BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/2006

Renewal by Andersen of Central Illinois

Phone: (309) 693-6707Fax: (309) 693-2721View Additional Phone Numbers7704 N Grand Prairie Dr, PeoriaIL 61615-9242View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/2006

BBB has determined that Renewal by Andersen of Central Illinois meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Renewal by Andersen of Central Illinois' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
09/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
With an approximate cost of $34,000 the installation job was so poor that boards are falling off the house.Also improper building practiced were used.
May 27, 2010 we signed and agreement with ******** to reside our house with Renewal by Andersen, a subsidary of Prairie Home Alliance. The contract stated construction would start in to 8 weeks and it would take two weeks to finish. All Hardie manufacturing recommendations would be followed. Numerous times during installation I had called ******** concerning the shortcuts which were being done and not following installation practices set out in the contract which were required by James Hardie Siding for warranty purposes. After completing the job in November 2010 it was noticed that several issues concerning window caulking were not correct which would void the warranty. Numerous phone call were made either being ignored or delayed. Finally after a certified letter was sent in which I finally got a response.Also at that time they were to correct this problem plus one area of the trim boards were incorrectly installed. The next spring the boards were replaced in near proper position and at that time it was found that to remedy the incorrect caulking of windows, the siding was cut, never caulked nor flashed, required by Hardie specifications. Many calls by myself were made concerning this to not only PHA but also a Hardie manufacturing representive. Another contractor was notified to look at the installation job and several areas of improper installation were pointed out plus it was noted that the trim boards were all fastened incorrectly letting them bow and come loose from the house. A Hardie representative was requested to visit the work sight to check if it was a warranty issue. A letter from Hardie stated that it was not a warranty issue but an installation issue. Again after phone calls over the next months, the president of the company *************, along with ******** (of whom most of my conversations were with)came to our house to inspect the claims that the trim boards were loose and starting to fall off the house. Their conclusion was that the job was not up to their standards and they would correct the problem and "make it right". As a result of my distrust in the company, ***** offered to install Gutter Helment on the house as sort of a peace offering, which was completed in a very short time. During this visit it was decided that with winter approaching, the job would be started the following May, 2013. Near the middle of May I had heard nothing so again a phone call was made to ******** in which he suggested we wait until June to start as it was raining frequently. I agreed. Well, June came and past, no work nor calls were received so another call was made to **. The story now is they are working on the fastening method to install the trim boards, as improperly sized nails were used according to a letter from Hardie.It is now August and still no word on when the job will be started. We made our payment in full in check according to their contract. We need to have this problem resolved quickly.

Desired Settlement
Either complete the job as soon as possible as outlined in the initial contract which has been paid utilizing standard practice codes and proper workmanship or hire another qualified company to complete the job correctly and expeditiously.

08/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
sliding doors were installed in February. installed wrong product(cheaper door) and we found out by calling another renewal business with the sticker#
we contacted renewal and let them know we found out we received the lesser door, and they did not seem surprised. the windows were( and still are) stained with paint and one is scratched and have been promised SEVERAL times someone would be out to work on them when the weather changed(that was in MARCH) we have called several times, and yet to get them fixed! the painting on the outside they had done was AWFUL and someone is supposed to come out and fix(hopefully in the next few weeks) we feel IF MY HUSBAND HAD NOT TAKEN THE STICKER # OFF THE DOOR, we would have had to pay the higher price for the lesser doors!(we wonder how many times they had pulled this on people) they did not seem surprised at all, as a matter of fact, we have not heard from ONE representative of the company! they came out several times to sell the doors to us but now that we figured out what they did.....NOT A WORD!(***** OR *** need to call us!! someone FINALLY called today (july 9th) and said they were coming out, but I will believe it when I see it!!!!

Desired Settlement
we want someone to show up and look at the doors...explain to us how we ended up with the wrong ones, and look at the problems we have...and I don't know.....MAYBE APOLOGIZE!! WE SPENT $12,000 on windows for the rest of the house about 3 years ago, so you think they would treat us a little better!

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@rbaoci.com
It is true that we did sell the wrong door. It is also true that this was not intentional by our Representative. We did so b/c the exterior color (the customer was wanting) is unavailable in other units. As the product was ordered, the system defaulted to the current unit the customer has. There is no difference in quality of these two solutions. Upon receiving this information, we apologized for the mistake on our end and realized what the mistake was. At that point we offered a cost reduction of $1,000 per door to keep the current product.

As the scratches were found they were already installed. Our team (including the homeowner) felt that painting them would be a great alternative (also approved process by Andersen). At that point our Painter wanted to wait for 55 degree days (consistent for more than 24 hours)...that took time. During this process, our painter offered them to tint the color to closer match the siding. We had no problem with that even though it was a higher cost. Our finisher agreed to make a paint match and have the customer sign off on that (this took 3 weeks for Mr. ******** to sign off on). Due to the color being scratched we offered $300 off for that problem also.

As this was happening my team and I spoke of this weekly. All the while I was never contacted for any reason, nor had any reason to think this wasn't being handled efficiently. On July 18th I received a call from my office that **** ******** wanted to talk to me. I called her just before my appointment and we spoke in depth regarding the process and problems. During the conversation, she wanted to know where she stood with the bill so I clarified all of the adjustments and reasons for delays. She seemed to understand what had happened at this point.

During the conversation July 18th, she mentioned that we tried to buff out a scratch in the glass and we happened to be unsuccessful. Knowing the painters were coming to finish the door. I suggested ordering a new panel to fix the problem (at no cost). She felt this would also work. The plan was to paint what was installed and then when the new panel arrived we would install it to her schedule.

This product arrived successfully 8/1/13 and is being painted. Yet our paint shop we use is on Vacation this week and since the ********'s are on vacation next week...we set this install to finish things on 8/23/13 per the Homeowners Request.

I did ask her if she was happy at this point and she admitted she was. I also explained that we were -$910 on this job and that is before final labor and painting has been paid. This was in no way an attempt to make the customer feel guilty, yet I wanted to be clear how we charged appropriately for the project. And in no way a "Bait-&-Switch" tactic.

Per our last conversation I had mentioned that I was contacted by the BBB and asked what is was regarding (since I felt we were making every attempt to make our customer happy). **** explained a breakdown in communication. The problem was when our Production Manager ***** ******* and I would call for the next step and leave a message, she wouldn't hear back. This was a fault on our end also. **** would receive a voice mail and delegate the work to be done. This is something we quickly corrected on our end.

All this being said...we have had a difficult road to try and manage on this job-site. **** has agreed to call me directly with any future issues and can probably attest to the fact I will do any to make my customers happy or die trying!

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows, Doors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/17/2006Business started: 08/01/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Sam Heer (Owner/President)
Number of Employees

12

Business Category

Windows, Doors

Products & Services

This firm offers doors and windows for new construction and home remodeling.

Industry Tips
Home Improvement

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Renewal by Andersen of Central Illinois

7704 N Grand Prairie Dr

Peoria, IL 61615-9242

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7704 N Grand Prairie Dr 

    Peoria, IL 61615-9242(309) 693-6707
    (309) 699-9517
    (866) 693-6707

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Renewal by Andersen of Central Illinois is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (309) 699-9517
  • (866) 693-6707
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Windows

Home Improvement
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.