BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers to replace and/or repair existing HVAC equipment in homes, they also re-insulate homes via radiant barrier and/or blown in fiberglass and replace duct systems, etc.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SA Specialties meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SA Specialties include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 14, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2004 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/2004 Business incorporated: 01/21/2011 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Carolyn Roberds, CFO Mr. Jason Roberds, President Mrs. Rose Roberds, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Carolyn Roberds, CFO
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Energy Conservation Products & Services Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Air Duct Systems Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Energy Service Companies Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Contractor - Insulation Heating & Air Conditioning

Products & Services

SA Specialties sells the following brand(s): Goodman/Amana, Lennox, Ruud, Trane

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, checks, American Express, Mastercard, Visa and offer financing through GE
Alternate Business Names
Carolyn Roberds Jason Roberds
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 11811 Warfield St

    San Antonio, TX 78216 (210) 658-0440 (713) 778-9799

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (713) 778-9799(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6 Jan 2014, I was having a conversation about a continued problem with my HVAC not heating the downstairs of my home when he hung up the phone. I was trying to explain to the ******* ******* (I dont remember his name) of SA Specialties the concern I had with their disregard to help us correct this problem we brought to their attention on 10 Dec 2013. He continued to insist that he was not going to send anyone out to ascertain what the problem was with the system. First he said we need to install dampers and I asked him why was this not done when the system was first installed in May of 2012, and why was it not mentioned when the first Fall check was done. He also said the company sent out a service technician to my home after the second Fall check was done on 10 Dec 13, however, I explained to him that no one had come to my home since that time. My husband is at home during the day until I return home at 7 p.m., and I have been on holiday since 23 Dec 13 and I assured him no service technician came to our home. The service technician (***) performed a check of the system and ductwork on 10 Dec and told us we needed to have dampers installed to keep the flow of warm air going downstairs instead of upstairs. He also closed the air vents upstairs so that the warm air would go downstairs, but the air downstairs feels like the A/C is on instead. The ******* ******* also insisted no ductwork had been done in my home and he hadnt even seen the work site. The receipt from the installation of the system does not list all the work that was done. The receipt does not document the ductwork that was done, nor does it list the additional insulation that was blown in the attic, so I dont understand why my integrity is being called into question when the facts/evidence reflects otherwise. Prior to the installation of this system from SA Specialties, we did not have such problem with the downstairs so cold we have to have a space heater and the fireplace going to arrive at a comfortable temperature. When I dont have the fireplace going, Im in the kitchen cooking and usually in the oven to keep it warm downstairs for as long as possible. Lastly, the installation of this system was due to a lightning struck that rendered the unit inoperable. My insurance company paid for all work/repairs minus our deductible. If SA Specialties had informed us or the insurance company that dampers were needed to complete the install, I have no doubt they would have paid for the dampers and anything else required to complete the install. Now SA Specialties is expecting us to install dampers at our expense. Ive included the receipt from the system install by SA Specialties, a photograph of a register that was added/ducted to the new system, and a photo of the two registers that have been in the house since it was built in 1986. I feel we have been patient in our efforts to try and remedy this situation, but the unprofessional behavior of the ******* ******* leaves me no choice but to look to the Better Business Bureau for assistance.

Desired Settlement: To resolve the problem, Im asking that SA Specialties acknowledge that they did not complete the installation process and make appropriate repairs to correct the problem.

Business Response: The ******* ******* - *** ******* will be calling the homeowner scheduling one of our technicians to come out to their home to check the issues with the airflow.  The Proposal/Bid sheet does list all work to be performed at the home which did include an additional return as well as the blown in insulation, but never was it mentioned anything about a damper system or a zone system.  The Homeowner did not purchase an extended warranty, but since we had not done two FREE check-ups Jim approved our technician to go out to this home at no cost to the homeowner for the second FREE check-up (despite the fact it was past one year).  We installed this system over a year ago, the reason we don't do free check-ups after the warranty is for this specific reason.  We can't change anything after one year because the manufacturers warranty is now gone.  But installing dampers or installing a zone system costs the homeowner - this is not part of an HVAC install, it is additional money to have a damper or zone system installed.  In some two story homes, heat will rise and cause issues - in that the upstairs and downstairs are not the same temperature - thus we would install a zone or electronic damper system depending on the need of the specific home.  This was not mentioned to us when we first went there, gave them the bid and installed the system.  Most times, homeowners mention this to us during the bid process or by the first winter and we then talk to them about the cost of a zone or damper system.  But again, we don't know this until the homeowner mentions it, we would have included this cost in the initial bid if the homeowner would have mentioned that the upstairs and downstairs are not the same temperature.  Thus, we will have a technician go out and see whether a damper system or a zone system would be most beneficial.  Adding manual dampers to the ductwork would force more air downstairs which would make it warmer in the winter but come summer the upstairs would not get enough cool air, thus a technician needs to see what type of system would work given their home.  The insurance that was mentioned by the homeowner will only cover the replacement of what was there before, in other words they would not have covered a damper system unless that was installed before the lightening strike.  Insurance only replaces what was there to begin with, therefore installing a damper or zone system would have to have been paid for by the homeowner anyway

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday 6/28/13, SA Specialties came to our house and added freon to our main air conditioning unit at ***** ****** ****** *** ** *****. I had called them on Thursday morning to ask them to wait to do ANYTHING until I called them to come to our house, but they showed up, without notifying me and added the Freon. We had just bought the house and the previous owners had bought us a year of **** ********. We wanted the **** ******** to check the system, as it was to provide an evaluation. It was critical to wait for additional Freon until **** ******** had checked it and made a decision on what they wanted to do next. **** ******** had to check the system first. **** ******** showed up at our house and SA Specialties was adding the Freon. Once we realized that they were there doing that, we told them to stop. The owner of SA Specialties and my husband had words over the phone The owner of SA Specialties said that we lied about calling on Thursday to postpone. He accused us of lying (that we cancelled them coming out) and accused us of 'swindling' them to get free Freon. As SA Specialties packed up to leave, the technician reached in and cut two lines to main components. I have pictures. **** ******** technician (*****) came in right after (5 min) SA Specialties left and they showed me the fresh cuts, way up in the machine. These were hard to detect. The lines could not have been cut prior to SA Specialties service call, because SA Specialties could not have added the 10 pounds of Freon, with the machine disabled due to the cut wires. It is impossible to add Freon post-wire cut. **** ******** hired **** *** ************ to come and ***** (the technician) showed me the cut wires. This was five minutes after SA Specialties left the premises I have a photo. A-US (*****) could not service or analyze the unit with it disability from the cut wires. Also, *****, the A-US technician also alerted us to the fact the SA Specialties said they added 10 pounds of Freon, but machine said that only 8 pounds was added. SA Specialties is not a A+ vendor by BBB. We have three witnesses to the fact of the cut wires. Our son is disabled and he has a 3 year old son. Leaving our house with no A/C is dangerous.

Desired Settlement: SA specialties should NOT have an A+ rating with BBB. SA Specialties is not a A+ vendor by BBB. We have three witnesses to the fact that SA Specialties cut the wires in our A/C. Our son is disabled and he has a 3 year old son. Leaving our house with no A/C is dangerous.

Business Response: On 6/26/13 our salesmen **** went to this residence and provided a bid to replace the A/C system which is what the homeowner wanted because their system was not working at all.  We gave them a bid to replace the system and scheduled the install for 7/1/13.  We called to send a technician to see if we could get their system operating on 6/27 so the homeowner would not be suffering through this heat waiting until 7/1/13, the homeowner informed us that she would not be home until the next day - 6/28.  We informed her that there would be fees associated with getting her system working, if we could but we would take these costs back off of the install price when the unit was replaced.  We sent the technician to their home on 6/28 to look at the system to see if we could get it working for just a couple days until the install on 7/1/13, our dispatch talked to her that morning to let her know that our technician was en route to her home, at no point in time did she decline our technician coming out nor did she inform us that she had a home warranty company.  Our technician added Freon and replaced a capacitor to bring the unit on line and keep it working until we were able to do the install.  In the hour that our technician was on site, he got their system to work again - by adding Freon and a capacitor.  At the end of the hour a home warranty A/C company showed up and more or less took over the repair.  All we removed was the capacitor that we had installed, at no point in time did we cut wires - our technician only removed the part that we had installed because someone else was now taking over the repair and the other technician from the other company was on site while our technician removed the part.  The homeowner refused to pay, we never cut any lines or took the freon that we had added back out.  We did ask the homeowner to pay us for the work that was done, the homeowner refused.  We are not going after them for the $400 that they owe us.  We simply have them on a no call no service.  In other words they refused to pay for service that had been provided at their request - therefore we will not ever go to this residence again.  I'm not sure why this complaint has a "Purchase Price of $400 because the homeowner never paid the $400 bill that we gave them so why is this listed as part of their complaint.  We have the bid sheet explaining the $400 service fee for refrigerant so this was all explained up-front.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/1/2011 Delivery Issues
9/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/9/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1