BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central, Northern and Western Arizona

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Founded in 1996, Northcentral University (NCU) is a global, online, graduate-focused university. Theregionally-accredited University offers doctoral, master’s and bachelor’s degrees in business and technology management, education, psychology, and marriage and family therapy. Northcentral University has academic and administrative offices in Prescott Valley and Scottsdale, Arizona. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northcentral University, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Northcentral University, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 46 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

46 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 15
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 25
Total Closed Complaints 46

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Northcentral University, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 02, 2000 Business started: 08/06/1996 in AZ Business started locally: 08/06/1996 Business incorporated: 08/24/1998 in AZ
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Commission for Post Secondary Education
2020 N Central Ave, #650, Phoenix AZ 85004-4503
http://azppse.state.az.us/contact_form.asp
Phone Number: 602.258.2435
Fax Number: 602.258.2483

Arizona Department Of Education
1535 W. Jefferson Street, Phoenix AZ 85007
http://www.ade.state.az.us
Phone Number: 602.542.5393

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. George A Burnett, Chief Executive Officer/President Mr. Corey Carpenter, Complaint Handler
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George A Burnett, Chief Executive Officer/President
Customer Contact: Mr. Corey Carpenter, Complaint Handler
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities Schools - Business & Vocational Schools - General Interest Behavioral Education Services

Alternate Business Names
Northcentral University

Additional Locations

  • 10000 E University Dr

    Prescott Vly, AZ 86314 (928) 541-7777 (888) 327-2877

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 327-2877(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been enrolled in a PhD program at NorthCentral University since 2006. I completed all the required courses and the Comprehensive exam in November 2010. I began writing my dissertation August 2011. Since then I have taken seven dissertation courses and am now enrolled in my eight course. I have also had my committee chair person changed three times. Most recently (September 2013) I expressed my concerns to the school about the dissertation process. The school offered me the option to take the Ombudsman path to degree completion. It is six months since starting on that path. However, I am having a difficult time getting the school to accept my proposal so that I can start my research. With only six months to go I would like the school to accept my proposal so I can start my research and complete my dissertation by September 2014 and be awarded by PhD.

Desired Settlement: I paid for a PhD and after all the time and financial resources I have dedicated pursuing this degree I would like to get my degree.

Business Response: Dear Ms. *****

Part of Northcentral University's overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions. We appreciate the opportunity to work with you through this matter. Unfortunately, FERPA privacy rights preclude Northcentral from discussing the details of the student’s record to an unauthorized third party in response to the complaint.

In Northcentral University’s Candidacy Resource Guide it states “After you have successfully passed the Comprehensive Examination, there are several milestones in the doctoral candidacy stage. Each one represents a significant accomplishment on the way to obtaining a doctoral degree. It is the student’s successful progression through these scholarly works that facilitates graduation.

1. Concept Paper (CP)
2. Dissertation Proposal (DP)
3. Institutional Review Board (IRB) Application and Approval
4. Dissertation Manuscript (DM)
5. Oral Examination

We have been in contact with Mr. ***** providing clarification and guidance surrounding degree requirements specifically scholarly milestones that need to be achieved in the Dissertation Process. We have offered him the opportunity to participate in our Pathway Program, which is a special program designed to assist students who are experiencing challenges in their specific dissertation journey.

Within this program the student is provided the opportunity to pair up with an appropriately qualified chair to assist with his specific research method who commits to working with the student four hours per week to guide them on the path to completing their doctoral degree. Our Ombudsman Office has also reached out to him after receipt of this complaint assisting in providing any alternatives and solutions we can provide to assist him in his journey.
 
It is not unusual for candidates to experience challenges in their personal evolution from being a student, consumer of information, to becoming a scholar, a producer of information. We encourage Mr. ***** to work closely with the Ombudsman Office and his Dissertation Chair to gain the necessary insight and feedback for his scholarly work to progress toward graduation.

At this time, the University considers this matter to be resolved.

Sincerely,

Office of Legal Services
Office of the President

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The two Northcentral University did not provide adequate delivery of service in courses ******** and ******** because of the inability of the mentor to perform the necessary functions. In the second course, ******** the mentor after the fact lied about my work in a personal email to me justifying my final grade. Dr. ******* ********* gave me 12 100%'s, but claimed that I did not follow through on contacting the Librarian, which I did; that I did not call her, which I did; and that I did not provide primary sources in my work, which I did, and I have proof that I did. The final grade is in the appeal process.

Desired Settlement: Northcentral University needs to refund me the full amount of my tuition for the two courses, ********, and ********.

Business Response: Dear Ms. *******,

Part of Northcentral University‘s overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions.  In support of this mission, Northcentral University has developed a grade appeal procedure that allows students to express his/her concerns to the Dean for adjudication.  In this instance, Ms. **** has submitted several appeals between 02/18/2014-02/19/2014. The student is currently seeking resolution through this process with Northcentral University and as such these matters are under review. On 02/18/2014, her faculty member provided clarification and guidance specifically surrounding her concerns entailing her final grade. Additionally, our Ombudsman Office is reaching out to help mediate the issue with the student.

Being academic in nature, we request the opportunity to complete the complaint process with Ms. ****. Please note FERPA privacy regulations preclude the University from sharing the details of this student’s academic record without written consent. We appreciate your support in the execution of our internal procedures.

Sincerely,


Office of Legal Affairs Office of the President

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled in Northcentral University to obtain a PhD. in Curriculum and Instruction in 2009. I have been a teacher more than 10 years and have an M Ed and Specialist Degree from a respected university. I was assured during the admissions process that Northcentral was a respectable and accredited school and despite the high tuition decided to proceed. In the 4 years I have been at Northcentral the school has changed the chair at least 4 times. I was able to advance to the final phase of the program incident free and then was given a new chair. In almost 6 months of working with the new chair it has become apparent that my completion of the program will be delayed or stopped after paying more than $20,000.00 I am feeling scammed. I have found numerous reviews since enrolling that have accused this school of being a scam and noticed they have a large number of BBB complaints many of which have been resolved which I hope mine may be as well. I have requested another chair change after 6 months of not progressing and have been asked to go through a long process just to make the request formally.

Desired Settlement: I regret at this point enrolling at Northcentral and if this school just strung me along to get as much money from me as possible with no intention of assisting me in graduating I would like a full refund from my entire time there. I would rather have the school fulfill the commitment of my completing this degree and change the chair like I have requested and have a chair placed with me that has a history of student success and graduation if such a chair exists at Northcentral. In my Specialist degree I was recognized as the Outstanding Student in my class and have no doubt I have the ability to complete this program if given an opportunity by Northcentral or extend me the refund so I can pursue this degree elsewhere.

Business Response: Dear Ms. *******,

Part of Northcentral University's overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions.  Northcentral University is unique in providing constructive feedback prior to the dissertation proposal stage. This is to ensure that the candidate has a feasible and realistic plan that can culminate in a well-conceived, substantive, quality dissertation. Concept paper reviews serve to assess that the topic is appropriate and that the planned research is sound and practical within the scope of a doctoral program. The Concept Paper is initially approved by the Dissertation Chair and Dissertation Committee, and submitted for review to the Graduate School (GS). If, in the review, it is indicated that the research idea is feasible, the Graduate School will offer suggestions for improvements and the candidate will proceed to work on the Dissertation Proposal. If the Graduate School indicates that the research idea is not likely to succeed, then the candidate should, in consultation with his or her Dissertation Chair and Dissertation Committee, consider embarking on an entirely new project and write a new Concept Paper.

We have been in contact with Ms. ****** on several occasions providing clarification and guidance surrounding Northcentral University’s Policy announced by the Provost, to all doctoral candidates and faculty, that the University will migrate all students to the full time dissertation chair model. This academic related decision was implemented to support academic rigor, standards, and education. Ms. ******’s faculty is a highly-qualified full time chair who will guide her dissertation through this key milestone as well as the entire educational journey. Please note that her chair has been providing substantial feedback and adhering to policies outlined in the Doctoral Candidacy Resource Guide. The University provides several additional resources for students to help them to successfully complete the dissertation portion of their program. Resources include but are not limited to their advisor, their Dissertation Committee, the NCU Catalog, and several documents and templates in the Dissertation Center on the student portal.
 
It is not unusual for candidates to experience challenges in their personal evolution from being a student, consumer of information, to becoming a scholar, a producer of information.  I encourage Ms. ****** to work closely with her Dissertation Chair to gain the necessary insight and feedback for her scholarly work to progress toward graduation. This includes scheduling a time to have a phone or ***** conversation with her chair. Regular communication via teleconferences might help resolve some of the challenges stated in the initial complaint.

At this time, all issues have been reviewed, researched, and adjudicated properly in accordance with policies. I hope you find this to clarify the students concerns, please let me know if you need any additional assistance in the future.

Sincerely,

Office of Legal Affairs

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/26/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/5/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/31/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/28/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: NCU did not provide me with the service I paid for. I completed an eight-week class without any feedback from my instructor - that person would not respond to my emails. I submitted a "concern" form on 3/22/12 with NCU during the course (over a month ago) and they still have not responded to me. I then submitted a grievance on 04/12/12 which they still have not responded to (they are supposed to respond in 10 days and this time has already passed). In addition to this problem, the course materials and content were horrible in this course. There is no "teaching" going on in any of these courses. There is no interaction between mentors and learners. The administration does not respond promptly to issues, and I am still consistently billed at the wrong rate.The inattentiveness to these matters on the part of NCU leaves me with no confidence of having any support or learning in future coursework. Unfortunately, these NCU courses will not transfer to another school.

Desired Settlement: Refund of all tuition ($6144), fees (~$85), and materials ($351.90): in total = $6581

Business Response:

Hello Ms. *******-

Please find attached letter in response to Complaint ID#xxxxxxx.  If there are any further inquiries, please let me know.

Sincerely,

***** ***** M.Ed, M.Ed

Academic Liaison

Office of the Provost

toll free: ###-###-####, ext. ****

p: ###-###-####

e: **************

f:  ###-###-####

**** **** ******** ****** ***** ***

**********, Arizona *****

Office Hours:

Monday - Friday  7:30am -4pm

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I disagree with many of NCU's responses, particularly with the fact that they have failed to provide feedback on assignments (activities) and have failed to provide timely communication to student. Please see the attached document for specific reasons/details of my rejection of their response.

Regards,

********* *****

 

 

Business Response:

June 20, 2012

Ms. ******* *******

Better Business Bureau
**** ** **** ******
*******, AZ **********
###-###-#### | ###-###-####
**********.org

RE:  Complaint ID #********

Dear Ms. *******:

The rebuttal presented by the student in regards to a previous complaint response did not provide the necessary details to respond to her comments.  If the student would like to resend her comments including commentary in regards to her concerns from the previous response she received, she can forward those details to me at my email address below or provide greater enumeration back to the BBB.

If there are any further questions, please let me know.

Sincerely,

 

***** ***** M.Ed, M.Ed

Academic Liaison

Office of the Provost

toll free: ###-###-####, ext. ****

p: ###-###-####

e: **************

f:  ###-###-####

**** **** ******** ****** ***** ***

*********** Arizona *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I do not understand why I am only now being sent this response dated from June. The school is well aware of my issues and that they have refused to resolve them to my satisfaction. I still believe money is due to me for their lack of service as promised.

A copy of my complaint to the *** is attached for your information. Your system does not allow me to attach all of the backup data. It can be forwarded upon request. The school already has this information.

Regards,

********* *****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: NCU is an online university. I have completed online classes for a PhD. Once I entered the dissertation stage, I was assigned a new professor who was unable to work with me because she had not been trained by NCU. However, even after her training, this professor was unresponsive to my requests for assistance. I have sent numerous messages to NCU and have received very few responses. My last message to them asked for answers by October 30, 2012, but I never received a reply. Without completing my dissertation, the classes I have completed are virtually worthless.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of all tuition and fees I have paid.

Business Response: November 26, 2012
 


 
Better Business Bureau
Attn: ****** ******
4428 North 12th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85014-4585
 
 
RE:  Complaint #******* 1******
 
 
Thank you for the opportunity to research and address the concerns brought to the Better Business Bureau by Ms. ********.   As FERPA regulations preclude us from providing details about the student’s academic record to a third party without her written authorization, we will be providing the BBB with a summarized version of each addressed issue and providing the student with a detailed account on each point.  The student can supply her letter from us to you if you would like to see the details.

We are hopeful that in responding to the student and providing her what we consider to be an appropriate resolution that she will be able to continue her academic journey with Northcentral University.  We appreciate your patience and willingness to allow us to respond to the student.
 
If you have any further questions about this response, please do not hesitate to contact me.  At this time, all remaining issues have been reviewed, research, and adjudicated properly in accordance with our policies and these matters are now closed.
 
Sincerely,
 
***** ******* ****
Provost and Chief Academic Officer

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm being scammed by Northcentral University. I'm desperate for help in forcing them to graduate me instead of stringing me along for years while I pay continuous tuition as they have been doing for two years now. I started my own investigation and found many, many other students of the school who are being bled dry in exactly the same way. Northcentral University offers Ph.Ds with 100% on-line courses. When you reach the dissertation process however, they hold students at a stand still until they run out of money and quit. I have documentation and a list of names of angry students (some are suing). My State Representative told me that they are one of 75 universities currently under federal investigation. They will be reviewed for accreditation by the Higher Learning Commission next month on October 8-10, 2012. (For more info on scam schools, please see **** ******* *** ******* 2010 Senate Report on this topic). I have done the required work. Please insist that Northcentral University fast-track me to graduation. Also note that I fear that reporting the school is a great risk to my academic career, as others have been expelled for "plagiarism" immediately after making a complaint.Please help me bring this to light and force them to do the right thing. You may be my only hope of graduating and completing my lifelong dream.

Desired Settlement: I have done the required work. Please insist that Northcentral University fast-track me to graduation immediately. Thank You.

Business Response:

***** ** ********** ****** ******** ******* ******* ***** USA
www.ncu.edu · p: ************ · f: 928-541-7817
October 23, 2012
Better Business Bureau
Attn: Andrea
4428 North 12th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85014-4585

RE: ***** ********

Thank you for the opportunity to research and address the concerns brought to the Better Business Bureau by Ms. ********. As FERPA regulations preclude us from providing details about the student’s academic record to a third party without her written authorization, we will be providing the BBB with a summarized version of each addressed issue and providing the student with a detailed account on each point. The student can supply her letter from us to you if you would like to see the details.

The dissertation journey is unlike any other academic endeavor and can be a very humbling experience even for the most educated of people. It is a learning process that takes a student and turns him or her into a scholar. The journey is not for the faint of heart and it demands a mastery of many different skills sets in order to be successful. These skill sets include but are not limited to: communication (verbal and written), active listening, critical thinking, and conflict resolution. Students are expected to work closely with their course faculty, assigned Chair and committee members to navigate the dissertation process. Responsiveness to feedback is critical for learning and growth.

To support students in the dissertation process, Northcentral provides a dedicated online environment, The Dissertation Center, which provides a plethora of tools and resources to support the scholarly journey. The Dissertation Center provides materials such as: Dissertation Handbook, “how to” papers, case studies, sample documents, formatting and citation guidelines, and Dissertation Conference Calls. The student’s dissertation committee, which includes a Dissertation Chair and Subject Matter Expert, provides substantive and personal feedback on assignments to guide the student’s development of a scholarly work along with dedicated Dissertation Academic Advisors. The student’s ability to leverage these tools and resources is critical in the successful completion of the journey.

We are hopeful that in responding to the student and providing policies and specific examples that she will be able to understand and accept the outcomes. We appreciate your patience and willingness to allow us to respond to the student.


If you have any further questions about this response, please do not hesitate to contact me. At this time, all remaining issues have been reviewed, research, and adjudicated properly in accordance with our policies and these matters are now closed.

Sincerely,

*** ***** ******
Provost

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing a complaint in regards to a balanced owed on my account at North Central University. The reason for this outstanding balance, is due to a course *** **** that I was enrolled into, automatically by my academic counselor. My concern is that prior to the start date for *** ****, I had some complications that had taken place, while enrolled in the course ESE 7001. I was also told that a Ms. ****** would be contacting me in regards to an Academic Violation. I Immediately reached out to Ms. ****** and I never received any contact back from Ms. ******, until after I contacted her, and that correspondence was well after ESE 7001 was over. It was never my intent to begin another course, outside of the course that I didnt finish, especially awaiting to hear from Ms. ****** about the Academic Violation. At that point, I was looking to redo the course ESE 7001 over, or have a discussion with the appropriate person(s) about what had taken place within the course. When I found out that this was not the course in which I thought, I immediately emailed my academic counselor to let her know my situation and that I did not wish to move ahead and take another course without redoing ESE 7001. It was an honest mistake opening the course, and I expressed my concern in regards to that, several times, to many, but never received a response back from anyone. I am now being charged for a course *** **** that I never completed an assignment, discussion, etc. I am at a point now of what do I do?! This is my lively hood, my education, which has been placed on hold due to the balance at NCU. I am asking, please, that situation be looked into a little closer, because at no moment in time am I trying to get over on anyone; this was truly situation that was an honest mistake. I am not in any position to pay 2,000.00 for a course that I did not wish to begin. As a student, it is very frustrating knowing that I may not be able to finish out my Doctorate program, and will be forced to pay this large amount.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have this balanced removed, considering all factors. It was an honest mistake. Making payment arrangements is unacceptable in this case because I feel that I am being overlooked as a student, and the University not looking at my situation on a case by case situation. I contact everyone in the chain of command, and I was not contacted via telephone to speak about the situation to hear out my story.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ****** and Representatives of the Better Business Bureau,

Thank you for the opportunity to look into Mr. ******’s complaint.  Unfortunately, due to FERPA regulations, I am unable to address the details of his academic record in response to his claims in the submitted complaint.  If Mr. ****** would like to sign a FERPA Release form with Northcentral University, I can provide the BBB representative with the appropriate details surrounding this complaint.  What I can offer is information regarding the various communications and University processes for course scheduling and acceptance. 

When a student is registered for a course, he/she receives a communication from the University which provides details about the course and how to move forward with the registration process and acceptance of financial responsibility.  The course acceptance process is not automatic but rather is triggered by the student when he/she accepts the course.  An excerpt of the pre-registration communication is below:

“Congratulations! You are now initially registered for course [course name] which starts on x/x/2012. To complete your registration, simply enter the online course room within the first seven days after the course start date, click the Activities tab and click Accept to begin the course.”  “... Please read the information at the bottom of this Course Registration Information (CRI) carefully, as it contains information regarding the course scheduling process; course attendance and course participation requirements; the last date to withdraw from a course without financial or academic penalty; and the tuition refund process.”

 Additionally, the online course room provides information that clearly communicates to the potential student that before clicking the “Accept” button, that this action means that he/she accepts financial responsibility for the identified course. 

Northcentral also publishes its refund policies within this communication and in the course catalog so that students are knowledgeable about their decisions to register and withdraw.  Our Academic and Financial Advisors also provide this information upon being notified of a student’s desire to withdraw.

Although I can understand Mr. ******’s desire to have his tuition waived for this course, the University acted in good faith in response to his decision to register for the course and we provided him with all the necessary information to make his decision.  He received timely communication regarding the outcome of the “complications” he mentioned in his complaint and as such had the ability to drop the course if he chose to do so.

I understand that this is not the outcome that he desires but it is important that we manage all policies consistently for all students.  

Sincerely

 

*** ********

Director of Compliance

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The accounting department automatically charged my account for tuition. I fully understand that I signed an agreement stating that I would allow them to charge my account, but they did it without any notice. Then they proceeded to tell me that I can't remove my card from my account without adding another one even though I've gone over two years at the university without having one on my account. I mean, if I didn't pay, just kick my out instead of stealing my hard earned money! Be very careful, these people would love to snatch anybody's money!

Desired Settlement: No settlement needed. Simply want them to remove my card and not take anymore of my well-deserved money!!!!!

Business Response:

September 17, 2012

 

 Better Business Bureau

Attn: ****** ******

4428 North 12th Street

Phoenix, AZ  85014-4585

 

 RE:  ******* ******** ********* # ******* 


Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Ms. ********’ concern regarding the automated charging of her credit card for tuition fees she incurred.  As she acknowledges, she did have the opportunity to review and select a payment method for her academic expenses including providing her credit card number to Northcentral University.

Although I cannot speak to her comment about not having a credit card on file for two years, I can stipulate that universally, as organizations grow and change it is not uncommon for policies to also change to better support and facilitate operations.  Northcentral University offers a variety of payment options for students to consider and these can be researched in the Catalog and explored further by speaking to a Tuition Planner or Financial Aid representative if her current arrangements need to be changed.  The Statement of Financial Responsibility is also in the Catalog.

I would also like to take this opportunity to clarify the charging process.  Students are scheduled for courses and are asked to electronically “accept” a course for enrollment.  A student has up to seven (7) days from the course start date to accept a course.  On the 8th day of enrollment in that “accepted” course, the credit card is charged for the tuition for that course.   Additionally, if a student “accepts” a course but then subsequently drops that same course before the 7th day of enrollment, the credit card is not charged.  

If there is a specific situation that Ms. ******** would like me to research regarding what she believes to be an erroneous charge, I am happy to do so.  

I hope that this information provides greater insight and understanding into the charging process and provides guidance to pursue other forms of financial responsibility planning for the student to explore.

 

Thank you,

 

***

  *** ********* ****

Director of Compliance

Office of Compliance Management

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 25, 2012 the financial services at Northcenteral University stated that I had out-of-pocket fees of $495 was due towards my first course. This e-mail was sent by Bobbie Campbell and was properly taken care of by Sue Ellen in the financial aid dept. Now during that May 25 email I did state that I do not think I will continue my education at this university due to all of the miscommunication that was occurring. The next issue started with my PSY7102 course on June 25, 2012. In the week of July 2, 2012 I printed off my syllabus the week before with the set due dates for my assignments. Well I did not know that the IT made some changes to the due dates and times. So from that point I e-mailed my professor letting her know what was going on and wanted to make sure my assignment was not late. Well I did not get a respond back from the professor letting me know if I had the correct dates or not. So I reached out to my advisor Julian Goldenthal regarding this matter and he stated that I my assignment was not late but wait until your professor gets back with you regarding this email. It was during the 4th July holiday week so I gave her until next week but still no response. My next assignment was due that following Monday and the professor graded my assignment and asked me to resubmit. Well before redoing the assignment I emailed her first, but no response. I redid the assignment and resubmitted the assignment underneath the old assignment. Well the professor never emailed me back regarding my email for this particular assignment. When she finally went back to grade that resubmitted assignment she stated that I did not resubmit the assignment and that she went on and graded the first assignment that I had done. The grade that was given for that assignment was a D which is below standards for a doctoral program. I did express to my professor in my first assignment how terrible my writing was and also expressed this to Julian Goldenthal about this matter. I emailed Julian again around the week of July 16, 2012 regarding my professor not responding to my emails. I stated to him that I was failing in the class and wanted to drop it and how I could withdrawal from the school. I was so not happy with what was going on. Julian stated that he did not understand what I was trying to ask my professor in the emails that was sent to her. I stated to him I wanted reassurance from her stating that the due dates for the assignments are correct, here is where you can get help with assignment 2, etc. I felt there was no guidance or assistance with my professor or my advisor. I asked my advisor if I was going to be charged or just lose out on financial aid funds and his reply was that he does not work in the financial aid department and that they will get with you on that matter. I told my advisor that I will get back with him later on next week regarding my final decision with withdrawing from the school but I wanted to see if my professor was going to respond to my email and still upload my third assignment. Still no response and I sent out an email to Julian Goldenthal informing him I as of July 20, 2012 I was withdrawing from the PSY7102 course and the University. I was never informed that I need to speak with financial aid before I made this final decision or anything that else that could have been important at that time. The reason for this grievance letter is because I was not given the proper guidance or information pertaining to this matter and also received a $3500 bill because I withdrew from the University without finishing the course. As a student I made attempts after attempts to get clarification on assignments from my professor and lack of resolution from my advisor. The resolution that is being requested is to cancel my repayment of $3515 to Direct Lending on behalf of the NCU advisor not providing me with a resolution to the outcome of this entire situation and not advising me to speak with financial aid. If not the entire amount at least half of the repayment to Direct Lending, which is $1757.50. This matter needs to be addressed to the professor of the PSY7102 and the advisor needs to be informed about this matter pertaining to the correct procedures on informing a student with information on withdrawal from the university. On August 28, 2012 Tennielle emailed me and stated that she have forwarded all of my emails to her manager and she will get back with me when she hear of anything. Well I never heard back from her until Monday regarding the voicemail and email I sent her. I asked her what did her manager say about my request and she stated that she would not send a request like that to her manager because they only deal with collections. I responded to her and stated thats not what you told me and who is the person I really need to be speaking with. Tennielle stated that I do not need to be call Mike French and her if I want her to help me and she does not need more than one person handling this issue. I made myself the only reason Mike French was contact because you never gave me an update on what was going on. I contacted Mike because he said if I need anything to please give him a call. She stated that she is going to send my information over to Gina Bruscato and this was the response email I received from Tennielle on Monday Sept. 10, 2012, " I just got off the phone with Gina Bruscato, she stated you have already submitted a grievance and will need to follow up with Charley Ables phone number 888.327.2877 ext 8018. Please let me know if you have any additional questions. What upsets me the most is that on August 23, 2012 I left Gina Bruscato a message on her voice mail and she never returned my call. I left Charley a voice mail regarding an update on my grievance being submitted. Tennielle stated if you do not hear back from Charley Ables by Friday 9/14/12 please email me and I will follow up with my manager again.Hello Tennielle, You wanted me to get back with you if Charl

Desired Settlement: The resolution that is being requested is to cancel my repayment of $3515 to Direct Lending on behalf of the NCU advisor not providing me with a resolution to the outcome of this entire situation and not advising me to speak with financial aid. If not the entire amount at least half of the repayment to Direct Lending, which is $1757.50. This matter needs to be addressed to the professor of the PSY7102 and the advisor needs to be informed about this matter pertaining to the correct procedures on informing a student with information on withdrawal from the university.

Business Response: Northcentral University thanks you for the opportunity to respond to ****** *****'s concern, and to provide clarification and a resolution to this matter.  I have spoken to the student directly and  we have agreed on a resolution that the student has now accepted.  This concern is now considered closed, from the student and University perspective, thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *****

 


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/16/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Northcentral University is using a call center to contact prospective students. I've never requested information from them nor have I requested information about pursuing additional higher education in general. I receive 8 to 10 calls per day, everyday from their call center and this has been ongoing for the past 3 weeks. I've called them about this a couple of times. The first time they said it must have been a glitch, and that they'd contact their call center vendor. It has continued for the past 2 weeks and when I called them back telling them it was continuing, they focused the conversation on the fact that I must have signed up to be contacted by them.Regardless of whether someone requests to be contacted or not, 10 calls a day for 3 weeks is bordering on harassment.

Desired Settlement: I would like NCU and their vendor to stop contacting me.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau (Phoenix, AZ)
4428 N. 12th Street 
Phoenix, AZ 85014-4585

Subject:  Complaint #******* **** ******

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this complaint.  We would like to begin with an apology for any inconvenience that the complainant may have experienced as a result of these contacts.  I have confirmed that the telephone number provided in the complaint has been added to the Do Not Call list as of today in both our internal and external contact management systems. 

We have opened a formal investigation of this matter to evaluate what happened and if there are opportunities for improvement.  We have learned that the telephone number provided to us was also included in records we received indicating inquiries about attending our University.  It is unfortunate but not unusual for people to provide inaccurate contact information when using web services.

We thank you again for bringing this to our attention and allowing us to resolve the issue.

Sincerely,

*** ********, MAOM

Director of Compliance

Office of Compliance Management

Subject:  Complaint #******* **** ******

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this complaint.  We would like to begin with an apology for any inconvenience that the complainant may have experienced as a result of these contacts.  I have confirmed that the telephone number provided in the complaint has been added to the Do Not Call list as of today in both our internal and external contact management systems. 

 

We have opened a formal investigation of this matter to evaluate what happened and if there are opportunities for improvement.  We have learned that the telephone number provided to us was also included in records we received indicating inquiries about attending our University.  It is unfortunate but not unusual for people to provide inaccurate contact information when using web services.

 

We thank you again for bringing this to our attention and allowing us to resolve the issue.

 

Sincerel

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing this letter to cite serious defects with the education provided by Northcentral University's doctoral program in TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages. I was formerly a student in the school's doctoral program in Education with a specialization in TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages). I had completed all coursework and the comprehensive exam, and was working on the first paper of the dissertation program when I was unable to find a qualified reviewer and was forced to leave. During my entire time at the university, I did not have one professor with any degree in TESOL,linguistics,English,or any other major even remotely related to TESOL (Documentation can be provided). My dissertation chair, for example, had a PhD in Educational Administration with a minor in statistics, an MBA in business, and a bachelor's degree in Math and Secondary education (Qualifications for other professors are similar). All papers constructed in the doctoral program were reviewed by an anonymous board called the Office of Academic Research (OAR). After receiving a paper which had been reviewed by the OAR, I realized that the reviewer did not even understand key concepts and vocabulary from a foundational textbook used in the Northcentral University doctoral course ESOL6007: Second Language Acquisition. When asking the dissertation chair if the paper could be reviewed by someone qualified in my field, I was told that I cannot expect professors to have my depth of knowledge in the field and was, subsequently, asked to simplify the paper for "the layman" and "general education people". These are exact quotes and documentation of this correspondence can be provided. Due to the fact that both professors and members of the OAR board did not have even basic qualifications in the TESOL field, I am requesting a complete refund for this program, which was a waste of both time and money.

Desired Settlement: I deserve a refund for the entire program which spanned four years.

Business Response: February 29, 2011 Better Business BureauCaitlin Denning
4428 N. 12th StreetPhoenix, AZ  85014 Re: Better Business Bureau Complaint # ******* Dear Ms. Denning: This letter is in response to the above referenced complaint by Mr. Andrew Douglas Schenck that stated, “Due to the fact that both professors and members of the OAR board did not have even basic qualifications in the TESOL field, I am requesting a complete refund for this program, which was a waste of both time and money.”  Please review the following overview provided by the School of Education: The six ESOL specialization courses were taught in Andrew Schenck’s program by three faculty members with terminal degrees. Dr. Anthony Pellegrini, Barbara Gerard, and Dr. LuAnne Forrest were the three mentors for Andrew’s courses and each taught two of the specialization courses.  Dr. Pellegrini has an Ed.D  in Higher Education and Education Leadership, an M.Ed. in Secondary Education/Education Leadership, and 21 credits of additional courses for an ESOL Endorsement. He was certified and taught ESOL courses in Utah.  Dr. Pellegrini has also written curriculum for ESL courses at Northcentral University and is a Lead Mentor for the School of Education. Dr. Pellegrini also serves as a committee member for student presentations in Cyprus.  Dr. Gerard has an Ed.D in Education and a M.A. in Education. She has had a position for numerous years in the Office of Multicultural Education, New York City Board of Education. She has served as an Administrator for Instructional Services and Staff Development, been an administrator of Multicultural and Multilingual (and Trilingual) Education, was a Program Director for the Bilingual Children’s Project, New York City Board of Education, and also served as a Program Director for the Bilingual Teacher Intern Program. All of these positions were for the New York Board of Education. Additionally, Dr. Gerard has presented and published on the topic of multicultural and bilingual education and has conducted diversity training for staff developments in New York School Districts.  Dr. Luanne Forrest has an Ed.D in Educational Leadership and a M.Ed. in Education. She also holds Endorsements in ESL, Gifted and Talented, Reading, and Reading Specialist.  She is a certified ESL teacher, and prior to Northcentral University, Dr. Forrest taught ten different ESL courses at the University level. She has also published articles including this article relating to English Language Learners.  Parker (Forrest), L. (2003). Professional development that makes a difference in English language learners. The Utah Special Educator. 23(5). Utah Personnel Development Center. Salt Lake City: Utah All three have prior teaching experience, terminal degrees in Education, and a wide variety of experiences relating to English Second Language. I hope this satisfies the inquiry Mr. Schenck had about the quality instructors we provided him while in his program. Sincerely, Dr. Janet Booker Ombuds, Office of the ProvostNorthcentral Universitye: jbooker@ncu.edup: 888-327-2877 x 8048f: 928-443-1466

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This letter falls very short of providing the information requested in the complaint.
First of all, having a PhD in Higher Education, Education, or any other unrelated field does not make the professor qualified to teach TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) courses at a doctoral level, which is why I require a refund. Any degree in general education does mean that professors have the qualifications to teach in TESOL. Only two of the professors listed have an ESL (English as a Second Language) endorsement, which is a certificate designed to help classroom teachers understand basics of the field of TESOL (Teaching English as a Second Language). Professor Gerard apparently does not even have this basic endorsement. The aforementioned course background does NOT provide the theoretical background necessary to teach doctoral level courses in TESOL. The university has cited these professors have taught ESL courses. ESL courses (those for ESL learners) can be taught by anyone with a basic certificate which, again, does not prove the point that these professors have the course background necessary to teach methodology and theoretical courses in the TESOL field. Second, only three of the professors in the letter were addressed. Why? No one from the doctoral committee or the anonymous OAR reviewer was addressed, although they were listed in the complaint. What were their qualifications? The Northcentral University handbook states that members of my dissertation committee and the dissertation chair have a “Demonstrated record of research and/or doctoral level teaching and/or practical experience appropriate to the program and degree specialization” Where are these qualifications and publications? My dissertation chair, Tim Delicath, had a Ph.D. in Higher Education Administration with a minor in Research Methodology/Statistics from Saint Louis University, a master’s degree in Business Administration from Lindenwood University. Once again, qualifications outside the TESOL field are irrelevant.

In sum, the reply letter hardly proves that I was given qualified instructors for doctoral level courses. Listed professors have only a weak course background in the TESOL field, which is hardly adequate to teach doctoral level courses in TESOL methodology; moreover, there is no listing of TESOL qualifications for professors of the dissertation committee and the OAR review board, which continues to prove the point that a second-rate education was provided. I, therefore, deserve a refund.

Regards,

****** *******


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

9/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Graduation Request.After completing all the required courses of the MBA program, and speaking with the academic advisor who stated everything was complete. I submitted a graduation request to the school and they deny the request stating " I received a C- on my first course OM7015 and that was not a passing grade. This grade has been on my transcript since I began and the professor confirmed I had passed this class. I have only made As and Bs throughout my time at NCU. I had 4 academic advisors since I began at NCU. Not one advisor mentioned this as an issue and overlooked it for 3 years. I have spoken to the advisor on several occasions asking him if there was anything that I needed to do to graduate, he insisted I was finished. This course is on my transcripts and has been there for 3 years with no mention that I should retake it to graduate. C- is not an option on a Graduate Grading scale, so how could this been overlooked for 3 years. I have researched all the correspondence on this course and it was to say the least, stressful. The school is trying to get me to retake this course, pay them more money for a course that only they offer, which is not one of the specialization courses. I have made nothing less than an A or B throughout my time at NCU. This is unacceptable and needs to be rectified.

Desired Settlement: To receive the MBA that I deserve and not have to pay them more money.

Business Response:

February 8, 2012 

Better Business Bureau 

Caitlin Denning
4428 N. 12th Street 

Phoenix, AZ  85014 

 

Re: Better Business Bureau Complaint # *******

 

Dear Ms. Denning: 

 

This letter is in response to the above referenced complaint by ****** *******. The student has been allowed to submit her graduation request form so she may be awarded her MBA. The student is in pending graduation status as of today. 

 

Please let me know if you have any questions. 

 

Sincerely, 

 

Dr. Janet Booker 

 

Ombuds, Office of the Provost 

Northcentral University 

e: jbooker@ncu.edu 

p: 888-327-2877 x 8048 

f: 928-443-1466 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/3/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/30/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/10/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/9/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/2/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
10/30/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
9/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/5/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/29/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
8/5/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1