This business is not BBB accredited.

911 A/C & Heating of South Texas

Phone: (361) 779-7754 -----, Corpus Christi, TX 78418


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for 911 A/C & Heating of South Texas include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for 911 A/C & Heating of South Texas include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on 911 A/C & Heating of South Texas
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2013 Business started: 09/01/2011 in TX Business started locally: 09/01/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Gary Johnson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Johnson, Owner
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial

Alternate Business Names
911 Air Conditioning & Heating of South Texaws
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

911 A/C & Heating of South Texas has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    -----

    Corpus Christi, TX 78418 (361) 779-7754

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** from 911 AC and heating has failed to fix damages to my home caused by his poor work practices and ethics. He failed to install Air Condition equipment in my home properly which caused a leak and damage to my ceiling and insulation. He also did not repair the AC unit to code and also improperly wired my unit which was a fire hazard. He has been let go by American Homeshield as a reliable contractor. He avoids me whenever possible and will not repair the damages he caused to my home. I have evidence of all the damages along with pictures of his horrible work. Not only had he caused excessive repairs by other contractors who not only came and evaluated his work to give me written statements of all the damages but also he caused major repairs at my Buisness as well. I am currently in the process of filing a complaint with the state as well to pull his license. He should not be allowed to practice.

Desired Settlement: Repair damages caused to my home before we have health issues to my family because of mold!!!

10/19/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Day installed a new heating France on 1/4/15 and I paid for new air returns and I never received them I called him-several times and he gives me the run round and tired of it it going on for months i ask for a refund and he said no I work for my money just to throw it away

12/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Tuesday 10/14/14, we contacted American Home Shield because our air conditioning was out. 911 AC and Heating of South Texas contacted us on Thursday 10/16/14 to set an appointment to troubleshoot our issue. On Friday 10/17/14 around 3:00pm, a technician (****) came out to diagnose the issue. At that time, he told us that the blower motor on our unit needed replaced (he then left with the motor). While he was at our residence, he contacted a distributor to get more information about the availability of the part; however, he told us that he could not tell us when the part would come in but that it might take as long as a month to receive the part. On Saturday 10/18/14, we contacted the company to see when the part would be received. At that time, the owner of the business (****) told us that we would not know anything until Monday. On Monday, we contacted **** once again to see when we would receive the part; at that time, he told us that he would make a phone call and call us back to see when the part would be received. We did not receive a call back, so my husband contacted American Home Shield on Wednesday 10/22/14 to get more information on the status of the repair. On the afternoon of 10/22/14, **** arrived at our residence (un***ounced) along with a technician and a blower motor. The blower motor was installed; then, **** comes in and presented us with a $135 invoice for 3 pounds of freon (he also asked us to return the original invoice from the prior service call to him). My husband and I did not approve this addition of freon to our system. This is completely unacceptable to make a repair without giving us the opportunity to decide whether or not to make the repair based on the cost of the repair. **** acknowledged that he made this repair without our permission; however, the only thing that he was willing to do was to make "payment arrangements". We do not feel that we should have to pay for a service that we did not approve (and did not even see performed). Please note: We also had to incur the cost of a window air conditioner since we were originally told that it might take as long as a month to get the part and perform the repair. We are only asking to be refunded the $135 for the unauthorized service. Thank you, ******* *****

Desired Settlement: A full refund in the amount of $135.00 for the freon service that was not authorized in advance by us.

Business Response:

Dear *** ******** , I received your email on Mrs. ***** on Sun Harbor it is correct we received a dispatch to service that address however the dispatch did not come through 10/15/2014 at 9:36 and we are required to make an appointment within 24 hours and run the call within 48 hours.If we do not follow that rule it will be transferred to another vendor. We will take a part with us at times if the serial numbers are  not visible or an unusual part we do not stock on the truck. We train our techs to explain to the customer the procedure of ordering parts. Most are ordered through American Home Sheild so we do not have a control over the lenghth of time it takes.  We did receive a status email on 10/22/2014 of the part being availiable  we picked it up and installed it the same day trying to give good promt service. **** asked for the invoice because he wanted to combine both visits together on one, we bill out only one time for each job so having the information on one invoice  seems to be better for the customer ,American Home Sheild,and 911 A.C.and Heating . I apologize we did not explain that to the customer. the Freon that was added to her home was 2 pounds and she was informed that it was 65.00 a pound American Home Sheild does cover 10.00 a pound for her . I will call the customer and speak with her about the issue on Monday I appretiate you taking your time to bring it to  me. Thanks ***** *******                                                                                                                   

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I do not feel that the business has done anything to rectify the situation.  In addition, Ms. *******'s version of the events that transpired is untrue.  

First, Ms. ******* states that "we will take a part with us at time if the serial numbers are not visible or an unusual part we do not stock on the truck"; neither of these was the case.  The technician called to check on the price and availability of the part before leaving our residence.  

Second, there was no attempt to provide "good, prompt service" as Ms. ******* describes in her response.  **** showed up (un***ounced) at our residence after we had to call American Home Shield on numerous occasions to check on the status of the repair because the status of the repair was not being communicated to us by 911 A/C Heating and Air.

Third, **** asked for the invoice because he did not like the fact that the original invoice listed the cost of the part.  He specifically told us that American Home Shield would be upset if the customer was given the price of the part.

Fourth, we were not told that freon was going to be added to the unit, and we never saw freon being added to the unit.  In addition, the price of the freon was not discussed before being added to the unit (since we never had the opportunity to even decide whether or not we agreed to adding the freon to the unit).  Furthermore, there was no issue with the unit blowing cold air before this service call which makes me seriously doubt that freon needed to be added to the unit.  If the unit needed freon added, this should have been discussed with us beforehand so that we could make the decision on whether or not we wanted 911 A/C Heating and Air to perform this service.

Fifth, the service provided by 911 A/C Heating and Air was extremely unprofessional.  Specifically, **** was full of excuses about why it took so long to perform the service including the death of a family member, problems ordering the part from American Home Shield, etc.  During the service call, **** went on and on complaining about his customers.  For instance, he specifically told us that he asked one of his customers if he was "the President of the United States" because the customer was complaining about the speed of the service.


While we appreciate the fact that Ms. ******* is willing to call us about this issue, we have no desire to speak to her since her story is so inaccurate.  The only fair resolution to this matter is to refund the freon costs to us since this service was NOT authorized by us.

Since this was such an unprofessional experience, we have already contacted American Home Shield to make sure that 911 A/C Heating and Air will not be dispatched to our residence for any future service calls.



Regards,

******* *****

Business Response:

Dear ***,I did try to contact Mrs. ***** to talk to her in this matter she would not respond so Im going to refund her the money for the Freon. I will mail it to her home. I do apologize she wasent aware of the Freon we will be more careful in the future on communication with the customer however Im sure it was low we are honest and have no reason to risk falsifying Freon pressures to gain a few hundred dollars. I also apologize **** came unanounced have no answer for that.I did contact **** to ask why the motor was removed from the property he took the blower housing to take to the shop and check the power head. We do that because in some cases the motor is still in working condition the power head goes bad. We can not check them on site . We are a company that believes in repair if needed, replace.It is a varitable drive motor and had to be ordered by American Home Sheild. I also apologize **** told her he had a death in the family! It was our son and its not an excuse it did put us behind as it would with and parent. We did the best we could to get through it we got caught up and thanks to our customers that were patient with us and understood. I will write the check personally and I am requesting this matter be solved. Thank you *** for your time and for giving me the chance to try and resolve this .Sincerally, ***** *******

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on 911 A/C & Heating of South Texas
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart