #*******, but we did not receive it until you sent a follow up email to us.  I contacted Mr. ********* today regarding his complaint and explained to him that we had sold the air conditioning and plumbing company to **** ********* DBA “****** ********** *** ************ *** ********” the early part of August.  Although ****** company name is similar to our company name, it was not our company that contracted with Mr. *********.  The money Mr. ********* paid went to ****’s company – not ours.  I explained to him how he could contact **** ********* and ****** ******, the Master Plumber that was the license holder for the job.  I explained that I felt sure they would help him resolve his problems.  Mr. ********* said he understood and appreciated my help, and that he would withdraw this complaint against our company.

Thanks

***** *****

Affordable Air Conditioning and Plumbing

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I did receive a call from the owns.  He way very polite and his summary of our discussion is accurate.  However, although he mentioned he did not receive a payment from me, I checked and confirmed with my credit card company that two payments were made to his company, and not to the 'new' company which went out of business.  I called the plumber under whose license the work was done, and he was also polite and offered to help, although he said that he did not feel like he was responsible as the new company is no longer in business.  The plumber called a few days later to take a look at the problems, but I was not able to meet him as I was out of town.  I offered to meet him next week, but have not yet heard back.  I called the owner and gave him an update on my conversation with the master plumber as well as that there were two payments to his company.  He previously looked for one payment for the full amount, so explained this is why he may have not noticed it.  He was going to need some help to look into this, and was to get back to me yesterday.  I disputed the charges with my credit card company a few weeks ago, as I was unable to get my problems fixed, and the 5 year warranty was not being honor only a few months after the installation.  I was uncomfortable with the quality of work during the installation, and with two problems in a few months concerned that I will continue to have issues.  I have to keep the water turned off when I am not in town and when the temperature falls below 32 degrees, due to the water pressure and incorrect depth of the pipe installed.  I should not have to do this after spending so much money and paying additional for extra high quality pipe.  If the owner agreed to the dispute raised by the credit card company, I will find another plumber to solve the problems and agree to close this complaint.  I am tired of waiting for a solution and plan to eventually hire another plumber to help.   I have been given the run around for many months, and think all would agree having water is very important.  I am frustrated that I had to contact the BBB and do a credit dispute to finally get some attention.  I look forward to resolution, whether it be the owner agree to the credit dispute or somehow repair the problems and offer me at least a 5 year warranty from his current company.  My trust level is low right now on any such warranty due to my experience with the previously promised 5 year warranty, so my preference would be I get the money back and start over.  I would have allowed more time for the owner and master plumber to get back to me next week, but I explained 4 days ago to the owner that I have a limited time to respond to the BBB before this complaint is considered resolved.  Thus, I am documenting where we are as of now, and would like to keep this open as it is not yet resolved.

Regards,

***** *********

9/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 28, ***** from Affordable responded to call for air conditioning service He determined possibility that air conditioning system would need to be replaced; he would come out on Sat to make Energy Load evaluation to recommend system. We agreed that ***** would obtain additional information before final decision on Mon, July 1. I did not hear from ***** until Tues, decision and go ahead on what systems to install. I asked specifically whether system could be installed July 3 and July 5. ***** promised and committed that both systems would be installed July 3 with a 4 man crew. I old ***** that I was placing my trust on his analysis , configuration of systems and service of installation. Today is July 10 and still no working systems, only pieces of work done. Before the upper air conditioning was working. Now neither upper or new downstairs air conditioning is working. *****, the service manager promised that all would be completed today and we both would walk thru and inspect all items. I called and requested that ***** come over to see the situation. he said he needed to check with his crew before coming over and would call me back in 10 minutes. No call was received. I called again, no answer, left message. This company overcommitted what they could do in a reasonable time frame. It has now been 14 days since initial contact. This is unacceptable and hot. What they say now is not creditable. We have been placed in a continuous wait loop.

Desired Settlement: Complete job in a healthy correct manner, repair any damage or errors. Insulation that was disrupted has caused some breathing problems. Establish air conditioning ASAP to acceptable level. Provide acceptable discount.

Business Response:

On July 10th Affordable had not completed installing the units as promised due to numerous uncontrollable circumstances from customer not answering phone calls on day of service, also due to rescheduling constraints because of inclement weather and freight
damaged equipment.  When attempting to schedule an appointment, Ms. ****** spoke to the General Manager who made adjustments to the schedule to have someone out on a Saturday morning.  Ms. ****** was very pleasant and patient and worked out a time with the General Manager who worked out a complete list of items concerning Ms. ******.  Some items included picking up boxes, a defective damper board from manufacture was replaced. Last items before completing services were to relocate downstairs thermostat to help balance temperatures in house.

Affordable completed service and provided Ms. ****** with adequate discounts of $620 from invoice to compensate for her troubles and accepted.  All services have been paid in full to date.  It is disappointing to know that Ms. ****** had to go as far as writing a complaint to the BBB but we do understand. All during this ordeal Ms. ****** was very pleasant and patient with us.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

Progress has been made but there is still one outstanding item.

Response:
For work that was scheduled to begin July 3 and be done in two days with a crew of four; it has taken an elapsed time of approximately 6 weeks with the last visit on Mon Aug 12, 2013.

What prompted this grievance was the request that one of the replacement air conditioning units would be working completely before replacing the remainder on July 10/July 11, 2013.  This was not the case and this caused all areas of the home to be hot.  When I called and requested the appropriate party to come and inspect the situation; it was not honored.   A neighbor came over to assist as to what might
be causing the system to not work, i.e.  thermostat, etc.  He found that there had been a complete gap left between some of the major components and cold air that should have come into the house was leaking into the attic.
 
Serious work on resolving the issues did not really begin until I received a call from the General Manager as a result of filing complaint with BBB and I provided a list of approximately 11 to 12 items that had been identified.
 
The Affordable Air Conditioning crew were always courteous but there appeared to be times of miscommunication and not having the right person(s) that could identify and resolve the problem(s).
Progress has been made and most of home is cooling correctly to the thermostat setting and I have a two year warranty that will allow
for any needed followups this winter and next year.
 
However, there is still an outstanding item. (1) the upstairs bathroom air cooling solution.  This has
Been an issue since July 18 and I am still waiting for a solution.





Regards,

******* ******

Business Response: To whom this may concern;

The complaint issued by Ms. ******* ******: “ there is still an outstanding item. (1) the upstairs bathroom air cooling solution.  This has Been an issue since July 18 and I am still waiting for a solution.”

Although the upstairs bathroom was not completed. A plan was put in place that may help with cooling down that specific bathroom. Ms. ****** and our Sales person (****) agreed on a plan to install an exhaust fan and a pass thru grill in which the exhaust fan would draw cooler air from the conditioned space outside of the bathroom.

While at the jobsite it was clearly communicated that because where the bathroom. There was never a duct run in the bathroom to begin with. Upon reviewing the situation it was discovered that a duct run could not be installed to space restrictions, no access above ceiling to run a duct.

While the proposal for the systems was being drawn the bathroom situation was not included due to no access to run ducts. Ms ****** completely understood we would have no way to install a duct. However, Our salesperson offered to try a solution at no charge to attempt to get airflow in to the bathroom by installing and pass thru grill and a new exhaust fan. However will not resolve her problems with airflow in bathroom. The homeowner will be required to sign a waiver of responsibility or liabilities relieving Affordable Air Conditioning and Plumbing before the installation of the exhaust fan. Which is scheduled to take place on 8/29/13.

On 8/29/13 our service manager arrived at Ms Forrer’s house to discuss options that could be done to improve airflow in the upstairs bathroom. Ms. ****** was well aware of the structural obstacles why a duct and duct grill could not be installed because of the house frame in the bathroom, also the customer was well aware the additional airflow to the bathroom was not part of the original contract. Service Manager and Ms. ****** discussed the pass thru gate would not be sufficient to provide airflow. Ms ****** then told our Service Manager that she had orders a full length louvered door and felt that would be sufficient to provide better airflow and it was agreed upon that no further work from Affordable Air Conditioning and Plumbing was to be done. Other options would be to run a duct into the wall and would be exposed and would have to build a fir down to hide the duct. Ms. ****** declined the offer and is going with the Full Length Louvered door instead. No further action was taken and job completed.

Thank you.

**** *********
General Manager
Affordable Air Conditioning and Plumbing

7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable