BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central, Northern and Western Arizona

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers business educational programs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Western International University meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Western International University include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Western International University
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 01, 1978 Business started: 01/01/1978 in AZ Business started locally: 01/01/1978 Business incorporated: 12/05/1995 in AZ
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tamirra Hoye, University Relations Administrator
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tamirra Hoye, University Relations Administrator
Related Businesses
University of Phoenix Apollo Education Corporation
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
Western International University Online Western International University, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Western International University has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1601 West Fountainhead Parkway

    Tempe, AZ 85282 (602) 943-2311 (866) 948-4636

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 822-1319(Phone)
  • (866) 948-4636(Phone)
  • (520) 459-7571 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The degree I received seems to be invalid. The money spent by the government through my federal loan was a poor decision on the part of the goverment to fund the education at this institution for me. While the help was appreciated the money was spent on an education that shouldve helped me obtain a good job to pay the loan back; however, no job recognizes the degree I received. I cannot get a government job either and with a degree in crminal justice I should have had multiple options. Im unable to pay the loan back, because i work part time at a grocery story, with a bachelors degree. Unfortunately, the government won't hire me either because they do not accept the education that they paid for and will end up eating the loss of money they gave to a supposedly accredited university. To summarize the expense inncured did not provide the respectable education it should have, class fees were exuberant and now the university does not exist. My goal is to prevent future enrollees to this school and its affiliate school, the university of Phoenix and hope our government does resesrch before they loan money to citizens that are being defrauded. A complaint for the university of phoenix will be posted to because they are affiliated with western international university.

Desired Settlement: Beside providing information on the univeristy id like my federal loans discharged.

Business Response: Dear Ms. *****,
 
Thank you for your follow-up message. The University of Phoenix has reviewed this complaint and responded directly to the complainant via **** mail. Due to privacy laws the University of Phoenix cannot release the results of our findings or communications with the complainant without the required written authorization.
 
If you need additional details that will enable you to close this issue, please contact the complainant.
 
Best regards,
 
 
**** *****
University Relations Specialist
 
University of Phoenix  
Office of Dispute Management 
**** ** ********** ******** ******** ** *****
Mail Stop:  C** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
1/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
12/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was placed on academic dismissal in January 2012 from Western International University. I was required to remain out of attendance for one year before I could return. When I returned in May 2013 I had to do a Student Appeal to return to the University and another appeal to stay in my current program since my program was on hold. Upon my return I was advised that I had three courses to bring my GPA to a 3.0 and that I needed to work closely with the academic counseling team during the three-course return period. I began with a retake course LDR625 which I originally received a C- in the course. During the course I experienced some difficulties with the pace and workload. I contacted the academic team in the course from what I was advised when I attempted to withdraw from the course in week five I was told that even if I withdrew from the course, I would still get a grade and to see if the instructor would work with me. I attempted as such and the instructor stated that he would not. I spoke to a different advisor and was told that the better of the two grades would remain. So I proceed with the course and the D+ remained and was calculated into my GPA making it lower. I called in and spoke to ***** ****** and was told that the newest grade would be used. I was then told that I needed to do another retake so I retook ORG610 and I received an A. Before I completed the course in August I reached out to the Academic team and was advised that for my third class I needed to take ORG620 in September since my program was on hold and it was one of the last three course in my program. I was told the class was not on the calendar for future offerings. I asked how that would impact me? I was passed to a young lady I named **** and she advised me that I would need to file an appeal, to take a fourth course, since my GPA was so close to the requirement and that the course was not showing acailable for any future offerings. She advised me to state that my program was on hold and that I needed to take a fourth course to bring my GPA to a 3.0. I was also advised that when I returned to the University I would have never been able to get to a 3.0. I was advised that this type of appeal had been approved in the past. I submitted my appeal on 09/16/2013 as I was projected to complete the course with an A. I was advised on October 7th by ***** ******* to resubmit another appeal because my appeal had been lost. I resubmitted the appeal and recieved the decision on October 30th by phone from ***** ****** at 7pm. He advised me to file a dispute with ODM, I did as such that evening. I was told by **** an academic counselor to call and check the status because if it did get approved I could get added into my class late in November. I reached out to ODM and was advised that there was no update on Friday November 8th. Later that afternoon I received an email from the Director of Enrollment advising me that I was academically dismissed from the University. I reached out to her and she contacted me on Saturday November 9th and advised me that since I had not brought up my GPA there was nothing that could be done and that even though I was mis-advised the decision was final. After making my plea for 45 mins she said she would discuss my case with the Provost again and reach me by 11/15. On 11/19 I recieved a voicemail stating that my request was denied. I just want a fair opportunity to complete my degree. If the higher grade had remained for the LDR625 course I would have had the 3.0 GPA needed. I was advised to take the ORG620 even though getting an A in the course would bring my GPA to a 2.97 and to do an appeal to take a fourth course. If my appeal had not been lost and submitted on time I could have had an opportunity to withdraw from the course to do another retake if the appeal was denied. Due to mis-advisement I am now in a situation where I cannot complete my degree and I have borrowed money to pay for courses that I may not even be able to transfer anywhere else. Any assistance in this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time and all of your support.

Desired Settlement: I would like the opportunity to complete my degree. I have two classes to complete my degree and currently have a 2.97 GPA. I would like the opportunity to either do one of the following three options: 1) Have the ability to take a fourth course based on the advisement of the academic counselor **** to be able to bring up my GPA to the 3.0. If I need to take another retake course I am willing to do that at this time in order to complete my degree. 2) I would like to have to the grade for LDR625 be returned back to a C-. The D+ can stay on my transcripts but I feel that the better of the two grades should be used to calculate my GPA. I also worked with the academic advisement team during each course and kept them abreast of what was going on with my classes and making sure that we had a plan in place as I was advised to do in the student Catalog. 3) If either one of these options can be granted I would like a refund. I have taken out student loans and paid money out of my own pocket to achieve my degree and if I am unable to finish it based on mis-advisement from the Western International Staff, it would be a waste of time and money.

Business Response:  
 
RE: *******- Ms. *******
 
 
Dear Ms. *******:
 
 
Thank you for your follow-up message. Western International University (WEST) has reviewed this complaint submitted by Ms. ******* and responded directly to the complainant via USPS.
 
Due to privacy laws West cannot release the results of our findings or communications with the complainant without the required written authorization.
 
If you need additional details that will enable you to close this issue, please contact the complainant. 

Best regards,

 
******* ****
University Relations Administrator
 
Western International University  |  Office of Dispute Management
Mailing address: **** ** ********** *******  ¦  Mail Stop: *******  |  ******** ** *****
phone: ###-###-####|  fax: ###-###-####  | email: *********************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a current student who attends University of Phoenix online. I have one more course to complete in order to obtain my BS degree. I put in a ticket order to the technical support team to verify and state that my website is not registering and pulling up. There are three claim numbers for students as myself having computer technical difficulties and not being able to log onto the website. I brought this to my academic counselor's attention and he totally refused to help. I want to know will I be able to start a class once maintenance is done with the new Google Chrome program where it will allow me to successfully complete my last course and to graduate on time. I don't think that this is fair for me to be billed for a course which I cannot log into and participate as a student. I have not attended one class for the date of 10-15-13 because I cannot not log on to class. Isn't this considered fraudulent billing under the conditions of an unauthorized agreement? My name or signature is not signed electronically to anything to state that my attendance is for my last class. This is what happened to me two years ago when I started out earlier attending this school. Because of the same negligence it caused me a D out of my course. I did not come this far to fail a class completely. I want to successfully with the cooperation of the school to attend and complete my last class successfully. I do not believe that this is right or fair to send my financial aid or any of my funding back to its lender due to negligence on behalf of this university. I think that either I should be reimbursed for the funds of this course or that I am enrolled on time in another course in a timely manner to begin a class from beginning to end in the next five weeks. Here are my ticket numbers for this issue with logging onto class I have 3 reference numbers. Case # *******, Case # *******, and Case # *******. By the time this issue is resolved this class will either be in it's second or third week. It would be impossible for me to attend class and make passing grades. Here is my academic counselor's information: ****** ********** Phone # ###-###-####. Financial Adviser ****** ****** phone # ###-###-####. The supervisor is named ****** ******** ###-###-####. I am exhausted at this point and I just want to finish my degree with a good grade and be able to complete my last class.

Desired Settlement: I would like for me to successfully be enrolled in a class to start on time from beginning to finish of my five weeks of the course remaining. Either I am compensated for the course this school is charging me for which I am not in or allow me to start the next available course on time. At this point, I want to finish school and get my Bachelor's degree. I have gone through a get deal of traumatic issues my last two years of attending this school.

Business Response: RE: BBB Complaint # *******
 
Dear Ms. *****
 
Thank you for your follow-up message. The University of Phoenix has reviewed this complaint and responded directly to the complainant via USPS mail. Due to privacy laws the University of Phoenix cannot release the results of our findings or communications with the complainant without the required written authorization.
 
If you need additional details that will enable you to close this issue, please contact the complainant.
 
Best regards,
 
University Relations Specialist
  
**** ******
University of Phoenix
Office of Dispute Management 
**** ** ********** ******** ******** ** *****
Mail Stop: *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This university offers online textbooks which cost $80 each. You have to navigate to an area of their website and click "opt out of e book" if you do not want access to the book. I feel that it is unfair to be charged for something that was not requested by myself or any other student. The process is designed to benefit the university financially based off of students forgetting to opt out, or if there is an error on the website when attempting to opt out. If a student needs a text book, they find it, and purchase it. Amazon or any other companies do not send products because they think a consumer might use it without asking.

Desired Settlement: I would like my account credited in the amount of $80. Furthermore, students understand that if they want a book, they order and purchase it. I highly doubt I am the only student that has been charged for something they will not use.

Business Response:  
RE: ******** *** **********
 
 
Dear Ms. Huffman:
 
 
Thank you for your follow-up message. Western International University (West) has reviewed this complaint submitted by *** ********** and responded directly to the complainant.
 
Due to privacy laws West cannot release the results of our findings or communications with the complainant without the required written authorization.
 
If you need additional details that will enable you to close this issue, please contact the complainant.
 
Best regards,
 
Tamirra Hoye
University Relations Administrator
 
Western International University  |  Office of Dispute Management
Mailing address: 4025 S. Riverpoint Parkway  ¦  Mail Stop: CF-SX01  |  Phoenix, AZ 85040
phone: 602-557-1289|  fax: 480-643-3754  | email: Tamirra.Hoye@west.edu

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* **********



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am requesting the assistance of the BBB in resolving an issue I am having with Western International University (a member of the Apollo Group of Schools). Specifically, when I contact their financial aid department (I am assigned financial aid counselor ******* ****) I am constantly given one excuse after another as to why they have not processed the excess funds disbursement from my federal financial aid package. There have been issues surrounding the entire process from the very beginning, where my verification documentation was re-requested then lost and had to be submitted again and wasnt submitted in a timely manner by the university. With each instance that I request status updates I am first told it will be at least two weeks, then when I follow up I am told it will be an additional two weeks because of a necessary university recalculation or other issue. Most recently I was told it will be an additional six weeks because I filed an appeal letter.I can provide copies of email exchanges where the universitys staff has literally left me hanging without an answer, where Im told one thing and a day later told something completely different. I seriously need this excess funds check. Honestly, my ability to keep a roof over my head depends on it, and the Finance office is well aware of my circumstances.After researching this issue on line, I have found that this is a common tactic used by the university and its affiliates to create indebtedness to the school where you become almost enslaved to attending it and no other. If you leave, withdraw or transfer the school will return your financial aid to the Department of Education, then send a demand for payment for the classes taken, which without the financial aid, most couldnt possibly pay, you are then in current default with a school which prevents you from obtaining financial aid or being admitted to another college or university. The School itself will forfeit its

Desired Settlement: The proceeds of my excess federal aid monies in a timely manner, the ability to leave this school and transfer to another college with the balance of my financial aid money forwarded to the new school.

Business Response:

RE: *******- Mr. ******

Dear Ms. Denning:

Thank you for your follow-up message. Western International University has reviewed this complaint submitted by Mr. ****** and will respond directly to the complainant.

Due to privacy laws Western International University cannot release the results of our findings or communications with the complainant without the required written authorization.

If you need additional details that will enable you to close this issue, the complainant will be able to provide them upon reciept of our response.

Best regards,

******* ***** *******, University Relations Administrator

Western International University  |  Office of Dispute Management

Mailing address: 4*** ** ********** *******  *  **** ***** *******  *  ******** ** *****

phone: ************|  fax: 480-643-3754  |  email: *********************

<v:path o:connecttype="rect" gradientshapeok="t" o:extrusionok="f"><v:imagedata o:title="488142421@25022010-2C92" src="file:///C:\Users\tlhatten\AppData\Local\Temp\msohtmlclip1\01\clip_image001.jpg"> Think Green:  Please consider the environment before printing this message

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended this school in 2005. I was enrolled and in class for about 6 weeks before having to drop out due to a family emergency. Not only did this school received over 4000.00 in federal loans, BUT according to the collection call I received today, 7 years later, they also charged over 1000.00 in tuition fees. So, WIU recieved over 5000.00 for me to attend the school less then 2 months. And now I'm in collections for this? This is completely wrong on so many levels. I think my tuition for those 8 weeks was more than paid for with the student loans, that I am still paying off. But, to try and charge me an additional 1500.00?

Desired Settlement: I would like this debt erased. Not charged off, or written off. I want it to disappear.

Business Response:

RE: *******- Ms. ********

Dear Ms. Huffman:

Thank you for your follow-up message. The University of Phoenix has reviewed this complaint submitted by Ms. ******** and responded directly to the complainant.

Due to privacy laws the University of Phoenix cannot release the results of our findings or communications with the complainant without the required written authorization.

If you need additional details that will enable you to close this issue, please contact the complainant.

Best regards,

******* ***** *******, University Relations Administrator

University of Phoenix  |  Office of Dispute Management

Mailing address: **** ** ********** *******  *  **** ***** *******  *  ******** ** *****

phone: *************  **** ************  *  ****** ************************

<v:path o:connecttype="rect" gradientshapeok="t" o:extrusionok="f"><v:imagedata o:title="488142421@25022010-2C92" src="file:///C:\Users\tlhatten\AppData\Local\Temp\msohtmlclip1\01\clip_image001.jpg"> Think Green:  Please consider the environment before printing this message

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First off; I was a single mother of two boys and living in public housing. I was living on $350.00 a month and I made it clear on a few conversations with my Enrollment Counselor "****** *********" that I only wanted to continue my education if I could receive grants to cover my schooling and wanted to go if the books were covered in the courses. because I knew I couldnt afford at the time a student loan at all. Well I was told that books an all was included in ea. course but if I wanted to buy my own hard copies that I could do so. I started classes an in the mail I got a M.P.Note to sign. It was from **** Bank. I still have it not signed because I did NOT want the loan. After block 3 I was told I count go on to block 4 because I owed 53.00 for books. I was upset because finacial aid was to cover all that and I would get another dispercment til I finished block4. Than "***** ******" told me in an email "Hello ******,I'll have your schedule moved to a start date in October. Your Pell re-app is coming up after your 4th block. Once this is done if your still Pell eligable then it will take care of your books." than later this email "What I'll do for you since your a single mom and its hard to come up with the full payment. If you can make the payment of the axcess at the end of your block 4 which would be 9 weeks from now. You can continue on in class, and will get all the re application ppwk done so there is no gaps. Would this be okay? Please Include your IRN with all correspondence.* " that never happenedlike he said. I never got another payment just one Pell and furthermore I was dropped from the courses an told that if I turned 1 more assignment in I would be stuck paying the class. my biggest upset is I never signed for a loan to start with. an when I asked for a Master Promisary Note w/ my signature on it I got something said esig on file. and Im disabled now to top it off. I even held A's in all 6 classes I had.the socalled loan is over $7,600 but cuz I not had $53 bux on over $3,000

Desired Settlement: because Im disabled and cant work and my new husband shouldnt be held responsible for this loan I never approved of I would like to be a part of the class action lawsuit Oregon has against UOP online. or have this matter disolved completely I never wanted any sort of loan an the original MPN is with me unsigned from **** Bank because I didnt want one. I dont want this hurting my husbands Tax returns anymore or my credit. Please help me.? I became legally disabled 2008 filed in 2004

Business Response:

RE: Complaint # *******, Ms. ****** ************

Dear Ms. Denning,

Thank you for your follow-up message. We reviewed this complaint submitted by Ms. ***** and responded directly to the complainant via USPS mail. Due to privacy laws the University of Phoenix cannot release the results of our findings or communications with the complainant without the required written authorization.

If you need additional details that will enable you to close this issue, please contact the complainant.

Best regards,

**** ******

University Relations Specialist

University of Phoenix

Office of Dispute Management  |  **** ** ************ *******  *  ****** ** *****

Mailing Address: **** ** ********** *******  *   *** ******* *   ******** ** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/30/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service