BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central, Northern and Western Arizona

BBB Accredited Business since

Larry Green Chevrolet Oldsmobile, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (928) 634-2227 Fax: (928) 634-3144 2050 E. Rodeo Drive, Cottonwood, AZ 86326 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.larrygreenchevrolet.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is a new and pre-owned vehicle sales and service company.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Larry Green Chevrolet Oldsmobile, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Larry Green Chevrolet Oldsmobile, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Larry Green Chevrolet Oldsmobile, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 23, 1993 Business started: 02/01/1991 Business started locally: 02/01/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department Of Motor Vehicles
1801 W. Jefferson, Phoenix AZ 85007
http://www.dot.state.az.us/MVD/mvd.htm
Phone Number: 602-255-0072

Business Management
Mr. Lawrence W. Green, President Ms. Pamela L. Lulek, (former)Business Manager Ms. Corinne Piccirilli, Business Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service - Equipment & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Green, Larry Chevrolet, Oldsmobile, Geo, Inc. Larry Green Chevrolet, Oldsmobile, Geo, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 2050 E. Rodeo Drive

    Cottonwood, AZ 86326

  • P.O. Box 1839

    Cottonwood, AZ 86326

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There are many points I'd like to list as complaints but this tool does not allow that. Here is the data I have collected: Found vehicle I wanted online at ***** ***** Chevrolet in Cottonwood, a couple of hours away. I purchased the same exact vehicle 2 years before for my son from ***** ***** for the same price as this truck. It has been amazing with only minor age issues. Called to see if it was still available before driving up. spoke to salesman ****. asked for *** ***. He read car fax to me over phone: ONE REAR END ACCIDENT 4 years ago. (signed witness statement the he confirmed this in person at the dealership when I asked to see it.) Drove there and asked that truck be put on lift to examine under carriage. Noticed Transmission fluid all over undercarriage. Was told by salesman that they fixed a transmission problem and fluid was because they hadn't wiped it off yet. (signed witness statement) signed paperwork 5/25/2013 Left there in my own vehicle to drive back to Phoenix. Noticed when stopping for a meal that car fax was not included in paperwork. Drove 25 minutes back to dealership to get car fax promised by ****. Noticed there were TWO accidents, not one and the other accident willfully withheld was a Front end collision. Since I had spent hours there with the paperwork I agreed to take it anyway thinking that any major issues would be covered by the Service Contract I was purchasing from ****** ******* ******* ****** ***** (**) vehicle delivered to my home 5/27/2013 ****** ******* ******* ****** ***** (**) called me multiple times because they could not get clear title from dealership to release the check to them. They were asked repeatedly to re-fax information to the dealership that they had already provided in order to get a clear title. They asked me to call the dealership. I called ***** ***** several times and they kept telling me the bank was at fault as the they had sent the bank everything the needed and tbat the bank would not provide them with something they needed. The title the bank had received had a lien against it. I asked ***** ***** dealership to come pick up the truck I was tired of doing all of the work for them. **** and **** (finance) assured me they would get it worked out. (Signed statement from ****** ******* Bank Manager as I was in their office when this conversation occurred). I met ***** ***** courier at ****** ******* on 6/7/2013 to do the transaction. 6/20 the engine light came on in my truck and the transmission fluid was all over the garage floor the next morning, (6/21). I called my local ***** ****** to get it in for diagnosis They diagnosed it as broken transmission part and another part (broken motor mount) as being pre-existing conditions. They said ***** ***** would have had to have broken the part or seen that it was broken when they were "fixing" the transmission leak. The broken motor mount had rust on the broken part indicating it was that way for awhile. (signed statement from witness 20 yr Dodge transmission mechanic.) (signed statement from Purchased Service contract Company inspection Mechanic who refused to cover it as it was a per-existing condition). I reported it to sales manager **** ***** at ***** ***** Chevrolet and gave him ***** ***** Service Advisor name / number. Every time I called ***** *****, they hadn't heard from ***** ******. I called ***** ****** and they kept telling me they couldn't get ahold of anyone at ***** *****. Oddly enough I had no issues. Again I told them to come get the truck. They suddenly were able to get ahold of and work with ***** *****. Power dodge gave ***** ***** a substantial discount to do the repairs. ***** ***** made me pay 1/2. 3 Days after the repairs were completed, the engine light went on again and the truck was slamming into gear. I took it back to ***** ***** thinking they would fix it under their repair warranty. Per ***** ***** it is a different pre-existing issue. Confirmed by Service Contract Inspection Mechanic. Tried to get a decision maker at ***** ***** to talk with me about this. Called and left messages for ***** ******** General Manager 3 times. No response. ***** ***** called and left messages multiple times. No response. I finally outlined my intentions of filing complaints if I did not get a response in last voicemail then called again. He got on the phone this time. I outlined the situation and he said he would get "this staff's side of the story" the next day and call me back the following day. He did not. I left him a voice mail of my intentions to file complaints if I did not hear from him by the end of the next day. He called. We discussed it and he told me lies that his staff said I knew of transmission leaks and was okay with it! He said I needed to go to ***** ***** to fix. He said the truck issues were outside of the lemon law because he counts the day I signed the papers as the date of sale, not the day the check and title changed hands in an actual transaction. I DID NOT DRIVE THE VEHICLE UNTIL THE DATE OF TRANSACTION BECAUSE THEY MADE ME TAKE IT THROUGH EMISSIONS! I could not even do that without a title. I paid for the truck, I paid over 500.00 (my 1/2 of pre-exisiting repairs and now it will be 1800.00 more to fix the 2nd round of per-existing repairs. Their practices of lying about issues / repairs / car faxes / clear titles, etc. are unethical, unprofessional and these DO fall into the Lemon Law guidelines and are their responsibility.

Desired Settlement: I want the repairs done to the transmission by power dodge paid for by ***** ***** Chevrolet. I would never trust ***** ***** Chevrolet to fix anything properly. I want the 500.00 I previously paid for the pre-existing repairs refunded to me.

Business Response:

I will keep my response short and objective.  At the time the Dakota was taken to ********** it had exceeded the 15 day 500 mile implied warranty, as per their documentation.  Our dealership was not required to participate in the repair work done at autonation on June 25th 2013 but we did it as a goodwill gesture to our customer.  If the customer is not happy with the work performed at ********** then they should pursue having that work corrected by **********.  Based on documentation provided to us by ********** the second complaint dated July 25th 2013 had a diagnosis that is completely unrelated to any leak in the transmission.  **********'s service advisor also noted that some of the repair work was declined by the warranty company due to a lack of coverage for those specific repairs.  This warranty was not purchased from our dealership.  It is our determination that we did our part to try to exceed our customers expectations.  In order for us to consider any further participation the vehicle would be required to return to our service facility for our technicians to check and advise.  Thank you.

Business Response:

Our dealership did indeed have the title and lien release to the vehicle at the time it was sold.  The transaction was consummated on the day the paperwork was signed but regardless of that fact there was almost 1000 miles put on the vehicle before it was taken to **********.  Our obligation is only for the first 500 miles but again we participated in the repairwork as a goodwill gesture.  We will consider further participation but as stated before the vehicle must come to our dealership for further evaluation of the customer complaints.  It should be understandable that if we already paid for half of the repairs at ********** and our customer is still not satisfied with those repairs then we are not willing to do that again.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I'm not sure how they can continue to lie when my bank; ****** ******* waited for two weeks to get a clear title.  I have a notorized signed statement from the bank manager.  The truck had been sitting in my driveway NOT used for TWO WEEKS. They suddenly acquired a clear title.  They should have paid for ALL of the repairs NOT half, since AGAIN it is on several expert witness statements that the issue was pre-existing.  It is the same issue I questioned them about on the day I had them put it on the lift and saw transmission fluid all over the undercarriage. They said they had "fixed" the transmission.   BY LAW a transaction date is the day money changes hands NOT when I sign a paper and have to wait 2 weeks to get a clear title before that transaction can occur.  They did not say warranty was 500 miles they said 15 days.  It broke in 14 days after TRANSACTION date, which is also the LEMON LAW.  Does this also allow them to LIE about the accident on the Car fax?  I WILL go to court over this.



They delivered the truck to me which accounts for 81 of those miles. 

Regards,

******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my girlfriend wanted to buy a car from larry green chevrolet in cottonwood az. ***** wanted to take the car home for the night to test the car out, and for me to give the car a mechanical inspection at home due to my physical disability. marty the sales man made ***** put insurance on the car, and register the car before before she could take it home for the night and said it was az law.***** did not have a check from the bank yet,and the salesman was making this a done deal..this 2008 cobalt was a piece of junk, the car needed $2500 worth of work, the car was suppose to be in excellent condition and put through their garage for any repairs that were needed....because ***** was a woman the salesman can take advantage of her? when we brought the vehicle back the next day there was another salesman involved (todd) that was rude like the first one, todd was lying to us (telling us that customers were #1 and that what makes the business what it is today)...i was in pain, so i went outside to sit in the sun to warm my left arm up, ***** and todd came back out with info from the bank about what car they would finance, i told them i was in pain and needed to go home. todd kept pushing for a sale on a car, and walked ***** over to anther junk car and gave his sales gimmick to sarah. i walked over opened the door of this car the shifting boot is all worn, so it shows how the car was treated its whole life.the outside of the car looked like it was 10 years old. todd say chad what do you think? i point to the broken mirror and and said yeah,todd was talking to me while i am staring at the wiper blades that were junk, and told todd the car is junk for $6800 and a pile....i said to ***** are you ready to go,and started walking away, todd starts yelling at me throwing his arms in the air....my pain level went from 8 to a 20 from todd yelling at me and made my heart rate pick up which in turn makes my blood move more and pools in my hand and wrist (looks like i have a purple glove on ..***** went inside to get her $80 deposit, todd is still trying to sell her a car, i went in and had to get ***** and tell todd he is rude and alot of other choice words for him....i showed todd my shoulder muscles are even tighter now from the altercation and tells me to lower my voice...but its alright to yell at me?...i have been in bed for 4 days now to calm down my rsd and let the purple color go away...todd and marty need to be fired and someone with respect given his manager job..there are elderly people that would think because larry green chevrolet is a dealer, the cars are in excellent condition and buy one with no warranty are being taken advantage of,....please excuse my crude writing, i type with one arm and in pain...

Desired Settlement: ***** needs her $10 back for the one day of insurance on the car.....money for my pain and suffering from my crps/rsd and mental distress.....

Business Response: Proof of insurance is required by the state of Arizona.  If ***** woul like to bring her receipt to the dealership we will be happy to discuss reimbursement of the $10 with her.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9386291, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

**** *******


 

***** does not have a car to go there, so a check should of been sent through the mail. the insurance should of went through the dealer for a overnight test of the car. i am still waiting for a response from mvd. there is no sorry to me for your uncouth salesman how he treated me?

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used 2004 Toyota Sequoia about 4 months ago. I was told the vehicle had a new paint job. Within 2 weeks after the purchase I noticed paint peeling off the roof. When I notified them, they said that section had not been painted. I believed the complete car had been painted. The peeling has continued since then and extends down the length of the vehicle on each side of the roof. they will not repair this problem at their expense, which I believe is the correct action to do. They said it will cost me $400 to paint those sections. This is the 2nd vehicle I have purchased from them, but will certainly never do business with them again. I have contscted the manager Steve Eperson several times, but am not receiving any response at this time.

Desired Settlement: Auto should be painted to repair the peeling sections.

Business Response: I spoke to Mr. ******* last week and we set an appointment for him to bring his vehicle in to our collision center early next month for us to repair his vehicle.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *******


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our vehicle was traded on Feb 11, 2012.....I am still waiting for payoff of the traded vehicle to be finalized, which has been promised numerous times. Many phone calls made to dealership and talked with salesperson, finance person, who always promised to find out what was the hold up and call me back. One person named ***** did take the info and call me back, only to say it has been paid off and I should hear something soon from the bank. I called back again, 3rd time this week, and now they say it still has not been paid off. It is March 23, 2012. We even paid additional money to the dealership to help with the new financing on the trade in. No one in this dealership has any credibility whatsoever in what they say. Word of mouth is a powerful tool in a dealership business and this will be a huge negative response.

Desired Settlement: I need the truck that was traded in to be paid off like was promised over a month ago!

Business Response: We have been in daily communication with the customer over the last week and they are aware that the dealership has been unable to pay off the trade in because we have not yet received proceeds on the vehicle they purchased from us.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** *****


Unfortunately, whoever wrote the response from Larry Green is not telling the truth.  They absolutely have not been in daily communication over the past week.  Yes, we are painfully aware  they have not paid off the trade because they have not been capable of completing the deal on the vehicle we purchased.....We were assured on March 3, 2012, by putting additional money down they would be able to make the deal work and all the additional checks we provided have been cashed with still no final result.   I  left a message Saturday March 31 to please have Travis call me back so I could get a copy of the paycheck stub to their office. with an additional two calls Monday April 2 for ***** ******** to call me back with no response.  They asked for additional information which I was able to get and they don't even have the courtesy to call me back.  Unbelievable.

 

Business Response: The payoff check has already been sent to the bank.  This is a closed matter.  Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/8/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues