BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central, Northern and Western Arizona

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers blinds, shades, shutters and custom draperies. Blinds Chalet sells blinds nationwide.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blinds Chalet, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Blinds Chalet, LLC include:

  • 18 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Blinds Chalet, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 16
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

11 Customer Reviews on Blinds Chalet, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 9
Total Customer Reviews 11

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 26, 2007 Business started: 06/28/2001 in AZ Business started locally: 05/08/2006 Business incorporated: 08/15/2006 in AZ
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Registrar of Contractors
1700 W. Washington Street #105, Phoenix AZ 85007
http://www.azroc.gov
Phone Number: 602.542.1525
Fax Number: 602.542.1599

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jayson Ellingson, CEO Mr. Ron Manwaring, CTO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jayson Ellingson, CEO
Business Category

Window Shades Blinds Window Coverings Draperies & Curtains - Retail & Custom Screens - Door & Window Shutters Venetian Blinds - Dealers Vertical Blinds

Products & Services

Blinds Chalet, LLC offers the following product(s): Aluminum Mini Blinds, Bamboo Woven Wood Shades, Blackout Shades, Collegiate Window Shades, Cordless Blinds/Child Safe Blinds, Cordless Top Down Bottom Up, Custom Drapery, Decorative Tape Blinds, Discount Blinds, Energy Efficient Shades, Express Production Blinds, Faux Wood Blinds, HoneyComb Cellular Shades, Horizontal Fabric Shades, MLB™ Window Shades, Motorized Blinds, Noise Reduction Shades, Pleated Shades, Roller Shades, Roman Shades, Routless Blinds, Shutters, Soft Sheer Shades, Solar Screen Shades, Top Down Bottom Up Shades, Valances, Vertical Blinds, Window Blind Colors, Window Blinds, Window Shades, Wood Blinds

Method(s) of Payment
All Major Credit Cards
Google Checkout
PayPal

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Blinds Chalet, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Yankee shade from them. When I installed it and rolled it down, it does not roll down straight. I checked the leveling on window and shade and they are even. The shade is on the roller unevenly. I am also unhappy about the measured width of the product. I have contacted them on the telephone, email, and social media and Im yet to get any customer satisfaction. Their employee ***** is rude, unsympathetic, and is basically ignoring my claim as the pictures I've sent are pretty clear that the shade needs fixed. I haven't heard from them in over a week.

Desired Settlement: I want a new shade that is wider and straight. It is a Xmas gift and will be centerpiece of my sons room for years.

Business Response: I have looked over the photos sent in by the customer on this order, and
the shade is hanging correctly from what I can see. Customer notes at
the bottom of this complaint that he wants a "wider"  replacement...was
this not ordered at the correct size? We do not offer returns and or
exchanges due to the shades we make  are all custom made to the the size
given to us by the customer. However, if the customer would like to
send me a photo showing the shade all the way pulled down and where the
material is attached crooked on the roller head rail I will be more then
happy to send that over to the manufacture and see about doing a remake
but it will come at the same size as on the original order, The remake
can only be done if I can show that manufacturer in fact that the shade
is crooked.


Thank you,

******* *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I've sent them pictures before. They are denying even in their response that they see that it is crooked. They are just stating that they are going to take a look at pictures again and again refer it to the manufacturer. That is a dead response. They've already done that. I've posted theses pics on social media and everyone can tell that it is in fact cockeyed when rolled down. I won't accept anything less than it being fixed without the hassle and disregard
I've received at this point. They need to accept my claim and take it back and make another. I'm not going to accept anything less. 

Regards,

**** ****


 

 

Business Response: If the customer wants to pay to ship the blind to our office I will look at it and photograph the shade and send in all photos to BBB and to the customer to show if it was or was not made correctly. If it is not correct again we will remake but it will be at the original size ordered. Please let me know if this is what the customer wants to do and I will send our address for him to ship the blind back to us for inspection, Thank you!

******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The shade I bought and paid for was shipped with the incorrect measurements. Blinds Chalet blamed me for it and flatly refused to correct the problem, sticking me for $150. Not only was customer service rude, when I asked to speak to a supervisor, they promised one would call back. The call never came, and so I am stuck with a $150 dollar blind that is of new value. I call this internet piracy.

Desired Settlement: They need to issue a refund for their error. They told me the product had to be made in China, and shipped from there. No way this is anyone's fault but mine right?????

Business Response: Customer order on their own using our website off IP address ************* on November 23, 2013

Customer order our Energy Guard 1/2" Translucent Double Cell Shades

Inside Mount

70 x 34.75

Here are the instruction for the "how to measure for this product" This information is listed on the page that the customer ordered the product on:



Attention:

When ordering, use the following guidelines:
INSIDE MOUNT: Enter exact window measurements.
Take NO Deductions.


Factory Adjustment:

Fabric 1/2", Headrail 3/8" to 1/4" including end caps.

OUTSIDE MOUNT: Enter the size you wish the blinds to be made. See individual descriptions for any deductions or additions.

For more help, please see our measuring instructions.


Note: Width and length measurements may vary +/- 1/8".

If you are mounting blinds or shades to fit within any
openings such as between cabinets or walls use inside mount.



If the customer received the product at the incorrect size due to a error made on Blinds Chalet part, we are more then happy to get it fix to the correct measurements. However, if it came correct and it happens to be the wrong measurement that the customer provided we do not offer returns or exchanges due to the product being customer made, we can offer a larger discount on a new order to replace the one that was ordered incorrect.

Customer also agreed to our terms and conditions on the website that state our Return Policy:


Measuring Disclaimer

It is the responsibility of the customer to take the measurements for
their desired window coverings. If the customer follows the measuring instructions as outlined on the website of **************** the window coverings will fit impeccably.


All of our products are custom made to order so it is very important
that you follow our measuring and installation instructions. When you
follow our instructions we guarantee your blinds will fit perfectly! It
is equally important that you review your email order confirmation for
accuracy. Because our products are custom made your card will be charged
at the time the order is placed. Of course we realize that mistakes may
occur and if we make a mistake on your order we will either repair or
remake it at no charge to you. If you make a mistake in measuring or
ordering please contact us. Depending on the type of error you may
return the product to the factory for alteration or we will have it
remade at a discount. Any cost incurred for alterations due to
customer's mistakes, including shipping, will be the responsibility of
the customer.



Return Policy

We want you to be completely satisfied with your purchase and for this
reason we offer a 30-day Satisfaction Guarantee. Since all products are
custom made to order for each customer, they cannot be returned except
for warranty repair. We understand that your window coverings are a
substantial investment, for this reason we require that free samples
must be obtained before ordering to qualify for the Satisfaction
Guarantee. This will allow you to view the samples and see any color
variations that may occur from monitors, manufacturers, and different
lighting environments. Therefore, if the blinds conform to the sample,
blinds may not be returned for any of these reasons. In the event that
you're not satisfied with your window coverings, **************** will
make every effort to realize your complete satisfaction. Blinds may not
be returned due to mistakes made by customers measurement, incorrect
ordering, stained woods and fabrics that vary slightly due to dye lots
or wood grain, shipping issues out of our control, etc. Products within
the same room should be ordered at the same time to ensure proper
matching. Blinds Chalet must be notified with 10 days from date of
receipt for any problems. Commercial and contract orders are not covered
under this guarantee.



All returns must be given a Return Authorization Number(RGA) and
shipping address to return the product. Keep your original boxes and
packaging materials in the event you need to return your blinds, Blinds
Chalet cannot provide packaging materials. All returns must be shipped
to **************** in new condition within 30 days of receipt, preceded
by prior authorization that has been accepted by ****************
Customer Service Department. Call our Customer Service Department toll
free @ ***** ********.


Please contact me if you have any other questions, Thank you

******* *******
General Manager
Blinds Chalet LLC
************




 





Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

They messed up this order NOT ME. Now I have a 149 dollar blind that is of NO value whatsoever to me. THEY OFFERED NOTHING WHAT SO +EVER new in their response to you. Blame the customer, cannot be them. If you look on Yelp.com for Blinds Chalet, there are others with the same exact issue. They told me the order goes to China for the creation of this blind, and yet they are sure there is no chance something could be lost in translation! No, I do not find their response even a slight effort to remedy the situation.

Regards,

******* ****


 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Because Blinds Chalet has previously refused to even talk about fixing this issue, and rudely done so, i bought another blind already. Now they want to replace it? Too late. A refund is the only acceptable remedy. I bought the blind to keep my kitchen warmer, and wanted it in place for the holidays. Now that the BBB got involved they decided they would fix the issue like ANY NORMAL HONEST BUSINESS would have done in the first place.  When they laughed at me out loud from their customer service, I gave up on them. What else could I do? Even the first effort through the BBB received a "we are not doing anything" response from Blinds Chalet. This business is not acting like a normal US business. I own a business...we ALL have to process refunds!

Regards,

Michael Pass

 

Business Response:
Again the customer order this product on their own, the size order was 70 x 34.75 and that is what the customer received, If the customer placed his order with sizing that was backwards we can offer a discount on a new order. Please read the below information as we have covered all areas of this compliant. Thank you.





Customer order on their own using our website off IP address ************* on November 23, 2013

Customer order our Energy Guard 1/2" Translucent Double Cell Shades

Inside Mount

70 x 34.75

Here
are the instruction for the "how to measure for this product" This
information is listed on the page that the customer ordered the product
on:



Attention:

When ordering, use the following guidelines:
INSIDE MOUNT: Enter exact window measurements.
Take NO Deductions.


Factory Adjustment:

Fabric 1/2", Headrail 3/8" to 1/4" including end caps.

OUTSIDE MOUNT: Enter the size you wish the blinds to be made. See individual descriptions for any deductions or additions.

For more help, please see our measuring instructions.


Note: Width and length measurements may vary +/- 1/8".

If you are mounting blinds or shades to fit within any
openings such as between cabinets or walls use inside mount.



If
the customer received the product at the incorrect size due to a error
made on Blinds Chalet part, we are more then happy to get it fix to the
correct measurements. However, if it came correct and it happens to be
the wrong measurement that the customer provided we do not offer returns
or exchanges due to the product being customer made, we can offer a
larger discount on a new order to replace the one that was ordered
incorrect.

Customer also agreed to our terms and conditions on the website that state our Return Policy:


Measuring Disclaimer

It is the responsibility of the customer to take the measurements for
their
desired window coverings. If the customer follows the measuring
instructions as outlined on the website of **************** the window
coverings will fit impeccably.


All of our products are custom made to order so it is very important
that you follow our measuring and installation instructions. When you
follow our instructions we guarantee your blinds will fit perfectly! It
is equally important that you review your email order confirmation for
accuracy. Because our products are custom made your card will be charged
at the time the order is placed. Of course we realize that mistakes may
occur and if we make a mistake on your order we will either repair or
remake it at no charge to you. If you make a mistake in measuring or
ordering please contact us. Depending on the type of error you may
return the product to the factory for alteration or we will have it
remade at a discount. Any cost incurred for alterations due to
customer's mistakes, including shipping, will be the responsibility of
the customer.



Return Policy

We want you to be completely satisfied with your purchase and for this
reason we offer a 30-day Satisfaction Guarantee. Since all products are
custom made to order for each customer, they cannot be returned except
for warranty repair. We understand that your window coverings are a
substantial investment, for this reason we require that free samples
must be obtained before ordering to qualify for the Satisfaction
Guarantee. This will allow you to view the samples and see any color
variations that may occur from monitors, manufacturers, and different
lighting environments. Therefore, if the blinds conform to the sample,
blinds may not be returned for any of these reasons. In the event that
you're not satisfied with your window coverings, **************** will
make every effort to realize your complete satisfaction. Blinds may not
be returned due to mistakes made by customers measurement, incorrect
ordering, stained woods and fabrics that vary slightly due to dye lots
or wood grain, shipping issues out of our control, etc. Products within
the same room should be ordered at the same time to ensure proper
matching. Blinds Chalet must be notified with 10 days from date of
receipt for any problems. Commercial and contract orders are not covered
under this guarantee.



All returns must be given a Return Authorization Number(RGA) and
shipping address to return the product. Keep your original boxes and
packaging materials in the event you need to return your blinds, Blinds
Chalet cannot provide packaging materials. All returns must be shipped
to **************** in new condition within 30 days of receipt, preceded
by prior authorization that has been accepted by ****************
Customer Service Department. Call our Customer Service Department toll
free @ ***** ********.


Please contact me if you have any other questions, Thank you

******* *******
General Manager
Blinds Chalet LLC
************




 


BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The blinds that I ordered were never produced. When I called the company, the customer service rep contacted the manufacturer and they said that the material had not even arrived for my blinds. So I cancelled my order and she emailed me a confirmation of the cancellation. However, they had already charged my credit card and have yet to refund my credit card. The customer service agents do not answer my calls or emails.

Desired Settlement: I need them to refund my credit card immediately.

Business Response: This customer order was canceled and credited, Please see transaction information below. Thank you.


Transaction ID: **********
Payment Method: XXXX4173
Amount: USD (-828.48)
Customer Name: ******* ********

If you have any question please contact me

******* *******
###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a shade on Sep. 5, 2013 (order #491936). I followed manufacture's installation instruction and found that the bottom brackets of the shade could not be attached to the bottom sill because the cords were made one and half an inch too short. On October 1, I emailed ***** ******* with photos showing the actual dimensions of my window and the current installation. In case you wonder, the reason I emailed them three weeks later and not sooner was because another shade I ordered on Sep 4 came with some parts missing, so I wanted to have that resolved first, and I was glad it did work out, even though it took a very long tome. Back to the story, since then I made a phone call to them every week and every time a representative would give me reassurance that the new shade had been in the process of remaking and would be ship out soon, so each time I waited. Finally on November 1, after a couple of more phone calls and reassurances, I was told that, quote from the email sent by *****: "Per what the manufacturer said it looks like the installation isn't correct. They said to check your brackets and follow the instructions for installation making sure the brackets are not directly over the mechanisms." Amazing how things just turned down side up. I sent her additional photos on November 4 and 10, and I have called Blinds Chalet several times looking to speak her or her manager but neither could be reached, I have left voice messages for both her and her manager asking simply for an update, no answer to this day. I am simply at a disbelief at their level of customer service. The following statement was a description of their business directly from their website: "Peace of mind, satisfaction and YOUR confidence in us is what we strive for." The very last time I contacted Blinds Chalet was on November 21 and one of their representative ***** told me that the shade has been in the process of remaking and would be ship out soon. My confidence? has probably long bottomed out.

Desired Settlement: This is how I want this case to be settled: 1. Refund the full amount of the shade ($119.01) 2. If above option is not viable, sent a replacement with the correct length made. 3. No matter what, contact me. Silence is NOT golden here!

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am an absolutely irate customer. I placed an order on Thursday November 21st for a TWO DAY PRODUCTION BLIND! If you count Friday the 22nd as one day and Monday the 25th as the second day, it should have shipped the 25th, if not the 26th AT THE LATEST! I needed this ASAP for the holidays. I called four times on different days to see why my blind did not ship and then I was told, oh, we will call you back. So sorry, we don't have information. WHAT KIND OF LOW BUDGET SCAM ARE THEY RUNNING?! I NEVER received the promised calls back and even though they charge me, have not received my merchandise. I want a FULL refund because I had to go and buy a different product since they could not keep their commitment. And their crap customer service made it worse. Guess what? When I say I will call my clients back, I ACTUALLY DO!

Desired Settlement: Full refund. I do not want their merchandise any longer.

Business Response: We have refunded this customer for the order, we had incorrect information from our manufacture. The order will be at no charge due to the wrong info on the site and Blinds Chalet apologizes about that. Please see the transaction details for the customer refund. Thank you!


Transaction Confirmation









Transaction 5750282891 has been successfully ACCEPTED by the system.




Below is a summary:


Transaction ID: 5750282891

Payment Method: XXXX2043

Amount: USD (44.23)

Customer Name: William Kring







BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before placing my order, I "chatted" at length with a customer service rep, who assured me that I could get the options I wanted even though the poorly-designed website didn't have a specific box to include those options. After confirming those options were available, I placed the order as fully as the website allowed. As soon as I rec'd the confirmation that they had rec'd the order, I emailed back to the same customer service address to confirm that the options I wanted would be included. Three weeks later, I rec'd the blinds, but WITHOUT the options I had so vehemently and thoroughly requested. Now they are saying I should have phoned in the order with any "changes." I didn't make changes, what I wanted was always what I wanted, and had told them repeatedly what they were. Their departments apparently don't talk one another, and their website is very misleading.

Desired Settlement: Exchange for the proper blinds as I had originally spelled out so clearly, or a full refund so that I can order them with another supplier.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

When customers call/chat with Blinds Chalet customer service we try our best to help customer answer any questions they may have
at the time of ordering or prior to ordering. In this case ******** had chatted with one of our customer service reps about different options
that are available on the Room Darkening RV Please Shades that are not listed on our web site however we still can request the options from the
manufacture if they are available. ******** placed this order after the fact of chatting with a customer service rep on her own using the IP address 70.193.8.46
on Many 7TH 2013. It is out policy and in the terms and conditions that ******** agreed to when placing her order ( i will list the policy below) that NO CHANGES OR
CANCELLATIONS CAN BE DONE VIA EMAIL. The reason for this is when a customer send a email to our standard customerservice@blindschalet.com email address
it gets dispersed out the customer service office not just to one direct person, at times those email are not answers right away as it is stated NO CHANGES AND CANCELLATIONS
can be made via email. Blinds Chalet is in the office M-F 6AM-5PM MST and Sat 6AM -3PM to offer assistants to customers. Once a order goes over to a manufacture
(this is the next business day that it will go into manufacturing) if they have already started the production again NO CHANGES ANS CANCELLATIONS can be made.
We will always do are best to try and see if we can catch them in time to make changes however ******** would have need to call us the DAY she placed the order
to have us add in any additional options that are not offered on the web site but still offered by the manufacture.

"Order Changes and Cancellations

All sales are final, so be sure to double check the width,
length, desired color, and all options before placing your order. We
cannot guarantee any changes after placing your order but will do our
best. In the event that you wish to cancel your order or make a change,
the request must be made with Blindschalet.com Customer Service within
the same business day. To ensure proper handling, all order changes or
cancellations must be made over the phone
after which you will be
required to submit the changes or cancellation in writing via email to
the assigned customer service agent you speak with over the phone. In
most cases production begins within 24 hours from the time the order is
placed. However, products that are made under express production do not
qualify for any changes or cancellations because they are immediately
sent into production. We will do everything we can to assist your needs.
However, each cancellation or change is contingent upon our ability to
cancel or change the order with our manufacturer. Orders may not be
cancelled due to delays in shipping.



Blindschalet.com Customer Service Department will issue an
authorization number to you, if the item(s) can be cancelled or changed.


Discounts, coupons, and promotions are final at the time of sale.
Discounts may not be adjusted after final sale is made. Only one coupon
may use per order.



No changes/cancellations allowed on Rush Delivery Orders."


In the case that something had come
incorrect Blinds Chalet will stand behind our products 100%, we would
absolutely get them remake for the customer, However in this case we
made the product to the size and option that we requested by the customer and do
not offer this as option for blinds that are ordered incorrect by the
consumer.




Blinds Chalet is still more then happy to honor a larger discount on a new
order for this customer to replace the blinds that they received, however a return and
or exchange would not be an option, as we sent the order out correctly.



Customer is in possession of the
merchandise. Customer has not returned merchandise to Blinds Chalet.
Because these products are
custom made, cut specifically for this customers windows they cannot
be returned. We regard any
failure to pay for delivered product as an attempt to defraud our
company.











Thank you,



******* *******

Blinds Chalet Management


************



Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Greetings,
Attached please find a summary of all the communication to date between myself and Blinds Chalet.  As you will see, I have done everything conceivable to resolve this dispute myself, to no avail.  I look forward to getting your assistance in this matter.  Please feel free to contact me with any additional information you may need.

Regards,

******** *********


 

 

Business Response:

BBB Complaint ID:*******

******** *********

 




Date Filed:


7/10/2013




 

 




Date Responded:


07/11/13




 

 

To whom it may concern:



When customers call/chat with Blinds Chalet customer service we try our best to
help customer answer any questions they may have at the time of ordering or
prior to ordering. In this case, ******** had chatted with one of our customer
service reps about different options that are available on the Room Darkening
RV Please Shades that are not listed on our web site, however we still can request
the options from the manufacture IF they are available. ******** placed this
order after the fact of chatting with a customer service rep on her own using
the IP address *********** on May 7TH 2013. It is our policy and in the terms
and conditions that ******** agreed to when placing her order ( I will list the
policy below) that NO CHANGES OR CANCELLATIONS CAN BE DONE VIA EMAIL. The
reason for this is when a customer sends a email to our standard
***************@blindschalet.com email address it gets dispersed out the
customer service office not just to one direct person, at times those emails
are not answers right away as it is stated NO CHANGES AND CANCELLATIONS can be
made via email. Blinds Chalet is in the office M-F 6AM-5PM MST and Sat 6AM -3PM
to offer assistants to customers. Once a order goes over to a manufacture (this
is the following business day) if they have already started the production
again NO CHANGES ANS CANCELLATIONS can be made. We will always do are best to
try and see if we can catch them in time to make changes however ******** would
have needed to call us the DAY she placed the order to have us add in any
additional options that are not offered on the web site but still offered by the manufacture.

"Order Changes and Cancellations

All sales are final, so be sure to double check the width, length, desired color, and all options before placing your order. We
cannot guarantee any changes after placing your order but will do our best. In the event that you wish to cancel your order or make a change, the request must be made with Blindschalet.com Customer Service within
the same business day. To ensure proper handling, all order changes or cancellations must be made over the phone after which you will be required to submit the changes or cancellation in writing via email to
the assigned customer service agent you speak with over the phone. In most cases production begins within 24 hours from the time the order is placed. However, products that are made under express production do not qualify for any changes or cancellations because they are immediately sent into production. We will do everything we can to assist your needs.
However, each cancellation or change is contingent upon our ability to cancel or change the order with our manufacturer. Orders may not be canceled due to delays in shipping.


Blindschalet.com Customer Service Department will issue an authorization number to you, if the item(s) can be cancelled or changed.

Discounts, coupons, and promotions are final at the time of sale. Discounts may not be adjusted after final sale is made. Only one coupon may use per order.


No changes/cancellations allowed on Rush Delivery Orders."


In the case that something had come incorrect to what she ordered, Blinds Chalet would stand behind our products 100%, we would absolutely get them remake for the customer, However in this case we made the product to the size and option that we requested by the customer and do not offer this as option for blinds that are ordered incorrect by the consumer.


Blinds Chalet is still more then happy to honor a larger discount on a new order for this customer to replace the blinds that they received, however a return and or exchange would not be an option, as we sent the order out correctly.

Customer is in possession of the merchandise. Customer has not returned merchandise to Blinds Chalet. Because these products are custom made, cut specifically for this customers windows they cannot be returned. We regard any failure to pay for delivered product as an attempt to defraud our
company.

Thank you,

******* *******

Blinds Chalet Management


************




Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Per your response to the BBB complaint, I will be happy to return the WRONG Blinds as soon as I have rec’d the CORRECT blinds.  At the moment, I don’t trust
that you will send the correct blinds or a full refund if I return the wrong blinds.  Please be advised, as I have stated previously, a complaint to the BBB, and the three-year black mark on your record with them that it inflicts, is only the beginning step of the process I am willing to undertake in order to amend the grievous mistake on your part.  The sooner you make amends, the less damage will be inflicted on your reputation.  Your decision...

Regards,

******** *********


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

5/13/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had an issue with the measurement of my blinds and Blinds Chalet refuses to replace them (or even cut them down to the correct size without passing 100% of the bill onto me). I followed the instructions on their website exactly and the blinds that were shipped are all too long. We have standard (less than 2-3 years old) windows where the bottom half can be pushed up to open the window. It is the tracks for the bottom half (on the top half) that cause the blinds to be too long to fit within the window itself. The website says to measure from 'FRAME TO FRAME' and take NO DEDUCTIONS in a bright red/orange font. It does not say anything about taking off any length for trim, handles, cranks, tracks etc. To compound the confusion, the site says that they will subtract a standard amount to fit the brackets in, leading me to believe that they would deduct enough to fit inside a standard window with tracks. I consider this a case of mis-information on blinds chalets part. When I contacted BindsChalet, they said that the manufacturer did not make a mistake as they deducted for their brackets and it was my error for not deducting for the tracts on our windows. I tried to explain that the site measuring instructions were misleading and that I followed their directions exactly as they were presented. I sent in 8 pictures, 3 emails and spoke with 2 representatives on the phone. None of them would do anything for me. The only thing they offered was for us to pay to replace the blinds with a small 'opps' discount which was basically the same discount we received in the first order (ie. it's not a real discount, they always have some special going). As you can imagine, I would rather not give this company any more of my money unless they are willing to help in this situation.

Desired Settlement: I would like a replacement, but if nothing else a refund would be fine. I would be happy to ship them the blinds back at their cost.

Business Response: Good Afternoon,


Below is my recent communication with customer ******** ****. We are currently working with the customer to get her blinds cut down. The pick up from the customer will be happening within this week and she will notify you as well that the issue has been resolved. Please let me know if I can get you any further information.

Thakns
**** ****
Customer Service Manager
Toll Free: ************
Direct: ************
Fax: 480.633.5695
Email: **********************

blindschalet.com 


---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ******** **** *********************
Date: Tue, Dec 18, 2012 at 6:32 AM
Subject: Re: Order 432117
To: **** **** ************************


Below are the original sizes and the new sizes (Note the new sizes have not deducted for the hardware that comes with the blinds):


Qty     Old                    New
4         23.25x38"          22 1/8" x 38"
2         35"x54"             34" x 54"
2         27.5"x54            26 1/8" x 54"


Again, the deductions for the hardware have not been taken, these are the measurements of the windows with the tracks so that once the deductions for the included hardware (from the blinds company) is taken, they should be perfect!

Thanks again. Let me know when the pickup is scheduled for and I will remove the BBB complaint once that has been completed. Again, I am not planning on being charged for this cut-down, please confirm.

Kind Regards,
******** ****


On Mon, Dec 17, 2012 at 10:55 AM, **** **** ************************ wrote:
Hi ********, 

Once you know the exact sizes they need to be cut to please email those over to me. And I will have a pick up scheduled for you, you can leave the boxes on your porch.

Thanks
**** ****
Customer Service Manager
Toll Free: ************
Direct: ************
Fax: 480.633.5695
Email: **********************

blindschalet.com 


On Mon, Dec 17, 2012 at 8:25 AM, ******** **** ********************* wrote:
Erin,

Thank you for the assistance in this matter. I can confirm the exact measurement of the blinds tonight. How do we schedule the pickup? I have all of the original boxes that the blinds came in and can have them ready tonight as well. Do I need to print off any labels from you? Do I need to be present for the pick-up or can I leave them on the porch? Please let me know what cost if any we will be responsible for.

Kind Regards,
******** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First email contact was on 17 July 2012, stating: Tried to install the three blinds that I ordered but each blind was cut 3/8" too short. The blind is too short for the Idle End Bracket to properly hold and secure the roller, resulting in the blind falling out of the bracket. Would gladly ship these blinds back to you. Since these blinds have measurement issues would prefer not to reorder these blinds but replace them with woven wood shades, please credit my credit card $258.67 so that I can order the woven wood shades. Thank you.Email response from Blind Chalet on 18 July 2012: I have looked up your order, and noticed that you ordered your blinds as an inside mount, therefore the manufacturer takes a 3/8" deduction to fit "inside" your opening. You might try to move the brackets in a bit, so the blind will not fall out of the brackets. We do have an oop's discounting program, which give additional discounts for reorders. If you would be interested, I can put together a quote for you. We do not take back returns, as every blind is custom made to your specific sizes, and would not be of use to the manufacturer. My response on 29 July: Attached you will find pictures of the 46" blind, the smaller blinds have the same issue. In order to "move the brackets in a bit", shims will have to be manufactured that are at least 1/2" thick and cut to the same shape of the brackets to ensure the blind is mounted flush to the window frame and fastened firmly to allow the blind operate. In addition, the bracket screws provided (1 1/2") are too short to reach the framing behind the drywall. With the addition of the shims the screws will need to be 2 1/2" long. These blinds were obviously cut far too short regardless of the so-called light gap. To imply that it is "an oop's" on our part is unsatisfactory. The factory is to blame for the errors in this order.No response as of 3 August. Quick to respond when they assumed it was customer error but now ignoring me.

Desired Settlement: Refund to credit card the purchase amount of $258.67 and an apology would be nice, rather insulted that they were quick to assume it was customer error.These are not the first blinds we have ever ordered. It should not be necessary to manufacture mounting hardware to get this blinds to fit in the window properly. This blinds were cut to short at the factory.

Business Response: Blinds Chalet would like to apologize for making an assumption that the customer had been inquiring about the deduction on the shades and not that it was possible that there was an additional deduction taken. Typically if a question arises about received size of the shades then we would first request a picture with a tape measure be sent to us so we can show our manufacture the discrepancy in the shade. Because this product does have a 3/8" deduction and the customer notified us that they are made 3/8" smaller, then we would just need to show our manufacture that the shades are 3/4" smaller then ordered with both deductions being taken and we would be able to issue the customer a refund for their order. If the customer were able to send us the pictures needed on the shades to be able to show our manufacture the error, then we could certainly obtain a refund from our manufacture and would gladly refund the customer for the order

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SirsQuality was excellent. Service was disappointing. Shades were ordered as instructed for inside measurement. They were too narrow to function properly as blackout shades. Web instructions specifically said to provide exact and the proper deduction would be made to insure operation. The deduction leaves way too wide a gap and lets in too much light.Erin offered to slightly discount a reorder and stated the web states a 5/8 clearance allowance is used. That is not stated or proper for black out shades and I trusted the web instructions that a proper deduction would be taken. The offer to make shades at a slight discount was accepted after **** refused to make just the middle one at no cost. The side shades can be covered by drapes to hide the undersize but the middle one being 5/8 x62 inches undersize leaves the equivalent of a 1/3 square foot hole.So I reordered the middle one at a cost of $36 but consider it an unfair resolution.

Desired Settlement: Refund the reorder of $35.95

Business Response: Dear BBB,

We have reviewed and investigated the complaint filed by the consumer in regards to his recent purchase from Blinds Chalet.
We believe that he was given sufficient information prior to his purchase about the deduction that is taken on the Cordless 9/16" Black Out Single Cell Shades when ordering an inside mount application.
Please see below for our stated information: ****************************************

Attention:
When ordering, use the following guidelines:

  • INSIDE MOUNT: Enter exact window measurements. Take NO Deductions.
    Factory Adjustment: Fabric 5/8", Headrail 1/2" including end caps.
  • OUTSIDE MOUNT: Enter the size you wish the blinds to be made. See individual descriptions for any deductions or additions.
We do have other items on our website that have smaller deductions taken that may have been a better option if this was a concern for him. We unfortunately did not have a conversation prior to the first order being placed.
We did try to resolve the issue and offered a discount for a re-order with an additional 30% off.

As a courtesy to the consumer, we will refund the charges of the second shade in the amount of $35.95. We would like to encourage him in the future to reach out to our sales team by phone or live chat should he have any questions prior to placing an order with Blinds Chalet. While we feel our website states clearly the proper measure information, we can discuss this in more detail over the phone if needed to ensure the customers expectations are met.

Sincerely,
Blinds Chalet

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/17/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Lifetime Warranty from Blinds Chalet says that all working parts are covered. I purchased 5 wooden blinds in 2008 and the cord on two of them is failing and starting to fray. I asked for replacement cord to fix the problem myself and they said that cord was not covered. The charge for replacement cord is $25 from them. Since the blinds will not work without the cord, how can they not consider it a working part? How?....by stating that "all cords will eventually wear out", without giving any time frame of use. In four years our blinds were raised in the morning and put down at night, and rarely moved other times of the day. Thats less than 3000 cycles which the cord should be designed to withstand.My complaints therefore are:1. Blinds Chalet's Lifetime Warranty is deceptive2. Their products are not designed to hold up under normal use3. They dont stand behind their productIts unfortunate that a company would risk the loss of a sale and a customer over the small expense of replacing about 25 feet of 1/16" cord. Once I realized their policy I canceled my most recent order and will not deal with them again.

Desired Settlement: Blinds Chalet cannot resolve this matter because of their policy. The matter has been resolved with this complaint and their loss of business from me. Hopefully this complaint will alert other potential customers to Blinds Chalet's refusal to stand behind their product.

Business Response: Blinds Chalet will send out the replacement cords even though our Warranty is a Limited Lifetime Warranty which does not cover the normal wear and tear like in this circumstance. However, as a courtesy to our customer we will take care of this.

Kind regards,

Jayson Ellingson
President

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* **********


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered blinds from this company and installed all but one. The one we couldn't install had tracks that were too short for our window. We checked the measurements and they matched what was sent to the company. The company sent us new tracks that were the correct length but completely different tracks than were sent to us the first time. We called and they were nice about it and sent us new tracks, the same ones that were incorrect. After a couple of months, we still don't have the correct tracks needed for our blinds. We have 3 windows that are side by side and we can't get the correct tracks for the 3rd window. It is obvious the tracks are different and the new tracks that were sent allow a lot of light in where the other 2 fit great and block out the light. Their customer service is nice but they seem a little unorganized if they don't know which track to send us. Now, they told us they can't send us anymore tracks. Very frustrating. The one day I get to sleep in (Saturday), I am reminded each day of my mistake of using this company.

Desired Settlement: Send the tracks that match the other 2 tracks which have already been installed.

Business Response: The tracks the customer received a track that is not for the shades they ordered but we will send the tracks the customer is requesting at no charge. We realize this must have been confusing even though there is a charge Blinds Chalet will take care of this. ***** one of Blinds Chalet's designer's will get this ordered. If the customer has any questions please contact ***** at **************

Kind regards,
****** *********
President

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1