Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?
Download

BBB Accredited Business since

SA Specialties

Phone: (210) 658-0440 Fax: (210) 658-3443 11811 Warfield St, San Antonio, TX 78216 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.saspecialties.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers to replace and/or repair existing HVAC equipment in homes, they also replace or add additional duct work to homes and re-insulate homes via radiant barrier and/or blown in fiberglass.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SA Specialties meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SA Specialties include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on SA Specialties
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 7
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 14, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2004 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/2004 Business incorporated 01/21/2011 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Carolyn Roberds, CFO Mr. Jason Roberds, President Mrs. Rose Roberds, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Carolyn Roberds, CFO
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Energy Conservation Products & Services Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Air Duct Systems Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Energy Service Companies Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Contractor - Insulation Heating & Air Conditioning

Products & Services

SA Specialties sells the following brand(s): Goodman/Amana, Goodman/Amana, Lennox, Lennox, Ruud, Ruud, Trane, Trane

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, checks, American Express, Mastercard, Visa and offer financing through Synchrony
Alternate Business Names
Carolyn Roberds Jason Roberds Rose Roberds
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

SA Specialties has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 11811 Warfield St

    San Antonio, TX 78216 (210) 658-0440

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July 2012 I requested SA Specialties to come to my home to assess the problem with my unit not cooling properly (it would run constantly but never get any cooler) I had a newspaper clip out of a deal from them and my parents had just had a complete install so I thought they would be a good first step. They sent a salesman over and we were talked into a complete install (both inside and outside), and we also opted for the attic insulation as well. They arrived and installed on July 17, 2012. In October 2012 we had to call again because we were again having an issue with our home not cooling. The technician arrived and found one of the parts was loose and causing us to lose Freon again. They fixed the problem and refilled our unit with Freon again. On April 2, 2014 I arrived home from work to find that my unit was running but once again there was not any cool air coming out of the vents. I waited approximately 2 hours to see how it would go but the unit never clicked off and still it was 80 degrees in my house. I called SA Specialties to get a technician and when he arrived he said we were 3 pounds low on Freon. He also stated that there is probably a leak and that he could perform a leak detection test for a cost of $125 on top of the $49.95 service call and $40 per pound of Freon needed. He ran the test and found the unit to be leak free so his conclusion was that the leak was somewhere in the copper line located in the foundation of our home. He then quoted us a price of $1200 to do a new line set. I had a couple of questions about this so I called this morning to speak to the manager. I initially asked why the copper line was not included in the initial "complete" install which I was told that as long as it was not leaking the quote would not include it. I understood that but then I asked how they knew it was not leaking because these issues seem to be the same regardless of the unit we have so I feel it has been the problem all along. The general manager on the phone told me that they do a pressure check on the install day and as long as it is not a problem they continue with the install. I asked for the number the gauge read both before and after the pressure check but they could not provide that to me (this would have resolved this issue completely if they could provide proof that it was not leaking). I feel that initially I could have opted to have a new line set for $1200 versus the almost $6000 we ended up spending on a complete unit only to be having the same problems. The old unit could have lasted with a new line and we could have waited on the new system until it was completely necessary. On another note, the professionalism of the people I spoke to today should be called into question as well. They passed my concerns off on one another multiple times, interrupted me, and even got to the point of yelling at me. I understand that I am not knowledgeable in the field of HVAC but I know that this is no way to conduct business with paying customers. After I had begun this complaint I received a phone call offering to do an isolation leak test at a cost of $350 and if a leak was detected the funds would be applied to the work needing to be done. When I rejected the person on the phone stated "you can find someone else then" Again very rude and no way to treat customers.

Desired Settlement: I feel that SA Specialties should be able to provide me with the proof that the copper line was not leaking at the time of install or should be responsible to make the necessary repairs.

Business Response: The Homeowner called our office initially for a salesman – she did not request a technician – she did not indicate there were any issues with her system – she was requesting a bid for a replacement, which is what we provided.  At no point in time did homeowner indicate to the salesman that they wanted a check-up of their system.  If homeowner wanted a check-up that is done by a technician not a salesman.  She spent $4,398 on a system and $540 for blown in insulation in her attic.  3 months after the install we repaired a leak in the Schrader valve, then 10 months later came out and performed a free Fall check-up, then 10 months later (our recent service call)we found unit was low on refrigerant, the technician gave the homeowner options since the system itself had no leaks – the leak must be from the lineset which is in the walls of the home.  The lineset is not part of a change out on an HVAC system.  This is always an extra charge and is not something that we would do unless there is a leak in that lineset – this can be caused by the house shifting, etc.  She called the office, spoke to the ******* ******* ****, she was put on speaker phone because the owner had come into the office to help deal with this issue.  Neither the ** nor the owner ever raised their voices on the phone with this homeowner.  She wants us to put in a free lineset and that is not going to happen.  The Homeowner had a one year labor warranty on all equipment and 10 year parts on equipment, this was installed 7/17/12, almost 2 years ago, she is out of her warranty period for labor, that is why she was charged a leak search fee on our most recent service call to her home - which revealed no problems with the equipment.  The owner offered to take the fee for the isolation leak search and if it is the lineset to reduce the lineset installation charge by the isolation leak search fee, to help her out because she was very upset.  She hung up on the owner because he refused to do this work for FREE – she told the owner that this should have been done when the system was installed, industry wide a lineset is not replaced during an install – there is a separate fee for a lineset to be replaced.  She did not pay for a lineset during the install because at the time of the install there were no issues with her lineset.  We have installed systems and found that the lineset is a problem right away because we could not obtain proper pressures, which was not the case at this install.  All HVAC systems pressures are checked during install of the system, units will not work if the pressures are not correct.  Her unit was pressured at time of install and every visit we make to a home the units pressures are checked.  We replaced the Schrader valve 3 months after the install because of poor pressures, we knew there was a problem and we replaced the part that was causing it.  A year and a month later we did the Fall check and then 8 months later (now) she called us back and we provided her options on lineset replacement.  This lineset runs through the foundation of her home and we have been very reasonable on our pricing to help her out but we refuse to give her a lineset for FREE.  Industry wide linesets are replaced if they break or leak and therefore need to be replaced, they are not replaced when a new HVAC system is installed, unless the homeowner wants a new lineset at that time.

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6 Jan 2014, I was having a conversation about a continued problem with my HVAC not heating the downstairs of my home when he hung up the phone. I was trying to explain to the ******* ******* (I dont remember his name) of SA Specialties the concern I had with their disregard to help us correct this problem we brought to their attention on 10 Dec 2013. He continued to insist that he was not going to send anyone out to ascertain what the problem was with the system. First he said we need to install dampers and I asked him why was this not done when the system was first installed in May of 2012, and why was it not mentioned when the first Fall check was done. He also said the company sent out a service technician to my home after the second Fall check was done on 10 Dec 13, however, I explained to him that no one had come to my home since that time. My husband is at home during the day until I return home at 7 p.m., and I have been on holiday since 23 Dec 13 and I assured him no service technician came to our home. The service technician (***) performed a check of the system and ductwork on 10 Dec and told us we needed to have dampers installed to keep the flow of warm air going downstairs instead of upstairs. He also closed the air vents upstairs so that the warm air would go downstairs, but the air downstairs feels like the A/C is on instead. The ******* ******* also insisted no ductwork had been done in my home and he hadnt even seen the work site. The receipt from the installation of the system does not list all the work that was done. The receipt does not document the ductwork that was done, nor does it list the additional insulation that was blown in the attic, so I dont understand why my integrity is being called into question when the facts/evidence reflects otherwise. Prior to the installation of this system from SA Specialties, we did not have such problem with the downstairs so cold we have to have a space heater and the fireplace going to arrive at a comfortable temperature. When I dont have the fireplace going, Im in the kitchen cooking and usually in the oven to keep it warm downstairs for as long as possible. Lastly, the installation of this system was due to a lightning struck that rendered the unit inoperable. My insurance company paid for all work/repairs minus our deductible. If SA Specialties had informed us or the insurance company that dampers were needed to complete the install, I have no doubt they would have paid for the dampers and anything else required to complete the install. Now SA Specialties is expecting us to install dampers at our expense. Ive included the receipt from the system install by SA Specialties, a photograph of a register that was added/ducted to the new system, and a photo of the two registers that have been in the house since it was built in 1986. I feel we have been patient in our efforts to try and remedy this situation, but the unprofessional behavior of the ******* ******* leaves me no choice but to look to the Better Business Bureau for assistance.

Desired Settlement: To resolve the problem, Im asking that SA Specialties acknowledge that they did not complete the installation process and make appropriate repairs to correct the problem.

Business Response: The ******* ******* - *** ******* will be calling the homeowner scheduling one of our technicians to come out to their home to check the issues with the airflow.  The Proposal/Bid sheet does list all work to be performed at the home which did include an additional return as well as the blown in insulation, but never was it mentioned anything about a damper system or a zone system.  The Homeowner did not purchase an extended warranty, but since we had not done two FREE check-ups Jim approved our technician to go out to this home at no cost to the homeowner for the second FREE check-up (despite the fact it was past one year).  We installed this system over a year ago, the reason we don't do free check-ups after the warranty is for this specific reason.  We can't change anything after one year because the manufacturers warranty is now gone.  But installing dampers or installing a zone system costs the homeowner - this is not part of an HVAC install, it is additional money to have a damper or zone system installed.  In some two story homes, heat will rise and cause issues - in that the upstairs and downstairs are not the same temperature - thus we would install a zone or electronic damper system depending on the need of the specific home.  This was not mentioned to us when we first went there, gave them the bid and installed the system.  Most times, homeowners mention this to us during the bid process or by the first winter and we then talk to them about the cost of a zone or damper system.  But again, we don't know this until the homeowner mentions it, we would have included this cost in the initial bid if the homeowner would have mentioned that the upstairs and downstairs are not the same temperature.  Thus, we will have a technician go out and see whether a damper system or a zone system would be most beneficial.  Adding manual dampers to the ductwork would force more air downstairs which would make it warmer in the winter but come summer the upstairs would not get enough cool air, thus a technician needs to see what type of system would work given their home.  The insurance that was mentioned by the homeowner will only cover the replacement of what was there before, in other words they would not have covered a damper system unless that was installed before the lightening strike.  Insurance only replaces what was there to begin with, therefore installing a damper or zone system would have to have been paid for by the homeowner anyway

7/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday 6/28/13, SA Specialties came to our house and added freon to our main air conditioning unit at ***** ****** ****** *** ** *****. I had called them on Thursday morning to ask them to wait to do ANYTHING until I called them to come to our house, but they showed up, without notifying me and added the Freon. We had just bought the house and the previous owners had bought us a year of **** ********. We wanted the **** ******** to check the system, as it was to provide an evaluation. It was critical to wait for additional Freon until **** ******** had checked it and made a decision on what they wanted to do next. **** ******** had to check the system first. **** ******** showed up at our house and SA Specialties was adding the Freon. Once we realized that they were there doing that, we told them to stop. The owner of SA Specialties and my husband had words over the phone The owner of SA Specialties said that we lied about calling on Thursday to postpone. He accused us of lying (that we cancelled them coming out) and accused us of 'swindling' them to get free Freon. As SA Specialties packed up to leave, the technician reached in and cut two lines to main components. I have pictures. **** ******** technician (*****) came in right after (5 min) SA Specialties left and they showed me the fresh cuts, way up in the machine. These were hard to detect. The lines could not have been cut prior to SA Specialties service call, because SA Specialties could not have added the 10 pounds of Freon, with the machine disabled due to the cut wires. It is impossible to add Freon post-wire cut. **** ******** hired **** *** ************ to come and ***** (the technician) showed me the cut wires. This was five minutes after SA Specialties left the premises I have a photo. A-US (*****) could not service or analyze the unit with it disability from the cut wires. Also, *****, the A-US technician also alerted us to the fact the SA Specialties said they added 10 pounds of Freon, but machine said that only 8 pounds was added. SA Specialties is not a A+ vendor by BBB. We have three witnesses to the fact of the cut wires. Our son is disabled and he has a 3 year old son. Leaving our house with no A/C is dangerous.

Desired Settlement: SA specialties should NOT have an A+ rating with BBB. SA Specialties is not a A+ vendor by BBB. We have three witnesses to the fact that SA Specialties cut the wires in our A/C. Our son is disabled and he has a 3 year old son. Leaving our house with no A/C is dangerous.

Business Response: On 6/26/13 our salesmen **** went to this residence and provided a bid to replace the A/C system which is what the homeowner wanted because their system was not working at all.  We gave them a bid to replace the system and scheduled the install for 7/1/13.  We called to send a technician to see if we could get their system operating on 6/27 so the homeowner would not be suffering through this heat waiting until 7/1/13, the homeowner informed us that she would not be home until the next day - 6/28.  We informed her that there would be fees associated with getting her system working, if we could but we would take these costs back off of the install price when the unit was replaced.  We sent the technician to their home on 6/28 to look at the system to see if we could get it working for just a couple days until the install on 7/1/13, our dispatch talked to her that morning to let her know that our technician was en route to her home, at no point in time did she decline our technician coming out nor did she inform us that she had a home warranty company.  Our technician added Freon and replaced a capacitor to bring the unit on line and keep it working until we were able to do the install.  In the hour that our technician was on site, he got their system to work again - by adding Freon and a capacitor.  At the end of the hour a home warranty A/C company showed up and more or less took over the repair.  All we removed was the capacitor that we had installed, at no point in time did we cut wires - our technician only removed the part that we had installed because someone else was now taking over the repair and the other technician from the other company was on site while our technician removed the part.  The homeowner refused to pay, we never cut any lines or took the freon that we had added back out.  We did ask the homeowner to pay us for the work that was done, the homeowner refused.  We are not going after them for the $400 that they owe us.  We simply have them on a no call no service.  In other words they refused to pay for service that had been provided at their request - therefore we will not ever go to this residence again.  I'm not sure why this complaint has a "Purchase Price of $400 because the homeowner never paid the $400 bill that we gave them so why is this listed as part of their complaint.  We have the bid sheet explaining the $400 service fee for refrigerant so this was all explained up-front.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on SA Specialties
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart