BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central, Northern and Western Arizona

This Business is not BBB accredited

DeVry University

Phone: (602) 870-9222 Fax: (602) 870-1209 View Additional Phone Numbers 2149 W. Dunlap Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85021 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.phx.devry.edu View Additional Web Addresses

View BBB Rating for DeVry University's headquarters.

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This school offers undergraduate and graduate degree programs.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for DeVry University. BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for DeVry University.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1967 Business started: 01/01/1931 in AZ Business started locally: 01/01/1931 Business incorporated: 04/11/2002 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Craig Jacob, Metro President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Craig Jacob, Metro President
Related Businesses
Chamberlain College of Nursing
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2149 W. Dunlap Avenue

    Phoenix, AZ 85021

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (602) 870-9201(Phone)
  • (800) 528-0250(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.ethicalaz.com/devryuniversity/
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Technical Support
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled at DeVry University back in October of 2011. I completed and passed my first class. I was currently taking classes online at home. I discovered after completing the class and raising 5 children while going to school, was quite a struggle and stress on myself and family. So I decided to pursue another school and educational goal one that would not take me 4 years to complete. I have already been enrolled at my new school for 2 weeks. I had to come up with almost $4000.00 to start at my new school because DeVry is refusing to change my loan date. Which is scheduled to end with them in June 2012. DeVry Finance has already stated that they returned the money they borrowed back to the Department of Education but are refusing to change my loan date so I am not able to get a student loan through my new school. 3 months of waiting to start school is a long time! I have already notified DeVry I was changing schools and am listed as withdrawn through their school. I would like DeVry to change my loan date so I can qualify for additional student aid. It makes no sense to me why they have the rights to MY FUNDS and MY LOANS when I am no longer going to their school. The school I am attending has also said that they have had no problems with other places changing loan dates. Devry stated to me they needed a withdrawal clearance form from my new school to change the loan date. We'll the new school has no idea what this form is, and have researched every option in getting it with no success. Plus I am already listed as Withdrawn through Devry. DeVry overall is a great school academically but I feel this is an unethical practice and not fair to myself and my educational future.

Desired Settlement: I would like DeVry to change my loan date so I can obtain the funds needed to attend my new school.

Business Response:

The student was an Online student and records indicate that DeVry Online Student Finance has been working with her since last month to respond to her questions about loan dates and transferring to another school.  On February 28, 2012, she was instructed that a withdrawal clearance letter comes from her new school and while DeVry can help complete this form, we do not provide it.  Also, on February 27, 2012 there is a note that DeVry Online Student Finance updated COD (Common Origination and Disbursement site) to cancel her Spring 2012 financial aid from DeVry University.

National Student Loan Database System (NSLDS) does confirm that her loan period from Stafford Loans she utilized at DeVry in the Fall 2011 term are from 10/24/11 to 6/24/12.  If she were to transfer to another school and enroll before June 24, 2012, she would have overlapping loan periods.  The university cannot change the loan date per her request below.  Loan periods are based on federal loan disbursement schedules and not the university.

 

We would be happy to continue to assist the student in any way possible - within our means and scope of capabilities.

 

***** *****

Metro President

DeVry University

  ************ ****************

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/16/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern:My name is ******** ******. I graduated from DeVry University in 2009. Nearing the completion of my first year of attendance DeVry told me I had exceeded my cost of attendance for that year and would need to pay them an additional $4,500+ on top of the student loans and grants I had already received. I ended up having to get a personal loan from Wells Fargo to accomplish this. Nearing completion of my second and final year with DeVry I was once again told that I had exceeded my cost of attendance and owed them $1434.87. At the time I was not employed and could not afford to pay them. I also no longer qualified for any other personal loans to cover the cost. As a result DeVry denied me my diploma and sent the debt to a third-party collector called Access. In 2011 I was finally able to secure a full-time job and start making payment on this debt. I contacted the third-party collection agency and setup an arrangement to pay the balance in small monthly increments. The first of these increments has already been processed. Just the other day I received a notice from DeVry stating that they had written off the exact same amount, $1434.87 and sent it to a third-party collector called ACT: (Account Control Technology). That is a completely different company and they show no record of any payment being made on the balance. It seems to me that DeVry has written of the amount twice in an effort to collect more money than I actually owe. I plan to contact the DeVry financial department and try to sort this out but as far as I am concerned this is flat our fraud and should be investigated.

Desired Settlement: Clarification on exactly what I do and do not owe DeVry and I'd like them to send me my diploma. Compensation for the headache they've caused me would be nice but isn't likely to happen.

Business Response:

This is in response to Mr. ******'s complaint to the BBB regarding his student account and the money he owes the University. 

When a student is placed with an outside collections agency and makes no payments for over 1 year, the student is then transferred to a different agency.  In this case, Mr. ****** was with Access first.  After 1 year there were no payments received and the transfer to ACT began.  During the transfer period, Mr. ****** did make a payment of $119 to Access.  Unfortunately the account with Access had already been closed, and the account with ACT had not yet been opened.  Once the payment was received, our home office cancelled the ACT transfer, and the student is now back with Access.  According to officials, Access is reflecting the first payment of $119 made from the student.

 

Nothing fraudulent was done on the part of DeVry.  Standard operating procedures dictate that we transfer the account after 1 year.  Unfortunately, Mr. ******'s payment was made at the time during the account transition.

 

Mr ****** is welcome to contact us if he has any further questions.

 

***** *****

Metro President

************ ****************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/2/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/26/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1