BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2012

TruGreen

(217) 483-5223View Additional Phone Numbers10079 Palm Rd, GlenarmIL 62536-6621

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2012

BBB has determined that TruGreen meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised TruGreen's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on TruGreen

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
08/19/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In March this year, I cancelled, in writing and by phone, the service I had with TruGreen. I have hired another service that also does snow removal.
In March of this year, I received a post card stating that Lawn service would be starting soon. Since there was still snow on the ground, and another family member had offered to do my lawn service for a cheaper price, I called the phone number on the post card to cancel service with TruGreen. I was told this was a national service and to call the local number. I called the local phone number (XXX-XXX-XXXX), but there was only a recording and I left a message that I wanted my service canceled and gave my address. Thinking I would make sure they got my message to cancel service, I also wrote to the Glenarm IL address and canceled the service. One day I notice a little sign in my yard that TruGreen had treated the grass. I called the Glenarm office again and talked to one the employees and stated my yard was being serviced by another lawn care company. I also explained that I had canceled their service in March earlier this year. She said that was fine, they would cancel my service and there would be NO charge. Now I am receiving Notices from an outside collection agency in Delaware, Transworld Systems. I have also written to them to protest.

Desired Settlement
Can you help stop the strong arm tactics of this predatory business, that won't take NO for an answer. Cancel my service and see that I have a zero balance with the outside collection agency account closed.

Business' Initial Response
TruGreen apologies for the tardiness of cancelling Mr.*******'s account.
The account has been closed and account has been credited. Transworld has been notified as well.Thank you,
***** ******
General Manager

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/28/2013Billing / Collection Issues
09/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Complaint re current condition of Weeds in treated grass et al
Reported to Trugreen customer service my issues that despite the grass had been partially sprayed, there were and has been and still are weeds coming through even after 2 treatments in one week.

Have now left four messages through Trugreen complaints department over a period of 7 days. Trugreen have told me to expect a call within 24 hrs each time. I have never been contacted.

I pay Trugreen to provide pre emergent weed control, targeted weed control and fertilization to help keep my grass green and weed free. Trugreen also offer on their website a "healthy lawn guarantee" .

It is impossible for the Trugreen company to offer this when they will not return a call or respond to one of my many complaints. I would like to report them for "False advertising on their website" and for not fulfilling their contractual obligations.

Desired Settlement
Put right what they have so far failed to do and be held responsible for claims on their website which are plainly deceptions.

Business' Initial Response
Local management has spoken with customer and meeting customer next week.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept their response. Local management has not spoken with the customer, I have received no calls from TruGreen. If I missed their call, I received no telephone messages. There is no meeting scheduled that we have been made aware of. Another employee from the company in a treatment truck came by the house with no previous appointment, before this situation was reported. He had no management authority and did nothing to address our concerns. I made an additional call to speak with the rep who signed us on, but no I received no return call.

Business' Final Response
Local management has spoken with customer and detailed the extent of conditions of lawn and recommendations for fall season.

06/20/2014Problems with Product / Service
12/10/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Weed Control Service, Lawn & Tree Care, Lawn Maintenance, Tree Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/09/2001Business started: 01/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tommy Wheeler (General Manager)
Number of Employees

35

Business Category

Weed Control Service, Lawn & Tree Care, Lawn Maintenance, Tree Service

Products & Services

This company offers lawn care services including trees and shrubs, aeration, weed control, fertilization, lime, overseeding and insect control.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for TruGreen

10079 Palm Rd

Glenarm, IL 62536-6621

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10079 Palm Rd 

    Glenarm, IL 62536-6621(217) 483-5223
    (217) 483-8666

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*TruGreen is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (217) 483-8666
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Weed Control Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.