BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central, Northern and Western Arizona
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides electronics and appliances.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fry's Electronics, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fry's Electronics, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 50 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

50 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 10
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 9
Problems with Product/Service 25
Total Closed Complaints 50

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Fry's Electronics, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 11, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1985 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated: 06/18/1997 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dylan Dalzell, Assistant Phoenix Store Manager Mr. Mike Goodman, Phoenix Store Manager Mr. David Keith, Tempe Store Manager Ms. Kathy Kolder, Executive Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. David Keith, Tempe Store Manager
Business Category

Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers Television & Radio - Dealers Computers - Wholesale & Manufacturers Computer Printers Sales & Service Computers - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Fry's Electric Fry's Electronics

Additional Locations

  • 2300 W Baseline Rd Ste 17

    Tempe, AZ 85283 (602) 445-5100

  • 3035 W Thunderbird Rd

    Phoenix, AZ 85053 (602) 431-5800 (408) 487-4701 (602) 445-8800

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (602) 445-5118 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Technical Support
  • - Sales
  • - Mobile Phone SMS
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday, May 16th, 2014, I visited the Tempe, AZ location of Fry's electronics in search of a 2-in-1 Laptop/Tablet to be used for remote access to my work servers. I had been deciding between several different models which had similar characteristics and had requested the help of one of the salesmen in the computer department. I explained the purpose of the laptop/tablet was specifically to interface with my work servers and even provided a list of all the requirements from my companies tech support department to enure that all of them would be met. The salesman directed me to a Microsoft Surface tablet which ran a modified operating system (******* **) and assured me that it would interface with the required programs to use for work. He even informed me that if it didnt work...I would have 15 days to exchange for one of the other models that would. On Monday, May 19th, 2014...I brought the new tablet/laptop to work and asked my tech department to set it up for remote access. I was immediately informed by my in-house tech department that the modified Operating System (******* **) was not compatible with the servers and would not allow remote access. On Tuesday May 20th, I brought the Tablet/laptop back to Fry's to exchange it for one without a modified operating system (as the sales associate informed me I could). The returns counter verified that the return was in perfect condition with all accessories, etc...but told me that i would be charged a 15% restocking fee (nearly $40) as there was nothing "defective" with the product. When I explained that the ONLY reason i purchased it was that FRY'S told me it would work for a specific function and if it didn't I could exchange it for the other model we had looked at...she simply said that noone would have said that and even if they did...since it's a problem with the Operating System...it's Microsoft's problem and not Frys. I have been purchasing products from the Phoenix and Tempe Frys Electronics stores for nearly a decade and have ocassionally returned a few products...and NEVER have i ever been charged a restocking fee. Especially for something that Doesn;t Work for the sole purpose that i bought it for. Additionally - Fry's immediately placed a new "Open Box" sticker on the returned product at a 5% discount (even though they are charging me 15%) and placed it back on a cart to be placed on the retail shelf again. This means that they are actually making MORE on the returned product when they resell it.

Desired Settlement: I would like Fry's to honor the promises and guarantees of their sales staff and be provided my full refund. I was refunded only 85% of my purchase price (invoices available) and want the remaining 15% returned to tehe credit card which was used to make the purchase.

Business Response: I apologize that this customer had this experience.  We do charge a restocking fee of 15% on specified items as stated in our return policy.  However,
its obvious that this is a case where we should have used discretion when hearing all of the facts.  I would be happy to work
with Mr. ****** to resolve this.   I will contact Mr ****** today, 06/10, via email, to resolve with him. 

***** *****
Store Manager
***************
************

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/15/2014 Delivery Issues
1/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I pre-ordered a PS4 2.5 months ago. There was a online ad saying preorders that ship on Nov 15 were available on FRYS.com and I confirmed by phone the next day that it would ship on release day. (I chose Frys.com due to this confirmation) Today I call due to a lack of shipping info on my order and I am told that they did not have enough to ship to everyone. They say they are waiting for a shipment with no estimated arrival at the main warehouse. Fry Electronics fraudulently took in more pre-orders than they could fill. It is too late to pre-order anywhere else and there is no estimated date for the item to arrive let alone ship.

Desired Settlement: I want my device to arrive when it was originally set to, or if that is not possible: to receive the device at no cost to me due to being fraudulently mislead into purchasing from Frys.

Business Response: This BBB was assigned to the Phoenix and Tempe, AZ stores but was an order placed online on our Frys.com website.  Below is the responce from our Frys.com team:

Regarding customer ******* ***** for order ********. I spoke with the
customer and her husband regarding her item being on backorder. I
apologized profusely for any inconvenience. I explained the limited
allocated quantity that we received. I explained that our buying team was
working diligently on obtaining the remaining Preorders, which would
arrive within 2 weeks upon (according the information provided by the
department). I offered to waive the shipping charges and investigate how
soon we would receive the shipment. ******** ********, our Customer
Service Supervisor contacted the customer to inform that we did not have
an estimated date of arrival to our warehouse, however offered to expedite
the shipping. Unfortunately, the shipment arrived much earlier than
expected and the order shipped immediately, we were unable to process and
confirm the expedited shipment with the customer before the order shipped.
The order shipped via UPS Ground. We have credited the shipping charge and
as previously mentioned to the customer we will look into offering a
discount on the shipping of their next order.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During the last Black Friday sale, I tried to buy a Samsung computer through Fry's website. During the checkout process it was given an error message and an blank page opened in my browser. I wasn't able to confirm the purchase. I decided to open my bank homebroker and realized that I was charged in US$ 529.37. After a few minutes I received another charge with the same amount. On the other hand, I didn't receive any confirmation e-mail from Fry's after that. In the next day (Friday) I decided to go to the store, located at Tempe - AZ to solve my problem. In fact, I was convinced that I would be able to solve my problem, which happens in most of the cases here in U.S., when the customer is always right. What happened there was almost a joke. First a man who worked in Customer Service sent me to a special delivery section, which was created just to the Black Friday. Of course the man didn't know anything and was rude with me, sending me back to the Customer Service. I decided to talk with the manager, who didn't have any authority to solve my problem. She just called the Central Customer Service. After a while, she told me that I didn't buy anything and If I made a payment I would need to wait a couple days to have the payment canceled. Even showing to her my bank statements, she said that there isn't any payment to Fry's in the system. "The only thing that you can do is wait." Trying to solve my problem, she issued a quote, which would let me buy the computer for the same price if they will have it avaiable. But when I arrived at home, I noticed that the quote's expiration date was nov 29th, which was a joke also. I have a debt of more than one thousand dollars in my account, which I'm not responsible and even being in a pending status, it's causing me so many problems, because my account in near to be overdrawn.

Business Response: I spoke with Mr ***** today, 12/03/13.  I apologized for his charge(s) on his credit card and lack of information about his order from Frys.com.  I explained that I would be very happy to help and assist with getting him the product he would like at the price advertised on Frys.com from my store.  I explaied that I did not have visibility to his purchase history from Frys.com and explained that I would either need him to call the customer service center there in CA or I would be happy to have someone call him to get this rectified.  I passed all of his contact info to our Manager at Frys.com and He should expect a call shortly. 

***** *****
Store Manager
Tempe, AZ
***************

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

********* *****


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Me and my wife bought a TV from this so called ethical company in 2011 it's a Samsung 48" the date of purchase we were helped by a manager to pick it out and then he took us to the front to help us check out once there he then brought up, how does an extended warranty sound I very specifically asked about cost and terms he very clearly told both of us the extended warranty we sell covers you for two years after the one year many factors warranty which meant we had a total of three years of warranty well as luck would have it here we are 2 years later my TV won't turn on we headed to Frys of course because I had purchased an extended warranty to cover me incase this were to happened upon arrival that's when the TRUTH finally came out we were completely LIED TO BY A MANAGER! I didn't have three total years of coverage I had only bought one year but was sold a warranty that was explained to me covered me for two years after the manufactor warranty but no according to them now it was from the date of purchase! When I told the associate helping me that it was not explained to me that way, he stated and I quote " I know you weren't " they never explain it correctly which immediately infuriated me with disgust as well as the other 6 people who were in line waiting and listening to this garbage I was being told by a person that WORKS FOR THIS P.O.S. company who lie to there customers and mislead you! I was then taken to a manager who basically said I should learn to read the fine print at the bottum of a receipt even tho his damn MANAGER had not explained it that way and as well once I brought up the fact his employee had stated he " knew " the warranty was not explained right he had nothing to say other than to walk away and he stuttered and did not give me an answer to my problem, I have since contacted an attorney so see what I can do to teach this company a lesson because you can not mislead people up charge them for a service that later when they are suppose to honor will only hide behind FINE PRINT at the bottum of a recipet even tho a manager explained it to me and my wife why would we second guess or doubt what he says? Why would a company put an unethical misleading person to manage a store is the better question more like it if you ask me! So here I sit with a broken TV that now they want to charge me 250 - 375 to fix even tho I bought an extended warranty and the original date of purchase was less than TWO years ago so please if you are thinking of buying a TV please do not go to Fry's Electoncis in ***** or ******* they will up sell you on the extended warranty and then not explain it correctly which covers you for two years from the date of PURCHASE not like they well it as Two years after manufactor warranty ! Please shop at a better ethical company, I mean really Walmart as big as a piece of crap that they are will always take care of their customers when it comes to stuff like this! Please do not get mislead and cheated like I did literally any where else is better than these lieing ***** *****

Desired Settlement: I was promised I would be taken care of when I bought this TV and that has not happened even tho I have my receipt and i bought the extended warranty so I want my tv either replaced or my money back especially after an employee stated he knew the warranty was not explained to me correctly, that says ALOT about this company!

Business Response:

Can I get the invoice number so I can at least look into this further?

***** *****
Store Manager
***************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wanted to resolve an issue I had with a laptop. I was told I did not purchase any warranty through Fry's. If I wanted to fix the issues, I would have to contact the laptop manufacturer. This has been a nightmare. I finally did take the laptop for repair and as of today's date, I have yet to get my laptop. The computer is giving me a code that states the "Microsoft windows copy installed in my laptop is an illegal copy and will not function properly". I have called Fry's on various occasions to no avail or success.

Desired Settlement: I would like help resolving this problem or I would like to return the laptop.

Business Response:
We do not show record of having this customers computer checked in at our store.  I called phone number listed and spoke with a female that said ****** is at work.  I am not familiar with the situation but would be happy to look into this and review if customer wants to contact me directly. 

***** *****
Store Manager
Frys Electronics
****** ** *****
###-###-####
***************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was in the store on 06/10/2013 and did a return with Invoice # ********. I was to receive a return credit in the amount of $194.90 to my Visa Card ending in ****. As of today, no credit has yet to have been received from them. When I try calling the store to resolve the matter, it is impossible to reach a human being. When I finally did reach one, it was someone in another state who could not help me with this matter. All they could do is take my name and phone. I want this credit issued back to my card asap.

Desired Settlement: I was the credit which they gave me a receipt for, returned to my card ASAP.

Business Response: I reviewed this transaction and confirmed that (at least in Frys system) a refund of $194.90 was refunded and credited back to customers card ending in **** on 06/10/13.  The credit should post to customer's account typically 1-3 days later depending on the bank / finacial institution.  I would be happy to speak with this customer about this transaction and follow up with our accounting department if there is some type of accounting error beyond our control.  My contact info with direct phone number will be provided below.  I will attempt to call customer directly as well. 

***** *****
Store Manager
Frys Electronics
****** **
***************
###-###-#### office

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased & had installed 8gb of Ram for my Macbook Pro which I purchased back in feb 15th 2012. I ran into some problems with my computer freezing up for some reason & decided to take my computer to the ****** *** at the ***** ***** on 7-1-2013. The technician discovered that there was a broken Ram module with SCOTCH TAPE wrapped around the entire section to create a temporary fix for breaking the ram module. I have NEVER OPENED MY MACBOOK PRO BECAUSE I DON'T KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT REPAIRING OR INSTALLING ANYTHING HENCE THE REASON FOR GOING TO FRY'S ELECTRONICS FOR THE PURCHASE & INSTALL OF THE RAM. This is the actual quote from the ***** Technician. ***** ***** *********** Tel# ###-###-#### Repair# ********* Apple Employee# ********* "Unit will intermittently shut down when pressure is applied to the top case(bottom of Macbook Pro). Upon opening up machine, we found ram modules to be taped down with scotch tape and clips on logic board to be broken. Due to damage ram modules are hitting the bottom case upon pressure and shorting out machine causing a power fluctuation which causes the machine to shut down" NOTE: THE ***** EMPLOYEE STATED THAT I PROBABLY NEED TO GET A NEW MACHINE DUE TO POSSIBLE PERMANENT DAMAGE TO THE MOTHERBOARD. After the visit to the ***** store, I immediately called Frys on *********** ** to resolve the matter with the employee basically telling me that he spoke to the manager & the manager said that there's nothing they can do due to it being over the 30 day policy. I responded by saying, "MY MACHINE WAS BROKEN BY YOUR EMPLOYEE AND TAPED DOWN TO HIDE THE DAMAGE DONE". He simply replied "there's nothing we can do" This is a computer that I use for my professional DJ events that I do 3 times a week & I need this taken care of ASAP!!!!!! This is completely ridiculous and please note that A '13 MACBOOK PRO NEEDS TO BE UNSCREWED FROM THE BOTTOM SO THERE WAS NO WAY FOR ME TO CHECK THE WORK THAT WAS DONE.

Desired Settlement: I would like for my macbook pro to be replaced ASAP. I run business with this & I cannot afford to lose any more business due to a faulty product which was cause by Fry's negligence.

Business Response: Customer was contacted by our Service manage 7/10/13r. We requested for the customer to ship his computer to the store so we could evaluate the stated issue. No promise of any replacement or other comittments are being made at this time.
customer stated he will ship to Frys along with pictures of the damage discovered at the ***** store.
As soon as we receive the computer with the orginal memory purchased  from frys that is damaged we will determine next step and contact the customer.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My tv broke and its been siting in the store for over a month we have waranty that we bought, they are not calling me to let me know about tv (Lack) of comunication. When my husband took tv there an requsted to be fixed manager of the store was very rude. I called customer relation department and nobody ever called me back. Parts for the tv are on the back order they don't know when are they going to be available I had to call precision tv directly to get update.In the mean time I'm without tv, They are trying to give me a loaner but I'm not interested in that I just want my tv to be fixed.

Desired Settlement: Fix TV right away or replace it.

Business Response: contacted the customer that the part to repair his TV was on back order. I was informed that the part will be shipping and should be received by the 6/26  then the repair company will come to the store to repair and test the tv. Frys will deliver the repaired TV to the customer at no charge.
If the part is not received by the 26th, then I will work out a different solultion to take care of this customer.

thanks, **** *******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

 

****** *********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom it May Concern: This complaint is toward Fry's Electronics. On Friday, May 10, 2013 an ad broke in the morning ******* ******** stating that a "Tom-Tom" GPS (refurbished) was available for $59.99 at the ***** store. Or, so it implied. I read the paper at 6:30 that morning, and presented myself at the ***** store at 10:21 that morning, only be told that "We don't have one", "perhaps we'll get one on the next truck" . On Sunday May 12, another ad appeared in the morning ******** (only a bit bigger this time) for the same product. Not wanting to waste a trip, I called the store at 1:11PM. Once again I was told that the store didn't have the product, nor was the girl who answered the phone sure when one may come in, if ever. I asked for the store manager, only to be told that no one was available, but that someone ?? would call me within 24 hours. All of my contact information was taken. No one called! I called on Monday, May 13, 2013 and spoke to **** at the call center. He was very polite but offered no new information, except to say that "with so many stores it is not possible to have every advertised product in every store." I didn't say anything to him, but, as a consumer, how am I supposed to know that a product advertised in the Phoenix paper, citing the ***** location, may, or may not, have the product? His "Corporate" belief was that with so many stores, the product can't be in every location. Forgive me, but my response should have been, "Then why advertise it in the Phoenix market at all?" Incidentally, a competing product (Magellen) at $79.99 was in stock at the store. **** offered that the Tom-Tom was available on-line at the stated price of $59.99 PLUS a $7.99 handling and shipping charge, the same offer that was made to me by the girl on Sunday May 12th. Obviously, I chose not to accept the handling and shipping charge simply to receive a product that the corporation advertised as available at the ***** store.

Desired Settlement: I want nothing from Fry's. If indeed this is found to be a dubious policy, I only want it stopped! ***** ***** **** ** ****** **** *****, ** ****** Home phone ###-###-####

Business Response:

 
I truly apologize on behalf of Fry's that we ran out of any ad item.  It is our companies intention to have ample quantities of ad goods to lat throughout the ad period.  Obviously, there was a problem with with getting this product in stock before the ad broke.  This was was not our intention and again we truly make every effort to avoid this.  I would be happy to work with this customer and either get them the advertised item if it has since come in stock for the ad price.  I would also be happy to provide a rain check if we are still out of stock.  Or, I would be happy to find a comparable product and match the ad price.  Pls contact me if you would like to proceed with any of these options 

***** *****
Store Manager
Frys Electronics
###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My families and I are Fry's Electronics loyalty customers for years, the past two years we spent over 20,000.00 at Fry's store on Baseline, Tempe AZ. My printer broke and I brought in for service on 12-11-2012 and 2 weeks later I got the phone call, it was declined to repair due to it was use for business??? I don't know are they gonna prove that in court, this is the one I use for my home, but we do have a studio business and we did have multiple big printers that we bought from them. I came to pickup the un-repair printer but the drum and tonners are no longer there. The associate told me the department manager said come-in tomorrow to see the store manager. I came in the next day the store manager was not there, I came in on Thusday after that the store manager went lunch and suppose to get back but he was not. I came in Tuesday after that the store manager was on vacation for 2 weeksk, I came in after his vacation on Sunday the store manager was busy with home office... Everyone told me they left my paper work at his desk but he has not been call-in me. I called twice a weeks to get the hold of the store manager but I was not able to. I emaiil home office customer service associate and I got response that someone will call me back within 3-5 business day but I has been two weeks I have not gotten the phone call. I email the store manager and got a brief reply which was not address my issue. like he was not know what my issue is. I re-sent him email twice and ask him to reponse but I got nothing. This is ridiculous, I don't have time for this. This is not how business process. I still don't have my printer and it has been more than 4 months.

Desired Settlement: I want my printer fixed with the full toners that I bought them there or give me the credit to buy new printer + the credit of all the toners

Business Response: Dear Mr ******, Fry's is aware that this printer is for business use.   I replied to your email promptly and explained that equipment used for "business use" is not covered under PSC.   This is covered under the terms and conditions of your Perfromance Service Contract so unfortunatey this repair cannot be completed.   Your printer is in our store ready to be picked up by you at this time. 

Since the Perfromance Service Contract is no longer valid, I would be willing to offer you and pro-rated refund of the Perfromance Service Contract. 

We also did not notate that toner was checked in with the unit but would be willing to buy you a set of toner for your printer. 

If you are interested in taking advantage of either or both of my above listed offers, pls feel free to contact me directly and we can set this up for you.  Thank you. 

***** *****
Store Manager
Fry's Electronics
****** ** ************ ***************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/8/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 12, 2013, I left my laptop, battery and AC adapter with the service department for repair to the computer's plug or connection system. the prongs appeared to be bent or broken and needed to be replaced on the computer. I was told it would be six or seven days before the part would be received from the warehouse or whereever they order their parts from. then it may take 3 or 4 days for the tech to repair the computer, depending on the workload. On Saturday, March 23, I called to check the status of the service on my computer and reached someone who told me the department was busy and would I like to leave a name and number so someone could call me back? I left my name and number but received no call back from anyone at Fry's. I called again on Sunday, March 24 and reached a man who checked the records who told me that they had ordered the part on March 19 or 20th - he wasn't sure and it would take a few days to reach Phoenix. He stated it took that long for a repair person to check the computer and verify that the part originally mentioned on the work order was indeed the part needed. I verified that he had really said that my computer sat for a week in their repair department before someone looked at it and ordered the part the Fry's employee had originally said would be ordered and received by Fry's in Phoenix in six or seven days. On this date, March 25, I called to talk to a manager but was told he wasn't in yet and again I left my name and number. I am waiting for a callback.

Desired Settlement: I would like my request for service to be put as top priority and a billing adjustment made for the lack of service and ridiculous length of time that elapsed before the part was actually ordered. I would like an apology for not getting callbacks when I leave my name and number requesting information. I bought the laptop at Fry's and expected the quality of customer service for repairs that I had received 2 years ago when I bought the computer.

Business Response: Customer was contacted by Service Department Manager on Thursday, 04/04/13, with the information regarding her computer.  Customer paid for the part to fix it and we refunded her the labor portion.  Customer picked up her unit on Saturday, 04/06/13.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: (Thunderbird) On 2/27 Fry's had an advertisement stating a solid state drive was on sale for ~$80. According to the website, this was a 2-day sale: 2/27 and 2/28. When I tried to purchase the product online, after verifying the product was in-stock using their own system, at the end of the checkout process, the website returned an error stating "not in stock." When I contacted Fry's Customer Service, their response was: "...There is a possibility, at the time of placing your order our inventory systems updated and that store no longer had the product in stock. We understand your frustration with this matter, and hope you will allow one of our Sales associates to assist you with locating an alternate product..."

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is that Fry's provide me with either the advertised product or at the very least a partial refund for having to purchase a higher priced product.

Business Response: Left message with the wife to call . Made 4 other attempts to contact customer , no answer or call back. We would like to assist customer to locate a product that will meet his needs at the price he was expecting to pay.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and wanted to notify that the business was able to connect with me.  The business and I have been able to come to an agreement which is satisfactory and therefore I consider this complaint resolved.

I greatly appreciate the assistance provided in facilitating the resolution of this complaint.

Regards,

****** **********


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for a tv stand, when ups delivered it they broke it. I called fry's electronic to le them know that the product was damaged and being returned to them. I then inquired about the refund. I was told that I would be refunded the total amount. I checked my discover card and I was only credited the amount of the product purchased. They did not credit me the delivery charge that was over $60.00. I then called them again on 8-4 and was told they do no credit the delivery amount. I had to argue with them and explain to them why should I have to pay for a damaged product. After getting a manager on the line I was told that I would receive a refund in 3-5 days. Today I checked my credit card to find that they have not posted the credit to my account yet. I then called again and inquired. They told me that it has not been approved yet and it would take another 5-7 days. I asked them why, she told me because the manager has to approve it. I then asked her how long does it take for an approval, she told me abou 3 days. I then asked her why it was not approved yet when it had been 7 days already. She just kept stating that it would be done in5-7 days. I to.d her I wanted to speak to a manager. She asked me to wait. After 5 minutes she comes back once line and says that the manager is busy assisting other customers and I could continue to wait or have him call me back. I am still waiting for a call back. Every time I call I takes album 20 minutes to attempt to resolve the issue. I have had to waste so much time calling and trying to get my refund. Initially when i had first called they stated that they never received the damaged product back, and when I told them I have confirmation that they had received it they then changed the story to maybe it hasn't been checked in yet. Altogether I have spent over 3 hours on the phone on many occasions trying to get my refund. I don think that this is acceptable. I will never do business with frys electronic again.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund including something for all the inconvenience.

Business Response:

This Complaint came to the Arizona Market. I'm not able to locate an invoice for this customer Using his last name and his phone number to look it up in out system. I tried to contact *** **** to get further information from him with the number listed and this number has been disconnected. Please provide us with more detailed information.

Invoice Number#?

Date of Purchase?

Location Purchased?

Contact information?

With this I will be able to get this to the correct person in order to assist this customer further.

 

Thanks,

Terrie Malkowski

Fry's Electronics

Tempe AZ

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

****** ****

 I am sorry but they have never tried to contact me. They are lying. My phone number is ************ a d that is the same number that I would provide to fry's when ever I would call. I never had a problem with them finding me.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/24/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Lenovo laptop computer, purchased on March 24, 2012 had a hinge break. The hinge that connects the keyboard to the monitor broke, resulting in the plastic casing to the computer/ keyboard being pulled apart. The computer had a standard warranty, as well as a 2 year service warranty with Fry's Electronics. Fry's employees (I saw the service person, his supervisor, and the customer service manager on 1/20/13) all told me that there was nothing they could do. They stated that this was "physical damage" caused by my use of the computer. I have only opened and closed the laptop as a normal user would do. Additionally, I looked up this issue online, and it appears that there are issues with the hinges in this model of lenovo computer. (See this link for information on hinge issues: http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Lenovo-3000-and-Essential/Problem-with-Hinges-on-G570-model-laptop/td-p/683175 ) They said that they can "look at it" for $140 minimum service charge. My only other option is to ship the computer to a Lenovo service center in Texas at my expense, and they still might choose to say that this is physical damage that they will not repair. The cost of shipment is comparable to the price of a repair through a local computer repair center. The salesperson who sold me the computer said that it would cover everything, even customer mis-use. While I do not believe that I mis-used the computer, the company should still honor the warranty even if they believe that did.

Desired Settlement: I want them to repair my computer without charge. If this can not be resolved within a few days, I would like to go through another repair company (which would charge much less than $140) and be reimbursed for the repair.

Business Response: We would like to have the customer come back to the store with the laptop to have the situation looked into further.  We would like to assist the customer within the guidelines of the Performance Service Contract that they have purchased.  We are confident that we will have some options that the customer will be satisfied with.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I returned to the Fry's store with my complaint number and the expectation that some type of resolution would be offered. Instead, I was told that the manager in charge was not authorized to override any other managers' decisions and that I would have to return when the general manager was available. The manager in charge (******* *******) was not able to state which hours the general manager worked, aside from "pretty early tomorrow." The fact that I ould have to take time off work in order to even have a chance of meeting the general manager seemed as unimportant to him as the BBB case number. 

Absolutely no resolution was offered at this time, and I have wasted another hour and another gallon off gas in the hopes of resolving this complaint. 

Regards,

**** ******


 

 

Business Response: I have not personally seen the laptop, but it appears the question / debate is whether the damage / defect to the laptop is physical damage or a regular defect covered under warranty.  Since it seems our associates / managment and *** ****** disagree on exacvtly what we are looking at, Frys is willing and offering to check this computer in and send it out (at our expense) to the original manufaturer, in this case Lenovo.    This will allow the original manufaturer to dertermine if the damage / defect is covered.  This eliminates the debate from Frys and we get the second and unbiased opinion of the original manufacturer.  If in fact it is a covered defect, then the repair will be done and sent back to the store for customer to be picked up.  If they (Lenovo) says its not covered, they will provide an estimate for repair and we (Frys) will pass that on to the customer to accept or decline.   

Mrs Carter is welcome to contact me directly at ###-###-#### to set up a time to drop off her computer.  
***** *****
Store Manager
Frys Electronics
****** ** ***** *************** ************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/16/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 57 inch Mitsubishi was purchased from fry's electronics in 2007 . I also purchased a 5 year warranty. January 2012 my TV needed repair , it had white dots on screen.Fry's sent out repair tech & he replaced dlp chip.The problem occurred again in may 2012 , fry's sent out a repair tech to the house . He replaced the dlp chip again stating that the dlp chip he had installed in January was defective.My warranty expired august 30th , 2012 . I am having the same issue with the TV for the third time. Now the TV shows white dots & shuts off until it wants to work on it's own. I feel that the problem was never resolved and fry's will not acknowledge that. I tried to contact the department manager about my situation . He refuses to answer the phone calls or respond to the messages that I left for him.Fry's has breached the warranty.The dept manager : ***** ***** ******************* ****** * *******

Desired Settlement: I would prefer that fry's fixes the issue with the TV or replace it if it's deemed not repairable.

Business Response:

Customers 5 year Performance service contract expired 8/29/12.. The last worked performed by our service representative was completed on 6/1/12. In Oct customer called and stated that he was having same issue. He was informed at that time his PSC had expired. Custtomer claims that we would not respond to his calls. We did and I authorized one of our instore techs to go to his home at no charge to observe the customers stated TV issues of white spots.

Our tech went to customers home on 10/12/12.. We checked menu settings and verified that the satellite box was sending good signal. No spots or snowflaking on the screen were observed while our tech viewed the set. Both the females in the home with a translater agreed no spots. They did however state that at times the TV would shut down random. There had not been any prior info on this and the set did not shut down either while or tech was in the home.

At this time there is nothing additional we can do for this customers TV. Any addtional failures or repairs would be at customers expense.

**** *******

store manager.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased RT-N12 Router from Fry's Electronics on 3/20/2012. Device stopped working on 9/21/12. Item box states 2 year warranty. Fry's would not exchange device, or refund money.

Desired Settlement: $43.71

Business Response:

 We are sorry to see a product purchased from us not working.  I’m assuming the return / exchange was denied because the purchase date is outside of Fry's 30 day return policy.  Most product that we sell do carry manufacturers warranties that are honored and handled directly with the product manufacturer.    This is what the 2 year warranty the customer is referring to.   

In an effort to work with this customer, we would be willing to make an exception and offer an exchange on this item for this customer.  The customer is welcome to come in and ask for me or contact me by phone or email to set up a time to process this exchange.  My contact info is as follows:

***** *****

Store Manager

Frys Electronics, Tempe, AZ

************

***************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 31st I bought a Macbook Pro (Retina Display version) at Fry's Electronics for $2,149 (Tax not included). The retail price of the product is $2,199 but Fry's price matched Best Buy's discount on Macbook laptops. I am an avid Apple user, so when I opened the product I noticed immediately the the packaging is not how it's suppose to be. The laptop inside the box is usually wrapped in plastic. There's a white sticker that have to be torn when unwrapping the plastic. I noticed that the stickers are already torn, meaning this product has been opened by someone else before. The sticker is also not on the place that it's suppose to be. If it was an unopened item, the sticker would be place at the bottom of the laptop. When I opened the box, it was above. (I have the unboxing process on video as I planned to post it on YouTube)I went back to Fry's with hopes to get the product exchanged on more than one occasion. The first visit, an employee told me that the product might have been opened at the back to check to be checked for damages. I asked if I can exchange the item for a new one but they do not have anything in stock. He then told me that I can't get a full refund for the item since I'me gonna have to pay the 15% restocking fee (About $322) for the item. I chose to come back later to see the manager. The manager also told me the same thing. I do not feel that I should pay the restocking fee since it should have been their responsibility to make sure that I get a new product. I would not be returning it if it was a NEW item in the first place. I paid for the full, brand new, price and not the opened item price. I am a College student and planned to use this laptop for schooling. For a laptop this expensive, I do not feel comfortable keeping it when it's already been opened. The employees refused to listen to my reasons and kept making it sound like I'm lying and/or that it is my fault. They also do not have a clear explanation about the item. I'm willing to show the video if requested.

Desired Settlement: I returned the item for an in-store credit since it is the only way I get to keep my money without the restocking fee that want me to pay. I do want a full refund of the $2,149 (plus the tax) that I paid so I can buy the Macbook from somewhere else.

Business Response: Customer attempted to retract his request from the BBB because he used the credit he had to purchase a different computer.  I spoke with him this morning to see if he had another other issues that needed resolving and he was content at the moment.  I gave him my name and instructed him to contact me at the store if anything should arise.

Thanks,
***** *******
Store 20
Fry's Electronics
Assistant Store Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought Kaspersky software 7/21/12, filed for $25 rebate promised w/i 8-10wks; it has been much longer than that; called M 10/8 was told check was processed & just waiting to be mailed; no check rec'd in 2wks+; called again T 10/23, long wait on hold, left message, no call, no check, no response. I am obviously getting the run-around & need your help (businesses big @ small hop-to-it when you guys get involved. Thx.

Desired Settlement: $25 rebate promised, should be rec'd ASAP.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/25/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Frys does not list an address for their web site fulfillment in memphis TN so I picked my local store as representing. I was redirected to frys.com from woot expressing interest in a cheap dvd movie. I saw no where that it was a blue ray. I have no blue ray. It was fine print and I have all the order acknowledgements that DO NOT indicate it is blue ray unless you are an employee and know the code. I would have stopped it long ago had I known it was blue ray. ordered 2 months ago. I wish to return it but they will not pay shipping. I can send the email order acknowledgements for witness to the vague information other than the title of the movie.Talked to their customer service and there were no attempt to remedy other that return it you pay shipping and that was it.

Desired Settlement: Frys.com took a month to ship the product then is was wrong. Full refund and list their memphis tn address on the BBB website for their dark dealing web "fulfillment" office. make their managers answer the phone and tell me to my face to pound sand, not the csr.

Business Response:

Called the consumer, listend to his issues regarding his most recent
shopping experience and apologized for the inconveniences he had incurred
up until this point. Offered a full refund ($5.37) without the requirement
of return (it would cost us more to pay for the return and be unable to
resell the product). Customer said he was satisfied with the resolution
and would update the BBB that his issue had been resolved. Customer now
content.



Jesse Ramirez
Frys.com
Electronic Components
Department Manager
408-350-1484
Ext. 12216

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/17/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 11/21/11 I took my ** laptop to Fry's electronics, at the time the only thing wrong with it physically was the molding around the screen had separated. It was not broken, just separating at the seam. The screen had been replaced prior by ** so I assumed ** did not glue it together properly. Fry's told me it was physical damage and would not warranty it or fix it. However, Fry's (*****) did take it and said it would be sent to **. During this time, they have not fixed the laptop, have lost the laptop on one occassion and now it is 3 months later. I went in per their phone call to pick up my nonfixed laptop. However, (Friday 2/10/12) I looked at the molding and it was completely broken and the screen was separating from the bottom of the laptop. When I had the store rep power up the laptop it shorts the screen out. I spoke with a Supervisor (****) and he said that they would not have taken the laptop in if it had looked like this, and if they had the store would be liable for it. He also stated that if it had been broken like this during the time they had it, they would be liable for it. He asked me to give him 24hrs to speak to a manager and resolve the issue. When he called me back the next day, another manager (female) said they would not do anything to fix, repair or resolve this issue. The store manager would not answer calls. This is my wife's computer and she is in school and needs her computer fixed or replaced. Their customer service is horrible. They need to do the right thing and replace her laptop 1 for 1 immediately.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Fry's electronics to replace my wife's laptop with a new one, as I don't know what other damage they have done to it. I would also like them to transfer her data from the old laptop to the new one.

Business Response:

I spoke with Mrs ***** last week.  I explained that our notes indicate that the unit came in originally with damade to the hinge which was notated.   It was explained that this type of damage is not covered under warranty however unit was sent out anyway for evaluation and estimate.  Unit arrive back confirming that the damage was not covered under warranty with an estimate to repair. 

In response to the unit's hinge is worse now than when it was originally brought in, is a definite posibility.  The unit's hinge is a major component in the opening and closing of the notebook and Im sure it was opened and closed several times in the evaluation.   Without debating to what extent the hinge was damaged, the hinge was still damaged to some degree when brought in and needed / needs to be replaced regardless. 

I unfortunately do not have a way to get the repair done under warranty.  I also would unfortunaly not be receptive to replacing the unit.  What I offered, and would still offer, would be to either split the cost of the repair with the customer or offer them a $100 discount on a new laptop. 

 

***** *****

Store Manager

Fry's Electronics, Tempe AZ

***************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This is not accurate information provided by the store manager at Fry's electronics.  My laptop was dropped off and the only thing wrong with it was the plastic mold around the screen was separated.  They had it for 3 months, lost it once, and when they attempted to return it to me unfixed, the plastic mold around the scren was broken, the hinge was broken and it shorts out and won't stay on.  They have obviously broken it and their Supervisor **** in repairs admitted they are liable for the laptop.  The store manager is the one who originally in November signed off on the computer when it was brought in for repairs and I feel he is trying to get out of taking care of things appropriately.

Regards,

****** *****


 

 

Business Response:

Frys has offered to perform all of the needed labor for the repair if customer wants to pay for the parts.  We have emailed the customer a list of needed parts and where he can purchase them.  I spoke with this customer Friday 04/13/12, and to my knowledge is going to take advantage of this offer. 

Unit came back unrepaired and with an estimate due to physical damage.  Repairing it in house with the customer purchasing parts was a much less expensive alternative for the customer due to our cost for parts.  We are working with this customer to resolve this and have presented to best option(s) that we have at this time, considering we cannot repair the unit under the service contract. 

***** *****

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

4/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/5/2012 I purchased Haier Model LE42B1380 TV online from Frys Electronics and went to pick it up at Store #30 in Renton, WA. When I went to the TV department to pick it up, I was given the hard sell for an extended warranty by the salesperson. I declined. She left for a bit and then came back and offered to knock another $20 off the extended warrenty. I declined again. She then went to get the TV and about 10 minutes later came back with what I assumed was a new TV. At least the box looked that way. Thinking back, I would have loved to have been in the warehouse when my order got pulled. My wife and I kept it boxed up, upright and untouched in the garage until that day at which time the three of us opened it. We couldn't have been more careful taking it out of the box. We set it up and turned it on. Immediately we noticed bright light coming from the top of the screen. Upon inspecting it, we noticed the top bezel in the middle of the unit was popped off the glass and there was a crack in the glass itself. We couldn't believe it! How can a brand new TV be damaged like that! We immediately packed it up and I took it back to Frys. I told my son, no problem, they'll take it back. I couldn't have been more wrong. The associate who was handling returns refused to exchange it. There's no damage on the box he said. Perfectly scripted, obviously well trained. He accused us of breaking it! That is an outright lie! I was enraged so the manager came over and then told me the exact same thing. Basically, I was out $412 for a buying a damaged, probably returned TV. What Fry's did to us was no different than someone breaking into our home and stealing our TV. Fry's stole 412.00 from me.

Desired Settlement: I want my credit card credited for the full amount. In addition to everything I just said, I've spent $50 in gas going back and forth dealing with these crooks. And they ruined my son's birthday.

Business Response: The Assistant Store Manager, **** ****, spoke with this customer yesterday.  They agreed that the customer will be bringing in the TV sometime today for them to take a look at to see if they can assist in anyway.


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

WRONG. I said I would go back only if they were giving me a full credit when I walk through that door. I did NOT agree to have them "take a look at it" and see what they can do. What is the matter with these people? I spent two hours of my time and 25.00 in gas the last time they "took a look at it" and if they think I'm going through that terrible experience again, they're crazy. In any case, my bank informed me my money has been refunded so I consider the matter closed. Fry's can make arrangements to pick up the TV at their expense and then they can "take a look at it" all they want. 

Regards,

***** ****


 

 

 

Business Response: Our store in Renton, Washington, has accepted this customers TV back and credited his account.  No further action required.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/15/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/7/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/3/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/22/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/25/2011 Delivery Issues
10/16/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/30/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/25/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/15/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/9/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/2/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1