BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central, Northern and Western Arizona

BBB Accredited Business since

GoTronics

Phone: (855) 462-2731 View Additional Phone Numbers 3240 N Colorado St #101, Chandler, AZ 85225 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.gocare.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a comprehensive line of protection plans for a variety of mobile electronics products such as iPhones, iPod Touches, Cell Phones and iPads. Plans cover accidental damage, water damage, mechanical breakdown, and more. Also included is a loaner phone program, technical support services, and data recovery. We also offer asset recovery services, buy back services, accessories for electronics, IT services and more.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that GoTronics meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for GoTronics include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 6
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on GoTronics
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 28, 2010 Business started: 04/01/2008 in AZ Business started locally: 04/01/2008 Business incorporated: 06/03/2010 in AZ
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department of Insurance
2910 N. 44th Street, Suite 210, Phoenix AZ 85018-0725
http://www.id.state.az.us
Phone Number: 602.364.3100
Fax Number: 602.364.2400
consumers@azinsurance.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Moyer, Member Mrs. Christine Villa, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Moyer, Member
Customer Contact: Mrs. Christine Villa, Controller
Business Category

Insurance - Property Electronic Equipment & Suppliers - Service & Repair Information Technology Services Recycling - Computers & Other Electronics

Products & Services

GoTronics sells the following brand(s): GoCare, GoCare

Hours of Operation
M: 6:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 6:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 6:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 6:00 PM - 5:00 PM
F: 6:00 PM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Master Card, Amex, Discover, PayPal
Alternate Business Names
GoCare Warranty Group GoCare Warranty Group, Inc GoCare, Inc. GoTronics, LLC

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 251-3708(Phone)
  • (480) 525-9973 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted gocare.com via e-mal when my iPhone was stolen on the beach in NYC. I asked if they could send me the receipt or policy? They asked for a receipt. I explained that I didn't have a receipt, because the Laptop where the receipt was located "Crashed." Also, I don't have access to those e-mails because it was under another internet carrier "RoadRunner," and I am presently with Verizon Fios. The representative Andrew Shelly, said that he and his associates (2 others) didn't find anything with my phone number, e-mails . . . He asked me if I knew the month and year when I purchased the insurance. I looked quite some time via my PDF bank accounts for GoCare.com purchase, but could not and even stated that now I doubted if I even purchased the insurance. to resolve my problem I purchased an iPhone for$ 75. with a cracked screen, and took it to the Apple store where they replaced it with working phone for $160. The case #1760 was closed on August 10, because I was unable to confirm my purchase, but I found in iTunes the history of GoCare.com's App, which was sold to me by GoTronics.com, a third-party vendor. I found a confirmation of my purchase on my bank statement, e-mailed Andrew the info, but never heard from him. I called GoCare shared the aforementioned, and they were able to confirm that I am their customer. The representative stated that I still needed the receipt. I can confirm that I purchased the insurance, they can confirm that I'm a customer, but they will not do anything without a receipt. This is an unconscionable practice. I am not out $235 for the replacement phone and $161.50 for insurance that doesn't do anything to help me.

Desired Settlement: I want to be compensated for the cost of the new iPhone, or the cost of the insurance $161.50.

Business Response: ***** **** purchased insurance from a company called GoTronics on February 18th, of 2011 for $161.50. ***** contacted GoCare Warranty Group in August of 2012 to file a claim for cell phone theft.

***** **** was asked to provide a copy of the receipt so that CoCare Warranty Group could look up his plan and cover his claim per his terms and conditions. He was unable to provide this information. This delayed the process. Although GoCare Warranty will honor GoTronics claims it is our policy that the customer must provide proof of purchase and a policy #. After Further research on our part, we were able to locate his policy and provide him with his terms and conditions. At this point ***** **** purchased a new phone and had it repaired. On August 17th, GoCare Warranty Group responded to ***** **** via email;

From: Andrew Shelley [mailto:a.shelley@gocare.com]
Sent: Wednesday, August 17, 2012 12:23 PM
To: **********************
Subject: Policy that was found.

 

 

Hello ***** ****,
Thank you for your order from GoCare Inc.. You can view your order by logging into your account. If you have any questions about your order or need to make a claim, please contact us at info@gotronics.com or call us at
888-269-5658 Monday - Friday, 9am - 5pm PST.

Your order confirmation is below. Thank you again for your business.

Your coverage does not begin for 30 days from the date of purchase, since there is a waiting period. To receive immediate coverage, please go to www.gotronics.com/contact-us and upload pictures of the front and back of your phone with the front showing the serial # and the phone on. When we receive these, and they are approved, you will receive immediate coverage.

Your policy #****** (placed on February 18, 2011)

Billing Information:

Payment Method:

***** ****
*** ***** ***** ****** *** ******** ***** *** ***** ********** ****** ****** ** ************ ** ************

 

Credit Card

Credit Card Type:

MasterCard

Credit Card Number:

xxxx-****

 

Item

Sku

Qty

Subtotal

iPhone 4 32GB - Verizon or AT&T

Select Carrier

Verizon

How many years of coverage?

2 Years - Save 15% ($50 deductible)

Loss coverage (Optional)

No

Enter MEID # (Settings app, general, about)

A100001ADA7445

gocare4g32

1

$161.50

Subtotal

$161.50

Grand Total

$161.50

 

Gift Message for this Order

 

Thank you again,
GoCare Inc.

 

 

Also attached is your terms and conditions that have not been modified in any way. You also spoke with Jeanine about filing a claim so that we could refund you for the phone you purchased. If you have any other questions please let us know how we can help you. We apologize for the inconvenience we have caused you.

 

Andrew

We have advised Mr **** of his policy and provided a option to be reimbursed for his cost. He has not responded. 




Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

***** ****


There response is inaccurate, I did communicate with them, and told them that I was not going to apply for reimbursement, because they refused to provide me info on my insurance by denying that I had any, then I found the proof and then it was a "training opportunity" for their staff, but not one that gave me proper resolution. 

Bottomline, I went out and purchased an iPhone 4 which was broken for $75; took it to Apple store (whole day lost), and purchased a replacement for that phone for $167, and lost more than $150 which will not be reimbursed. Unacceptable outcome, I paid $160+ for the insurance, and they would not help me, and resisted providing any support. I asked them to reimburse me the money I paid for the insurance, and they would after they discounted the coverage time. Again, unacceptable in that it left my with a significan loss due to their negligence. I purchased that insurance in order to prevent additional cost. By them refusing to appropriately address my needs I lost money, and only responded to me after you, the BBB intervened. 

I find their resolutions to be designed to protect their interest at the cost of the consumer's rights. I want them to reimburse me for the full amount of the insurance. 

Respectfully,

***** ****

Business Response:

***** **** purchased a policy for insurance on Feb 18th, 2011 for two years. This coverage was for accidental damage and theft. He contacted our organization to file a theft claim. Unfortunately he was a customer of another company and we had some difficulty finding his policy. During this time he purchased a phone that was broken and then had it replaced. We would be glad to reimburse him for the costs associated but he must file a claim with our company in order to reimburse him for his costs. I have filed a claim for Mr. Cruz and advised my team. I will need him to send in the receipts for the costs that he wants to be reimbursed for. Please send receipts tojwhittaker@gocare.com

 

This request was sent to him on August 15, 2012 and we have not received receipts from him.

 

If he has any further questions he can contact me at 480-704-3978

 

Thanks

Jeanine

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

***** ****



 In my initial complaint, this company was unable to help me, and had no system to accommodate my claim at the time of the claim. There position, that another company sold me the claim is a crutch of incompetence or an attempt to defraud a customer. DId they expect me to go away and forget the money invested in the policy? In fact, they treated me as if I had never purchased the insurance - really great customer service. It was after, I had to find a creative way to save on a new phone, and  I spent days searching my bank records and e-mails, that I was unable to confirm the policy. 

I don't understand how the BBB could just allow a business to provide no service, and then claim they did all they could, and now I should provide reciepts for them because they were kind enough to file a claim for me? Now, are you seriously this diluted to think that this is an acceptable outcome. I paid you full price for an insurance, be it via third party or a company you purchased, your job was to ensure that you could meet the needs of a customer but to dismiss me as, "maybe it was another company you purchased it from?" As if I'm a liar or a thief? 

Seriously, I want to severe all relations to this company, and I demand my money back due to your disrespectful treatment, and irresponsible behavior, and let me go there, had my last name been "Cruise" instead of "****" would the outcome had been different, would there had been a greater effort to accommodate my request instead of dismissing it?

My initial cost for replacement of the phone should have been $50, but instead I spent a few hundred. They were not there when I needed them, and if this is acceptable claim to the BBB. Fine, I was offered, dismissed, and treated inappropriately because this company didn't do its job then, but wants to do it now, how long has it been? 

Keep it all, I pray God pay your for your injustice practices, and hope that a discriminating factor of my last name didn't lead to the lack of service and response. 

I'm done.

*****, and I really would like to tell you what I really think of the incompetence of this company and BBB complacency and protection of businesses over consumers. 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/4/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Policy # ********* Bought call phone insurance in June. Made a claim in July. Was denied claim because they could not repair device even though terms promise replacement. Had to argue back and forth for days before I got a cash settlement instead WITH the promise from customer service that my warranty would carry over to the next phone I bought. Only on that promise I accepted the settlement. Fast forward to December, had an issue with my phone bought brand new in November. Support person updated my policy to the new device and told me I was covered and to make my claim. Made a claim to get screen fixed. Was approved and then minutes later denied because "coverage was not transferable" even though their terms say it can transfer to a brand new device, which this was and I proved that. They said support person got it wrong. Wasted hours on the phone. If they had told me the right thing in the first place I would have bought new policy for my new phone, but being told that I was covered I thought I had peace of mind. They say the Rep just got it wrong. Two different reps 5 months apart made the same mistake? They never keep their word. Since I had been promised coverage, they should have honored what their own rep said. Even if it was a mistake, take responsibility and provide some real customer service. At every turn they have tried to deny claims and change their mind at the drop of a hat. Unethical company. --- On a side note, from June-August, their site said their BBB rating was an A when in fact it was a B+. False advertizing, but ofcourse it is just another "mistake" that they will blame on someone else and not take responsibility. I have the screenshot to prove this.

Desired Settlement: Fix my phone please, as promised.

Business Response: ***,

Per our last communication you agreed to send in your broken device and we would repair/ replace it. We are more than willing to try to make our customers happy.

GoCare

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/30/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a warranty through go care for a cell phone I currently had. The cell phone was in great operating condition, and a picture was taken with the phone running to ensure its identity at the time of gocare approving of the warranty. I had to file a claim on the cellular device (apple i-phone 4s 32gb), because it fell out of my hand while exercising. The phone display was still functioning, but the front glass and rear back glass were cracked. I could have had the glass repaired locally, but it was 30 percent more than my deductible through gocare. I paid a insurance deduction of $59.00 to go care to have the work done. After 2 weeks of them having the phone I sent them an e-mail asking on my repair status, and I received a reply that said, my screen front and back were replaced, but they would not be sending me a replacement phone. It sounded like they had repaired my phone, but when asking if it was back in great operating shape the customer service rep said it currently would not turn on and that they wouldn't be replacing it, because it had be previous tampered with. All of this sounded strange to me. Why would they take my phone apart, and replace damaged components, then say they couldn't further repair it, because they notice while opening it that it had been worked on before? Why would they even replace damaged components if their policy says they will not work on devices that have previously been serviced, or tampered with? My speculation is that they started replacing components on the device, maybe made an error or could not diagnose why my phone was not turning on, so they gave up doing a final repair, and just stated it had been previously been worked out. It seems they feel this exempts them from having to completely and correctly repair my phone, or replace it. I feel this might be happening to other consumers and it concerns me greatly. I appreciated your help and effort pertaining to this situation.

Desired Settlement: I would like my cell phone replaced, or fixed to proper operating conditions.

Business Response:

Here are the following details regarding this claim. 

August 14th, 2012 7:28:31 PM 

Policy #********* purchased by ***** ********* for $59.00

Policy details:

1 yr Accidental damage only plan

AT&T iPhone ** ** ** ***** ****# ***************

August 15th, 2012 11:42 AM (MST)  

***** ********* sends pictures of insured device for immediate coverage under Zendesk ticket #1804. This is for Policy # *********

August 15th, 2012 11:49:09  

GoCare reviews photo verification and grants immediate coverage to policy # ********* notifying ***** via email.

August 22nd, 2012 11:59 AM  (1 week after purchasing the policy)

***** ********* filed claim #****** for policy # ********* with this comment: 

‘My phone fell out of my hand onto some pavement while I was listening to music this morning. I sure hope you are able to fix it. The screens front glass is broke/cracked, and the back glass I guess it is was cracked as well.’ 

August 22nd, 2012 1:39 PM  

GoCare approved claim #****** pending inspection with this email:

Pending inspection, your claim is approved

Please ship your device to:

GoCare Inc.
***** ** ***** *** ******* ** *****

1. You do not need to include any cases, cables or accessories in the box with your device.

2. Please pack your device in a box as tightly as possible to prevent further damage during shipping.

3. If your device has a passcode, please disable it. This is to ensure that proper testing can be conducted. If your device is received with a passcode on it, it may delay the repair process.

August 27th, 2012 12:44 PM  

Claim ticket #****** status updated to ‘Device Received’ at repair facility

August 29th, 2012 

Repair team replaced back glass and front glass of device  

Comment. When a customer sends a device to our repair facility, the repair team is advised of the accidental damage claim and follows instructions to replace damage part. When a damaged screen (cracked) screen is replaced the technicians remove the screen. You can not put the damage screen back on the phone. You must replace it with a new screen. That is why the phone was returned with a replaced screen. 

makes this comment concerning Claim # ******:

‘iPhone will not power on. Liquid damage found in device. Logic board likely needs to be repaired.’ Missing screws and phone appears to be tampered with.

September 7th, 2012  

Device shipped to Chandler facility for secondary technicians to review

A return tracking number was given: ***************

September 10th, 2012

Phone reviewed by Technicians and confirmed that there was missing parts, screws and that the phone was tampered with. 

September 11th, 2012 4:04 PM  

GoCare sends this email to ***** ********* in regards to Claim # ******:

We have replaced both your front and back screens. We are sending your phone back to you. We will not be replacing your phone. Our technicians opened your phone and found missing pieces and screws, and many stripped screws. In your specific terms and conditions that was emailed to you, under the "What is NOT covered section," you will find "Equipment that is received dismantled or that appears to have been taken apart prior, will be considered intentional damage and no coverage will be offered." Because your phone has been taken apart we will not replace it. Your tracking number is ******* ******* ********

Sincerely,

GoCare claims department

At 4:05 PM the claim status was updated to ‘Claim resolved (canceled)’

Mr ********* filed a claim for accidental damage for a cracked screen. At which GoCare did replace. Once received our technicians reviewed the phone and found other issues with the phone, like water damage and missing parts and screws. Per his policy we would of replaced his phone for accidental damage and even water damage, but since the phone had been previously tampered with the claim was denied. 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/20/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The warranty for the iphone is a complete scam. After spending $130 on insurance they failed to replace or repair the iphone.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $130 refunded to me since they have failed to offer service for products rendered.

Business Response: The attached documents are to show that the customer was in clear violation of his terms with our company. The first problem is that his phone arrived with no SIM tray, which rendered us unable to verify that this was the correct phone that he had insured. Secondly, there were grains of rice found on the inside of the phone. We prohibit our customers from using rice to dry out a wet phone. Furthermore, after the denial of his claim, he disputed the charges that he paid through PayPal. In his dispute submission, he admitted that his phone had been previously damaged by water for nearly six months, which is another thing that is prohibited by our terms. If we had known that he had concealed these preexisting problems with his device at the original purchase of his plan, we would not have provided coverage to this customer on that device. We look forward to the resolution of this complaint. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/28/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/12/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1