BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/22/1981

Basement De-Watering Systems, Inc.

(309) 647-0331View Additional Phone Numbers3100 N Main, CantonIL 61520-2720View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/22/1981

BBB has determined that Basement De-Watering Systems, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Basement De-Watering Systems, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Basement De-Watering Systems, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
09/09/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company did not uphold their lifetime warranty for the dewatering system improperly installed in my house that caused water damage.
The company installed a dewatering system in my basement 3/31/2010 that was guaranteed for life costing $3312. On July 9,2015 due to high water levels, subsurface water starting coming into dewatering system, but would not properly drain out into the sump hole and ran over the top of the "unsealed" dewatering channel causing the basement to flood, plus there were leaks at the base of the channel. The company was notified of the problem within 3 days and a technician was sent out the next week and fixed one small leak but was not "qualified" to evaluate the system failure. I was charged a $25 "Gas Surchage", which I refused to pay. I again notified the owner and a week or so later he sent out his top technician to evaluate the problem. The technician acknowledged that the system indeed failed to work properly and their were no signs of obstructions in the system. He also noted that the drain channel should have been sealed as it was noted on the original work order that there was radon present. He said he would have to talk to his boss about it. I again contacted the boss (owner) about the problem and his comment was that it should have had a second sump installed for that long of a spand. (Which, in effect, he acknowledge that it was improperly installed.) He then told me it would cost me another $940 for him to fix it. I told him it was not my fault, but his that it was not properly installed and that I was not paying for his mistakes. He refused to correct the problem. I have since had the channel sealed for radon and the drain to the sump was redone and it was shown that the drain to the sump was not properly installed.

Desired Settlement
I want the company to reimburse me for the repairs that was made to the system by another company $130 plus damage to my carpet $1600, plus punitive damage for false warranty in the amount of the original cost of $3312.

Business Response
Customer called on July 10, 2015 saying that he had water in his basement. A tech was sent out on July 14 to flood check the system. A single leak was found under the stairs and repaired at no charge. He was however charged the gas surcharge of $25.00. It is company policy to charge each and every customer $25.00 for the service call. He called again on July 17th stating that the system was leaking again. Our Head Crew Leader was sent to his residence on July 24 to assess the issue. When he pulled up at the home our crew leader noticed that the yard was saturated in water. He stated that it looked like a lake around his house. The customer would not let **** do anything at all while he was there. Our Crew leader told the customer that there was too much water for 1 sump pump to handle and he would be wise to have another one installed. The customer was very rude and angry toward the Crew Leader and told him to have the owner call him. The owner called the customer on July 27th and told him that after looking at his original proposal and hearing the amount of water standing near and around the home it would benefit him to install an additional pump on the opposite side of the first one installed for a cost of $900.00. Since the rain has become so substantial over the last few years the customer really needs to have the addtional pump installed to keep up with all the water aroung and coming into his home. We did not charge him for the second service call or the gas surcharge since we had to go back and find a solution to his issue.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The owner evidently did not get the truth from his employees for fear of being fired. The first tech said he was inexperienced and did not know how to evaluate the situation nor did he have the material or tools check the system. He did acknowledge the water had been running over the vinyl in three different sides. He only fixed the one leak under the stairs as that was all that he could see still seeping as the rest of the area was cover by carpet which he did not bother to check. The second tech acknowledged the same thing. The second tech also said that the owner has had many complaints from other customers about the systems. He did not do anything to evaluate the system, but only called the owner who evidently told him what to say.

Since that time I have had another company check the system. They sealed the top of the vinyl to cut down radon emissions and because water never runs down the walls. It always comes up around the footing tile when the creek in the backyard gets to a certain level which the company knew when they installed it because I told them at the time and they said this system would take of it.
Also the other company removed the drain pipe going into the sump and found that it was improperly installed, allowing less than half the water to go through it than it should have. With two sump pumps in the sump hole (which have been in place since the system was installed) he said they should have no problem getting rid of all the water.

Final Business Response
The customer is making these accusations up as this lingers. We feel as though we have done everything possible to help resolve his issue. The recommendation is to have another pump installed on the opposite side of the room for a cost of $900.00.

07/23/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The system has failed twice
We purchased the system in 2011 and a couple of weeks ago, called because it failed. We checked it today and failed again. We have mold on drywall, and ruined carpeting. We called the company and was told they couldn't do anything for us. This had a lifetime warranty, however they are saying they don't have any liability in the damage created by their system failure.

Desired Settlement
I want the system corrected so I don't have water damage per our agreement. I want the damage to my walls and carpeting resolved also. We have asked that the owner contact us and he has not done so for over 2 weeks now

Business Response
Mr ******* had called for a leak in his basement dewatering system on June 24, 2015. A tech was sent to his residence on June 26, 2015 and flood checked was preformed on his system. He found a couple of spots leaking due to a blow hole in the epoxy caused by the pressure of so much rain in such a short amount of time. The tech resealed the 2 areas for Mr ******* at that time. He was upset that the carpet in a different area had been wet at sometime and had started to mold. He requested that the carpet be replaced. Our tech reported that to us as soon as he returned and ****** made a note to go over with the owners when time allowed. Mr ******* called the office and ****** explained to him that the untreated area where the carpet was may have been leaking which is not covered under our warranty. She tried to explain the warranty to him at this time. **** ********, owner of the company called MR ******* on Monday, July 6th and explained our warranty to him and the mold on the carpet may be an ongoing issue. He also explained that the untreated area of the basement could be leaking. Basement Dewatering will be mailing Mr ******* a copy of his contract this week. As of July 6, 2015 Mr ******* understands what is covered with the warranty and the issue has been resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The tech did come out and I mentioned that the water had gone through the interior wall into the finished room. The water line was over 10 inches up the wall in the room that had their system. He did not look at any other possibility such as a different leak in that room and said he would tell his manager to call. That never happened until I became frustrated with ****** refusing to send me a copy of the warranty, and my desire to seek legal council. It was a life time guarantee per the ad that made my decision to call them in the first place. She argued that I had it and refused to send it to me. Now they are saying they will send it. So if their guaranteed system failed which cost me $1400.00 and I now have over $1000.00 in damage, how is that a guarantee? The equipment did fail and they acknowledge that. Mr. ******** did call and gave his credentials for mold, and stated it had to be there for a long time. He also stated that if they found a leak there was no charge, and Monday I received a bill for $25.00 but no copy of the warranty. I am having another dewatering system company come in to look at the problem, and will take further legal action at that time. If the system is guaranteed for life regardless of the amount of rain, what good is it if it ruins your property and continues to cost you more money? We were told the life time guarantee was that the system would not fail. It still comes down to the fact that it failed, and he agreed the tech had to fix two areas that had failed. In my mind that is false advertising. I do not accept his explaination, and still waiting for my warranty. I will not pay his $25.00 bill since he also said there was no charge to come back. Again he has not been honest nor in my mind fair.

12/23/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The business did not honor our agreement on the drainage of the de-watering system they installed.
On July 26, 2013 Basement De-Watering Systems , INC. installed a basement de-watering system in my basement which included a sump pump and discharge, which was to be tied into an outside tile pipe from a downspout. This was per the agreement negotiated with Doryan Konhorst, the salesman representing Basement De- Watering Systems, inc. and was confirmed before work started on July 26, 2013. I paid in full that day after completion $2509.00 by Mastercard credit. After two weeks the system was tested with a garden hose, as is required by Basement De-Watering Systems inc. The way they tied the discharge system into the agreed upon outside tile pipe was not satisfactory and leaked water at the base of the house. When I called and asked to talk with someone in charge ( either a manager or the owner ), they put me in touch with Scott Strode. Scott assured me not to worry and they will make it work right. Scott and I came up with a plan how to have his employee tie the de-watering system into the downspout tile a better way that would discharge out away from the house and not leak up against the house. After a total of four visits to my house, they never did do it this way or get it corrected. After more than ten phone calls to Scott (they usually told me he was busy and would have him call me, he never returned my call even once) I had to hire a different contractor to repair the damage they made to my existing drain tile and tie the de-watering system into it the correct way. I paid Lakeview Yardscapes $300.00 for this. On September 12, 2013,I was able to reach Scott and tell him it was repaired,tested and is working correct and asked him to reimberse me $300.00 which I had to pay to the other contractor as after almost two months Basement De-Watering Systems was showing no signs of honoring the agreement. Scott asked me to send him a copy of the $300.00 invoice and he would ask the owner, Todd Jarnagin, if he could reimburse me. He recieved a copy of the invoice on September 17, 2013 and e-mailed me with confirmation of this on the same day and said he will let me know. I have called several times since. Scott has not returned a call once. I am extremely dissatified with this company as they did not honor their agreement with me and has wasted so much of my time as they just kept on telling me they would make it right over and over, but after almost three months, they have not. One note to add, I only hired this company based on the fact they would tie the discharge into the existing tile drainage because I had another bid from a different company that said they would. If I recieve the $300.00 reimbersement, I will be a satisfied customer.

Desired Settlement
I am asking for a small reimbursement amount of $300.00 which I had to pay but should not have had to if they would have honored the agreement and done the job correct. If I recieve the $300.00 refund I will consider myself a satisfied customer.

Business Response
Better Business Bureau of Central Illinois, Inc.
112 Harrison
Peoria, Illinois XXXXX

Re: Case # XXXXXXXX

We are in receipt of the complaint (Case # XXXXXXXX) by Mr. **** *****. Basement De-Watering Systems, Inc. responds as follows:

On July 26th 2013, Basement De-Watering Systems, Inc. Technicians installed our baseboard water channelization baseboard in Mr. *****'s home. A sump pump was also installed on that date. The purpose of the sump pump is to eject the water collected by the baseboard system outside of the home. It is the policy of the Basement De-Watering to install the discharge plumbing from the sump pump to the outside of the home and then for approximately 1 foot outside the home. All homeowners are informed that this is our company policy and they are responsible for extending the discharge outside of their home.

Any exceptions to this policy are indicated in writing on the original sales proposal. In Mr. *****'s case, Basement De-Watering agreed to extend the plumping outside of the home approximately 24' to an existing downspout. The drain consisted of 1 1'2' PVC pipe and elbow extended into the downspout. The downspout and associated drainage tile had previously been installed by a different company. Our technicians ran the PVC drainage pipe and elbow into the downspout as directed on the proposal.
Mr. ***** was not happy with the performance and workmanship of the elbow into the downspout. In addition, Mr. ***** indicated that the downspout would leak when water was draining through it. Basement De-Watering Systems Technicians made repairs to the downspout and also addressed three leaks in the baseboard system in the home on August 6, 2013. Mr. ***** tested the downspout himself and notified Basement De-Watering that the downspout was still leaking. During several phone conversations discussing possible causes for the leaking downspout, both Scott Strode and Mr. ***** agree that the water pressure from the sump pump discharge could be causing the water to backflow up to the downspout connection. It was also discussed that the entire drainage tile under the ground could be causing the water to pool and back flow. Scott Strode agreed to send a technician to redirect the PVC pipe to a location further away from the elbow. That work was completed on August 26th, 2013 at no charge.
Mr. ***** again called to inform Basement De-Watering that the elbow was leaking after testing the system. Causes for the leak were again discussed between Mr. ***** and Mr. Strode. Mr. Strode assured the homeowner that a technician would look at the problem again and that Basement De-Watering would stand by their work and help him with the situation.
Scheduling prevented as quick as a response as the previous two visits. Before a technician could be freed up to inspect and address the leaking drainage pipe, Mr. ***** contacted his landscape company and had them replace the entire drainage tile. This was a solution that had been discussed between Mr. ***** and Mr. Strode. Mr. ***** decided to pay the other company to do the work before Basement De-Watering Systems could complete the work.
Mr. ***** then contacted Mr. Strode to ask if Basement De-Watering Systems Inc. would reimburse him for half of the bill from the other company. Mr. Strode indicated that it was very unlikely that the company owners/directors would agree to such, but would gladly ask.



The owners/directors of the company did not agree to reimburse Mr. ***** for half of the bill based on the fact that Basement De-Watering had offered to complete the same work. It is also possible that the leak was caused by the original installation of the drainage tile, which was performed by a company other than Basement De-Watering Systems.

The warranty on the system installed in Mr. *****'s home is still intact and any issues with the system covered under the warranty will be addressed promptly.
::

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the response from Basement de-watering. The pertinent details were incorrect. After four visits to my house (including the initial installation), three seperate times were to correct the major leak where they tied into the drainage tile. The first time, the representitive talked to my son about it, but did nothing. The second time, I left work early to be there and this time all they did was talk about how they could fix it but did nothing. The third time the representitive was to repair it the way Scott Strode and I agreed would solve the problem. After arriving at my house,before he started the repair, he called me at work, and I discussed the procedure with him as he did'nt act like he had been instructed how to do it. He said alright and will call Scott Strode also and will do the repair. When I got home and checked it, it was not done the way Scott and I knew would fix it ( which was to tie it in a little further away from the downspout and not at a complete right angle). When I talked to Scott, he was beside himself and did not understand why the repair man did not do it the way he was instructed. I informed him , when I tested it, it still leaked badly and was running down the foundation of my house. He said he will talk to the guy and call me back.That was the last time Basement De-watering ever called me. They never returned or took a single one of my many phone calls again, other than the secretary that answered the phone and put me on hold and would return to tell me Scott was busy or not there. I have detailed phone records of all my outgoing and incoming phone calls to prove this.Also,they are not being truthful in there response to this complaint about not having anyone freed up, as they told me before, they were not busy as this was there slow season,and after all they could have called me back one time and told me that, but never did.Finally during one of my calls, the secretary gave me Scotts cell number. Since he did'nt know it was me calling, he answered it and thats when I told him after this has been going on for months,and they were showing no signs of taking care of it and not even returning one single phone call, I was having it repaired for $300,00 and would like a reimbursement. I told him I would possibly even accept half of that amount.He lead me me to believe that was a good idea to put this behind us and to send him a copy of the reciept and would let me know.He never called me back or took any of my repeated phone calls or gave me answer of yes or no.I dont think my request of that amount of reimbursement, that would have satisfied all, is asking too much. I feel like I was repeatedly mislead and disrespected after they recieved my immediate payment for this job. I do not reccomend this company for any work. I would go elsewhere in the future.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Waterproofing Contractors, Basement Waterproofing, Foundation Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/02/1981Business started: 10/01/1976New Owner Date: 01/01/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1978, IL

Business Management
Customer Contact: Mr. Brad AndersonMr. Doryan Konhorst (Regional Sales Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Jarnagin (President)Ms Teresa Draughan (COO)Mr. Todd Jarnagin (CEO)Ms. Stacy Lynch (General Manager)
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Waterproofing Contractors, Basement Waterproofing, Foundation Contractors

Products & Services

This company is a basement waterproofing contractor that also offers home dehumidifier units, mold removal and protection, and foundation repair.

This company offers foundation repair and waterproofing service.

Alternate Business Names
Real Dry, Advanced Basement Concepts, Advanced Environmental Mold Solutions, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Basement De-Watering Systems, Inc.

3100 N Main

Canton, IL 61520-2720

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3100 N Main 

    Canton, IL 61520-2720(309) 674-4000
    (309) 454-5666
    (217) 544-8988
    (309) 224-1063
    (800) 331-2943
    (800) 231-3002

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Basement De-Watering Systems, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (309) 674-4000
  • (309) 454-5666
  • (217) 544-8988
  • (309) 224-1063
  • (800) 331-2943
  • (800) 231-3002
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Waterproofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.