BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central, Northern and Western Arizona

This Business is not BBB accredited

Brillare Hairdressing Academy

Additional Locations

Fax: (480) 994-8319 301 E Bethany Home Rd Ste C275, Phoenix, AZ 85012 http://www.brillare.com ! There is an alert on Brillare Hairdressing Academy !

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a cosmetology school for hair cutting and coloring.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Brillare Hairdressing Academy
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 13, 2004 Business started: 06/08/1995 in DE Business incorporated: 06/22/2011 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Board of Cosmetology
1721 E. Broadway Road, Tempe AZ 85282
http://www.cosmetology.state.az.us
Phone Number: 480.784.4539
Fax Number: 480.784.4962

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Christa Jones, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Christa Jones, Manager
Business Category

Beauty Schools Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities Beauty Salons

Alternate Business Names
Anaphora Anaphora, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15147 N Scottsdale Rd Ste H-300

    Scottsdale, AZ 85254 (480) 994-4222

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15210 S 50th St Ste 150

    Phoenix, AZ 85044 (480) 940-5300

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    301 E Bethany Home Rd Ste C275

    Phoenix, AZ 85012

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

According to information in BBB files, this business is no longer in business.


Complaint Detail(s)

2/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/8/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started school on 9/10/2013. My school funds were disbursed on 8/25/2013. I am scheduled to go on the clinic floor, but I don't have my full kit to perform services such as a Vidsl Sassoon color book and my entire sheer kit (approximately$1600 in value). It has bern months and several conversations of different excuses. I'm expected to perform client services with " lenders". My kit was paid for in full on 8/25/2013.

Desired Settlement: I want the rest of my kit at a discounted price. I want an honest explanation as well.

Business Response:

brillare

hairdressing academy

NOV 2 2 2013

November 22, 2013

Mr. **** ****

Business Relations

Better Business Bureau of Greater Phoenix

**** ** **** ******

******** ** *****

Re:       Brillare Hairdressing Academy: Response to Complaint from Ms. ***** ***
Better Business Bureau Complaint Management 1D# 9806054

Dear Mr. Doss,

I am writing in response to the Bureau's November 17, 2013 communication regarding the about
referenced complaint from Ms. ***** ***, a student enrolled at our Scottsdale campus.

We are adjusting Ms. ***'s account, per her request for resolution: She will receive the entire kit at no
cost.

Regarding the shears, Ms. *** should have her sheers by the time she reads this response, or within a day
or two thereafter. We have been assured of that by the supplier.

Regarding Ms. ***'s scheduled move to the Clinic Floor and the need for her to have the Sassoon Colour
book, we are working to make that happen too. To be honest, we do not have a definitive date on the
latter, and would ask that Ms. *** bear with us on this issue. She should know, however, that she will
get her book. In the meantime, please know that the absence of the Sassoon book does not in any way
affect her work on the Clinic Floor. She will have access to the instructor, demonstrations, invited
artist/stylists, tools and supplies, and supervised on-hands experience with clients, none of which is
dependent on having the book.

I believe that we have addressed all of Ms. ***'s concerns, and honestly responded to each, as she asked.
Thank you for bringing them to our attention, and for your assistance in resolving this matter.

Sincerely,

******* ******
CEO

Cc:       **** **** ****, VP Compliance & Regulatory Affairs, and Brillare Academy contact with BBB

Anaphora, LLC dba Brillare Hairdressing Academy
*** **** ******* **** ***** ***** ***** * ******** ** ****** p.###-###-#### | f.###-###-####

****************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started at Brillare Hairdressing Academy on June 3rd 2013. I was told upon enrollment that we would receive our cosmetology kits the first day of school. Myself and another student was told that they have not received them yet and it would be the following week. The 2nd week passed and still no kits and no books. I continued to ask and I was eventually told that they were on back order and it would be about 3 weeks. The day class that started prior to our class is going on the 8th week with no books or kits. They broke my contract. They charged my financial aid 3,200 for kit that we did not receive. I am no told that if I wish to withdraw myself I would be charged. I feel that it is unjust, since they originally broke the contract with straight up lies. They should of never started students knowing that the kits and books are on back order. I felt I was played. How am I suppose to learn how to do hair with no tools or books. I know have to find another school to go to, so I can proceed with my dreams and goals on becoming a cosmetologist.

Desired Settlement: I do not want to be charged for anything, since they wasted my time and breaking the contract on their end. I feel they should apologize to myself and other students, that they lied too. They need to get things together before having students start school. Be honest with everyone

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.