BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central, Northern and Western Arizona

This Business is not BBB accredited

Brookline College

Additional Locations

Phone: (602) 644-7000 Fax: (602) 644-7001 2141 E. Highland Avenue #200, Phoenix, AZ 85016 http://www.brooklinecollege.edu

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This college offers academic degrees in health care, legal and business careers.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brookline College include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Brookline College
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 01, 1979 Business started: 10/18/1979 in AZ Business incorporated: 03/27/2009 in AZ
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Commission for Post Secondary Education
2020 N Central Ave, #650, Phoenix AZ 85004-4503
http://azppse.state.az.us/contact_form.asp
Phone Number: 602.258.2435
Fax Number: 602.258.2483

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Roy Hawkins, Executive VP of Operations Ms. Emily Bernatow, Admissions Support Manager Mr. Ted Burrows, Creative Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roy Hawkins, Executive VP of Operations
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities Schools - Business & Vocational Nurses Schools


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Brookline College has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2141 E. Highland Avenue #200

    Phoenix, AZ 85016

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Phoenix Campus - 2445 W. Dunlap AvenueSuite 100

    Phoenix, AZ 85021

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Tempe Campus - 1140 & 1150 S. Priest Drive

    Tempe, AZ 85281 (480) 545-8755 (800) 717-5491

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I, ****** l. ******* am currently attending Brookline College Online. I was first attending La College International online until they sold their company without giving the students a chance to know what Brookline College is about. We had no choice but to switch. Since I started at La College International Online/Brookline College, I have been on the Provost's Honor Roll and I am supposed to be graduating March, 2013; which is only a few weeks away. Now that I have switched to Brookline College, I am told that I do not have enough government funds to cover me until graduation. Now, I think that is totally wrong. I went for nearly 4 years of being a dedicated student, and took out a huge amount of student loans and book fees and I cant even graduate. They want me to pay this money now , which I do not have. I am on Social Security Benefits and have a very limited income. The only way I will be able to pay any money is if I graduate which will allow me to pursue a career. I am wanting to know if this online school is scamming me. Because I can not afford to pay any of this if I do not graduate. Please Help, ****** L. *******

Desired Settlement: First see if Brookline College is legitimate. See what rights do I have for someone who is disabled. I would like to either be able to finish my courses at Brookline College, graduate which will allow me to get a career to pay back. If not, what could I do to not have to pay these loans back, if I am not able to graduate?

Business Response:

The impetus of Brookline Colleges’ acceptance to work with the students of L.A. College was to enable them to effectively complete the programs that they had started without being negatively impacted by the schools closure.

 

Seeing that this has been an a-typical situation, for everyone involved the open and timely communication between the students and Brookline College has allowed there to be quick resolutions to identified concerns as well as clarification of questions all throughout this teach-out process.

 

As such, ****** ********’ letter was very helpful in clearly identifying her perspective of the situation as well as allowing us to further engage her in coming to a sound resolution for both parties.

 

We were able to determine that the money owed was accurate.  Having that information in hand, we were able to work with Ms. ******* on 2/21/13 to develop a payment plan option that fit into her budget.  She has agreed to this budget plan and is active in her courses.    

 

We will work with Ms. ******* to ensure that she is able to complete her final two courses to complete her program.  She has worked hard through her program, achieved good grades and deserves to not have any further obstacles in her way towards graduation.

 

Sincerely,

 

Eric Murry

Eric Murry

Director of Online Operations

602.778.3163 / emurry@brooklinecollege.edu 


Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *******


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While I went to school with brookline in 2008 for medical assassinating I was told about taking the exam by each and every one of my teacher to get certified with AAMA. I have finaly got the courage to take the exam and have been informed that I do not qualify because of the school I went to lied about me being able to take the test. Now I have given $250 to take a test I can not take and can not get back. And now I am wondering why did they lie to me about taking this test. That was one of the reasons I took this course. I feel like they have taken my money yet again and not delivered on what they said AGAIN. Why am I racking up this student loan and why now am I out even more money ( the $250 for the test) that I can not get back. They need to reimpers me for EVERYTHING. In closed Will be the Email from AAMA........Dear ****** ***** ******: Thank you for your interest in the CMA (AAMA) Certification Examination. To be eligible for the examination an applicant must complete all program requirements for a medical assisting program that has been accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) or by the Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools (ABHES). In addition, candidates may sit for the exam no more than 30 days prior to completing all medical assisting program requirements. We regret to inform you that according to the Medical Assisting Program Director at the school you attend(ed), you did not/will not complete all program requirements in time to be eligible to take the exam during your current 90-day testing period of 12/1/2012 - 3/1/2013 . If you feel that there is an error in our records, we recommend contacting your Medical Assisting Program Director and have them provide us with additional information establishing your eligibility. We will either need verification directly from them or you may submit an official transcript. This may reestablish your eligibility for the exam during this current 90-day testing period.

Desired Settlement: Refund for the worthless classes I took with them and for the exam I can not take.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ******:

 

Brookline wishes to address your concern promptly, and to provide you with the best solution available to resolve your concern.

The test you are attempting to take is not the appropriate test for you based on the program in which you were enrolled. You are referring the CMA (AAMA) exam, according to the 2008 IIA College Catalog the appropriate exam for you to take is the American Medical Technologist (AMT) exam:

Graduates in the clinical specialization who wish to pay the association fees are eligible to take the AMT Registered Medical Assistant (RMA) certification exam upon completion of the AMT employment requirement. The program [Medical Assistant (Clinical/Administrative)] has been developed to follow the standards of the Association of Medical Technologist Roles of Delineation. (Page 35 of the 2008 catalog)

A refund of the exam fee and program cost is not reasonable based on the above Catalog statement; the coursework provided was in accordance with the recommended certification exam, RMA.


Thank you,

*** ******* ***** ******* ******  *****


VP of Academic Affairs

Brookline College
t: ************ | f: 602.644.7042
**** * ******** *** *** *** * ******** ** *****|**** * ******** *** *** *** * ******** ** *****
****************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I worked very hard and have 28,000 dollars in loans for a degree that I earned. After about halfway through my courses I get a call saying that I will have to pay the school a little over $500.00 out of pocket. They then told me they would mail me a payment arrangement and a coupon book which I never received. At the time of graduation I find out that I can not have my diploma until they get that payment in full. They have already received a fortune in money that I have to make payments on and I feel it is ridiculous that I can not have my diploma that I earned when they are the ones who never mailed my payment book and I have called numerous times to speak to payment department and have not had my calls returned. I am willing to pay this money in payments monthly, but think that I should not have my diploma held as collateral. I have no complaints with the staff that guided me and helped me through, they were wonderful, but the billing department made the mistake and that diploma is how I plan to find work and presenting proof of my education would help. I could pay them alot sooner if they would stop punishing mne for their mistake in not sending me the payment arrangement.

Desired Settlement: I would like my diploma sent to me and to be given the payment arrangement that I was told I was supposed to have. I worked hard for it and they have been paid almost 30,000 already why would they hold my diploma for $500 more that I would have had paid already had I known I was defaulting on payments would have been paid. The college called me every three to four weeks why did billing not call me one time if I was delinquent on payments they should have a policy to call and inform you.

Business Response: In reviewing the file for ******** ****** we see that we contacted her on 11/21/11 regarding the outstanding balance.  A representative of Brookline College had discussions with ******** on 6/13/12 regarding the need to have a payment plan established.   As ******** has since graduated, we understand the need for her to have record of her accomplishment.  Therefore, Brookline College is proposing the following: ·         ******** contact Robert Birr, rbirr@brooklinecollege.edu or (602) 644-7121, to re-establish a payment plan.·         Robert will then generate a new payment contract.·         Once an acceptable payment plan contract is signed by ******** we will release an unofficial transcript to her.When ******** fulfills the payment plan, Brookline College will then release her official transcript and diploma. We sincerely hope that by providing the unofficial transcript in advance of her completing the payment plan will allow her to further herself within the career of her choice. 
Thank you,  Dr. Deborah Jones Deborah Jones,  Ed.D.
VP of Academic Affairs

Brookline College
t: 602.644.7042 | f: 602.644.7042
2141 E Highland Ave Ste 200 | Phoenix, AZ 85016
dejones@brooklinecollege.edu

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ******** and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

Ki****** *****


 

I DID SPEAK TO SOMEONE BUT THEY NEGLECTED TO FOLLOW THROUGH WITH THEIR SIDE OF THE CONVERSATION WHICH WAS TO MAIL ME THE PAYMENT STATEMENTS AND THE FINAL CONTRACT.  THIS ARRANGE THAT i HAVE WITH THE GENTLEMAN I SPOKE TO IS GREAT. HE DID HIS JOB! AND AFTER A SCHOOL IS PAID $28,000 DOLLARS IDO STIL THINK HOLDING BACK A DIPLOMA FOR LESS THAN $600 DOLLARS IS DISHEARTENING.  STUDENTS WORK HARD AND PAY WELL FOR THEIR DIPLOMA AND THAT DIPLOMA IS IMPORTANT FOR THE HEART.  I WILL HAVE MINE IN MY POSESSION SOON AND THANK YOU TO THE MAN AT BROOKLINE WHO ACTUALLY DID MAIL ME WHAT HE PROMISED.........ALL IN ALL THE SCHOOL WAS WONDERFUL AND A GREAT EXPERIENCE THIS IS THE ONLY THING THAT UPSET ME .. I WOULD RECOMMEND THEM TO ANYONE AND HAVE....DONT LET A MISTAKE DETER YOU JUST NEEDED IT TO GET SOMEONES ATTENTION....

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/10/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1