BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central, Northern and Western Arizona

This Business is not BBB accredited

J Hass Group, LLC

Additional Locations

View Additional Phone Numbers 7590 E. Gray Road #204, Scottsdale, AZ 85260 View Additional Email Addresses ! J Hass Group, LLC is Believed to Be Out of Business !

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers debt settlment, debt reconstruction and debt negotiation services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

58 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 11
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 40
Total Closed Complaints 58

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on J Hass Group, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 7
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 16, 2008 Business started: 02/28/2008 in AZ Business started locally: 02/28/2008 Business incorporated: 02/28/2008 in AZ
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department of Financial Institutions
2910 N. 44th Street, Suite 310, Phoenix AZ 85018
http://www.azdfi.gov
Phone Number: 602-771-2800
Fax Number: 602-381-1225
consumeraffairs@azdfi.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Hass, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Hass, CEO
Related Businesses
Law Office of Jason D. Hass, PLC
Business Category

Debt Relief Services

Alternate Business Names
American Debt Settlement Group, LLC JDH & Associates, LLC The J Hass Group
Industry Tips
Credit Repair and Debt Relief/Credit Cards Debt Consolidation/Bill Paying Services Debt Relief Services

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7580 E. Gray Road #203

    Scottsdale, AZ 85260

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7590 E. Gray Road #204

    Scottsdale, AZ 85260

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (602) 357-7600(Phone)
  • (877) 572-5050 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

According to information in BBB files, it appears that this business is no longer in business.


Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
11/6/2013 Delivery Issues
10/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A J Hass representative call me and offered to help me to pay off my credit card debt. Every month they would withdraw $383.00 from my account for 24 months. The 24 months passed with no copy of a contract after I had requested it. October 2012 I received a $4,600 refund. I am still due $3,892.00

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the balance owed to me. I would like them to fix my credit as they said they would and compensation for pain and suffering.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been working with the j hass group for over four years and they were supposed to settle five of our credit card accounts. As of now they ingored one account to where i had to take over the payments and when ivtried to call them their phone number is disconnected. I am currently in the process to see what accounts have actually been settled and which ones I still need to work with.

Desired Settlement: I just want a refund of the fee that they charged. And to know where all the money i have paid them over the yeats is at.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

4/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/19/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with J Hass Group to settle with my creditors on mybehalf. I have an account with J Hass Group that has sufficient funds to pay off my last two creditors but they will not contact the creditors to negotiate a settlement offer. I contacted J Hass Group 33 times by phone from December 2012 to Feburary 2013 and they will not deliver the services that I contracted with them which is to contact my creditors to obtain a settlement offer and then contact me to approve the settlement offer in order to pay off the accounts with my creditors. The representatives by phone consistenly tell me that the negotiators are 'too busy' and will never contact my creditors or me settle my accounts.

Desired Settlement: J Hass Group to contact my last two creditors to obtain a settlement offer and then contact me to approve the settlement offer in order to pay off the accounts with my creditors. I have suffucient funds in my account to settle and pay off my creditors.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

3/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a 3 year contract to erase my debt on credit cards. i owed $16,000 and paying $319.45 every month for 3 years would alleviate this debt. After paying $11,500 they paid capital ending 2996 2 payments. one for $425 in dec. 2011 which should of cleared this account. then they sent another payment of $366 on may 14 2012. the second payment was supposed to go on account ending capital 3777. now there saying i owe $944 on 3777. i paid chase 1499 $1592.46. i paid ending capital 4284 $751.08. i paid orchard 3407 $1312. all together i have paid $4080.54.since I have paid $11,500 over the last 3 years where is the money. I still owe on capital ending in 3777 $980, chase endig in 3571 $1000, merrick bank endin in 9419 $3800, and household bank ending in 3704 $2000. They still have $2400 of my moneies That a company called Meracord is taking $49 a month just to watch it. If i've paid $11,500 And they have taken out $4446.54 and holding $2400 ($6846.54) there is $4653.46 missing. They will not answer me in where the money is? I hope you can get to the bottom of this and help me. I am retired on a limited income. Thank you

Desired Settlement: The contract I signed stated that all my debts would be resolved in three years with the payment of $319.45 a month. As you can see it wasn't. Now I'm in a situation that I don't know what to do.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

3/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: What I was told by JHASS GROUP THAT THEY WOULD BE TAKING PAYMENTS FROM ME TO PAY OFF THE DEBTS I OWE TO DIFFRENT CREDITORS FOR 18 MONTH. THEN THE PROBLEM IS AFTER 18 MONTHS THEY ASKED FOR ADDITIONAL PAYMENTS AND THOSE WERE PAID ALSO. WHEN SPEAKING TO CUSTOMER SERVICE AT JHASS GROUP THEY TOLD ME THAT WOULD BE ENOUGH MONEY TO PAY THE CREDITORS, BUT NOW THE'VE AUTORIZED ANOTHER COMPANY TO TAKE MONEY FORM MY BANK ACCOUNT THERE NAME IS (MERACORD 1001 PACIFIC AVE. STE 200 TACOMA, WA 98402) I DON'T KNOW WHO THIS COMPANY IS AND WHY THERE ABLE TO TAKE MONEY FROM MY ACCOUNT IF JHASS GROUP SAID I PAYED ENOUGH TO PAY THE CREDITORS. I WAS TOLD BY MERICORD THAT I HAVE TO PAY UNTILL JULY SO SOMTHINGS NOT ADDING UP AND THEY DIDN'T PAY ONE OF MY ACCOUNTS WHICH IS TARGET THEY CLAIM THEY DON'T HAVE MY TARGET ACCOUNT NUMBER SO I'M WONDERING HOW THEY'VE BEEN NEGOTIATING WITH TARGET IF THEY DONT' HAVE THE ACCOUNT NUMBER.

Desired Settlement: I NEED TO HAVE AN EXPLANATION OF ALL THE MONEY THE'VE TAKEN AND ALL THE CREDITORS THEY'VE PAID. OR ELSE I WANT A TOTAL REFUND SO I CAN PAY THE CREDITORS MYSELF!!!!

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

2/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Several yrs ago we started using the J Hass Group to assist us in settling our debts. Over the past few yrs we settled ouf all our bills except for one remaining credit card. This past year we noticed a change in the type of service , ie. Not returning phone calls ,getting hung up on, no paperwork being sent. This week the phone number is out of service and the web site dissapeared. A check on google showed a news story on the company about an Arizona judge fining the company 150,000 dollars. The news story also said that the company cleared out of their offices. They have about 8,000 dollars of my money in their account. Please help if you have any info about this company and any advice on what to do.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back and an explaination about what happened plus they never finished negotiating my last card that is still unsettled.

Business Response: Since this client claims that JHass has $8,000.00 of her money in our account.  Factually we do not and never had her money in our account.  When this client entered into our program we assisted her in setting up a trust account with noteworld now known as Meracord. If after the settlements there was money left over it is hers and all she has to do is call them and they will release it to her.  It is afterall her account.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: J HASS GROUP has not been honest with me concerning the credit consolidation service they provided to me.Several years ago I was set up with automated payments for 18 months to eliminate my debt.These were very high payments,and went to a escrow account to pay off creditors.It was not easy to make these payments,but I did fulfill my obligations.I even paid money out of pocket to close a **** ** ******* account.I received a call at work from a law office looking to have this account paid off.This was resolved years ago,but never received any confirmation of closure.I received a run around,when I tried to get answers.I was not even in the system.

Desired Settlement: I respectfully request confirmation and closure to the debt consolidation progam,stating all creditors have been satisfied and my credit report cleared of any negative reports due to the J HASS GROUP lack of performance.I have no idea were I stand and have had no contact for months with there customer service who would call monthly.I paid a lot of money to have this resolved and I expect the results they assured me.

Business Response: Dear Ms. Oberdank:

Once again having worked in negotiations I know that several of this clients accounts were settled.  The JHass Group has been out of business since October of 2010.  All accounts were sold to a reputable company.  Sometime after that I understand these accounts were sold again.  I know that all clients were called and mailed with regard to the sale.  Mr. ********* complaint is not with JHass.  I am sorry that I cannot give you more information as the data base was transferred to the buyer.  

The better business bureau (a private company) need not forward to us any complaints as we do not have our data base and we are not in business and have not been for some time.  

Sincerely

******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: J Hass Group is a scam!!!! They look good and are professioalAt first, than after you sign with them you can never get ahold of anyone. I ended the contractMyself and negotiated the last account. I wish I would have done it allMyself and saved thousands... If you have a brain, never sign with thesePeople. They are crooks....

Desired Settlement: Better communication would help this problem.

Business Response: There is no complaint stated for J. Hass Group to respond to.  Should Ms. ****** care to inform exactly what her issue is, and back her complaint with specific detail, we will be more than happy to respond to her.


Thank you.

****** ******
J. Hass Group, L.L.C.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In sept 2010 I made a contract with J.Haas Groug to settlem debt before I retired from the military. I paid $1,166.86 for 12 months to settle a debt of 24,389.77. It has almost been 2 years and they have not settled this contract. I was instructed not to talk with my creditors and to forward all correspondance to J.Haas Group. When I call this week to get some answers I was intructed to call my creditors and see if I could get a settlement. I found out that my creditors will not accept a POA from a debt settlement adjency since Nov 2009. J. Haas Group new this and failed to inform. When I told them that they could not complete the contract I wanted a refund. They said they would give my $9,979.42 in escrow back. I paid them a total of 14,000. Since they cannot honor they oringinal agreement the contract should be void.

Desired Settlement: I want the full $14,000 refunded

Business Response: Please see attached.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *********


 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

7/30/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: J Hass Group is a business set up to help solve debt issues. The reason I am seeking out the services of J Hass Group was due to the closure of my business and the lawsuit it took to get out of it. I seeked out the services because I was unable financially to settle four credit cards with a total balance of approximately $24,000 in a timely manner and for the amount the creditor was willing to do at the time. It has now been 17 months with J Hass Group and since this time I have paid them around $7,500 and only 1 card has been paid and an account balance of 1,600. This means that the J Hass Group has paid themselves for services that have not yet been rendered for uncompleted job. I recently received a court summons on another card that is enrolled with the J Hass Group. I was told by J Hass that since it has gone to court they would no longer be able to get this account to settle for the 50 to 80% of the balance. I then asked for an update on the other cards enrolled and no answer could be given. J Hass Group deals with one card at a time leaving it to chance that more court summons will come. I will have paid J Hass Group almost $17,000 by the time this all finalizes, this is false advertisement. I am requesting that all of my remaining debt is taken care of at the advertised rate of 50 to 80% of the current balance be negoited and settled within the next month. As of date, most of the creditors have not been contacted or do not have any record of attempted negoition.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that my three credit cards enrolled in the J Hass Group debt services be contacted and that a negoitated amount be established at the 50 to 80% of the debt and that I am notified of the negoiation by April 13th prior to more funds being taken out of my account. I am also requesting that the credit card debt that has been transferred to a lawyer (court summons) be negoitated at the best rate possible (50 to 80%) and again that I am notified within the same time period.

Business Response: Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The letter from J.Hass in regards to this account clearly confirms the type of customer service I have received from them.  I do not accept this response because I have documentation that shows that I have sent paperwork when it was received.  I also have notes I have taken during conversations with J. Hass about my accounts.  In addition to this I have records that show that my funds paid during this time are not available for negoitation because they have been withdrawn for "fees".  I am disappointed that I trusted this company and believed that when they said they would help me work out my debt that I honestly thought they would.  I agreed to pay 15% of my debt to J. Hass to avoid legal consequences however; now I am out money I don't have plus I have been served with papers from a law office about debt that was to be handled by J. Hass and my debt is not paid. I have complied all my notes, fax documents, and other information on this account and will be faxing it to you. 

Regards,

******** ****


 

 

Business Response:

Mrs. **** has not stated whether she wishes to cancel her program and close her Meracord account or whether she wishes to remain committed to her contractual obligation and allow us to continue negotiating settlements on her behalf.  Her program is on hold pending her decision.  During holds we do not negotiate and Meracord will not pull payments.

Mrs. **** claims she should not have to send any information to J. Hass but that we should somehow just know to which collection agency her creditors have sent her accounts, and that we should just somehow know that she was served with a lawsuit (we have no record of her providing us with that information). 

There comes a time when we must all take responsibility for our actions (or inactions).  J. Hass Group representatives have told Ms. **** why we need her to send us all her correspondence in a timely manner and that information, again, is contained in her contract (Disclosure Addendum).  It is clear that she was aware of this need because she sent information on the Wells Fargo accounts but not GEMB or BofA (creditors we have successfully negotiated with to great benefit for our clients).

I would again request that Mrs. **** please contact our representatives to state her desire going forward.

Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID xxxx876, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

J. Hass Group was hired to settle our outstanding debt from our business that failed. We set up a contract on August 8, 2010 for four credit card accounts to be negoiated. The contract with the company was noted that we would be charged 15% of the total debt for their services, the total debt being $28,077.39 and 15% of that was recorded as $4,211.61. J. Hass did not work with our creditors to resolve the debt and therefore we received a lawsuit from one of the creditors. J. Hass dropped us after a complaint was made. They refunded the amount of money that was in our reserve account of around $2,000 but have failed to refund us the balance of the services not rendered. They settled one accout at $5,718.03 and so 15% of that amount is around $850 for their services. We have paid the J.Hass group $7,647.36 as of February 2012. I would like a refund of $8,011.36 which would reflect the following; 16 months of payment at $477.96 less the one credit card settled at 1,630 less the $2,000 refunded from the reserve acccount PLUS the difference that should have been paid to the lawyers of $3,955.58 (our additional expense since J. Hass failed to meet the deadline) and the $38.42 we had to pay in order to send the money to the lawyers to avoid court and more fees. The money should be refunded in a cashier's check to Patrici
Desired Settlement: Refund

Regards,


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

7/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/22/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Due to the limitted response space I will abbreviate my grievances. J Haas promised to settle all debts for 50% or less and more commonly 30% to 40%. J Haas told me to let my accounts become deliquent for them to be able to negotiate on my behalf. J Haas promised that they would contact all creditors to stop late fees and accruing interest. J Haas promised to negotiate settlements on my behalf with all creditors once I joined the program. What J Haas has done since I joined the program. They collected all of their fees in the first 24 months (of a 48 month program). They closed my first account after 13 months for 30% of the "original" balande. They closed a second account after 26 months for 36% of the "original" balance. I questioned why they took so long and they said they had to wait for reserves to be adequate. At this point I began to question their "practices" and learned: They do not contact any creditors until sufficient funds are available to negotiate settlements. My third account received a settlement offer based on a balance that had inflated by $2,000 because they never contacted them and fees and interest had been accruing since I initially let it become deliquent. So even though they claim the settlement is 43% of the "current" balance it is actually 60% of the "original" balance. I questioned the staus of the final account in my plan to learn what I feared most. This is the largest account and they have not done anything to negotiate a settlement and additional fees and interest has accrued. They are waiting for the reserve to build to negotiate which will not be adequate until the 48 months expires and even then it would take a 42% settlement offer of the "original" balance which will no doubt continue to grow by August 2013. They admit that they have no intent to negotiate accordingly until the reserves are adequate.

Desired Settlement: I want to discontinue my affiliation with J Haas and I want a refund of the fees I pre-paid to them. They have collected $4,354.29 in fees from me based on 15% of the original balances on my accounts of just over $29,000. I have paid 34 months worth of "payments" to date. The pro-rated portion of the fees already paid, that I want refunded is $1,269.94 wich is $4,352.20 / 48 (months of original agreement) x 14 (months remaining) = $1,269.94 I will handle the settlement of the remaining accounts.

Business Response: Good morning.  


We do not have any record of receiving the original complaint.  Please send me this person's complaint and I will be happy to respond.

Thank you,

S***** ******
J. Hass Group, L.L.C.

Business Response: Thank you.  We are presently working directly with Mr. *******.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/29/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
12/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/19/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
10/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/1/2011 Delivery Issues
9/23/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
9/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1