BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central, Northern and Western Arizona
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Personal and Business Checking, Savings, IRA’s, Roth, Simple/SEP IRA’s, Money Market, Home, Pool, Auto Loans, Investment Accounts, Insurance, Credit Cards, Tax Planning, Teachers TSA 403(b), Asset Allocation, Estate Planning, and 401(k) Rollover.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Desert Schools Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Desert Schools Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 40 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

40 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 17
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 20
Total Closed Complaints 40

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Desert Schools Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1939 in AZ Business started locally: 01/01/1939 Business incorporated: 03/25/1999 in AZ
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Adm.
1776 G Street N.W., Washington, D.C. 20456
Phone Number: (202) 682-9600

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Susan Frank, President/CEO Mr. Ron Amstutz, Executive Vice President Mr. Jeffrey D. Meshey, Senior Executive Vice President Mr. David Strachan, Executive Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Susan Frank, President/CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions

Alternate Business Names
Desert Schools Financial Services, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 1060 S. Watson Road

    Buckeye, AZ 85326

  • 10725 NW Grand Avenue

    Sun City, AZ 85351

  • 1245 E. Broadway Road

    Tempe, AZ 85282

  • 1262 N. Stapley Drive

    Mesa, AZ 85203

  • 13200 W. McDowell Road

    Goodyear, AZ 85338

  • 13770 W. Bell Road

    Surprise, AZ 85374

  • 1380 W. Elliot Road

    Tempe, AZ 85284

  • 13875 N. Northsight

    Scottsdale, AZ 85260

  • 148 N. 48th Street

    Phoenix, AZ 85034

  • 1525 N. Gilbert Road

    Gilbert, AZ 85234

  • 1606 S. Signal Butte

    Mesa, AZ 85206

  • 16772 W. Bell Road #111

    Surprise, AZ 85374

  • 1725 W. Hunt Hwy

    Queen Creek, AZ 85142

  • 17445 N. 79th Avenue

    Glendale, AZ 85308

  • 1825 W. Bell Road

    Phoenix, AZ 85023

  • 185 W Apache Trl

    Apache Jct, AZ 85120

  • 1949 W. Ray Road

    Chandler, AZ 85224

  • 20797 N. John Wayne Pkwy

    Maricopa, AZ 85139

  • 21655 N. Lake Pleasant Pkwy

    Peoria, AZ 85382

  • 2355 S. Alma School Road

    Mesa, AZ 85210

  • 23565 N. Scottsdale Road

    Scottsdale, AZ 85255

  • 2500 N. 44th Street

    Phoenix, AZ 85008

  • 2501 S. Market Street

    Gilbert, AZ 85296

  • 2501 W. Happy Valley Road #34

    Phoenix, AZ 85027

  • 2750 E. Germann Road

    Chandler, AZ 85286

  • 300 N. Beeline Hwy

    Payson, AZ 85541

  • 3423 E. Bell Road

    Phoenix, AZ 85032

  • 4329 W. Northern Avenue

    Glendale, AZ 85301

  • 4330 E. Southern Avenue

    Mesa, AZ 85206

  • 4505 E. McKellips Road

    Mesa, AZ 85215

  • 4619 E. Cactus Road

    Phoenix, AZ 85032

  • 4940 E. Ray Road

    Phoenix, AZ 85044

  • 5140 W. Baseline Road

    Laveen, AZ 85339

  • 5250 W. Indian School Road

    Phoenix, AZ 85031

  • 5290 S. Power Road

    Gilbert, AZ 85295

  • 5555 N. 7th Street #140

    Phoenix, AZ 85014

  • 5690 W. Thunderbird Road

    Glendale, AZ 85306

  • 5845 W. Bell Road

    Glendale, AZ 85308

  • 6131 E. Southern Avenue

    Mesa, AZ 85206

  • 6145 N. 35th Avenue

    Phoenix, AZ 85017

  • 6633 N. Black Canyon

    Phoenix, AZ 85015

  • 7502 W. Thomas Road

    Phoenix, AZ 85053

  • 7575 W. Lower Buckeye Road

    Phoenix, AZ 85043

  • 7975 W. Peoria

    Peoria, AZ 85345

  • 8220 Via Paseo del Norte

    Scottsdale, AZ 85258

  • 826 E. Union Hills #E

    Phoenix, AZ 85024

  • 857 N. Dobson Road

    Mesa, AZ 85201

  • 985 E. Riggs Road

    Chandler, AZ 85249

  • P.O. Box 2945

    Phoenix, AZ 85062

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In late January 2014, I applied for a car loan and was approved. Due to the fact that the car I had found and reserved was valued well below its ***** **** **** Value, I asked the representatives if it would be possible to do an immediate cash out loan. I was very specific as to my goals. They were: 1. Purchase the vehicle 2. pay the taxes and registration 3. due to the car being purchased "sight-unseen" have a little excess to ensure it could be put in to tip-top condition 4. pay off and consolidate excess debt, resulting in having one large payment, but no others. The representatives explained that they were unsure, and wanted to be 100% positive that the desired solution could be obtained, thus she took it to the managers and/or underwriters for confirmation. It was confirmed that this was possible. After over a month of dealing with out of state title issues, and this was not the fault of desert schools, I had finally, with the help of desert schools and the dealership from which I purchased the car, managed to get the title to an acceptable state, i.e. arizona would now accept the transfer of the Texas title. On the day that I am supposed to finalize my paperwork and have the car shipped, I was told that desert schools could not do what they had promised, but would still be able to obtain the loan to purchase the vehicle. Unfortunately, I had, after a month of planning and hours of due diligence, I had already set my financial situation up for what had been promised. As a result, I am now scrambling to reorganize again. This requires hundreds of hours and is not what I was looking to do. The personal and financial strain that this has created is unprecedented. I hope that a reasonable solution can be obtained.

Desired Settlement: I would like what was promised to me. A $36,000.00 dollar loan resulting in the agreed upon cash out and purchase of the vehicle.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. *******:
 
This letter is in response to the Better Business Bureau complaint submitted by our member ***** *. **** dated March 5, 2014.
 
We contacted Mr. **** to discuss his letter and explain the reason for our actions. From this conversation it was clear that a miscommunication did occur between our staff and Mr. ****. As a result of our discussion, we were able to explain the credit union's position and meet his needs with  alternate financing.
 
We appreciate the opportunity to address this issue. If you have any questions, please contact me at the number below.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/15/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used the institutions mobile banking deposit application on my android phone on Saturday 4/13/2013. It stated that my funds would be available to me the next business day. I called and spoke to supervisor ******** just after the deposit and she stated that funds would be available on Monday 4/15. I called after not seeing the deposit in my account on 4/15 and was told by **** ***** that it would not be available until tomorrow 4/16. This is 2 business days later and I explained that it was not acceptable. He then stated that there was nothing they could do and that they could not back out the transaction. I had need of the funds on 4/15 and will not be able to make obligations because of this mess.

Desired Settlement: If there are issues with the institution to whom I am obligated and they ask me to pay charges in addition to what I am obligated, I want Desert Schools to pay those charges.

Business Response:

I am writing in response to the complaint you recently filed with the Better Business Bureau regarding the service you received from Desert Schools. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.

In your complaint, you outlined your experience with our DS Mobile Deposit feature and what may appear as conflicting information you were provided by members of my team. After reviewing the recorded phone calls, I can certainly understand how the information you were provided may have been misunderstood. During the course of the first two calls into our <st1:place w:st="on"><st1:placename w:st="on">Member <st1:placename w:st="on">Assistance <st1:placetype w:st="on">Center, the representatives explained that the deposit you made would be available for you on the next business day. There was some discussion on whether a Saturday is a business day and it was clarified that Saturday's are considered "convenience days" since the Federal Reserve is not open on the weekends. Saturday is not a business day.

However, it may not have been further clarified that Monday would technically be the first business day for the deposit, meaning that your deposit would then be made available on Tuesday. I recognize this was explained during the calls you made on Monday, April 15. However, I can appreciate how this information was not helping you at that time since you were anticipating the funds to have been available for use. I apologize for any confusion and frustration you experienced in attempting to resolve this situation. I assure you the appropriate level of coaching will be conducted to help ensure a similar situation can be avoided.

We truly appreciate your willingness to share this issue so we can take the appropriate steps to correct it. I hope the information provided and actions taken meet or exceed your expectations.

Thank you for your continued membership with Desert Schools. If you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to call me directly at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

*** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Currently we have three accounts with Desert School FCU. Two accounts the problem is I have attempted to be upfront with DS FCU and told them I would bring both accounts current in August. Well they now wont except payment for our third account which is current as they are holding our account hostage so we can bring the other two accounts current. They want there money this month even though I told them I would bring them current in August. The rep Brittany who I spoke today 7/24 and Presley who I spoke to yesterday 7/23 would extremely rude and will not accept this month car payment without us paying the other two accounts. They continue to call and harass us when we just got behind due to medical .

Desired Settlement: Want to know why they will not accept payment for one account due to other accounts. HOSTAGE!

Business Response: Please see attached.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ******


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/23/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/16/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
9/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/29/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
8/25/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/23/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1