BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central, Northern and Western Arizona
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a furniture retail store.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 01, 1983 Business started: 12/01/1982 in AZ Business incorporated: 12/17/1982 in AZ
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Edward Breunig III, President Mr. Chris Bates, Director of Advertising Mr. Ronald Hernandez, Vice President Mr. Randy Serbus, VP Operations Mr. Byrne Skaggs, Director Consumer Services
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edward Breunig III, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Randy Serbus, VP Operations
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Ebco, Inc. La-Z-Boy Furniture La-Z-Boy Furniture

Additional Locations

  • 1430 S Power Rd

    Mesa, AZ 85206

  • 15320 W Mcdowell Rd

    Goodyear, AZ 85395

  • 15836 N Scottsdale Rd

    Scottsdale, AZ 85254

  • 3055 W Chandler Blvd

    Chandler, AZ 85226

  • 4135 E. Cotton Center Blvd.

    Phoenix, AZ 85040 (602) 426-5292

  • 5130 N Us Highway 89

    Flagstaff, AZ 86004

  • 6950 W Bell Rd

    Glendale, AZ 85308

  • 6976 W Bell Rd

    Glendale, AZ 85308

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The leather covering on the Larson chair and couch is defective. La Z Boy has a I-year guarantee on their leather products. This guarantee needs to be honored!! I also purchased the 5-year leather protection plan...which tells you that I planned on having this furniture for many years.While we were purchasing these products...we heard time-after-time...how La Z Boy guarantees their products. Now that La Z Boy is faced with a guarantee they need to honor...it is apparent that La Z Boy's guarantee is fraud.**** ******Store Manager******** ********* * ******** ********* ** ************* * ** ******* ************ ** *****Hello,We did receive the photos and are in the process of reviewing them. Thank you**** ********* ******** ********* ***************** ******* *********** * ****** ****** *********** ** *****Attached pictures, and coming pictures, are the result of normal use.At the same time I purchased the Larson set...I also purchased an Astor Recl La Z Boy leather chair. This (identically used) chair still looks brand new...as expected with 4-months use. Finally, on August 1, 13: A case file and number is assigned:I need from the final decision makers...in writing/by email...the final decision of case #*****...with the names of the La Z Boy members who viewed the pictures of case #*****. Thank-You for talking today!***** * ****** ****August 13, 2013 From: Comfort Care Sent: Wednesday, August 14, 2013 11:01 AMAttached is the letter you requested regarding your furniture.Have a good day.****** ** Dear Ms. ****, We thank you for contacting us concerning the leather on your reclining sofa and chair. Your style ****** style sofa and ****** rocker recliner, delivered to you on or after August 1, 1992, La-Z-Boy offers a limited lifetime warranty on the parts of the frame, mechanism and springs, against manufacturing defects for as long as the original purchaser owns the product and can supply a dated receipt as proof of purchase. Fabric, leather and standard foam padding have a one year warranty against manufacturing defects from the date of delivery of the furniture to the customers home. Labor to repair or replace any defective parts is also covered for one year from the date ofdelivery of the furniture. In-home inspection fees, in-home service fees and trip charges to and from the dealer to the customers home are not covered under our warranty. The photos you submitted were reviewed by our leather specialist. It was determined the photos show in home damage due to scratches in the leather. Scratches are not a manufacturing defect with the leather, but a result of something in the home. We recommend you contact a local leather repair company such as Uniters North America. Uniters can be reached by phone at ***** ********. They have technicians and/or products available to assist you with repairing the scratches on the leather. Thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention.We value your business and look forward to continued opportunities to serveyou. Kindest Regards, La-Z-Boy Incorporated ****** ** Comfort Care Escalation Specialist CM#*****This report does not include the entirety of emailsdue to space.Conclusion: There was never any intent to honor their La Z Boy guarantee. We have been passed-off many times, time delayed and La Z Boy has had us running in circles...while requesting pictures after pictures from us.All La Z Boy has to doto get out of honoring their guaranteeis say that any defect was caused by in-home damage. Who determines the cause of damage to your leather or fabric furnitureself-serving La Z Boy does. With the many emails sent, there have also been many phone calls, and so much time spent.La Z Boy recommends us to contactand pay fora local leather repair companyto repair our defective 4-month-old La Z Boy guaranteed couch and chair.Do not buy La Z Boy from La Z Boy Furniture Galleries in Flagstaff!!!Do not buy La Z Boy!!!We are still awaiting an answeras to the name/s of the La Z Boy leather specialist/s, who determined the cause of damage to our defective weak leather.

Desired Settlement: We want the defective leather Larson couch and chair replaced with a leather couch and chair...not Larson. Our Astor chair's leather is good. Replace the Larson couch and chair with an Astor couch and chair...or the quality of Astor. The 5-year leather protection plan we purchased for both Larson couch and chair would need to be transferred to the replacement couch and chair. The replacement couch and chair would need to be delivered...as were the Larson items. Thank You, ***** and ****** ****

Business Response: We received photos from the ***** on 07-24-13 for review of their concerns.  I have worked for the local La-Z-Boy dealer for over 16 years and personally reviewed the photos.  I replied 07-25-13 that it was my opinion that the leather was being scratched by something in the home.  La-Z-Boy’s warranty does not cover wear and tear so I made a recommendation to clean and condition the leather to reduce the glaring appearance of the scratches.

         On 08-14-13 I received notification from the LZB Customer Care department in Monroe MI case # *****, that they too had reviewed the photos the client had submitted and came to the same conclusion.  They referred the client to a local leather repair specialist for assistance. 

         A warranty card explaining the coverage is attached to each unit LZB distributes and can be obtained at ***********************.  There is no refund or exchange that can be offered to the ***** for the claim that they presented.  Attached is the trail of emails between the ***** and my department and some of the photos they provided.  I can be reached at ************ ext **** if you have any further questions.

 

                                               ***** ******

                                               Director of Consumer Services

           




Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Regards,

***** ****


 This is a leather defect...a very weak leather...
***** *** ****** ****

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

LZB's warranty states they guarantee their leather for one year. The leather on the Larson couch and chair is defective. We have explained to several different people that this leather is weak and defective. This leather was not processed right. We live in our home...sit on the Larson couch, chair and Astor chair...and absolutely did not use the Larson couch and chair in any way to cause damage. The leather on the Astor chair...purchased at the same time...used the exact same way...is fine.
 
***** ****** and LZB's Customer Care department (****** *.)...were not present during the processing of the Larson leather. Their "OPINION" cause of damage due to "wear and tear", determined by pictures we sent, is completely self serving of LZB, and is in LZB's best interest.
 
LZB claims to warranty their leather for one year. All LZB has to do, to get out of their stated warranty...is determine that defective leather damage was caused by in-home
damage...LZB's OPINION...determined by LZB. LZB's one year leather warranty...exists to benefit LZB...not their customer. 
 
As this mediation appears to be failing...we will now be forced to pursue our other options for resolution, including sending all correspondence to ** ******* ***, President & CEO.

Regards,

***** ****


 

 

Business Response:

We stand firm on our assessment of the circumstances concerning the scratches. However, we are willing to make a good faith offer. We will dispatch a leather company to the home and dye the damaged areas. We do this with the understanding that any other scratches, nicks, scrapes, snags or soiling that may occur in the future, which is not covered under the Ultra Shield warranty, will be their responsibility. 



***** ******
V.P. Operations
La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries of Arizona  


   

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Regards,

***** ****


 This proposed action from LZB would not resolve the problem in any way. It would, however, release LZB from the last 6-months of their own contract. This proposed action would greatly benefit LZB...as they would be released from any further obligation to honor their leather contract. The leather on the Larson couch and chair is a very weak defective leather. To dye the spots on this leather will not fix the weak leather. After 4-months from the leather dye...the leather would, again be covered with spots.
A question for LZB (please answer):     If this leather is...as you say...not defective, and is nice strong leather...why do you refuse to take the Larson couch and chair back. A replacement would result in...LZB would have back what they claim is a LZB strong leather quality couch and chair...and we would be happy with our picked replacement. LZB does highly advertise their supposed concern for customer satisfaction.
We will proceed with all other options.
Thank You, ***** *** ****** ****


BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

9/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Second new couch from this store. 1st couch returned made incorrectly, torn on delivery. Second couch has serious frame, electric, spring issues. Service came out to look at it notated all the problems. We have not heard from the service department, nor the store where it was purchased on how this issue was going to be resolved. This couch purchased new cost us over $2,000.00. We "assumed" Lazy Boy furniture was well made furniture especially at the price we paid.

Desired Settlement: We want this couch sent back to Lazy Boy and our money refunded so we may go out and purchase another couch.

Business Response: We have contacted the client and arranged for the sofa to be picked up 09-17-13 for a refund. 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ******


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The product purchased was on January 28, 2013. I was told that expected delivery was not until March. The next delivery date the chair and ottoman was expected was early June. No one can tell me at this time when I can expect my purchase. I chose other fabric for my purchase based on fabric I was told was available at the time of purchase. I do not want my other ordered items if my selection cannot be fulfilled. The expected wait time is out of line.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be able to have extreme discount on my selected purchase, complete release from any responsibility to pay for prior items purchased that have not been received, or upgrade to all items that have not been received at extreme discount.

Business Response:

Our special order quotes are based on prior ordering experiences and LA-Z-BOY’s expectations at the time the order is submitted.  Unfortunately this order has gone beyond the normal expected 10-12 week time frame. 
I have contacted LA-Z-BOY logistic department and the leather chair and ottoman are currently in production with an estimated ship week of 06-17-13.  These units come from the ****** ******** ** plant and are typically one week in transit to our PHX warehouse. 
LA-Z-BOY has extended their apologies and a 10% discount on the 2 delayed items.  I have applied this 10% to the entire order for a total merchandise discount of $473.71 plus the previously waived $125 delivery charge.  The remaining financed amount was $2,717.50 and is now $2243.79. 
The client will receive a text message to 480-394-3711 once the order is filled and is ready to be scheduled which will be the week of 06-24-13.  I can be reached at 602-426-5292 ext 2220 if this information needs to be changed. 
 
                                                            Sincerely,
                                                                       

***** ******                                                                        ******** ** ******** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 11/3/10 took delivery of Rex couch and loveseat. Within short period of time, cushions began to crush down and lose firmness. 1/20/11 the couch and loveseat were replaced. Was led to believe that this was quite unusual and probably some type of defect. I had always made it clear that we needed to buy something that would be sturdy and hold up over time like the previous furniture we bought from them (which we still have). Once again, the same thing happened with the cushions and now I am informed that I would need to unlock the mechanism on the back of the loveseat and couch and bring the pieces into the service center for them to add more stuffing. Physically, I am not able to do this, secondly they would not fit into my car and had I ever been informed that this is what would be required for the upkeep of the furniture, I would NEVER have bought that couch or loveseat. I spent $2035.98 and would now have to pay $450 to have more stuffing placed it. I visited the store several times before purchasing and never was any of this explained when it came to this line of furniture. I am so extremely disappointed that I spent a great deal of money for furniture that I can no longer sit comfortably on and whose appearance now looks worn. I rely on the sales people to fully inform me of their product. I have been extremely happy and satisfied with my previous purchases. I am so upset that I was not made aware after the first problem, what it would entail if this were to happen again. I asked if they would prorate the furniture and let me purchase something else but they are not willing to do so. I am frustrated and saddened that I did not immediately know to pick out something different the first time that they picked the couch and loveseat back up.

Desired Settlement: I live with chronic pain and am on disability and thought I had purchased furniture that would give me great support and hold up well. I do believe that they should take responsibility for not fulling informing me and giving me the opportunity to purchase something different the first time that they picked the furniture back up. I have spoken with store personnel, the service center and the corporate service center. So far they are just offering to let me bring the pieces in and to add filling for $90 per cushion. I cannot get the pieces there nor can I afford to pay this now knowing that I will also be doing the same in the future. I do believe that high quality furniture should last longer than a 2 year period. I am so extremely disappointed and frustrated.

Business Response:

What she is experiencing is normal foam compression. As she stated the second set responded as the first. The pieces are not poor quality. We never insisited she selected the same set during the reorder, that was her choice. If she had selected another style an initial degree of compression would also have occured. We do add padding to pieces for customers, some within a few years after receiving the furniture and some several years after receiving it. However, even after adding padding a degree of compression will exist.

If she would like more padding to the seats and backs a delivery truck would need to be dispatched to her home to pick up the pieces and bring them back to our service center. She would then need to come into  the service center to explain how much and where she wants the padding. If it is only the backs, I can send out a sevice technician to pick them up and she can explain to the technician how much and where she wants the padding. 

I am willing to do the labor at no charge but she will have to pay the transportation to pick the pices up and redeliver them which is 120.00. 

Sincerely,

***** ******      V.P. of Operations.            

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Subject: Claim issue please helpTo whom it may concern:I purchased a recliner chair from your Arrowhead AZ / Glendale store along with a five year warrantee on 8/09, I had to wait for the chair and took possession 9/28/09.This is my third Lazy Boy reclining chair, I have also purchased living room furniture from your stores on the east coast. The chair in question is an oversized chair, it was suggested we have it upholstered in a vinyl, (I had a chair in new buck leather at the time) but was recovering from an accident and did not want to stain the chair.This past November I was shifting myself in the chair and my elbow went through the upholstery on the right arm.I went thought all the steps of reporting the damage. Warrantee company (Guardsman) first said it was wrong type of policy I was sold, I contacted customer service, he called Guardsman and told them it was right policy. Next I get a call from Lazy Boy customer service (Damin) said they would replace arm. A few days later he calls back. He said the fabric is no longer available and it was no longer their problem. He went on to say I took a few days too long in reporting it (due to illness and Holidays) and they would no longer be able to assist me. (I did not discontinue the fabric!) I still have two years on my policy, since the fabric is no longer available how can my chair be repaired? I now have a chair I paid $998.80 for with a hole in the arm, and the vinyl is coming lose from the backing at sown edges. This is the exact email I sent to Lazy Boy corp. Guardsman refused original repair saying "Lazy boy sold me wrong warrantee, and all I needed was a receipt for proper coverage."Lazyboy and Guardsman skirted their culpability from the start.

Desired Settlement: Since lazy boy, discontinued fabric and I purchased a 5 year warrantee, I see no other resolve other than reupholster the entire chair. They said there was no way to repair and would have if fabric was available.Customer service rep. Damon stated: 1st call. "Guardsman is responsible for repair under my purchased warrantee." 2nd call. Sales rep. Damon said, "lazy Boy would repair, but wanted to check for fabric." 3rd. Call same rep. Stated, "fabric was no longer being offered, so no repair"

Business Response: I talked to the client on 01-29-13. They will be able to reselect a using the subtotal of the chair only. No fabric protection plan will be available to purchase on the reselection and no factory warranty will exist. The client accepted the terms.

Randy Serbus   

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

12/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i ORDERED A DINING SET, SERVER AND TV CONSOLE - WHEN IT WAS DELIVERED i NOTICED RIGHT AWAY THAT ALL IS DAMANGED. i CONTACTED THE STORE AND THEY SAID THAT THEY WOULD SEND SOMEONE OUT TO LOOK AT IT. THAT FOLLOWING SATURDAY SOMEONE DID COME OUT AND CONFIRMED THAT ALL FRAMES WERE DAMAGED. I THEN CALLED THE STORE AND LEFT 3 MESSAGES NO RETURN CALLS, THEN I CALLED AND DID SPEAK WITH THE STORE MGR ROB AND HE SAID THAT HE WOULD GET WITH JILL TO SEE WHAT OTHER PRODUCT WOULD MEET WHAT I ORDERED. I LOOKED AT WHAT THEY WERE WANTING TO REPLACE IT WITH AND ITS NOT THE STYLE AT ALL THAT I ORDERED. I SENT AN EMAIL TO THE GM AND THE STORE CALLED ME LAST NITE TO ASK WHEN THEY CAN PICK UP THE FURNITURE I SAID SAT AT 10AM AND I WOULD LIKE A CASHIER CHECK TO REFUND MY MONEY AT THE TIME THEY PICK UP THE FURNITURE SHE SAID NO PROBLEM. THEN SHE CALLED BACK AND SAID THAT THIS SAT IS NOT GOOD AND ALSO THAT THEY WOULD NOT GIVE ME MY REFUND AT THE SAME TIME WHEN THEY PICK UP THE FURNITURE. TODAY I GOT A MESSAGE THAT I CAN NOT GET A REFUND, I CAN NOT CANCEL THAT I EITHER NEED TO SELECT SOMETHING ELSE - BUT NOTHING ELSE WORKS IN MY DESIGN OR TO REORDER THE SAME FURNITURE. I WAS IN THE STORE THE 6TH SPOKE WITH A MICHELE AND SHE SAID THAT THEY DO HAVE ALOT OF PROBLEMS WITH THE QUALITY ON THE BRAND THAT I SELECTED AND THAT SHE HAD A CUSTOMER THAT HAD THE SAME FURNITURE AND IT TOOK 3 TIMES TO GET QUALITY FURNITURE.

Desired Settlement: AT THIS POINT WITH THE POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND RUN AROUND WHEN I CALLED SAME DAY AS DELIVERED TO ADVISE THEM THE FURNITURE WAS DAMAGED - I JUST WANT THEM TO PICK UP THE FURNITURE AND RETURN MY MONEY asap

Business Response: We sent a delivery team Saturday 11-10-12 to Mrs. *******'s home to pick up the furniture as she requested in her complaint.  Our operations are closed Sunday and Monday so the return was not processed until today 11-13-12.  I left a message for Mrs. ******* to call me back directly to provide the credit card number she used at time of original sale so I can refund her in the amount $3590.51. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called customer service to ask for an exchange. I was told that the furniture was a special order and that no exchange could be made. We were told that the piece was ordered because they didnapost have it on hand in the store. We were not told that it was a special order. I am just asking that La-Z-Boy respect my right as a customer to return the piece in exchange for one that I would like to have.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that La-Z-Boy to exchange the piece for a regular reclining loveseat (no rocker) in a color I would like.

Business Response:

The merchandise the cutomer purschased was not a stock oder, hence the delay of the merchandise being delivered 

on 09-14-12. She purchased it on 09-08-12. The stipulations of special orders are declared on the back of the invoice which 

she signed at the time of sale. We have, in the past allowed customers to reselect special orders, however, we do 

charge a restocking fee of 50% because the merchandise will have to be sold in our clearance center as used, and is

discounted up to 70% its regular price. At this point we would allow the Diffendaffers to reselect with a restrocking fee of

50%.

 

Randy Serbus

V.P. of Operations

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Randy Serbus

V.P. of Operations

 

         

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ************

 


 

 Thank you for your attention to this matter, however I sent a follow up letter to you stating that the store had resolved the problem in a very satisfactory manner. I attempted to call to make sure you received the info, but the wait time was so long I decided to send an email. Please do not take any further action on my behalf.

Thank you again,

Nancy Diffendaffer

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/20/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This email (Below)explains my concerns. ***** did not repond to me and I had to call him several times. He did authorize a repairman to come to the house. He came on 2 occasions and worked on the furniture, but it cannot be made to look as it should. It is poorly made.*****,I was given your name by the salesperson (***) and the customer service manager who have been trying to help me with the concerns I have with the new furniture I purchased from La-z-Boy furniture.I chose La-z-Boy for the reputation of quality and American manufacturing.Let me begin by saying that the buying experience went very well. *** is knowledgeable and seemed to understand my needs without much explanation; in fact, he made several suggestions I hadnt thought of.My elderly folks live with me and the motion reclining furniture is a must have. *** recommended the Jenna style since both of my parents are small and oversized furniture is difficult for them to get and out of.I prefer clean and sleek styling.The Jenna on the showroom store is exactly what we were looking for. I was very excited to get the furniture.After the furniture was delivered I was sitting on the loveseat admiring the furniture and I took a closer look and identified the following:The foot rests on both the sofa and the loveseat are not even. (not resolved)The middle foot rest on the sofa is at least higher than the other two The footrest on the left of the sofa is inch higher than the one on the rightAll the foot rests were wrinkled at the top or bottom of each extra puckers in the left and right arms of the love seat (resolved)The bottom cushions of the reclining sections in both the sofa and the loveseat seem to have extra fabric, or the fabric is not stretched tightly enough on the bottom. This appears to be the reason for the uneven footrests (those foot rests on sections that do not recline are higher than the those on the reclining sections) (my concern was not acknowledged)The back cushions were very puckered and I had to use a pillow to recline comfortably to keep my head up (not enough padding) (resolved)The lower left side of the loveseat is very wrinkled or puckered where the fabric is folded under the bottom(my concern was not acknowledged)The left arm of the sofa is wrinkled where it should not be wrinkled (my concern was not acknowledged) The second day I had the furniture one of the recliners stopped functioning (apparently wires under the sofa where I could not see them became unconnected.The furniture was delivered on 12/31/11I called customer service on 1-2-12, but as you know they arent available on Mondays.I called on 1-3 and explained that I was sick about the furniture and that the quality of the upholstering was subpar; certainly not what I would expect from La-z-Boy.A young man came to the house on 1-5 and told me everything looked fine to him. I asked him to take photos of my concerns and he took some but not all. I asked him to have the customer service manager call me. The CS manager called and scheduled pick up for the back cushions and the foot rests. When I asked about the other concerns I had I was told there was nothing that could be done.The puckering on the foot rests was resolved and the back cushions are fuller, but I still have the other issues.When I called the CS manager and told him that if these things could not be fixed I wanted to return the furniture. I was told this wasnt an option and nothing else could be done. I was also told that what was already done for me was more than La-z-Boy would like customer service to do.I am not looking for something for nothing.I deserve the quality I paid for. If this means La-z-Boy sends a skilled upholsterer to the house to fix the problem areas I am willing to work with La-z-boy to resolve this.Please extend to me the CARING, KNOWLEDGE and SERVICE La-z-Boy states is their mission.I look forward to hearing from you.

Desired Settlement: I would like Lazyboy to take this furniture back and refund my money. I have kept the furniture covered and the tags are still on.

Business Response:

            C.K.S., standing for Caring, Knowledge and Service is our companies (EBCO) mission statement.  As Ms. ******** implies, *** was Caring of her needs and Knowledgeable on the product.  I will outline the Service we provided Ms. ******** in an attempt to satisfy her subjective concerns with the furniture she received 12-31-11. 

            Attached is a copy of the delivery receipt signed by ******** ******** that the furniture was received in good condition.  Because we understand concerns will arise post delivery, we provide free in home service for one full year after the original date of delivery to address our client’s concerns.  A service order was created on Monday January 2nd at 1115hrs for the complaint that the mechanism was not working.  A tech was scheduled for 01-05-12.  Our tech reconnected the loose motor wire and advised Ms. ******** of normal tailoring and comfort wrinkles developing in the pillow backs from use.

Ms. ******** called back that same day (01/05/12) and spoke with my Service Manager Matt Moore regarding her disagreement with the tech’s finding the concerns were normal.  We concluded to have the backs and the footrests picked up to have additional padding added and the fabric on the footrests pulled tight per the client’s request.  These pieces were picked up 01/11/12, the adjustments done on 01/12/12 and redelivered to the client’s home 01/13/12. 

            On 01/20/12 Ms. ******** contacts me that she is still not happy with the wrinkles on the tops of the arms, loose fabric on the outside arm panels and loose fabric on the panels under the reclining seats.  At that time I reiterated to her what we had done already was above what the manufacture requires of us per the warranty terms.  I agreed to send out our independent contractor in last attempt to resolve her objections with the agreement that if it could be adjusted, he would do it but if it could not then it was what it is (normal).  She agreed and I emailed On Site to schedule a service call on 01-20-12. 

            On 03-23-12 I received the report back from On Site that the following adjustments were made, pull all fours arms and removed/reinstalled fabric on inside/outside panels to remove wrinkles, add padding under fabric at front of seat cushions on both units and relocate non reclining front rail to align with reclining footrests.  This was completed 03-12-12.  There was no attempt by Ms. ******** to contact me after this was done or before contacting the BBB presumably because of our prior agreement. 

            It is an unfortunate situation when a company exhausts all their resources to make a client happy when initially the product meets the manufactures’ specifications just not their expectations to only then be portrayed as poor service.  At this point, the profit of this sale has been also been exhausted.  So where would we meet in the middle to resolve this claim?  All that I can offer at this point would be to refund 50% of the initial special order sale price minus the $450 costs to send out the independent contractor (see math below).

Subtotal of order:      $3,529.94

%50 restocking fee:  $1,764.97

Contractor costs:       $ 450.00

Refund amount:        $1,314.97

***the returned units will then sold in our clearance center AS IS, well below the original costs as they are now considered used furniture.   

            I feel this is more than a fair offering considering all that we have done to address Ms. ********’s concerns.  I will await a reply from the BBB or a call from Ms. ******** to arrange the pick up.

                                                            ***** ******

                                                            Director of Consumer Services

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Yes I did sign for the furniture when it was delivered (on a Saturday) and did not notice the defects until after the truck left. Since the Lazboy customer services is closed on Mondays, I was not able to reach them until the Tuesday after delivery.

I did not contact Mr. ****** after the independent contractor finished his work since he had advised me this was all Lazboy could do to assist me.

Unfortunately, the "exhaustive" assistance provided to me by Lazboy did not and  can not resolve the poor workmanship of this product. Absolutely nothing was done to adjust the foot rests. The footrests remain uneven on the bottom with little to no padding on the corners, the back and seat cushions are not uniformly made etc... If I were to guess I would have to say an inexperienced seamstress or 3 different individuals made this furniture.

I am willing to pay the $450.00 Lazboy paid for the subcontractor.

As I mentioned before, I have kept the furniture covered and the tags are still on. I understand that it will have to be sold at a sale price. However, it is not my fault that Lazboy constructed a defective product . They saying goes "you get what you pay for" I did not in this instance.

Regards,

****** ********


 

 

Business Response:

In the interest of mediating to a resolution and Mrs. ******** acceptance to pay the contractor costs, I would be willing to reduce the restocking fee to 25%.  The furniture, regardless of being wrapped and tagged will still be resold below the original cost as it has been in the home since 12-31-11.  The balance of the $3,000 on the order was financed through G.E. so the credit would be applied back to this financing plan.  New totals below:

Subtotal of order:        $3,529.94

25% restocking fee:        $882.49

Contractor costs:            $450.00

Refund amount:           $2,197.45

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Mr. ****** has not accurately provided the full amount I paid for the furniture. At the time of purchase,  I paid $950.00 down with the remainder, $3,000.00, financed through GE. This amount includes an ottoman priced at $279.00 which Mr. ****** may not be including in his quote. The total billed to me without the ottoman is $3,671. Even though I am very unhappy with the product delivered to me I have been making payments in order to keep my credit clean. The amount owed to GE is now slightly less than $2,000.00. Mr. *****'s offer leaves me, the consumer, paying nearly $2,000.00 for nothing. La-z-boy sells the furniture at 1/2 price and I am out $2,000.00. I do not see how Mr. ****** can view this as a resolution. Additionally, had La-z-boy allowed me to return the furniture on 1-3-2012 it would not have remained in my home all this time. 

May I remind Mr. ****** that the furniture in question is poor quality. The furniture is nothing like the floor model I sat on at the time of purchase. I have never been so disappointed in a purchase. This  process is not easy for me and at times I have considered just letting this go, but I do not like being taken advantage of, especially by a company who could probably write the entire cost off as a loss. 

As noted in my last reponse, I am willing to pay the $450.00 contractor costs. La-z-boy may repossess the furnitue with the expectation that La-z-boy will reimburse $400.00 of the $950.00 down payment,  as well as what I have paid GE to date and pay off the remaining amount financed (minus the $279. 00 I paid for the ottoman, which I will keep) for a total of $3,221.00.

Regards,

****** ********


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/16/08 we purchased a sectional sofa from La-Z-Boy for $3240. We also purchased their Guardsmen warranty to cover defects. After less than 3 yrs. our triangular piece of the sofa was collapsing in the front of the custion. I wrote a letter requesting service on 1/21/11. I was informed that they do not come out to repair this problem, we have to bring it into their location. We are in 75, have recently had cancer and back surgery. There is no way we can do that. I requested again on 9/1/12 through a computer form for help to get this repaired. I just received a reply advising outside firms do their repair. If someone comes out, we have to pay a trip fee, service fee and repair fee. Also, they do not advise who to call. We are not looking for a freebie, just help to repair this sofa, which is harder to sit on all the time. This is not customer service I would expect. When we took the extra warranty, we were not told we would have to bring the item in for service, or, we would not have purchased it. There are numerous complaints, as I have come to find on the internet against La-Z-Boy and their quality of product and service. Not what it once was.

Desired Settlement: We just want this sofa repaired properly by whomever La-Z-Boy sends out, however, those extra charges seem hardly fair. But, if we have to pay, it should be reasonable charges since this sofa was falling apart before it was 3 yrs. old. The quality is not there, hardly what we expected when paying over $3240 for a sofa. The cushion also wrinkled on another section, which we can live with. We are not problem customers, just customers expecting a quality product!

Business Response: I spoke with Mrs. ******** and clarified her different warranty coverage, i.e. Guardsman for fabric damages and La-Z-Boy for manufacturing concerns.  She is set up for an evaluation tomorrow 09-13-12 and has been quoted $240 maximum for applicable transportation and labor charges.                                                                           Byrne Skaggs

                                                                        Director of Consumer Services

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

8/21/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased new couches (2) from La-Z-Boy Furniture and are having performance issues with the fabric after only 40 days. I was advised that their fabric which was supposed to be wear tested, would hold up for many years. After contacting them they advised they would only be willing to repair 3 cushions (all are showing wear). I spent approx 3000.00 and am not satisfied with the fabric as it is wearing nor am I satisfied with the results after speaking to the V.P. of La-Z-Boy ***** ****** who simply referred me to try to file it through the extended warranty.

Desired Settlement: I want the couches returned and or replaced with a fabric that will hold up as advertised.

Business Response:

Please refer to the photos attached:

All the fabric is wear tested and has a manufacture warranty. The warranty covers three fabric defects. 1) nap loss, the nap of the fabric falls off of the backing. 2) seam seperation, the thread of the seams fail and the seam seperates. 3) fabric seperation, the backing of the fabric fails and the fabric seperates from inside out. The photos demonstrate none of these defects have occured. After emailing the photos to  La-Z-Boy fabric claims department, they confirmed no defects. An extended warranty is offered at the time of the sale which covers  accidental damage.  He did purchase the extended warranty hrough Guardsman and I simply suggested he file a claim.    

By Mr. *****s admission he uses velcro durning his daily work which is attached to his clothing. Also, by his admission, on occassions  he has sat in the furniture with the velcro attached to his person. There are numerous snags and tears through out the furniture, two seats and one back are serve which we offered as a courtesy to replace at no charge. Any other pieces he elects to replace would be Mr. *****s responsibility. We would order those at our cost figure, not retail.  He subsequently has contacted our service center and gotten prices for the other pieces.

We feel this a fair resolve for circumstances unrelated to the wearability of the fabric. 

 

                                                                                                      ***** ******

                                                                                                      V.P of Operations

                                                                                                    

  

 

             

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Jan. 12,2012 we purchased $ll,342 dollars of furniture from the listed business with the requirement that we place a 50% down payment which we did. We did not understand or realize that with that purchase no part of the order could be returned or cancelled although we attempted to cancel part of the order after a month as we were in doubt of our choice nor did we understand that the majority of the order was 'special orders ' and was not returnable - although it was written at the bottom of the order we overlooked that factor and if it was stressed - we didn't not understand clearly. Within the next three months we did receive three end tables- a floor rug and self-delivered a recliner (which we are very happy with) . But to date the remaning items have not been delivered and after repeated calls from us (the manager has not returned calls although the staff has indicated would happen) . To date we have received $3,722.59 of merchandise although we have paid a total of $10,941.67. Today it is 4-6-12 - a total of almost 4 months. Considering the fast that we are not able to cancel the order (after repeated requests) we have not received the bulk of the order. We live in a community with over 4000 homes and plan to discourage possible customers from purchasing furniture. Some of us live here for 4-5 months a year - waiting for furniture while we live here is inappropriate. Thank you for your support.

Desired Settlement: We request if the remainder of the furniture is not delivered in a timely manner during the time we live here that we can cancel the order of the undelivered furniture with a refund not store credit which wouldn't do us any good as it may be another year before it is delivered.

Business Response:

*** has been contacted by the Regional Sales manager **** ********. They have agreed to meet in the store on 04-16-12 and discuss options toward a resolution.

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1