BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central, Northern and Western Arizona

This Business is not BBB accredited

Read! America, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (480) 655-7008 Fax: (480) 655-7003 View Additional Phone Numbers 710 E. Main Street, Mesa, AZ 85203

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Read! America, Inc. include:

  • 29 complaints filed against business
  • 1 complaint filed against business that was not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Read! America, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 29 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

29 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 16
Total Closed Complaints 29

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Read! America, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 08, 1999 Business started: 11/01/1981 in WA Business started locally: 06/10/1999 Business incorporated: 06/10/1999 in AZ
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Harold Grimnes, President Mr. Scott Grimnes, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Harold Grimnes, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Scott Grimnes, Vice President
Business Category

Magazines - Subscription Agents Magazine Sales Magazines - Dealers

Additional Information

This company is a magazine subscription agency.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    710 E. Main Street

    Mesa, AZ 85203

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. Box 15010

    Mesa, AZ 85211 (480) 655-7008

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 878-8386(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/23/2014 Delivery Issues
6/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
8/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: called to cancel subscription and was told i could in no way cancel. I told the phone agent that I was contacting my bank to stop payment and she told me i was being turned over to collection agent. now they are sending bills, calling myself and other members of my family ( my mother's home phone). At no time when They called to order subscription was i told on phone that I couldn't cancel subscription. Also with bill they mailed me 12 weeks after order first magazines started arriving (2 or which weren't even the ones I had ordered)

Desired Settlement: stop contacting myself and family members and cancel subscription.

Business Response: Dear BBB

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

I have attempted to contact Ms. ****** **** in regards to her BBB complaint.

On 7.8.13 at 9:15am pst, and I was met with someone picking up the phone and then hanging up, twice.
On 7.9.13 at12:05pm pst, and I left a message on Ms. ****** ****'s voice mail.

We are waiting to hear back from this customer so that we may come to some kind of amicable solution.

Thank you again for bringing this to our attention.

Sincerely
***** *******
Read America, Inc.
************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

No where in the papers this company sent me says that I can not cancel subscription.  The customer service representive I spoke with refused to listen to this and told me she would be sending me the bill.  As I have been told by a customer service rep.  The only way to resolve issue is for me to pay for subscription that I keep requesting to cancel.  Have them send a copy of agreement where I consented to or signed anything that said I could not ever cancel  subscription.  I have proceed with giving all of my information to a lawyer and have sent the company papers stating such.  The phone calls from company are not in response to trying to solve the issue they are more like harrasment.

Regards,

******** ******

Business Response: Dear BBB,

Thank you again for bringing this matter to our focus. 

Read America has gone ahead and canceled this persons account.  

We have reviewed every call w/the client and all was as agreed. 
The verification call, which we ask for permission to record, because sometimes you need to remind people of the commitment they made, was as solid a commitment as we can hope for. 
However, to some folks that commitment means nothing.
We hope that she enjoys the free publications over the next few months, it takes a little while for them to stop, and Read America will write off the balance on her account.  
We will definitely update and note our files and hope that one day we may have another opportunity to do business together.

Sincerely

***** *******
V.P./C.O.O.
 

BBB's Final Determination: Complaint was settled through BBB mediation

6/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As far as I can tell, Read! America is a bulk purchaser of magazine subscriptions. They offer magazine subscriptions for a "discount". However the unit price of each magazine is much more than if you would subscribe outright. The trick is that you cannot cancel your subscription once you start. There is no contract but there is a recorded verbal agreement to the terms. I don't want any of the magazines that they offer anymore. I tried to cancel however, I was informed that I cannot and if I stop paying the account will be referred to a collection company.

Desired Settlement: I don't want the magazines anymore. I don't want to pay for any more subscriptions.

Business Response: Dear BBB

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

I have spoke with the consumer and we have agreed to reduce his service to a satisfactory term.

Thank you again for your service.

***** *******
Read America, Inc.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered these magazines in january still havent got all the magazines and i have quit doing daycare and wanted to cancel my subscription. When i call they will not answer the phone or call me back.

Desired Settlement: I would like to cancel my order now and finish receiving the magazines that i paid for.

Business Response: Dear BBB

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. 

We have reviewed Ms. *******s file and find that all was processed as was agreed. 
Our final call before entering her order with the publishers was to verify that the copy of Ms. *******s order, which was sent by priority mail, was all correct and as agreed.  This verification call is recorded with the customers permission.  I have reviewed the verification and attempted to call Ms. ****** on 4.18.2013, 7:31am pacific time, to ask about this complaint? Also to offer to replay the recorded verification for her.  I got voice mail and left a detailed message and asked for her to please call us back so we could clear up this matter.  We have not received a return call as of today.  I did attempt to call once again this morning.

Please except our apologies for this matter finding it's way to your respected office's.

Sincerely
Read America, Inc.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/20/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: first of all, I was told that I would recieve 6 different childrens magazines monthly; which I only recieve one childrens magazine for 2 months and one adult magazine for 3 months and then was told that I would be billed 28.48 for six months and I paid for 3 months and then a ***** called and stated that I owed $53.00, which I sent them and told them to cancel my subscription as I was dissatisfied with their services due to not recieving what I had ordered and they told me I COULD NOT cancel my subscription and did not care that I had not been reicieving the magazines that I ordered and that I now owed $700.00!! This ***** continues to call and harrass me and is very rude and obnoxious when she calls. I do not know anybody that would pay over $800 for three months of magazines and only recieve 5 magazines!!

Desired Settlement: For them to stop contacting me, end the subscription and cancel the bill as I feel they have recieved more than their fair share of money out of me for the five magazines that I have recieved and only two of which are the ones that I ordered. After all, I ordered them for my daycare and do not think my daycare children appreciate reading Prevention magazine. thank you for your time

Business Response: Dear BBB,   please accept our apologies for this matter to have found it's way to your respected office's.  

We have attempted to work things out with Ms. ******** and her Day Care Center, to no avail.  We have played her recorded (with her permission to record) verification back to her only to have had her hang up in the middle of reviewing.  This customer had agreed to the selections which can be changed anytime and the terms of payment and the length of service.

We will however, go ahead and cancel this account and write off the unpaid balance with no further efforts to collect.

We are indeed regretful that this account has involved a respected agency like the BBB, to get out of a  legitimate business commitment.  


Sincerely

***** *******
Read America Inc

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******** ********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been running a home based daycare business for five years. I began receiving phone calls from Read America a few years ago (they have very pushy sales tactics). I eventually agreed to receive magazines from them. I will be closing my daycare business and no longer want to pay for or receive the magazines. I was told that I signed a 5 year contract with them and cannot cancel my subscription. They first told me that I had to pay $400.00 in order to stop receiving the magazines!! After I voiced my opinion about what I was told, I was transfered to another person that told me they could work out a settlement of $166.00. I am currently $78.00 past due on my account and I have no problem paying what I owe. I do not recall signing a 5 year contract with Read America. I was also told that they have a voice recording of me agreeing to their terms. This "contract" seems shady at the very least. I would never have agreed to a 5 year magazine contract if I knew that I could not cancel if my income or needs changed. Is this a legal way for them to do business? What can I do to cancel my subcriptions, stop making payments (beyond what I owe) and not be turned over to collections? They threatened to turn it over to collections. I have excellent credit and intend to keep it that way.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Read America to accept $78.00 as my final payment and stop sending magazines beyond what I've paid for. I would also like it if they would disclose their 'no cancellation policy' CLEARLY to future customers. Thank you, ****** ********

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

 

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

We regret that Ms. ******** has decided to involve the BBB in this case.   I have just finished reviewing Ms. ********'s recorded verification.  We ask for permission to record at the beginning, and then again thank the customer for permission to record at end of verification.  After making numerous changes to Ms. ********s selections per her request, we carefully reviewed her copy of her order, which she had received. 

The main points of the verification are as follows...

A> Make sure name and address are perfect.

B> Make sure magazine selections and terms are correct or make changes per customer request.

C> Go over cost and receive commitment from customer that all payments will be made.

 Again, this verification was as solid as all of our verifications.  Nothing was left out, customer was fully involved (changing selections from her substitution list). 

As far as "pushy" sales people go, that's a judgement call. However if we were "pushy" why did she buy?  Why? Because we are far from "pushy".  At Read America, Inc. we do not intimidate or pressure customers to buy.  We respect that they are busy running their Daycare or other business and do not pressure to buy.

$400.00 to stop magazines was her misunderstanding. $400.00 to pay her account in full is correct.

$166.00 was to settle her account and get them stopped.

Ms. ******** states that she wouldn't agree to 5 years of service.  She did. It's on the verification recording.

"Shady at the least"   Read America, Inc. has been in business since 1981.  It's easy to call a good, responsible, tax paying, employee hiring, part of the community "shady" when you've decided to back out of a verbal commitment with said company.  

Read America has offered to settle this account fairly or to change any selections for Ms. ******** to suit her reading tastes. There are no charges for changing your titles, as with any Read America customer.

Please except our apoligies for this matter finding it's way to your respected office.

We will continue to work with Ms. ******** who during our final conversation was going to settle her account for $166.00??

Sincerely

 

***** *******

Read America, Inc.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I will be ending my dealings with Read America by paying the remainder of the "settlement". As for my conversations with Read America employees I want to clarify that I was told that I could NOT cancel my subscription. (I WAS NEVER TOLD THAT THE SUBSCRIPTIONS THAT I COMMITED TO COULD NOT BE CANCELED WHEN I WAS ORIGINALLY SOLICITED BY THEM) After I was rudely told of their policy, I began to argue the point. IT WASN'T UNTIL THAT POINT THAT I WAS TOLD THAT THEY COULD "SETTLE THE ACCOUNT". I will pay my debt and be done with them but I want it noted that their business practices are SHADY!! I am not the only person to complain about Read America to the BBB. Obviously there is a problem.

Regards,

****** ********


 

 

Business Response:

If it makes Ms. ******** feel any better, Read America, Inc. isnt satisfied with the outcome either.

When Read America enters an order, with FINAL permission from our clients, that's exactly what we do. This action happens only after we have received a "recorded commitment" from our customer that all payments will be made, and that the payment arrangement is agreeable with them.

I regret that Ms. ******** has decided to back out of her agreement with Read America, Inc.  We run a company that depends on the trustworthiness of our customers. To pay for magazines, payroll, taxes etc. Read America relies on payments from customers.

The reason that we settle accounts is the same reason other companies settle accounts. It's a compromise. 

Read America, Inc. is not a shady company, we would not be affiliated with the BBB, nor would we be in business since 1981, if in fact we were SHADY.

Ms. ******** states she is not the only one to complain, so obviously there must be a problem? Read America has thousands of happy, satisfied, repeat customers.  Obviously you cannot make all people happy all the time.   It's sad how people will turn against each other when times get a little tight.  Read America has followed through on every thing it has promised.  Unfortunatly, in our society, people will take time to complain rather than to compliment.

Ms. ******** seemed to be content the first time around with Read America?  She paid her order in full and there was never any negative history in her file.

Again, please except our sincere apologies for this matter finding its way to your respect office.

 

***** *******

V.P.

Read America, Inc.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

11/13/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have asked read America to please stop calling me that I'm not interested in their product and they refused to remove me from their calling last. I have asked every single time how to remove my name and number from there list and they continue to call me at least once a week

Desired Settlement: I just want them to stop calling

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

 

Thank you for forwarding this matter to our attention.

We at Read America, Inc. strive to manage our customer complaints to a minimum, however one comes up every now and then. 

This particular complaint is one that I myself was a participant in.  

Ms. ********'s conversation with our sales rep ********* ** was reviewed by our monitoring techs. 

The call lasted 1 min, 11 seconds.

Rep: Identified herself and that she was calling in regard to the child care.

Ms. ********: I've told you guys over and over and over again that I dont want your services.

Rep: I apologize, someone must not have taken it...

Ms. ********: Someone always apologizes and then they dont remove me.

Rep: Did anyone ask what county you are in?  What is the name of your county?

Ms. ********: *********

Rep:Can you spell that for me?

Ms. ********: (spells *********)

Rep: (messed up the spelling, quite intimidated now and flustered by Ms. ********s demeanor)

Ms. ********: (corrects spelling)

Rep: (trying to get correct spelling, fumbling badly now)

Ms. ********: Oh my god, I have so much time to screw around with you!!

Rep: I'm trying to get you removed from the calling list.....

Ms. ********: TAKE ME OFF YOUR F*$%ING CALLING LIST    (Then hangs up)

Ms. ******** then calls our local line, when *******, up front tried to help, she was called a BITCH and was hung up on. 

Ms. ******** was not finished. She called again on the local line and I took the call myself.  After obtaining the pertinent info to try to remove her from future lists, I expressed that she and the children at the child care have a Happy Halloween. Her response was a simple ASSHOLE !! and she hung up.

FYI... we call child cares twice a year with our offer.  Every "week" is an attempt to make her complaint legit.

When a person decides to run a business I beleive that one should probably expect to receive a few calls, periodically, related to such business.

Sincerely

 

***** ******* ****

 

Read America, Inc.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recieved a call from Read America Inc. while working at my home daycare. I was extremely busy, and couldn't understand the saleswoman completely, but I was interested. It sounded like a good idea for my home daycare. I asked the lady if the material they were sending me would give me a chance to look it over and she said yes. Once I recieved my "welcome" packet I got another call and this lady was kind enough to ask when a better time to call would be. So I was able to ask the questions I needed to. She claimed that she could not cancel the service! Why would I want 6 years worth of magazines for my 1-3 year olds in my home?! I wanted to "try it out" but now it seems pointless because they say I can't cancel whenenver I need to. I sent a check for $28.44, and stopped the payment on it because I just don't want to deal with people who don't have my interests in mind.

Desired Settlement: I would like my service to be canceled and no charges be placed. I'm not comfortable not being able to cancel when I need to, so I just want to cancel now.

Business Response:

 

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.  We here at Read America strive to eliminate such complaints from occurring.  However, despite our best efforts an occasional complaint develops.

 

In the case of ******** ********* ***** ****, we did cancel the order per customer request. Read America did not process the check sent to us by Ms. *******.

 

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies for this matter finding its way to your respected office.

 

 

***** *******

Read America, Inc.

************

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2 years ago I got a phone call from READ! America when I first started a daycare. They called me with a service call and tried to give me a deal for magazines. They made it sound like a great deal and cheap. I thought it was only going to be for a year but it ended up being longer and they never told me cleary. I called a year ago and tried to cancel it and they told me I couldnt. I was very dissppointed and angry since i thought it was only going to be a year and now its been over two and i still owe them 305 dollars. I have paid over 500 dollars to them already. They are not being very coraporative since i lost my job and am trying to pay them as much as i can for something i never wanted in the first place. I need help cancelling this. Its not write how they can screw people over the phone and then tell them their sending you to collections cause your not paying when i tried to make a payment plan for it.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for everything I have paid for since i never wanted it in the first place. The only reason i continued to pay was so they wouldnt send me to collections.

Business Response:

Re: ID# *******

Dear BBB and ******** ********

 

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention....... however, we are alittle confused?  Ms. ******* claims that she tried to make a payment plan.  Read America has been trying to make arrangements with Ms. ******* for quite awhile now, excepting as little as $10.00 payments and deferring delinquencies.  In her last correspondence to Read America Ms. ******* enclosed $10.00 with a promise of paying more by 10/31/12. She requested that we be flexible and it's very obvious that we are and have been flexible since she started having difficulty paying. 

I beleive you'd be hard pressed to find a company out there that will work with their customers the way Read America does.  Just goes to show ya, you work with some people to help them follow through with their commitments and they write to the BBB and make comments like "I thought it was a 1 year service" etc...  Well if you listen to Ms. ******** recorded verification (which she gave permission to record) she fully understands the terms of service, which by the way, are the same as the paper work in here hands at time of verification. There is a reason we verify every order, Read America makes sure that the paper work the customer received is indeed, exactly what they understood after talking to our reps by phone.  And we go over it step by step with each customer and then thank the customer for the order and for their permission to record the verification.

Please except our regrets for this matter finding its way to your office. We at Read America, Inc. strive to avoid such situations from occuring. However we get one like this every now and then.  I beleive that if Ms. ******* had us play her recorded verification back to her she would be singing a different tune and would have a hard time justifying her complaint made to your respected offices. 

Read America will write off and cancel the remainder of Ms. *******s account once we receive the promised 10.31.12 payment ($100.00).  We will consider it a settlement and close the books on her order at that time.

 

Sincerely

***** *******

Read America, Inc.

V.P.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *******


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to make a complaint about READ! America Inc. I pay for the first time to receive certain magazines and they keep sending me a bill but never got the magazines. I called them to cancel my account but i've been told that i cannot cancel it. I don't want to pay for it when i never get my magazines. I told the customer service that i am not paying for it and want to cancel but but she reply me that it will go to collection company. Hopefully they will cancel the account thru this complaint.Thank you,********

Desired Settlement: Yes i would like to resolved this problem by cancelling my account and not to pay the bill they sent mebecause i never get the magazine at all.Thank you

Business Response:

Dear BBB

Please except our sincere apologies for having this matter find it's way to your respected office.

Please consider the matter resolved and canceled per customer request.

At Read America, Inc we strive to eliminate such problems by recording all verifications (final contact) with customers permission. When reviewing this complaint's recording, all was as agreed.

Sincerely

***** *******

************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/13/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was expecting magazines by this time. Not one has been delivered. I prepaid for my order. Since it has not arrived. I called today to cancel the order. I was told I can't. I no longer want the items and want to get my money back for the 24.48 and want my account cancelled once and for all. I do not wish anything at this point.

Desired Settlement: I called today to cancel the order. I was told I can't. I no longer want the items and want to get my money back for the 24.48 and want my account cancelled once and for all. I do not wish anything at this point.

Business Response:

Dear BBB

 

Please except our sincere apologies for having this matter find it's way to your respected office.

Please consider the matter resolved and canceled per customer request.

At Read America, Inc we strive to eliminate such problems by recording all verifications (final contact) with customers permission.  When reviewing this complaint's recording, all was as agreed.

 

Sincerely

 

***** ******* ************

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company will not stop calling my house. They call at all hours of the day. I am getting very sick and tired of seeing their number on my caller ID. They also try to trick you and call from different numbers so maybe you will answer the phone. That has to be some type of harassment. The last time I talked to the representative I told her that I don't want any part in their company anymore and to cancel everything. She told me that wasn't possible. I am pretty sure that they can cancel the service, especially when I haven't even began to receive magazines. My daycare has greatly reduced in size and it doesn't make sense to have all of the magazine subscriptions when we won't use them.

Desired Settlement: I am pretty sure the check I sent them hasn't been cashed, but if it has I want a refund and I want to cut all ties with this company. I don't want to receive any magazines or have any more phone calls from them. I just want to be left alone.

Business Response: Dear Ms. Huffman
 
Please except my apologies for taking so long to respond.  I have been out of the state for an extended time.  
Ms. ****'s account with Read America was canceled on 8/3/2012.  We have returned Ms. ****'s check #**** for $28.44.
 
Ms. **** owes no monies and her account is canceled.  
 
Despite our best efforts we still get an occasional complaint.  As you know, we respond very quickly and resolve all such complaints with the BBB.  
Again I apologize for this matter finding its way to your respected office and not getting back to you within your time frame.
 
Sincerely
 
***** *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******** ****


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had several people call me from Read America. not one of them do I recall mentioning that I would be paying $800.00 for magazines. I am a childcare provider and this is who this company targeted I do not make this type of money and would never agree to this type of arrangement.Yes I paid $28.44 by check to begin with but if I would of known what else had to be paid I would of never agreed.Tanya B called me 5/30/2012 telling me that I owe money and would not listen to the fact that I called 1-800-878-8386 and cancelled the order after i received the letter stating I owed $800.00.She said i did not because it did not come across her desk, that's not my fault she did not get it.She proceeded to tell me that they paid for the subscription in full and that I am responsible for paying this and that she would pull the recording and prove they told me this. No sorry did not hear that part, You will pay $800.00 for magazines. She keeps calling my business, keeps calling my home, keeps calling all the time. I do not want magazines that I feel i was mislead to purchase.Thank YouTami Rupp

Desired Settlement: I want the subscription cancelled as I called and requested. I want this company and Tanya B to quit calling me. I do not want magazines.

Business Response:

Dear BBB.

 

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. 

I have located this account and will authorize it to be canceled.

We understand that sometimes, even after giving Read America their final "ok" to enter the order just as agreed, a customer may have been distracted while giving final ok, espescially if they operate a daycare.

As of today 6.4.2012 the consumer's order has been canceled.

 

Sincerely

Scott Grimnes

V.P.

Read America Inc

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/9/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/9/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/11/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/15/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1