BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central, Northern and Western Arizona
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Provider of post-secondary education.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Collins College Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Collins College Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Collins College Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 1978 Business started: 04/01/1978 Business started locally: 04/01/1978
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Calman, President Ms. Elizabeth Kennedy, Advertising Manager Jeff Lagasse, Director Mr. Tina Newman, Director of compliance
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Calman, President
Customer Contact: Jeff Lagasse, Director
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
Al Collins Graphic Design School Collins College

Additional Locations

  • 1407 W. 10th Place

    Tempe, AZ 85281

  • 4750 S. 44th Place

    Phoenix, AZ 85040 (480) 966-3000 (888) 820-3999

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (480) 902-0663(Phone)
  • (888) 820-3999(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was promised by the campus and faculty that the college was accredited and that the classes I took would transfer if I kept the same major/program. Since the teach out began I felt uneasy about putting money or trust in such a questionable business with rumors of business practices surfacing. Collins College is accredited by the Accrediting Council for Independent Colleges and Schools (ACICS) to award Associate degrees and Bachelors degrees. Collins College is licensed by The Arizona State Board for Private Postsecondary Education. And this is from the ACICS website, (the accreditation board that gives Collins College its accreditation): Founded in 1912, ACICS is the largest national accrediting organization of degree-granting institutions. We accredit professional, technical and occupational programs, and are one of two national accreditors recognized by both the U.S. Department of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation with a scope that includes private postsecondary institutions offering certificates, diplomas and degrees from the Associates through the Masters. Yet no college in this state or any surrounding state will accept transfer for the exact same major/program.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for one and a half years of tuition of government loans, pell grants, and the money that I paid out of pocket. And to be compensated for the time I spent at your institution.

Business Response: Consumer: ******* **** *****
*** **** ****** ***** ***
******** ** *****
Daytime Phone: ************
E-mail: *********************************




Business: Collins College

**** ** **** *****

******** ** *****





Date: August 5, 2013




Mr. ******* **** ***** recently filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau (“BBB”) against Collins College. On being notified of this complaint by the BBB, Collins College began an immediate internal review of Mr. *****’s allegations. 


Mr. ***** asserts that he was led to believe that the education he received was transferable and accredited. It is difficult to address this without knowing the specific agencies or employers that have denied his credits.  Other schools do and continue to accept credits from Collins College.  The decision to accept transfer credits is always up to the accepting college.  Mr. ***** signed an attestation at the time of enrollment that clearly states, “The transferability of credits you earn at the School is at the complete discretion of an institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the credential you earn is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer.” Mr. ***** understood the credit transfer policy and understood that Collins College does not guarantee that other schools will accept transfer of credit.  He was also informed at that time that the school was accredited, and continues to be accredited by the Accrediting Council for Independent College and Schools (ACICS).  Mr. ***** did not complete his program of study; therefore, he is not considered a graduate. 


  





******* *******

Campus Director

Business Response:

Consumer: ******* **** *****

*** **** ****** ***** ***

******** ** *****

Daytime Phone: ************

E-mail: *********************************


Business: Collins College
**** ** **** *****
******** ** *****


Date: August 28, 2013

 

Pursuant to Mr. ***** BBB complaint, Collins College has taken the opportunity to formally address the allegations that Ms. ***** made in his BBB complaint.

 

In the first response to the BBB we iterated that the decision to accept transfer credits is always up to the accepting college.  Mr. ***** signed attestation at the time of enrollment that clearly states “The transferability of credits you earn at the School is at the complete discretion of an institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the credential you earn is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer.” Mr. ***** understood the credit transfer policy and understood that Collins College does not guarantee that other schools will accept transfer of credit.

 

Mr. ***** alleges that he was mistreated by the campus. Our records do not indicate that Mr. ***** approached Collins College with any issues during his time at Collins College. In addition to the formal grievance policy our students have multiple options to raise concerns with our faculty or administrators at any time and we take student satisfaction very seriously.

 

The statement found in Mr. ***** “Desired Settlement” section of her BBB complaint is just not true. Mr. ***** signed an attestation that informed him that acceptance of transfer credit is at the discretion of the receiving university.  Collins College has no evidence or documentation to support his allegation that he was mistreated. Collins College will continue to assist Mr. ***** as he needs assistance. If you should need anything else regarding this matter please do not hesitate to contact the appropriate Collins College staff member. Thank you.

 



 

******* *******
Campus Director

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

I am unpleased with the whole situation and am glad they have decided to close the college.

Regards,

******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted Collins College and its parent company, Career Education Corporation, four times over the month for assistance with my transcript. I have never received a response.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to respond to my email with the status of the hold on my transcript.

Business Response:

Consumer: *** ***** *****
**** ** ******* *****  ****** ** *****

Business: Collins College
4750 S. 44th Place
Phoenix, AZ 85040


Date: July 22, 2013




*** ***** ***** recently filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau (“BBB”) against Collins College. On being notified of this complaint by the BBB, Collins College began an immediate internal review of Ms. ******* allegations. We also contacted Ms. ***** and discussed this matter with her.  Pursuant to the findings of our review, Collins College acknowledges Ms. *****’s concerns and has worked diligently with her to accommodate her request. 


Ms. ***** states in her complaint that she was unable to obtain her official transcript from the school.  Although we have no record of Ms. ***** directly contacting the college regarding her transcript, the administration reviewed Ms. *****’s request immediately on receipt of the BBB notification. 


We are delighted to report that Ms. *****’s transcript was released and sent to her on July 9, 2013.  
 
Thus, we believe that we have successfully addressed Ms. *****’s BBB complaint.  If you should have any additional questions in regard to this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me. Thank you.


******* *******
Campus Director






Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and agree that the issue has been resolved. I thank Collins College for their fast response to the complaint.

Regards,

***** *****


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled in Collins College in 2008-2009. After one, maybe two semesters and $25,000 in loans to the school, they informed me there was no additional funding to complete the program. I asked why they enrolled me and caused me to incur $25,000 if I can't complete the program, and they simply told me no more funding was available. I would like an agency with authority to investigate the number of students they defrauded in this manner. And I would like for the Attorney General to investigate why the school would cause me to incur $25,000 in debt and not allow or find a way for me to complete the program. The school did not disclose in the beginning that I may or may not be able to complete the program. I feel I was mislead ie. defrauded by this school.

Desired Settlement: I honestly feel that the school should pay the government back $25,000. I have received nothing for the money!!!

Business Response:

 

Collins College (“Collins” or “institution”) was recently notified by the Better Business Bureau (“BBB”) that a complaint had been filed against the institution by a former student of Collins, Mr. **** D. ****. Upon receipt of the BBB notification, Collins reviewed Mr. ****’s complaint, his related institutional records and have taken action in response to Mr. ****’s desired resolution.

 

Mr. **** enrolled in the Collins College Digital Video Production Associate of Arts Degree program and began his coursework on January 22, 2008. His last date of recorded attendance at the institution was on October 16, 2008, at which time he withdrew from the institution.  Mr. **** did not complete his 60 week Digital Video Production program. 

 

Mr. **** states in his letter that “…the school did not disclose in the beginning that I may or may not be able to complete the program. I feel I was mislead ie. defrauded by this school.” 

 

While Collins College is not required to explicitly state in any disclosure to Mr. **** that   he may or may not be able to complete the program, the institution did disclose to Mr. **** on his Enrollment Agreement that he signed on November 29, 2007 that he is fully responsible for the tuition and fees charged by the school and that it is his sole responsibility to ensure that all tuition and fees are paid.  In his signed Enrollment Agreement, Mr. **** attested to having read, understood, and agreed to comply with all of its terms. His signed Enrollment Agreement also clearly discloses the following:  Student’s Failure to Meet Obligations:  The College reserves the right to terminate the Student’s enrollment for failure to maintain satisfactory academic progress,  failure to pay tuition or fees by applicable deadlines, disruptive behavior, posing a danger to the health or welfare of students or other members of the College community, conviction of a crime, failure to abide by the      College policies and procedures or for any false statements in connection with this enrollment.  The                 College can discontinue the Student’s enrollment status, not issue             grades, and deny requests for transcripts should the Student not meet all of his/her financial and institutional obligations or for any false statements in connection with this enrollment.

 

                Not only does this statement clearly express that Mr. **** may or may not be able to         complete the program, but it goes even further to provide examples of seven (7)       reasons why this may          occur. 

 

Mr. **** also states that the institution informed him that there was no additional funding to complete the program. 

 

Collins College does not have control over changes in Mr. ****’s personal financial status that may or may not affect Mr. ****’s qualifications for additional funding, or the student loan lender’s             decisions regarding Mr. ****’s qualification for additional funding. 

               

In Mr. ****’s complaint letter he states that he incurred $25,000 in loans. 

 

According to our records of Mr. ****’s account, Collins College received $20,960 from student loan funding that Mr. **** borrowed and Collins then refunded $2179.16 to the student loan lender when Mr. **** withdrew from the institution.  This leaves a net student loan amount of $18,780.84 that Collins College received from Mr. ****’s loan funding.  While Mr. **** may have paid loan fees and had              interest accrue since borrowing for his educational costs, this amount of $18,780.84 reflects the actual amount received by Collins College, not $25,000.00. 

 

As we attempted to resolve this matter with Mr. **** by contacting him on Wednesday, January 9, 2013, Mr. **** confirmed that he did not possess any documentation from Collins College that indicated that he would receive any additional financial aid funding than had been disbursed to him.  However, he continued to contend that he was “defrauded” because he had $25,000 in debt and “nothing to show for it”.  Mr. **** was not defrauded. Furthermore, Mr. **** has provided no evidence or documentation that he was defrauded or misled.

 

While it is unfortunate that Mr. **** was not able to complete his program of study, Collins College did provide the educational services that the institution agreed to provide to Mr. **** during the period from January 22, 2008 through October 16, 2008, and charged Mr. **** for these services in accordance with the Enrollment Agreement that was signed by Mr. **** and accepted by the institution.  However, though Mr. **** advised us on January 9, 2013 that the balance of $997 that our records show he owes to the institution were discharged in bankruptcy, we have no record of this alleged discharge.  It is required that a Discharge Notice be received to write off a balance due to bankruptcy, and we do not have a record of receiving this Notice.  As such, this amount was turned over to collections on February 26, 2009.  In a good faith gesture, we have now written this amount off, leaving Mr. **** with a $0 balance due with the Collins College. Mr. **** now has a zero balance with Collins College.

 

In regard to Mr. ****’ “BBB Desired Settlement,” Mr. **** is asking that Collins college should refund the “$25.000.00” that he borrowed to pay for his educational expenses at the institution. We have found no evidence to support the allegations made in Mr. ****’s BBB complaint. Pursuant to our review of this matter, we believe that Mr. **** has not been defrauded or misled by Collins College and, as such, do not agree to pay any refund to Mr. **** or on Mr. ****’s behalf at this time. Again, it should be noted that Mr. **** has provided no evidence or documentation to support the allegations found in his BBB complaint.

 

Thank you.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1