BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central, Northern and Western Arizona

This Business is not BBB accredited

Insight

Additional Locations

Phone: (480) 333-3000 Fax: (480) 813-4310 View Additional Phone Numbers 6820 S Harl Ave, Tempe, AZ 85283

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The company sells computers and accessories through retail outlets and mail order.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Insight include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Insight
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1986 in 0 Business started locally: 01/01/1986
Business Management
Mr. Mark Rogers, Associate General Counsel Mr. Eric Crown, Chief Executive Officer Mr. Tim Crown, President Mr. Erik Merkow, Director of Customer Programs Sherri West, Paralegal Scott Wright, Manager of Client Services
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Rogers, Associate General Counsel
Business Category

Computers - Dealers Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Computers Hardware, Software & Services

Alternate Business Names
Hard Drives International I D I - Insight Direct, Inc. I.D.I. - Insight Direct, Inc. Idi - Insight Direct, Inc. Insight Computers Insight Enterprises Insight Enterprises Inc Insight Software T C Computers.Com Tc Computers Toshiba Accessories Treasure Chest Computers

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1305 W Auto Dr

    Tempe, AZ 85284

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1325 W. 51st Street

    Tempe, AZ 85252

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2415 S Roosevelt St(warehouse)

    Tempe, AZ 85282

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6820 S Harl Ave

    Tempe, AZ 85283

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 78825

    Phoenix, AZ 85062

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (480) 350-1176(Phone)
  • (480) 350-1199(Phone)
  • (480) 350-1602(Phone)
  • (480) 350-1675(Phone)
  • (480) 488-0009(Phone)
  • (480) 733-2527(Phone)
  • (480) 902-1000(Phone)
  • (480) 902-1146(Phone)
  • (602) 902-1000(Phone)
  • (800) 776-7600(Phone)
  • (800) 848-9441(Phone)
  • (800) 859-5612(Phone)
  • (800) 998-8062(Phone)
  • (800) 998-8093(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
1/15/2014 Delivery Issues
8/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have received numerous unsolicited calls from Insight and have repeatedly asked to be placed on their "do not call" list and not receive calls in the future. They have not only not honored our request but have continued with repeated, harassing, bullying calls to multiple people in our firm. We have politely told them we are not interested in their services and to not call again, and yet the continue to call, are very rude and harassing and very unprofessional. PLEASE MAKE THEM STOP CALLING US.

Desired Settlement: PLEASE have them remove our number from their database and ensure they will never contact our offices again.

Business Response: Please accept our apologies for the numerous calls to your business. We have remedied the situation and taken your number off our call list. You should not receive any more calls. Again, we are sorry for any inconvenience to you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Made a purchase for two motherboards due to a computer issues. We ordered them and opted for an extremely high priced overnight shipping but five days later we had no tracking number no contact with the vendor. Both I and my VP called and we were told everything is okay. But come to find out there was a billing address issue and that needed to be resolved and still I was treated like I did not matter by the sales rep. All he did was take my shipping information and try to hang up on me. I will never use Insight again.

Desired Settlement: Still attempting to get the motherboards from the vendor due to time constraints.

Business Response: As the customer indicated, the credit card charge did not go through because of an issue with the billing address given when the order was placed.  The credit card was not charged.  Unfortunately, the product ordered is no longer available.  However, our sales team is reaching out to the customer to see if there is another product that we can offer.  We apologize that we were unable to fill the original order.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the external hard drive i bought (9) of them,all 320gb's do not sync to computer like all other harddrives or flashdrives of other manufacturers do...i try to call toshiba support,i get a one hour wait,then finally get someone who tells me i was connected to the wrong department,i get transferred to another line,after an hour on the phone,enduring gawd awful elevator music,i get another person telling me im on the wrong number,so another 40 mins of hell,i finally hear a recording telling me not to hang up,or hold the line,it repeats for several more minutes followed by an announcement that my call could not be connected,or completed as dialed,then it says to call the same number i called in the first place,and hangs up..

Desired Settlement: i was in the marines,can they use the building as target practice?..or tie them all up and make them listen to a couple hours of *** ********** cd's???

Business Response: We are sorry that Mr. ******* has had difficulty contacting Toshiba regarding his recently purchased external hard drives.  However, he has chosen the correct avenue for resolving these technical issues.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/25/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Insight.com advertised a HP ProLiant MicroServer at $111.27 since Friday March 30th, 2012. I placed two orders (********** and **********) for the product when the product shows over 200 units in stock. There was no any forms of communication from Insight.com since the orders were placed. Wednesday April 4th morning, I heard several of my friends who ordered the same product have received the order but my order status was still untouched. I had to call the customer service and was surprisingly told the order was cancelled even the website still shows 25 units in stock. The explanation from the customer support representative was very week and unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: Please ship the order.

Business Response:

We are very sorry that the order could not be filled.  Unfortunately, we were given a certain amount of product at the deeply discounted price.  The demand greatly exceeded the number of microservers available at the discounted price.  However, according to our standard terms and conditions stated on our website:

·         Accuracy of Data/Corrections. Insight obtains certain data directly from the manufacturer, publisher or supplier of Products and is not responsible for pricing, typographical or other errors in any such data. In addition, availability of third party Product is subject to change without notice. Insight reserves the right to cancel orders related to such errors or Product discontinuation or unavailability, and to correct this web site at any time, including pricing errors not detected until after Insight's confirmation or e-mail response.

·         Prices/Payment Terms. Prices are subject to change at any time prior to Insight's acceptance of your order. Payment terms are at Insight's sole discretion and all orders are subject to Insight's credit approval. You must provide appropriate credit references upon request and authorize us to obtain credit history from such references. You agree to pay the total purchase price for the Products, plus tax and shipping (to the extent shipping is not prepaid by you, including shipping charges billed to Insight as a result of using your carrier account number or a carrier selected by you). Invoices are due and payable within the time frame and in the currency specified on the invoice, measured from the date of invoice. You agree to pay interest on all past-due amounts at the lower of one and one-half percent (1.5%) per month or the maximum rate allowed by law. You will be responsible for Insight's costs of collection for any payment default, including, but not limited to, court costs, filing fees and attorneys' fees. In addition, if payments are not received as described above, Insight reserves the right to suspend further deliveries until payment is received.

(emphasis added)

Customers whose orders had to be cancelled received the following email:

Thank you for placing your order for part# ******-*** with Insight.  Unfortunately we will not be able to fulfill your order due to exceeded demand on this one time bargain item.  Please refer to our terms of sale page for further information.  For more deals you can also check out our inventory blowout page linked below as well.

Terms of Sale

https://www.insight.com/pages/legal.web#

Inventory Blowout

https://www.insight.com/search/inventoryblowout.web

Orders were filled on a first come, first served basis.  Again, we are sorry about the limited supply.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/25/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/1/2012, Insight advertised on their website (www.insight.com) a sale of the HP Proliant Microserver model N40L for $111.99 each. I ordered two via their website. At the time when I placed my order, there were 291 units in stock. The order went through. I received an email invoice. Insight also put an authorization for $266.25 on the credit card that I used for this purchase. On 4/2/2012, following the link on the email invoice, I visited the order status page on Insight's website. It showed that my order was completed, but no shipment tracking information was available. On 4/3/2012, I revisited their website for shipment tracking information, but could not find the order! All evidence of my order was removed. I called Insight to inquire. Without asking for my order information, the customer rep immediately told me that if my inquiry was about the HP Microserver, my order was cancelled. He told me that they made a mistake in the price, and could not honor the order. He said that the sale price was only applicable to the first 266 units sold, and they were all gone within the first 41 minutes. I was suspicious, because without knowing my order number, how did he know that I was not someone who ordered one of the first 266 units? I think he was lying. I don't think they honor any order at all. Even as we spoke, Insight's website was still showing 28 units of this server in stock. The rep then proceeded to offer me one of these units at the current price of $312. I did not accept this offer. I think in the case where a merchant made an honest pricing mistake, they should still honor the price in good faith. By cancelling my order without an email notification, and offering me the same item at almost three times the price, I consider this a bad business practice and a scam.

Desired Settlement: I think Insight needs to honor their advertised price of $111.99, even though it could be an honest pricing mistake. If this is not possible, I would not want to do business with this company ever again. I would need my online account, including my address, phone number, email, and credit card information, permanently removed from this merchant's computer systems.

Business Response:

We are very sorry that the order could not be filled.  Unfortunately, we were given a certain amount of product at the deeply discounted price.  The demand greatly exceeded the number of microservers available at the discounted price.  However, according to our standard terms and conditions stated on our website:

·         Accuracy of Data/Corrections. Insight obtains certain data directly from the manufacturer, publisher or supplier of Products and is not responsible for pricing, typographical or other errors in any such data. In addition, availability of third party Product is subject to change without notice. Insight reserves the right to cancel orders related to such errors or Product discontinuation or unavailability, and to correct this web site at any time, including pricing errors not detected until after Insight's confirmation or e-mail response.

·         Prices/Payment Terms. Prices are subject to change at any time prior to Insight's acceptance of your order. Payment terms are at Insight's sole discretion and all orders are subject to Insight's credit approval. You must provide appropriate credit references upon request and authorize us to obtain credit history from such references. You agree to pay the total purchase price for the Products, plus tax and shipping (to the extent shipping is not prepaid by you, including shipping charges billed to Insight as a result of using your carrier account number or a carrier selected by you). Invoices are due and payable within the time frame and in the currency specified on the invoice, measured from the date of invoice. You agree to pay interest on all past-due amounts at the lower of one and one-half percent (1.5%) per month or the maximum rate allowed by law. You will be responsible for Insight's costs of collection for any payment default, including, but not limited to, court costs, filing fees and attorneys' fees. In addition, if payments are not received as described above, Insight reserves the right to suspend further deliveries until payment is received.

(emphasis added)

Customers whose orders had to be cancelled received the following email:

Thank you for placing your order for part# ******-*** with Insight.  Unfortunately we will not be able to fulfill your order due to exceeded demand on this one time bargain item.  Please refer to our terms of sale page for further information.  For more deals you can also check out our inventory blowout page linked below as well.

Terms of Sale

https://www.insight.com/pages/legal.web#

Inventory Blowout

https://www.insight.com/search/inventoryblowout.web

Orders were filled on a first come, first served basis.  Again, we are sorry about the limited supply.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/25/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ********** HP ProLiant MicroServer - Turion II Neo N40L 1.5 GHz Advertised Price $111.27291 Units in stock when order placedOrder Canceled by insight. Was told that if I wanted to purchase new price was $360Bait & Switch advertising

Desired Settlement: Honor your pricing comitments

Business Response:

We are very sorry that the order could not be filled.  Unfortunately, we were given a certain amount of product at the deeply discounted price.  The demand greatly exceeded the number of microservers available at the discounted price.  However, according to our standard terms and conditions stated on our website:

·         Accuracy of Data/Corrections. Insight obtains certain data directly from the manufacturer, publisher or supplier of Products and is not responsible for pricing, typographical or other errors in any such data. In addition, availability of third party Product is subject to change without notice. Insight reserves the right to cancel orders related to such errors or Product discontinuation or unavailability, and to correct this web site at any time, including pricing errors not detected until after Insight's confirmation or e-mail response.

·         Prices/Payment Terms. Prices are subject to change at any time prior to Insight's acceptance of your order. Payment terms are at Insight's sole discretion and all orders are subject to Insight's credit approval. You must provide appropriate credit references upon request and authorize us to obtain credit history from such references. You agree to pay the total purchase price for the Products, plus tax and shipping (to the extent shipping is not prepaid by you, including shipping charges billed to Insight as a result of using your carrier account number or a carrier selected by you). Invoices are due and payable within the time frame and in the currency specified on the invoice, measured from the date of invoice. You agree to pay interest on all past-due amounts at the lower of one and one-half percent (1.5%) per month or the maximum rate allowed by law. You will be responsible for Insight's costs of collection for any payment default, including, but not limited to, court costs, filing fees and attorneys' fees. In addition, if payments are not received as described above, Insight reserves the right to suspend further deliveries until payment is received.

(emphasis added)

Customers whose orders had to be cancelled received the following email:

Thank you for placing your order for part# 658553-001 with Insight.  Unfortunately we will not be able to fulfill your order due to exceeded demand on this one time bargain item.  Please refer to our terms of sale page for further information.  For more deals you can also check out our inventory blowout page linked below as well.

Terms of Sale

https://www.insight.com/pages/legal.web#

Inventory Blowout

https://www.insight.com/search/inventoryblowout.web

Orders were filled on a first come, first served basis.  Again, we are sorry about the limited supply.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved