BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central, Northern and Western Arizona
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial & residential plumbing contracting services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that PlumbSmart meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for PlumbSmart include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on PlumbSmart
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 27, 2007 Business started: 04/01/2003 in AZ Business incorporated: 07/27/2006 in AZ
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Registrar of Contractors
1700 W. Washington Street #105, Phoenix AZ 85007
http://www.azroc.gov
Phone Number: 602.542.1525
Fax Number: 602.542.1599

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Wayne P. Decker, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wayne P. Decker, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Pipe

Alternate Business Names
AWG Decker Enterprises, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1815 W. 1st Avenue  Suite 107

    Mesa, AZ 85202

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an advertisement in the mail (All kitchen and bathroom plumbing) prices 30% to 40% below other plumbing services. If that;s not low enough, name your own price. No trip charges. I called and made an appointment for Friday 11/15/13 at 9AM. I spoke to a female and told her I had 2 small problems (kitchen faucet that had a small leak at the conection on the sink surface, and the toilet float may need to be replaced) The serviceman came at 8:55AM, I showed him the problem in the kitchen, he removed the faucet by hand an took off the washer. Stated that he needed to replace the washer. I then showed him the toilet (flushed it) and he stated it needed a new float. He checked his truck and told me he didn't have the parts needed, and said he would be right back. He returned in 10 or 12 minutes (there is an *** ******** store just minutes away) with the parts. He put the new washer on the kitchen faucet, screwed the faucet back on and it worked fine. He then took off the old float and clipped the new one on the toilet box, flushed the toilet, and it seemed to be fine. Both jobs were completed without any tools (just bare hands). He then went out to his truck and wrote the bill. The bill indicated $10.96 for parts, $105.00 for labor and $7.00 for sales tax. I questioned the labor charge (showed him the advertisement) and he just got angry, mutterd that people want everything for nothing. I asked him to call his office, he said he was in a hurrey. I wrote out the check, refused to sign the bill, wrote wrong price for the labor charge, and he left at 9:40AM. 45 minutes total, including the time to go and get the parts. I immediately called the office number, spoke to a female, told her my problem. She told me the manager was out and would be back around noon. I asked for a call back (she asked me what the best time would be and I said 4PM. I never receiced a call back, Friday, Saturday or Monday. With no call back from **** the manager, I stopped payment on my check (cost to me $30.00) at ***** ***** ****.

Desired Settlement: I request a call back from someone in management, to discuss a partial refund of the labor charges. Then the agreed re-billing mailed to me, and I will submit a new check for the agreed ammount.

Business Response: I will be contacting Mr. **** asap to discuss the matter. It is my highest priority to make sure all people are satisfied. I am sure industry wide there would be smiles on the faces of other service owners regarding this complaint. Mr **** states we showed up exactly on time, diagnosed his problem, retrieved the necessary parts, repaired them efficiently, and charged alittle over a hundred dollars with a full warranty by a licensed plumber. Does this seem unfair to anyone at the ***. Lets take a survey. It costs me 43.00 minimum to just show up even to give a free estimate. Mr **** fails to mention that he did not dispute the price prior to receiving service. We always give an exact quote on the labor prior to commencing work. Nevetheless, my customers are never wrong even when they are, so I will contact Mr. **** and ask him to tell me what he would like to be refunded. I will not refund his stop payment. He called one time to a very busy growing (because of our low prices) plumbing company and then elected to cost himself thirty dollars. I appreciate the *** 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Regards,

******* ****
I spoke at length with Mr ******/********** on Thursday 11/21. We agreed on a settlement, that I requested in writting. When I receive his agreement, I will comment on his self-serving statemnts. Mine differ from his.


 

 

Business Response:

***, I spoke with Mr ****. Mr **** is an unreasonable person who wanted something for nothing. First in his complaint, to repeat, he states we arrived on time and fixed his two problems. This is simply about the price. 115.00 for a licensed plumber to come to his home and fix his problem. He signed an invoice agreeing to the price and satisfaction. The he breaks his committment by stopping payment on his check. I will be proceeding to small claims for thrice the restitution asap. Please research comparable charge analysis for my industry. Classic customer wants something for nothing  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

After speaking with the owner of ********* the first time, I had to get service through my
******** ****** **** *********. The licensed plummer came out, diagnosed the problem, then went to the ***** ****** manufacture to get the correct part.
They also fixed the pipes under the sink, that had been damaged when ********* tried to fix the problem. I detaile all this in a letter to Mr ****** on 12/9/13. In the letter I stated that I wouldn't contact the ***, regarding amending my complaint. I just wanted to put this unfortunate circumstance behind me and move forward. I also stated that if Mr ******
wanted to pursue his threats of me for complaining, that I would contact the AG's office and file a complaint, and also file a complaint with Arizona Registrar of Contractors. Where
********* service took 40 minutes, the contractor sent by ******** **** ****** took 2 1/2 hours to complete the job. I'm satisfied and paid $100. for the work. As I
stated in my letter, if I don't hear from Mr ****** again. I will just drop the entire matter. If he wants to pursue legal action, I'll be forced into doing the same. All over
an aggressive service rep, trying to patch a problem and run. Shame on Mr ******, having
someone like that represent him.

Regards,

******* ****


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I set up an appointment with Plumbsmart to change out the filters on my 5-stage under-sink home reverse-osmosis unit. The serviceman had barely turned on his flashlight to look under the sink when he said, "Oh, you've got a crack." I asked him to show me the crack, and he gestured with his flashlight, but I saw nothing, and said so. He said, "Oh, it's there." I said point it out to me and he just said, "Right there." Then he asked how old the unit was, and when I said over four years, he said it might be time to replace it. He then launched into a sales pitch, but I said I wasn't ready to do that, I just wanted the filters changed. He said okay, and reached under the unit but quickly pulled his hand back. "See, I just touched it and it's leaking already." I reached under and moved back the valve lever he had touched, and the "leak" stopped. I said, "There's no leak, you just opened the valve." He said, no, the system was just "too old", and he questioned my judgement in merely having the filters replaced. At this point, I had had enough. I said, "Okay, I have a bad feeling about this, I'm going to get someone else to look at it." He said fine, and then presented me with a $40 trip charge for which I wrote a check to get him off my property. As soon as he left, I called Plumbsmart and left a message describing my experience and asking them not to cash the check in good conscience, given the nature of the "service" I had received. However, they ignored my suggestion. I contracted with another service company, which found no cracks and no leaks and was able to quickly change out my filters.

Desired Settlement: If Plumbsmart refunds my money, I would consider the matter square. However, if they choose not to, I will have no choice but to publicize my bad experience to the fullest extent possible.

Business Response: Dear *****, the complaintant and I have now spoken. He had left a message of which we thought we complied but mistakenly deposited his check two weeks later. There was never another call or message or email alerting us until he valled the BBB. Although my plumber recollected a different story and our contract was signed in satisfaction, I agreed for the remedy of my customer to not only reimburse his money but 20% more for his aggravation. He should be contacting you in a few days once he receives my already mailed check
***** ******
***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/22/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1