BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central, Northern and Western Arizona
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is a technical educational institute.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that U.T.I. - Motorcycle Mechanics Institute meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for U.T.I. - Motorcycle Mechanics Institute include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on U.T.I. - Motorcycle Mechanics Institute
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 01, 1978 Business started: 05/05/1977 Business started locally: 05/05/1977
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Commission for Post Secondary Education
2020 N Central Ave, #650, Phoenix AZ 85004-4503
http://azppse.state.az.us/contact_form.asp
Phone Number: 602.258.2435
Fax Number: 602.258.2483

Business Management
Ms. De Etta Burgess, Controller Ms. Piper Van, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Sheri Homan, Complaint Handler
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities Schools - Business & Vocational

Alternate Business Names
Clinton Technical Institute Motorcycle Mechanics Institute The Clinton Harley Corporation

Additional Locations

  • 2844 W. Deer Valley Road

    Phoenix, AZ 85027 (877) 201-2666

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 201-2666(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First of all I'm a Veteran and wanted to further my education by attending Universal Technical Institute MMI-Phoenix and learn how to fix motorcycles and specialize in ****** ********'s. I was schedule to start school on June 23, 2014 however the orientation for housing and other services was on June 12, 2014 I told them that I was not going to be able to attend that orientation because that was the day of my daughter graduation from high school. So I was told that I could go on the 17th of June 2014 which I did. After orientation on financial aid, veteran services and other things I went to housing and talk with ******* ****** and she explain to me the housing rules and what it was expect it from me. Then I pay $549.00 including a security deposit for the unit that I was going to live, however due to financial difficulties I was unable to move into the apartment and I let the school known of my situation first thing in the morning on 23 June 2014. I talk with my financial adviser ***** ****** and with my VA adviser **** **** then I went to housing and talk with ****** ******** and at no point she say that I was not going to get back my $549.00 she mentioned that the app fee $50.00 and service fee $180.00 were non-refundable but she never say that the $549.00 was non-refundable. ********* ***** is the person who told me that I have forfeit my $549.00 before this she would always answer the phone now all I get is the answer machine this is her number: ###-###-####

Desired Settlement: All I want is a refund for $549.00 for services that I never use.

Business Response: This complaint was resolved on July 1st with *** (UTI housing partner )agreeing to refund the 549.00 back to the student’s credit card. ****** was scheduled to start at
MMI on 06-23-14 and had secured his housing through ***. He paid his application fee and service fee along with 549.00 for his first month’s rent.  Due to scheduling conflicts ****** was not able to attend the *** Move –In Orientation on Thursday June 12th, but did meet with *** on June 17th to sign his lease and pick up his keys.  ****** never moved in and did not start school.  He moved to Eloy, AZ from Cali and was hoping to get a transfer to Phx for his job with ***** *****; he is a welder by trade. The transfer did not happen and his wife got laid off creating a financial burden.  He first requested the funds be held until December, but found himself in a financial bind so he asked for a refund of rent only; *** originally denied his request per policy.  On June 30th UTI MMI staff reached out to ****** for more detail and then to the *** representative. On July 1st *** approved the 549.00 to be refunded.  UTI staff have spoken to ****** on several occasions and he did receive his refund and is extremely happy; he will start in December. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: MMI forced a change in classes onto me that i did not enroll in, they removed two valuable classes (v-rod and buell) and replaced them with dso 1 and 2. the dso 1%2 classes are aligned with a Harley-Davidson cert. program or PHD equivalency. the dso 1 class is aligned with the earlier chassis class. in this chassis class one of the pre-assessment projects was "short cut" to keep costs down. this left myself and hundreds of other students un-prepared for the assessment in the dso 1 class. when this was brought up to a teacher (***** ********) the week of Oct. 29 I was told that there was nothing that could be done at his level and to speak to the education manager **** *********. he assured me in his office that in chassis i did in fact miss out on said training and that he was sorry but I had to finish the project without proper instruction or training. I was also told this by his direct supervisor **** ******** to return to class and complete the project without the training I should have received. I was re-assured that this matter would be looked into and that a decision would be passed down. After no response from staff I asked again about this and was told that i would have to speak to Mr. *********, I received an email in response to mine stating that ***** ******** would speak to me in person. he offered for me to come in on my own time and be re-trained on this project and have the opportunity to retake the project at the determent of my other classwork. this is unacceptable as I paid for a training program that I did not recieve, to me the only way to correctly resolve this is to have myself repeat the chassis class that was shorted valuable info and training, and then have the fair opportunity I paid for. Ive got a 4.0 gpa with 100% attedance

Desired Settlement: would need to get the chance to redo chassis and dso 1 classes.

Business Response:

We were able to come to an agreement with the complainant.  On 11/14/2012, we provided a one on one tutoring session covering the instruction that was omitted during his time in chassis class.  We were also able to make arrangements to allow him to retake his DSO-1 class beginning on 11/19/2012.

 

 

Thank you,

  ******* ********

Education Manager

Motorcycle Mechanics Institute

Chosen by Industry. Ready to Work.™

  **** **** **** ****** ** ******** ** *****

O: ***** ********

F: (623) 869-9813

E: *****************

W: uti.edu/mmi FB: facebook.com/UTI  OR facebook.com/Campus OR Personal UTI address

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service