BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central, Northern and Western Arizona

BBB Accredited Business since

The Young Agency

Phone: (602) 212-2668 Fax: (602) 234-2788 2813 E. Camelback Road #480, Phoenix, AZ 85016 http://www.theyoungagency.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides modeling and talent development services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Young Agency meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Young Agency include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on The Young Agency
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 17, 1997 Business started: 02/01/1996 in AZ Business started locally: 02/17/1996 Business incorporated: 09/06/2001 in AZ
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Pamela A. Young, President Mr. Steve Smith, Director Ms. Sherian Thompson, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Pamela A. Young, President
Business Category

Modeling & Talent Agencies Advertising Agencies & Counselors Advertising - Direct Mail Advertising - Motion Picture Advertising - Newspaper Advertising - Television Entertainers Fashion Show Producers

Alternate Business Names
Models Plus International, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 2813 E. Camelback Road #480

    Phoenix, AZ 85016

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid this agency $500, and allowed them to take photos of our son in April 2013. We were told we would be contact within 6 weeks with his photos and also opportunities for him to model in children's magazines and such. It has now been 4 months and we have received NOTHING from them. I have called countless times, and even written messages on their ******** page which have been deleted by them. Their website is no longer up and running and says "under construction". We signed a contract with them that said they would feature our son on their website for a year, and they don't even have a website! Regardless this is an unacceptable way to conduct business and I want our money back for failure to fulfill their contract.

Desired Settlement: I want to be refunded $500 that we paid, and also want the photos that were taken of my son in my possession as I do not want this company using them for marketing purposes without my consent.

Business Response: The complaint will be Reopened.If appropriate the Business Record will be set to NR while the dispute is resolved.Do you want to continue?

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had contacted the Young Agency after several local retailers had expressed interest in hiring our son as a model. We were told that the Young Agency was an "employment agency" by the rep and that their main goal was getting our son hired for various modeling jobs. We were told we had to pay 400.00 for headshots and that once the headshots were complete (in three weeks) our son would be marketed to relevant clients. The headshots took 3 months to produce...far longer than the agency told us it would. We signed an agreement with the group in January of 2013 and have not received one single call for a modeling job since we paid the 400.00. Furthermore, we have reached out to the agency to find out if there are any job opportunities for our son and have received NO follow up from anyone at the agency. Clearly, this business is not ethical and is more interested in getting money from parents than finding jobs for the children who have signed up for their services.

Desired Settlement: We would like our 400.00 back. This agency is a fraud and has no interest in being organized, ethical and proactive in trying to finding job opportunities for clients.

Business Response: The Young agency does offer a marketing package which you
selected to purchase in the amount of $399, which includes, a photo shoot,
composite cards, web site exposure, email audition notices. You have received all
of these services. Therefore, there will be no refund.   No where
does it state this agency will call you for auditions. While our goal is to
turn around the composite cards as quickly as possible, we do not have control
of how quickly the photographer, graphic design artist and printer turn the
product around. I am certainly inquiring as to why it took 3 months and assure
you that is not the norm. 

Additionally, In 2013 alone, here are a few of the paying
jobs our kids were hired for:

-                         
we have several children (7 kids) who are in the first
******* ****** ******** ******** *******,

-                         
“*******” auditions over 50 of our kids and hired 26
kids for their latest print ad,
-an infant was hired for a film just last week. 

With just these few mentioned success, you are mistaken if
you think we are going to sit idly by while you slander our good name with
comments such as “this business is not ethical and This agency is a fraud.”


Ms. ****** you are hereby notified to Cease and Desist your
slander with regards to “The Young Agency”. We are an upstanding business with
a A rating with the Better Business Bureau serving the Southwestern United States
of America and the entertainment industry since 1996.  Know that you will be held liable for any
harm that comes to this company financially or otherwise, as a result or your reckless slander.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

1. The letter was rude, condescending and threatening
2. The agency has not provided us with what we've asked for
3. The agency has provided no specific proof of what they have done to help our son find viable employment opportunities
4. The agency has made no effort to better their relationships with us

Regards,

****** ******


 

 

Business Response:
4. The agency has made no effort to better their relationships with us

In response to this complaint let me address the comments, first
 
1. If my response was perceived as rude, it was not my intention, I am simply defending the good standing of my company that has served so many families over the past 17 years. 

2. We feel we have provided the service you contracted us to provide and more, however,  since the 2014 Calendar has not gone to print as yet and Because it took longer than expected to receive your composite, I will refund $100.  otherwise, i can only apologize for the unexpected delay.

3. The specific proof is provided through direct email auditions and there have been auditions in your child's age group. 
We are at the mercy of the client or casting agents. we cannot make the client give us a casting before there is a need.
This is why our talent contract is for a year so we have ample time to send you job opportunities as they arise.

4. Its unfortunate you feel we've made no effort to better our relationship with you because at the end of the day, we would like to maintain a good working relationship with you and all of our clients.  As a gesture of our goodwill, I would like to offer either the aforementioned refund or another photo shoot to update the photos and issue the composite cards in a timely manner. 

This offer is extended for 10 days.

****** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[This is a fraction of the cost we paid and we still have not received any services other than a few pictures.]

Regards,

****** ******


 

 

Business Response:

It is our goal for you to have a satisfying experience at The Young Agency which is why we offered to provide you with a refund of $100 or to provide another photo shoot and new composite cards at our cost. We are able to offer the refund because the calendar has not gone to print yet and we can still cancel that part of your contract.

Please understand that everything else that you have contracted to receive has been delivered (i.e. the two look photo shoot, 50 composite cards, CD with images, and audition & casting notices).

Best Regards

Consumer Response:

As I’ve said in my other email communications, the main issue that I have with the Young Agency is that they are being dishonest with their customers. They charge money for very mediocre headshots and then nothing ever comes of it.

 

When we interviewed with the Young Agency, they said they were an employment agency and would do all that they could to get modeling work for their clients. Since January, when we signed up with them, my son has not received ONE modeling job. Now I know I am somewhat biased, but if my son is not getting modeling opportunities, I don’t know who is (pic attached).

 

I’ve also spoken to 4 other mother’s in the community who have had the same thing happen to them with the Young Agency. If they were honestly trying to find employment for our son, I would not have an issue with them. But I’ve seen ZERO evidence of them proactively seeking modeling opportunities, which is why I am requesting a full refund at this time.

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were advised by staff that the Young Agency, for a fee of $500 would advertise our child to local talent agencies AND give us a CD of all the pictures that were taken at the time of the photo shoot within 6 weeks. Not only has there been no advertising of our child, but there has been no attempt after over 2 months to get us the copy of the pictures we were promised.

Desired Settlement: that there are restrictions placed on the agency to prevent them from preying on other unaware families and that they don't offer something they have no intention of delivering.

Business Response:  
To whom it may concern:

Mrs. ********** was advised by my staff she could purchase a "Baby marketing package" which includes, a photo shoot, composite cards, email
audition notices .   Although there was a delay of a couple weeks with the printing company, which we have no control over, we apologize and would be happy to make it up to the family in any way possible which is why we were quite surprised that no one had contacted us with regards to this matter. before filing a complaint and slandering our company name.
 

Mrs. ********* is confused when stating there has been no advertising of our child.  That is what we do, we advertise to casting directors, ad agencies, managers, magazines, producers and decision makers in the industry that can hire model talent for upcoming projects.  The following are two paying jobs our kids were fired for since she signed:  ******** hired 27 kids for their latest print ad and an **** **** cast a toddler for a local film being produced here in Arizona.
 
As we promised, the moment we received the finished product, we called and left a voice mail message last Friday,  that the photos were here at the young agency office with the photo disc and ready for pick up at any time. 

Mrs. *********, The Young Agency is an upstanding company with a A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau, serving Phoenix, AZ and the Entertainment industry successfully since 1996.  Therefore we will not sit idly by while you slander our good name. Know that you will be held responsible, financially or otherwise for any harm that comes to this company as a result of your slander.

Additionally, we are more than willing to continue working with you especially since this is apparently a complaint over a two week delay in receiving
your pictures.  We have received them now, 2 months into a 12 Month contract of which there has been to major jobs were kids were hired since you signed in April 2013. Lastly, there will be no refund as the services have already been provided.

 
Best Regards,

****** ** *****
President/CEO

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: signed contract for acting classes and photo shoot on 5/7 did not hear from them for 1 month called them in late June spoke with a *** who said she would call me back with dates of classes and photo shoot did not hear from her called again in mid july spoke w/ ****** Young was told that megs parents were sick and she had to leave then her assistant graduated college and she lert and her sister had health issues and had to leave so she had a lot of things going on but would get things going with classess and photo shoot still did not hear back from ****** she then said that classed would start on Aug initially said they were on Sat then said they were on Aug 23rd on thursday and said photo shoot would be on Aug 3rd we then called her to confirm and said that photo shoot would need to be reschuled due to the stylist mother has passed away I then asked her for a refund as not 3 months have gone by and nothing has been done but stated that she would give a refund

Desired Settlement: full refund

Business Response: complaint ID#: *******

This has been resolved.  I spoke with Mr. ** ** **** and we came to a resolution to refund 50% by the End of August, after the workshops began as it would show his son did not sign in and we could then request a refund. Once that refund was issued to the Young Agency, we would then refund the amount to him.  Additionally, the photo shoot already being scheduled is non-refundable.. 

Please let Mrs. ** ** **** know the situation has been resolved per her husband **** ** ** ****.
Thanks,

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1